6 More Items Diverted From Landfills And Sold For $565 (58+ Pounds)

in ecoTrain2 years ago (edited)

I haven't gotten around to processing my latest big haul from Tuesday, but that's around the corner. Finds were slow on Thursday and Friday, but the rest of the week averaged everything out. I'm always content with getting the exercise either way.

Sales have been going great this month and it's reminding me how lucrative this hustle can be when I put enough energy into it. While I'd love to always find great stuff every night, I don't mind the occasional imbalance as it allows me to focus on clearing some space.

Here's a working LG projector I found on my street on Wednesday while heading out to UPS to ship boxes that's listed online in the $350+ range. It was sitting on the ground in broad daylight. I threw it on top of my stack of boxes and then came right back home to test it. I can sometimes walk for 2 hours to find this, or other times 5 seconds. It's all about how things average out. The only consistent thing is that my eyes are always peeled.

image.png

image.png

A wipe down with rubbing alcohol to remove the sticker residue, etc., will get this looking as good as new.



Sale Time:

image.png

image.png

These barely worn size 7 Sorel waterproof boots were quickly sold for $85 cash. These were literally sitting on a trash bin on a random evening with some other shoes I didn't take. Their condition was near perfect, and Sorel has good resale value, so I sniped these and moved them within roughly 2 days. Instincts validated.

Salvaged weight of 2 pounds 3 ounces.


image.png

This stationary indoor bike trainer sold for $85 cash to a younger person on a budget. As a repeat find, I usually get $100-$120 for these. The main thing to inspect is the wheel mechanism to make sure that it runs smoothly. This checked out and sold within about 2 weeks of posting it.

Salvaged weight of 26 pounds 2 ounces. Weight saved bonus.


image.png

Quality umbrella strollers that recline are extremely easy to sell. This Maclaren model was in great shape to get me $80 cash. I checked the brakes, hand washed the seat a bit, and put some WD-40 on the wheels. Ready to roll. These are easy finds as well since I can sling the shoulder strap on and continue my walk without costing me a hand.

Salvaged weight of 12 pounds 9 ounces.


image.png

This printer tray was regrettably taken from a $400 printer that had a busted display screen I couldn't repair or replace. Instead of putting it all back outside (not many practical parts to sell), I saved the tray and sold it for $100. Trays aren't usually this valuable, but I saw that this model was thin in supply with prior sales at this level to justify giving it a shot. It didn't take long to see that this was the right move.

I recently found another printer one model down from this one that had the same issue, so you can bet that the paper tray is currently listed for sale.

*Don't see what's broken to devalue what you have, see what's not broken and get paid for it.

Salvaged weight with recycled packaging of 3 pounds 13 ounces.


image.png

This pair of HAM radio devices from a recent haul sold untested for $115. They likely worked fine, but I couldn't verify it to get top dollar. These came from a massive recent radio device haul I shared in one of my posts linked below. I had watchers on both of them separately, but a buyer coaxed me into merging the listings into one for a $20 discount. I agreed because of the combined shipping and to simply get them out the door.

Salvaged weight with recycled packaging of 3 pounds 12 ounces.


image.png

This Miele stick vacuum is a very common find. They don't always sell super fast, but they consistently move after 1-2 months of being listed. Ironically, they sell for about $150-$220 online, but this was sold for $100 cash as the local market doesn't seem to value it as much. I can usually get up to $120 for them if I wait long enough.

Salvaged weight of 10 pounds.



Stats:

  • Revenue: $565/6 = $94.17 average per sale
  • 62% received as cash
  • 58+ pounds saved
  • Repair Costs: $0
  • Other Costs: $0

Free free free.

**Thousands upon thousands of pounds saved over the years. Follow along to continue to see plenty of proof. Please let this motivate you to save a few pounds today.



If you're seeing my recycling post for the first time, the “value” in it isn't in the entertainment from the handful of items I show as saved/sold. It's from the passion and hustle I consistently exhibit offline to produce items for posts, and my goal of motivating others to address our global waste problem.

I'm personally diverting all of this from our waste processing centers and landfills.

Thanks as always for your interest and support. I catch it all.

Please reuse, repurpose and recycle. If you aren't able, then donate them to shelters, churches, or thrift stores.

**Please follow my new account on Instagram. Enough of my friends pushed me to join and I can use the boost.

Latest Posts For More:

Thanks again,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

That's so awesome 🙌

These were literally sitting on a trash bin on a random evening with some other shoes I didn't take.

Why not take all of them, and donate the ones that can't be sold, or directly give them to the homeless?

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project - please consider using the VYB and Proofofbrain tags for maximum benefit

Thanks. For those who have followed me for years, they know I can only take so much with an apartment stuffed with thousands of items I've saved. If you look at my last post before this, you'll literally see me donating a 10 pound bag of shoes to a thrift store in that same mindset in the very first picture. I also leave countless items of clothes, shoes, and unexpired food out on the sidewalk for the homeless to find. Given the sheer amount of volume around me at all times, I really have to pick my spots or else I'd get buried. I do believe that I left the other shoes out in the open so they were visible to take as that's my usual routine. Also giving them directly to homeless isn't as easy at is may seem since everyone has different sizes, and many homeless around here are not the safest people to approach.

Hopefully you can glance back at some prior posts to see what I'm all about or will follow along going forward. That really helps keep me motivated.

It's great that you are doing this 🙌 If only people would take a little extra time to "rehome" what they don't need... But then that would put you out of business 😲

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@steemmatt! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I went to a really emotional wedding the other day.
Even the cake was in tiers.

Credit: lofone
@steemmatt, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires
The LOLZ Tribe is here! Stake your LOLZ now to earn curation rewards and continue using the !LOLZ command. Please read our latest update for more information.
(2/6)

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(3/15) tipped @steemmatt (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Congratulations @steemmatt! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 1400 posts.
Your next target is to reach 1500 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @erikasue!
Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks a lot. Fortunately I've been able to sustain this and forego needing a job after I quit corporate over 7 years ago. This is highly correlated to the wealthy and densely populated are I live in though.

 2 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment