7 More Items Saved From The Curbs & Sold For $729 (65.5+ Pounds)

in ecoTrain2 years ago (edited)

Today's shipments are ready to go out the door after my upcoming cash sale in 2 hours. This is much earlier than usual, as I'm often rushing in the late afternoon to make various carriers before they close.

Sales have been strong for August. While I could relax and call it a good month, I'm teeing up a big evening of new listings to make sure I refill the pipeline and finish strong. This will give me a good chance of keeping the momentum into September.

While money doesn't motivate me much, I'm most excited about clearing out space in my apartment. This is the tradeoff of operating in a city -- valuable stuff everywhere, but apartments run small. I also want to grab more crypto, which I don't consider "money" once converted, to stay relaxed during market turbulence.

I usually skip Wednesday walks unless I need to find packaging for shipping the next day, but may take a lighter stroll if I take enough pictures for new listings and get to the gym first. It's always tempting to go for walks to find more, but while it is very proactive to most, it also means that I'm technically procrastinating on listing or fixing what I already have. The treasure hunt is always the most fun and I often tend to focus too much on that part.



Sales:

image.png

This Valco Baby double stroller from 2019 was hand washed twice and detailed with a toothbrush before selling it for $220 cash. It was $795 new and worth a little more, but a broken clip reduced the value, and a pair of nannies teaming up to buy this got me to drop my price. I got lot of interest at $270, but was happy to get the space back.

Here is it as it was found, with beer poured on the fabric, and scuffs on the frame that I erased with spray painted.

image.png

Salvaged weight of 26 pounds 8 ounces.


image.png

This steel 9" tall Tzedakah bank box made by an artist was sold for $94. It was found in a clear plastic bag as I was extracting LEGOs and took quite a while to sell. It ultimately went for around my initial asking price and I'm thrilled to get open up the slot on my shelf where it had been collecting dust. Small wins.

Salvaged weight with recycled packaging of 2 pounds 13 ounces.


image.png

I found this 2019 textbook at 7:36 PM last night and sold it this afternoon at 1:15 PM for $85. Current textbooks sell like water during "back to school" time. It was in mint condition. I priced it a notch higher than previous sales to account for the current scarcity and increased demand for school. I probably could've gotten $100 for it if I aimed higher, but didn't want to get greedy.

image.png

Salvaged weight with recycled packaging of 4 pounds 4 ounces.


image.png

I sold 3 more of these textbooks for a total of $200. As the school year approached, they've been selling quickly. I have one more left out of the 20 I took. Despite gradually increasing the price as September approaches they keep selling with ease. I have one left.

Salvaged weight with recycled packaging of 17 pounds 1 ounce.


image.png

Miele vacuums are always outside. I found another last night just like this one to remind me of this one I sold a few weeks ago for $130 cash. The buyer has a cleaning business, so she squeezed a little off the price. Sometimes they ask so nicely that it's hard to say no. I usually get $150 for these.

Salvaged weight of 14 pounds 2 ounces.



Stats:

  • Revenue: $729/7 = $104.14 average per sale
  • 48% received as cash
  • 62.5+ pounds saved
  • Repair Costs: $0
  • Other Costs: $0
  • 100% Free Inventory!


If you're seeing my recycling post for the first time, the “value” in it isn't in the entertainment from the handful of items I show as saved/sold. It's from the passion and hustle I consistently exhibit offline to produce items for posts, and my goal of motivating others to address our global waste problem. I am personally diverting 1000s and 1000s of pounds from our waste processing centers and landfills.

Please reuse, repurpose and recycle. If you aren't able, then donate them to shelters, churches, or thrift stores.

Please also follow my new account on Instagram. My friends pushed me to join to reach more people.

More Recent Impact:

Thanks again,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

Dear @steemmatt, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got important support from the community. However, it lost its funding a few days ago and only needs a few more HP to get funded again.

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work this year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Your support would be really appreciated.
Thank you!