Test - Evaluate - Report

in Outdoors and more15 days ago

fucketyfuckensiefuckballs.jpg

A month ago I was asked to test and evaluate some equipment and, as always, I acquiesced to the request as I find it an enjoyable process which also allows me to utilise skills I've taken years to gain.

I have been given three long rang rifles to evaluate, two are custom (and very expensive) long range rifle-systems built on tried and tested premium rifle-platforms and the last is a cheaper custom build based on a rifle most could buy over the counter at just about any firearms store; the latter is a $9,000 AUD build including the scope and other custom accessories and the other two are much more expensive, well over double, with one bordering on triple the cost including all of the bits and pieces. I don't want to say what they are because it's the blockchain and it's forever, so please don't ask.

I have a set program to work around which will take place over a few weeks as I'll not be able to get all of the items checked off in one day. Below are some of the items being tested.



  • Accuracy test at 100 metres - For a rifle to be an effective long range shooter it needs to shoot hole-in-hole at 100 metres. This doesn't necessarily mean the three rounds fired need to all go perfectly through the same hole, a 'clover leaf' hole is acceptable, that is, three very closely grouped holes all touching. The group is measured in minute of angle (MOA) and that determines the accuracy at the 100m range, which is what the rifles are zeroed at. For instance, 'the rifle is a 0.25MOA shooter at 100m')
  • The box test - This tests the accuracy of the elevation and windage turrets of the scope and I'll do this at 300 metres on a very large sheet of gridded paper mounted on a board. Essentially it's done by shooting a centre shot at a bullseye target and then dialing the scope up (still aiming at the centre point) to make the next shot land at the top edge above the centre point of the page, right to shoot into the top right corner, all the way down to shoot in the lower right corner, left to shoot into the lower left corner then all the way up to shoot in the top left corner. All the while the point of aim is the centre of the bullseye. The reason for this test is to ensure that as elevation and windage is added and subtracted to the scope each click is the exact measurement as per the specifications of the scope. i.e. 1/10 MRAD is 1/10 MRAD right through the turret adjustment range.
  • Accuracy test at 500 metres - This is done on a 1 MOA-sized round steel plate target (called a gong). At 500 metres 1 MOA is a target 150mm in diameter, so pretty small. I'll take 5 shots at this range on each rifle and record the hits and misses. At this range I'm not expecting any to miss.
  • Accuracy at 750 and 1000 metres - Shooting a rifle out to one kilometre takes skill and the right rifle system and I expect each to perform well although I think the hit probability may decline on the cheaper rifle-system. At this range with my own long range rifles I expect a hit probability of 100% over ten rounds fired. At 500 metres plus many factors come into play and the barrel harmonics and scope may let the cheaper rifle down a little as it stretches to 1,000 metres.
  • Accuracy at 1,500 meters - Each of the rifles are of the same calibre and all should easily reach out to 1,500m and deliver enough energy to a target (a live one) to kill or incapacitate it...but I expect the cheaper rifle to tap out at about 1,300-1,500 metres as far as hit probability goes, it'll drop to around 50% or so I'm predicting. My own rifles (and my skills) have a 'first round' hit probability of around 85% at 1,500 metres and a miss is adjusted for and the second round sent has a hit probability of 95%...I'm expecting the same from the two more costly rifle-systems. A 2.5 MOA target/gong (about 450mm in diameter) will be used at this range.
  • Accuracy at 1,609 metres (One mile) - I'll be using the same 2.5 MOA gong for this round and expect the same results as above although a much lower hit probability from the cheaper rifle. I'm doing this range because the people who have asked for the evaluation want to be able to define and state accuracy at the one mile mark.
  • Cold bore testing - A cold bore shot is the very first shot for the day and I'll test each of the rifles at 1,000 metres cold bore. When a rifle is shot cold bore the point of impact will be different and it's important to know where that first shot will land so it can be adjusted for prior to a cold bore shot being taken. I'll probably shoot each at 1,500 metres cold bore also, just for fun. Of course, one only gets a single cold bore shot per day so that's why the testing will be conducted over several outings.
  • Rapid fire - As firearms heat up they behave differently and it's critical to know what the rifle may do when hot, just as when it's cold. I'll shoot twenty rounds in rapid succession, let's call it four minutes which (with the calibre I'm shooting) will mean the barrel is incredibly hot, too hot to touch. This will be done at 500 metres on a 2 MOA target (that's a 300mm target at 500m) and the accuracy will be recorded and particular note will be made of how the rifle performs, if it cycles smoothly, picks up rounds from the magazine well and ejects spent cases efficiently and without jams...other things too.
  • Magazine feed test - I'll load three magazines with ammunition, insert the first and cycle the bolt repeatedly without shooting the rounds. The rifle should chamber the rounds and eject them smoothly and without a jam. I'll work through the three magazines very quickly to see if there's a jam or feed issue. This will be done with a cold rifle and a hot one. This is a test that many rifles fail at, the cheap ones and expensive alike. This is why tests are done, so adjustments to the system can be made.
  • Sight picture test - When shooting at long range it's important to be able to see the fall of shot, where the bullet lands on the target or when it misses. A miss will need an adjustment and another round. You may not know this, but a bullet's flight through the air can often be seen through the scope as it flies to the target. This is not always the case as some environmental conditions prevent it, but the 'bullet trace' is one way a shooter will see the fall of shot. (There's YouTube videos of bullet trace if you're keen.) Dust kicked up and the bullet landing on structures or vehicles instead of the target is another way of seeing where the shot went. This is actually one of the reasons snipers (usually) have a spotter to help call the adjustments and get the next round on the target, they can see better than the shooter as they don't have recoil to deal with. I'll be testing the scope and rifles' ability to permit my eye to stay on target in each rifle which is partly about recoil management.


Ok that's about it. There's other tests I'll be doing but I figure most, if not all, of you have tuned out by now - Well done if you got this far.

The above testing is a lot of fun and evaluating each rifle, determining the best one (in my opinion), and finding good and bad points or things that the gunsmiths need to address is something I'm good at after all these years and I also learn new things as I'm doing it; new things about rifle-systems, ballistics and my own skills and that's a good thing.

Over the last week or so I've been planning things out, getting my gongs together, sorting ammunition - the same will be used in each firearm - familiarizing myself with the rifle-systems and organising my paperwork for each evaluation. I record everything from the temperature, time of day, wind direction and speed, where the shots land and any other factor no matter how small which all gets analysed and factored later on when I'm collating my results. Sound like fun? Ok, it probably doesn't, but to me it's a great way to spend some time.

I'm not going to want to give any of those rifles back...who knows, maybe I'll buy one...or not. Maybe they'll give me one? Hmm, methinks not. I'll enjoy the process though and make sure that each rifle is put through the wringer as above and through other tests.


Have you ever had to evaluate a product for a third party and write a report on it? I don't mean a firearm, it could be anything. Feel free to comment below if you have, or just comment generally.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[Original and AI free]
Image(s) in this post are my own...but are not the three rifles I'll be testing

Sort:  

Every time you do a post like this I still manage to be 😳 about just how much work goes into these boomsticks 😅

Sometimes I feel like writing stuff like this...not as fun as actually doing the shooting, but enjoyable nonetheless. 😊

I love the attention to detail and the different tests you use.

I used to run a YouTube channel and would test knives, guns, and tactical gear that interested me. It was all things that interested me, and I purchased personally, so I could evaluate it fairly.

My methods weren't nearly as detailed or focused as yours, but I had fun. I got to test exploding shotgun slugs, API slugs, all-steel trench knives, Dragon's Breath and even reusable flashbangs. It was a lot of fun, but I ended up stopping since it began taking up more and more of my time, which I had less and less of as family life started taking priority.

Sadly, I haven't been to the range in a month or so, but as my boys get older I see that time coming back as it's something they'll be old enough for me to share with them.

I hope you'll at least share some results and photos of your results, even if "names have been changed to protect the innocent." 😁

It's a fairly details thing as you'll know considering you have exposure to firearms. Long range shooting is something different again I guess, more in-depth and at long range the smallest tings matter and have an effect of the outcome.

I like the sound of your YouTube although I've never really spent much time looking at YouTube videos, a little here and there produced by friends. I know what you mean when you say it's fun...the doing it part is what I find enjoyable and whilst I do not care to publish any of my results under my own name (or on social media) I do enjoy the process.

Not been to the range in a month? Shame on you...get ye to the range!

I'm thinking I'll post about these three rifles, not sure yet; maybe something light that people will understand.

My own rifles (and my skills) have a 'first round' hit probability of around 85% at 1,500 metres and a miss is adjusted for and the second round sent has a hit probability of 95%

Beast mode is just stuck at ON with you dude!

I didn't know about bullet trace, You really see the drop with it dont you?

It's taken a lot to get there, theory, practical, training and all; so much comes into play at these ranges and beyond. I never say how far out I can shoot (and hit a target) but it's way past 1,600m. It's very rewarding.

That bullet trace is good stuff huh? It really shows the trajectory of a bullet, how it arcs into the target; pretty interesting and a really cool thing to understand (and be able to see) to help with misses when they occur.

The arcing thing. I always had it in my minds eye that it was quite a gradual drop off but seeing it on youtube I saw quite a lot of arc and drop down and it was impressive! Really demonstrates (as if it was needed) the skill required to hit shit that far out!

Yeah, that's what often amazes people; they tend to think bullets fly in straight lines and they literally do not. Gravity is powerful so elevation is required, then the windage comes into play, wind speed and direction. Many other things like temperature, humidity and altitude, turning of the earth, angle to target and others. It's overcoming all that stuff and the rest of the process that I enjoy the most.

Aye there is a fair old bit of head math required. You are a craftsman! There was me thinking that when I fired a shotgun and had to account for the wind and speed of the target I was being a head math genius! lol

Haha, well shotguns are a whole different thing and, (don't tell anyone), I'm pretty fucken average with a shotgun, on flying things at least. I keep stopping the tracking movement and shooting behind the bird, or not leading enough. Oh well, I'll stick to hand guns and rifles...but really should blast the cobwebs out of my shotguns one of these days.

It is a fair old bit of fun, the old shotgunning. I am fairly sure your bad shotgunning would still be fucking spot on! You have a couple? I always wanted my own but I think at the same time I was doing it I got into a band an the next thing I knew I was spending my money on guitar shit :OD

Do you have a special range you go to for this or do you just do it at the ranchers land where he has you cull animals? I would imagine it's hard to find an isolated spot where you can test the range up to a mile even in Australia.

I do this on private property (sheep farm) where we have a range set up for zeroing purposes (100m range) and can also shoot out to 2,500m. We don't use it several times a year but mostly it's just me; sometimes we hunt foxes on it. I can't do this stuff at the cattle farm I cull on, it's big but it's not a simple matter to get out that far...cows are valuable and I'd not like to have to pay for one I shoot in the advent of a mishap.

Most people don't have access to properties like this (I have a few that I use for different things) though, I'm connected and fortunately have built good relationships. Finding properties to shoot on (hunt or otherwise) is more difficult these days so many go without.

That makes a lot of sense. I figured it was something like that because those distances are no joke and you wouldn't want something wandering in the way.

Wow, that's so detailed and I like it. I didn't know about these different tests, but your explanation made sense. It's awesome that people go to you for these. I am curious how the third cheaper rifle will do.

I try and make posts like this read in a fairly digestible way, if I called it how it really was then no one would know what the fuck I'm saying I guess...many probably still don't I presume, especially those who may have to translate, although this post is pretty rudimentary stuff.

The third (cheapest) rifle will be a solid 1,000 metre shooter with a high hit probability and repeatability at that range; I'm certain of that, it's been built to perform. Having said that, when one pays $25,000 for a custom rifle-system built on an excellent platform there's no doubt it'll perform better than others. I hope the cheap one goes really well because I know who is buying it and I want it to perform for him.

That's awesome. With how complex and accurate rifles are, the maker of the custom rifle must be really good. Thanks again for sharing what you know. I might not have guns, but I have been fascinated with them.

I know people who make things from scratch, these I was testing were built on high-end consumer rifles, improved on, customised. It's very cool what people can do and how some effort can improve on already good equipment.

One of the things that caught my attention was the Cold Bore Test, I had no idea.

But what is impressive is that you can see the trace of the casualty... I said woww, really?

I've always been curious about snipers and how they adjust the sights to make everything extremely accurate.

Saving distances, what I have tried are to give you two examples, paints for paintings, which I had to try first because it was a brand that I didn't know before selling it to my students.

And then working in the fruit shop, my boss made me try the products, some of them, because they were new and he told me I had to try them in order to recommend them to the customers. Then he would ask me how that product was.

And I didn't sleep!

Taste testing is one of the best testing a person can do, unless what one is tasting is shite! Lol. Fruit shop testing? I think I'd have rathere4d a bakery.

I love fruits, I love them! So it was no problem for me. He brought Chinese fruits and made me taste them... they weren't bad but they lacked flavour.

A bakery, not bad! I still don't eat much of that, I avoid flour, but if I have to try it, I make a sacrifice.🤣

Yesterday I made a honey cake, it came out very tasty!

I'd be ok taste testing honey cake...although it's not good for my health!

It's simple but it has sugar in it, so I would say don't eat it. My friend loved it, cake with mate, it was great!

I still insist on mate🤣

No sugar for me mate. I still have to try mate though, mate.

Bitter Mate, no problem, it's very bitter!

Those things are a bit cheaper in Texas, mostly because of taxes or rather lack there of:)

Yeah, these are all imports so quite costly here, as with most things; it's also a volume thing I guess.

This sounds like a cool ass thing to do, I’m glad they chose you to test their stuff out! Crazy to think that the 9k set up would be less accurate at those distances lol but when you’re getting premium vs basic stuff it makes sense.

I’m interested to hear how the magazine cycling goes on the expensive ones!

Yeah, I get asked a lot, pays to be connected and do a good job I guess. I test out a lot of different equipment and enjoy the process; I get some freedies too. #alwaysnice

With precision equipment you get what you pay for and while sometimes/often the cheaper will do a similar job there's no substitute for top notch equipment.

I have read many of these postings by you about the science behind the shot.

Don't be annoyed by this question. You are only human, so do you ever totally screw the pooch on a shot and discount it as a do over. Like a flinch or a sneeze or a twitch. 😂

I find myself flinching and twitching alot these days in my old age. I write this comment/question while awaiting my chiro doctor to come in here and turn me into a human pretzel. I just hope it helps. I been hurtin' bad, flinching & twitchin' for two weeks. 🤬😡😳

I miss sometimes, not so much from a flinch (although that has happened), but through not calling the wind speed and direction with enough accuracy or simply not following the process of breathing and trigger-pull or other fundamental (but critical) thing. Humans make mistakes and what matters is what happens after.

When I miss I reevaluate and send another, this is actually practiced about happens automatically and quickly and the second usually finds its mark.

Good luck at the chiropractor, hope that issue is sorted.

The after crack is also painful. But the next day is always better. We will see. Old bones as I am sure your starting to deal with also. Thanks for the well wishes and response to what seemed like a silly question.

 13 days ago (edited) 

There's no silly questions mate, all good.

Hi Galen. Evaluate, I have had to do clinical reports for a judge on ocassion. I am not an expert, and besides, private reports before a judge carry little weight, but even so, from time to time a lawyer asks me for a report on one of his clients and who at the same time is my patient. As you can imagine, in psychology/psychiatry the evaluations are not as accurate as yours. The judge may come across several reports with totally opposite assessments made by experts who in principle should see the same thing.

Little more I can say,

greetings.

Yeah, it's often up to the way a person interprets the evaluation I guess, and people can see things differently.

Hello galenkp!

It's nice to let you know that your article won 🥈 place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by keithtaylor

You and your curator receive 0.0166 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 9.15% share of the reward from Daily Report 272. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUSILVER token for taking 2nd place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START