If you have too many cheeses in your fridge, you can always cook a Potato Moussaka

in Foodies Bee Hive β€’ 7 months ago

Hey guys,

Yesterday I made a Potato Moussaka πŸ₯”πŸ›πŸ§€ mostly because I had too many cheeses in the fridge: riccota, parmesan cheese, emmentaler, cream cheese, cheddar, goat cheese πŸ§€πŸ§€. I usually make the moussaka with mozzarella, but this time it didnt matter.
I had to get rid of all the cheeses, not because they were old or close to expiry date. Its just because I need this, mentally. I need my fridge to be clean and organized. I get anxious it my fridge is full with half-empty foods and containers.
I don't know if it happens to you too or I have a mental problem...πŸ€”


20231018_132129.jpg


About the Potato Moussaka, I hope you don't expect to find here in my post, the original recipe of moussaka: Potato Moussaka more precisely.
I fail to follow original recipes.
I very often follow it until one point, but for some reason or another, I fail at most times.
For example, to this potato moussaka, I don't do the bechamel sauce and in top of that, I add some veggies in the tomato sauce.
I add veggies to create a child-friendly recipe and to boost it with healthy nutrients.

In this case I added a lot of bell peppers (they were picked up from our garden) and carrots.

Original recipe would have been with eggplants and bechamel sauce, though there are many versions all over the world. Thats what I like about these kind of recipes. They can be adjusted. I once added onion slices and thyme springs.
You can also replace tomato sauce with summer tomatoes, real tomatoes that are full of flavor.


20231018_112141.jpg


Ingredients:
  • around 400g minced meat (I had 50-50 beef-pork)
  • 2 onions (cut in small pieces)
  • 1 garlic head
  • 2 carrots (grated)
  • 6 bell peppers medium-small (small pieces)
  • oregano, basil, thyme, salt and pepper
  • tomato sauce (350-400ml)
  • olive oil for saute
  • around 1 kg potatoes

Different cheeses

As I said, I usually have mozzarella with this recipe but this time I had a mix of cheeses I already had in the fridge.

  • cream cheese
  • ricotta cheese
  • parmezan cheese
  • gorgonzola
  • goat cheese

20231018_115641.jpg

20231018_112321.jpg


Instructions

First you need to do the meat sauce. Basically, you start with the tomato sauce and then potatoes.

Start by addind olive oil in a pan and saute the veggies. Add spices and then meat. When the meat has a nice color, add tomato sauce. Let it boil for a few minutes on low temperature, stirring ocasionally.

20231018_115441.jpg

Then, put the potatoes to boil. Cut them in slices. This way they'll boil faster, around 20 min.

20231018_115502.jpg

Meanwhile, have your cheeses prepared.

20231018_120107.jpg

Start with the layers.

Add a thin layer of meat sauce on the buttom.

20231018_122310.jpg

20231018_122330.jpg

Strain the potatoes and use half of them to create a nice layer of golden potatoes. πŸ₯”πŸ₯”

20231018_122349.jpg

Now add a good layer of meat sauce.

20231018_122454.jpg

Now add the cheese.

20231018_122552.jpg

At last, add another layer of potatoes, meat sauce and cheese on top.

20231018_122702.jpg20231018_122816.jpg20231018_122823.jpg

20231018_122921.jpg

Bake for about 40 min at 180-190Β°C.

20231018_132131.jpg

20231018_132429.jpg

20231018_132133.jpg

20231018_131859.jpg

20231018_132105.jpg

This was my Potato Moussaka. I hope you'll enjoy this recipe. πŸ’—
My son is in love with it and everything that looks alike, for example Lasagna. Ahh, and yeah. Summer squash and zucchini are perfect to integrate in this recipe. Yumm! And much healthier. Zucchini doesnt have many calories and are very high in water content.
But overall, you can adjust this recipe based on the ingredients you have in the fridge.


Stay safe and healthy,

missdeli πŸ’—

Sort: Β 
Β 7 months agoΒ (edited)Β 

I really needed a culinary suggestion. I like moussaka, but we cook it very rarely. The way you show the recipes is so complete and I'm sure anyone can learn. I've made moussaka before, but this time I want to do the same as you. Thank you very much!

Hey, lately I've been a few days late replying. 😁 sorry about that.
On summer days, I do this recipe with dovlecei, maybe vinete too. It's more healthy and lighter. Also you can use light mozzarella and than again, healthier.
Thank you for your comment and encouragement again. I sometimes try to not add so many photos, but I didnt make it. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

I think it's okay to put more photos... but not too many in the same group. I remember posts of yours from long ago with lots of photos. Now it's just right, I think we've each learned the correct proportion. It comes from experience.

My wife also makes musaca with zucchini and eggplant. I like the classic potato one better. It may be less healthy because I only eat that two or three times a year.

I'm just as late with replies, I understand that very well and I'm glad you still found the time to reply. Thanks so much, @missdeli!

I always put too many photos. 😁
Talking about this, do u know why I dont post too often in Pinmapple, even though I have loads of folders with travel location?
...

That is because I cant help not to upload too many photos πŸ™ˆπŸ™‰, and that would take more time...so I only post there when I really have time to post πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

You can also do this exercise when writing a travel blog... take a group of photos and choose the best one. Instead of a hundred photos use just 10 - 20 and I'm sure you'll like the result.
You belong to the group of those with a good reputation for travel postings. I don't think anyone will make a difference between a post full of photos or one with far fewer. The appreciation will be the same, I think.

Well, I nedd to take a look see how many photos I upload. I dont put 100 hahaha, but I think I had once around that. And I also think I had that amount of photos for a food blog, not even a travel blog.

But thats me. I cant decide. But lately, I did better. Though, I dont mind having many pictures. I dont write my posts just for the "audience" I also write them for me. And I like those photos to stay here. All of them. 😁😁

But I will take your advice on my next travel post. See how I'll handle . πŸ˜‹

Also, thank u for saying that. I honestely dont consider myself appreciated for travel blogs because I have too little of these. I wish to post more on that too, share with you what I have visited and what I liked sbout all those places. πŸ’—

I also made a post with about a hundred photos, I also made a 5000-word post. They were experiments, I wanted to see if I could do that and I wanted to see how they would be received... They weren't as well received as I had hoped and I learned that it wasn't worth the effort.

Same with you. If you're going to do a post with fewer photos I think you should consider it an experiment. Then you will draw your conclusions.

I can't decide. But lately, I did better. Though, I don't mind having many pictures. I don't write my posts just for the "audience" I also write them for me. And I like those photos to stay here. All of them.

I'm like you, I can't decide. Everything you say here fits perfectly for me too.

You're right, a good travel blog requires a lot of time for preparation and writing. Important to have "raw materials" (lots of places visited + lots of photos). You have and then, sooner or later, you will write about those trips.

Looks pretty amazing. Yummy!πŸ’›
Also, as someone born and raised in 'Gouda', I approve of this kind of dish ;^)

Hey hey!
Great you like it πŸ₯°
But what is Gouda? Is it a place or...? You mean you had it often. 😁

Gouda is a famous cheese
from the city with the same name ( where I was born and were my mom still lives )

Great recipe @missdeli!

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Vote for our witness @sagarkothari88

Thank you very much!

I get anxious it my fridge is full with half-empty foods and containers.

Me too. But I'm helpless right now! πŸ™ˆ

Your potato moussaka looks like a dream. These traditional recipes always find the playful hands of cooks around the world to change this and substitute that. That's part of the joy of life, being able to do that; it's an exercise of freedom πŸ˜‚

I loved it! No doubt your son loved it too.

Cheers, @missdeli ❀️

Glad I'm not the only one πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

And I'm happy you like my recipe. And totally agree with you. I like it too because is versatile. πŸ₯°

I'd have a healthy serve of that...and aske for some more when done.

I hope you're well, probably busy, but hopefully doing well. Have a great weekend.

Glad you're considering having a portin. Is best with a green salad on the side. Yumm πŸ₯—πŸ₯—

Yes, I'm well, thank you. And buzy too, thats not questionable πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Lol. But nowadays...we're all buzy. You know what I mean. πŸ€”πŸ’­πŸ˜ͺ

I do know what you mean...find some time for you though.

I've had so much of this in my youth that I almost hate it now lol 🀣 but somehow I'm always interested in some heavier meals when it's cold outside so your recipe might come handy sooner than expected 😊

Really? My mom wouldnt cook this when me and my brother were kids. She doesnt cook it. If u want to have a "lighter" version, you can use dovlecei and light mozzarella. Or normal. Mozzarella isnt that heavy.

Yes! That and.. ciorba de periΘ™oare 🀣 never thought about the other option but will definitely try it one day. Sounds so tasty!

Well,ciorba de perisoare sounds nice. Husband is a fan of it. I like it too, but not that much.
Anyways, about the ciorbe, I think its funny and strange how ciorbe are eaten around Romania.
Our friends from Constanta eat every ciorba acra. We, in this part of the country, dont neccesarry have that acra ciorbele.
But no matter the way, acre sau neacre, I love ciorbe in general, de perisoare sau oricare. 😁
Btw, do u have a fav ciorba?
Eu am: ciorba de fasole LOL 😁

Same favourite here, lol! πŸ™ŒπŸ»β€οΈ

Lol. πŸ˜…πŸ˜…
Well, itw deliucious so I'm not surprised!

This recipe for Potato Moussaka looks amazing and I'm sure it taste great too. I love cheese, like really love cheese, so any recipe like this, I have to make it. This post is well made so that anyone can follow along, great work!!!

It really sounds that you love cheese! Haha πŸ’—πŸ§€ another cheese lover.

Glad you find it useful!

Wow! Potato moussaka is something new to me. Although I have been eating baked goodies with cheese, honestly, I have not tried it. And this dish seemed so delicious because I am cheese lover and potato.lover as well. I commend you for this tasty dish my dear friend. I want to have some. Hehe.

You can replace potatoes with zucchini or aubergines too, if you'd like. Or use them all. Any way is good. But because you said you like potatoes, then go with this version. Is comfort food for real.
I'm glad you loved it! Thanks for stopping by. πŸ’—πŸ’—

Excelente opciΓ³n. Se ve demasiado rico. Gracias por la recomendaciΓ³n

Griacias!

It looks great!!
Will try this sometime.

Thank you! I hope you'll enjoy it.

In my country we would call it potato pasticho, it is very similar to the one I usually prepare in my kitchen. By the way, it looks great and the melted cheese is not even close.

Thank you. I also love how melted cheese looks in general it doesnt matter on what foods. 😁

Could you please pass some of these amazing food to me and I promise never to ask for moreπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

Good job dear friend!!

You're cute! I will if I'd can. πŸ₯°

I like this. It's similar to lasagna and zucchini which I often prepare. I also love anything with potatoes. I will surely prepare one for the holidays! Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe! Love it!

I think its great the idea of cooking it for holidays. Everyone enjoys a good delicious casserole. I sometimes cook Lasagna for holidays or bring it to our friends.
I'm glad you like the recipe. And thank you for your lovely comment!

It’s the first time that I see this meal and I love it!! It seems to be super tasty, and I love when you can cook with things that you already have in your fridge, it’s a great way o save money and also to not waste what you have!

I'm glad you love it. I'm sure u'll love it more if someday you'll consider making it.
Yes, I also love the idea of cooking and adjusting recipes with foods that I already have in the fridge. 😁😁😻

I love moussaka. I do a vegetarian one with green lentils.

Sounds nice. I wonder what spices did you use in combination with lentils. I did vegetarian versions by skipping the meat, but didnt imagine to have lentils in it. I'll look it up though as I love the taste of lentils.😁

Did u have red lentils, black or green?

Β 7 months agoΒ (edited)Β 

Brown lentils, tomato, red wine, miso, dried porcini, mushrooms, onion, garlic. The miso and porcini add a meaty umami taste.

Or just do it like the French do

https://www.recipetineats.com/lentil-ragout-french-puy-lentils-side-dish/

This was an intresting, teasing receip, reblogged to have it in my memory. (But I never have cheese leftovers in my friedge - my family consume all, hehe). !PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@qwerrie(1/5) tipped @missdeli

oohhh cheese potato looks very tasty! and your tasty photos make me hungry now;))

Thank u. πŸ’“πŸ’“

Wow looks yummy i love potato

Thank you. Glad you like my potato recipe πŸ’“