Garden Journal - September 2022

in HiveGarden2 years ago

VID_20220804_182343.gif

I am going to keep it short and sweet, I realize I spend hours writing at least 1000 words, and then I burn out haha. So, just a few words, like a good advertisement. Check that weird cloud above, weird right?

IMG_20220828_191512.jpg

Finally, it's the end of the season for us!
It also means, that after harvesting what we can, we're going on a road trip in Spain, and the plan was to harvest everything, but there's just not enough time in one day to do everything!

So we're leaving some tomatoes to eat for the animals, the birds, but we managed to pack up some too!

IMG_20220830_133553.jpg

It's actually easy to know when the pumpkins are ready to harvest, you twist them a bit, and check if the stem is a bit dry when you twist, it will do a little cracking sound. I don't know if it's a thing, that's just how I do it.
Twist and pop...

IMG_20220830_133619.jpg

IMG_20220806_154912.jpg

IMG_20220807_210407.jpg

IMG_20220807_210517.jpg

IMG_20220810_111552.jpg

The courgettes were really fun to grow, I also realized that I kept growing for too long and that they have a better taste when harvested earlier.

I've been really trying to diversify my crops this year, having a bit of everything makes it more fun to feed to the kids.

The drought made the experience a little bit more challenging, especially for the watermelons, that were tiny, but still, it's food, I'll eat it 😁

VID_20220819_105749(0).gif

There is a moment, in the midst of summer, there is so much abundance, that you start almost feel overwhelmed by it, and as we were preparing for our road trip, we probably didn't anticipate the harvesting, and processing of all the food we're grown. Not enough jars, not getting the "flash freezer" because way over our budget, and not even having the time to sundry the tomatoes.
Still, we have plenty of veggies that will last for a while, like the potatoes and the pumpkins.

VID_20220819_131554.gif

IMG_20220810_111558.jpg

I also got pears, but I think it was a little bit too early, it will probably be gone soon between the birds and the Asian Hornet.
Speaking of which, the apples have been decimated by the Hornet, it's incredible the amount of apples they eat!

VID_20220822_170734.gif

IMG_20220822_170547.jpg
Everybody chimed in for the tomatoes, that was pretty fun. I realized that I missed an opportunity to sell some cherry tomatoes, I had no idea I would produce that much. As usual, I always overshoot hahaha.

VID_20220822_172031.gif

VID_20220821_121331(0)(0).gif

IMG_20220827_154630.jpg

IMG_20220828_191539.jpg

IMG_20220827_154639.jpg

IMG_20220830_120310.jpg

IMG_20220830_121400.jpg

IMG_20220822_170656.jpg

IMG_20220821_122444.jpg

IMG_20220820_191100.jpg

VID_20220821_123228.gif

VID_20220706_210030.gif

And then if you wanna see me with some the pumpkins, you can click on this

Wow that was messy! Anyway now we are travelling around, I might post about, but it's a lot of work so we'll see!

CHeeeers!

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

Yes, the tomatoes always go overboard. I have learned to dump them in the freezer and use them in cooking and they last right through winter although I did hear you say you are going on a road trip. Yeah, harvesting courgettes early also reduces the amount, they are something that also goes overboard. Fewer potatoes, I see 😁... and it seems I'll need my phone to post potato emojis so Imma stop there

 2 years ago  

I wanted to do that, then I got reminded they would probably lose their tastes.
Who know maybe there will be some left when we visit home in 3 weeks, to check how everything is growing.

Fewer potatoes, I see 😁

I actually left some in the ground ready to be harvested, apparently they can last the whole winter in the ground, and I didn't have time to harvest it all while preparing for the road trip.

Gimme all your potato emojis you got hahah

Lol yea weird cloud! Sorry to hear about the drought, but glad it looks you did pretty well regardless!

 2 years ago  

THanks @kstreet I guess I can't really complain, we win some and lose some right?

Cheers!

You're welcome!

Yeah some crazy chemtrail and HAARP stuff going off of late.
That's a great harvest and Yay to being on the road xxxxx

 2 years ago  

You damn right, it's cloud seeding 101!

Yay being on the road, yay being out of the house, yay to Spain, yay to you!!!

 2 years ago  

I never knew that twist and pop technique until I read this blog of yours, I'll keep that in mind, and the next time I plant pumpkin and if I ever get to harvest some I will apply that twist and pop technique. Have a nice day ahead. By the way, you seem to have a bountiful harvest this year. One more thing, I love the watermelon too!

 2 years ago  

You can call it the Ed Technique, for future reference 😁

Have a great day too, the watermelon was super sweet!

 2 years ago  

Oh, that's a nice name, I love it. Good morning!

I'll take a short post over a long one if it saves you from burnout and we get to see more of you. I miss your gifs man!

Looks like a pretty decent harvest despite the drought this year and the pests. So many cherry tomatoes!

Good luck in your road trip to Spain. Take care.

 2 years ago  

Hello my friend! I gotta freaking get back into the game man, it's a job on its own, you know what I mean!

Are you back already? How does it feel?

Yeah it's a job, definitely.
We are still in France at the moment. We move back 14 Sept.so it's coming quickly

 2 years ago  

Yeah man, it's a week!

I am sure you're happy to go back to Canada for a lil while, right?

See the family, regroup, etc...

Seeing family will be good since I haven't seen anyone but my sister for 3 years. That's about all I'm looking forward to though. And maybe being able to communicate effectively hahaha 😆

 2 years ago  

Wow! Even though you 'didn't spend much time on it', it's still an awesome harvest post - well done! I hear you about the overwhelm - late summer freaks meout, there's always soooo much to do!!!! Sounds like you guys need a well deserved holiday anyway. I suppose if the threat of starvation really loomed you'd be at home preserving all you could. Until then, pototoes and pumpkins it is! And thanks sooo much for joining in!

 2 years ago  

Thanks @riverflows, I felt bad because I couldn't find anything funny to say haha. I guess I got a little rusty too, better get back to it!!!

I suppose if the threat of starvation really loomed you'd be at home preserving all you could

You damn right, that's more or less the strategy here, I was also surprised to see that Spain doesn't suffer from stock scarcity like we saw in France for certain things. I also know it's gonna get much worse before it gets better, so being ready doesn't hurt!

It was a pleasure to join in, I will of course not hesitate to check out other entries!!

 2 years ago  

lol get you on the burnout

i put off posting because i know its a big job.. if i wrote smaller posts that would be easier... but meh... ah well.. lol.. better put the time into the harvest instead.

we just setting up for summer here so the hard work is in FRONT of me.. lol

enjoy the food

Sarah

 2 years ago  

better put the time into the harvest instead.

That's the thing!!! 2 hours on a post, is 2 hours you could be harvesting more food! It's just plain logical to focus on the food!

we just setting up for summer here so the hard work is in FRONT of me.. lol

Oh yeah because you guys are in Spring? What do you have in store for this year?

 2 years ago  

Yep 1st september is start of spring for us. Mostly we are focusing on a list. Foods we eat, foods that are expensive or benefit from daily picking, foods that we can manage the pests for, and foods that will grow in our climate. I don't want to waste our land on foods that are super cheep and in supply in the shops this season. or by growing too many things that we NEVER have enough of the item to make a full meal. I would rather waste some. If we don't over grow, you never actually eat it.

trying to avoid planting fancy things that sound great but we will never eat.. lol

or planting grape vines.. i would love grape vines.. lol

So we have Cherry tomato, cucumber, Egyptian spinach (first time growing), eggplant, zucchini and mini capsicums and lots of chili. A bucket load of herbs and greens, lemons and limes. GINGER (we eat a truck load)

If we can clear the back garden i have pumpkin seeds and watermelon seeds as well.

trying to get a water system in place as well. We have a MASSIVE tank. right next to the garden so that will help.

100% focus on the food when you need to be out there doing stuff for sure. All the best.

Happy gardening

Sarah

 2 years ago  

I don't want to waste our land on foods that are super cheep and in supply in the shops this season

THIS!!!

I have had the same issue for 2 years, because we've been expecting scarcity, but it didn't go as bad as we thought it would, which is a good thing I guess.

trying to avoid planting fancy things that sound great but we will never eat.. lol

This is a good one too. Even the less fancy like radishes, I realize the kids try it once, and then I am ending up with a bunch that nobody wants to eat!

Happy gardening to you too!

 2 years ago (edited) 

Wow! Nice harvest!!! A fig fruit! Amazing! But I don't eat figs, I don't like the taste! haha. That was what I like! The cherry tomato! I like the images!!! Thank you so much! That pumpkin, what variety is that?

 2 years ago  

Hahaha it's alright, figs are a little weird to the touch right? One of my kid doesn't like it neither, so I get it.

That variety of pumpkin is called "Potimaron" in France, and it has a "Floury" texture, the only way to really cook it is boil it, then mix it for a soup. It's actually quite creamy!

 2 years ago (edited) 

"Potimaron"? I did search for it quickly! LOL. It is also known as "Red Kuri squash", amazing! I think it's great to use on bread as flour or mix with the flour to make bread.

That's what I like! A bit creamy! Great to use as pumpkin soup! Perfect.

How nice, that after harvesting they can travel. How good it is to spend time sowing and then feel the satisfaction of reaping its fruit 😁. Also leave something for the animals to eat good gesture on your part.

 2 years ago  

Hello @rigel-gladys nice to see you here! Yeah, there's something magical about sowing, tending to the plant, then finally watching it grow step by step, a bit like having kids hahah (except you don't eat you kids) 🤣

😂😂 true. But it feels good to enjoy that activity. Thanks for replying.

I'd say by the looks of things you did pretty well this year despite the pests and lack of water. Love the pics of the family and kids getting involved with the harvest. Hands on experiences is a great way for children to learn and appreciate what it takes to grow your own stuff.

So, from the pics of yourself it looks like you got your ears lowered. 😁untitled.gif

Have a wonderful time on your vacation to Spain, there is no better way to unwind then to take a vacation.

 2 years ago  

The lack of water was really palpable during the hot hours of the day, all the plants wilting, trying to cope with the scorching sun.

I must have lost at least half of my seedlings, by not moving them out of the full sun, even 3 weeks after sprouting, it looks like some of them got permanently stunted and damaged.

The weed is fine though 😁

Thanks for your wishes, I'll enjoy it as much as I can!

We also had a very dry summer and resorted to using the water from our pond in fear of running our well dry.

It's funny how weeds can thrive when everything goes bust.
Smoke them up.