Time to Share Your Gardens in April! CLOSED

in HiveGarden2 years ago (edited)

This week @cesarj21 is the star of the show in the thumbnail with his amazing flowers!

received_3070799496569588.webp

With @riverflows on walkabout, and making us jealous with travel pics, I think we should return the favour and make her jealous with gardens pics and selfies! Yes, it's that time of the month again and we're excited to see what your gardens are doing as we head into April.

Here in Australia the days are getting cooler and I should really be planning our autumn/winter crops, as I also harvest some crops. The apples are nearly all in and I harvested a few sweet potatoes from a couple of cuttings I was given a few years ago now by @ligayagardener. They took a while to establish properly in my terrible soil, but they were worth the wait. Purple skin with white flesh, a change from the more commercially available orange ones.

I know the northern hemisphere is gearing up for the summer, so I'm sure everyone will have lots to share, but just in case you're stumped about what to write about or show us here are some ideas stolen from @riverflows' last challenge:

Draw/write a plan for your fantasy garden and explain what you'd like to create

Experiment for the first time with a gardening project eg growing bucket mushrooms

Share an instructional post from last year's gardening adventures

Share your friend or family's garden and interview them about it.

Or, of course, just share what you've been doing in your garden as the season has been changing.

@plantstoplanks generously donated 50 HIVE, 30 HIVE which are remaining over next three challenges. The prizes will work as follows:
VEGETABLE GARDEN PRIZE - 10 HIVE, to be distributed amongst the best posts depending on entries.
GARDEN PASSION PRIZE - 10 HIVE, to be distrubted amongst the best posts which show a passion for gardening, depending on the entries.
Selfie Prize Go in the draw to win 5 HIVE for the best garden selfie!

Conditions:

Post in the Hive Garden Community, but #gardenjournal tags should be used

No limit on photos but please consider quality over quantity

Tag two others you think might like to join in - if you can! We have had some lovely new gardeners encouraged to join in this way. 💚

Comment on at least three others

PUT YOUR POST LINK BELOW

Tagging below some past entrants - if you'd like to be alerted every month let me know in the comments and I'll add your name next month.
@plantstoplanks @sofs-su @nikv @owasco @buckaroobaby @polesinns @andrastia @holisticmom @queenoftheworld @porters @amygoodrich @fanyokami @phoenixwren @anafae @tanjakolader @yolithy24 @andrastia @minismallholding @goldenoakfarm @nateonsteemit @sanjeevm @kennyroy @simplymike @dodovietnam @babeltrips @trangbaby @kaelci @shanibeer @proto26 @quochuy @foxfireorchards @artemislives @luckylaica @blingit @rheda @ifarmgirl

The challenge will run for 10 days and I'll wrap it up in the place of the newsletter for that week.

HG SMALL.png

GARDENFOOTER.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

Join The Hive Garden Community!

Sort:  

IMG_20220405_120253.jpg

https://peakd.com/hive-140635/@clareartista/cumgslub I'm sharing this as a retro-post, as I only now saw your #gardenjournal challenge :-D - and wanted to participate with my garden update from this abandoned tiered garden in south Italy, which I've been passionately restoring these past months :-D Today is super-foggy after rain yesterday, so I'm cosied in, but all winter I've been revelling in unusual heat and long sunny days... flipflops and short sleeves... Glad of the rain and cool now, for Nature's sake: everything is absolutely bursting forth!

IMG_20220405_120346.jpg

Oh Hi there! I have been very dormant on Hive like I tend to every once in a while. It was funny to see my picture on the thumbnail @minismallholding !
I’ll try to reconnect asap now that the #gardenjournal challenge is on again, and I really want to focus to be able to share my doings. Here it is getting chilly as well, I'm not very excited for winter to arrive.

 2 years ago  

Together you and @riverflows do a beautiful thumbnail! 😁

We're heading into winter here in Australia too. The days are getting chilly. I don't mind winter here, it's not as extreme as back in the UK, I'm just not keen on the weeks it doesn't stop raining and everything turns to mud in the chicken runs. That's a bit too much like England! 😅

wooauh april is back again and it's time to plant ginger, turmeric and curcuma, so that at the end of the year we can harvest (it took 6 months to let it grow)💖💖💖💖

 2 years ago  

Now you're just trying to make me jealous because I can't grow them! 🤣

 2 years ago  

Hello, greetings🙏 from Norway. I will like to join you, friends. Still, minus degrees and frost at night, seeds are sprouting in the windows. soon will start preparations when it will warmer.🙏

 2 years ago  

Gosh, so cold! You sound well prepared, though, with seedlings starting. I'm looking forward to seeing them.

I'm glad you finally managed to harvest some, @minismallholding !

Can you add me to the notification list please?
!hivebits

 2 years ago  

Looks like we'll be adding quite a few fit the next round. I'll let River know.

Yeah! Here we go again. Winter is making a big effort for a big comeback but our gardening preparations are well under way

 2 years ago  

Nice! I wish I could say I'm as well prepared...😅

We aren't exactly PREPARED but we are trying to prepare......

 2 years ago  

Oh always tag me in your wonderful posts love :-)

just been a busy week. Will be back out in garden in force soon. :-)

AND its been bucketing down.. lol again

Happy gardening to you :-)

 2 years ago  

Raining again! No sign of rain here, although the temperature is dropping and the mornings are getting chilly.

Thanks for tagging. I will surely be present in this challenge. It's getting hot now in the Philippines because summer is nearly coming.

 2 years ago  

I'm looking forward to seeing what everyone's working on across the world. You'll help warm me up as the weather gets cooler here. 😁

Haha, By the way, I'm not very good at making format with my post but let's see what I can do for this month's garden update😁. I'll be posting one of these days @minismallholding have a great day.

 2 years ago  

My formatting is always very basic too. I'm still learning in this regard. 😅

 2 years ago  

My word, it's hard to believe that the first quarter of the year is gone already, where is time going these days? I can't wait to see what everyone has been up to in and around their gardens! 😄

 2 years ago  

It's gone by way too fast!
I'm looking forward to seeing where everyone is at too. There will be so many stages of preparations happening depending on the climates.

 2 years ago  

Greetings, I will do my best to participate, I would like you to consider tagging me, although I am new to the community, here in Venezuela there is heat and scattered rains, let's see how the plants recover. Thank you.

 2 years ago  

Sounds like there's been a lot happening with the weather. Looking forward to reading about things and seeing the plants.

I've given @riverflows the heads up on adding to the tags. We've had lots of requests this week!

 2 years ago  

Thank you

I wish you patience for the winter period :) The weather is slowly warming up in Turkey, we have survived the winter season. I love taking care of the garden. After a while, I'm thinking of sharing the post.

 2 years ago  

Winter isn't too harsh here. We get to grow the plants that prefer the cooler weather, so gardening doesn't so much stop as change.

I hope you will share a post. I don't think I've seen any for fastening in Turkey, so I'm curious to see your climate and what you grow there.

Turkey's vegetation is very diverse. While products such as bananas, cotton and oranges are grown in some places, the products grown where I live are very limited. The number of sunny days is very few and the winters are very harsh. Only cold-resistant crops are grown.

 2 years ago  

Sounds like Turkey has quite the climate reach. I didn't realise it was so big.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Oh, it is April again, time flies. Here in our country, we are currently on the second week of summer which will end come the month of June (which is the start of the rainy season). I am excited to see the garden journal blogs for this month of April. Good luck to everyone.

 2 years ago  

So many different seasons across the world! So you essentially have an early summer.

 2 years ago  

Yes, it is early summer, and I think the rainy season will be early too.

Hello, greetings from Turkey,🙋‍♀️ we are in spring, the weather has started to warm up, it will make me very happy to share photos of the flowers and fields that are starting to bloom. Thanks for the competition. Good luck everyone. ☘️🪄

 2 years ago  

I think I'm going to get a world garden tour! I'm looking forward to seeing your garden.

Hello, I am sharing the link of the post I participated in the competition. I wish everyone success.
https://hive.blog/hive-140635/@uzercanan/cherry-and-pear-trees-orchards

Finally I'm able to participate before the deadline xD!!! It makes me so happy!! I even may write another post today hehe. But in this opportunity I want to show everyone my succulents and tell you about a exhibition I went :D

here's the link
https://peakd.com/hive-140635/@fanyokami/visiting-the-3rd-meeting-exhibition-and-sale-of-cacti-and-succulents--my-collection

Thanks!!!

 2 years ago  

I completely miscalculated the deadline anyway, 🤦‍♀️ so until I write "closed" in the title, consider it still open.

Omg! thank you!! that give me some more time 😻 how cool

Just finished my first gardenjournal blog after a long break. I hope I'm not too late to join.😅

22ThumbApril5.png

https://peakd.com/hive-140635/@exator/gardenjournal-april-2022-spring-update-seedlings-tomato-harvest-deadly-plants-and-growlight-update

 2 years ago  

Not at all. I think I messed up on the countdown anyway, so I'll be wrapping up Wednesday my time, which will be Tuesday for many.

Happy harvest! and thank you for adding me to the community 😍 My garden is badly effect from heavy rain here, will keep you updated next month :)

 2 years ago  

I wouldn't mind a little bit of rain, it's a pity we can't spread it to here! 😆 Hope your garden is coping okay.

Hello there, can't believe, we're already a week into April. 2022 put the pedal to the metal and is in full speed. Here's my entry to the #gardenjournal challenge:

https://peakd.com/hive-140635/@discoveringarni/hive-garden-journal-4--re-potting-plant-bartering-and-harvesting-string-beans

Happy gardening to everyone!

Oh, it's update time once again, wow! How time flies! This is exciting!

 2 years ago  

Doesn't it just! I suddenly realise how late I am for getting my winter crops started!!

I think it's never too late to start them now? hehe :)

 2 years ago  

I always give it a go anyway, even if I'm running late. The weather is such that we can get away with quite a bit of creeping into the next season. 😁

Hehe, that's cool then :) At least you aren't giving up even when late and also time and space are gentle with you😁

Very nice, I try participate.

Please, added my name for the next month

 2 years ago  

I'll have to remind @riverflows to check on the extra names to add. 👍

Gracias mi estimado, soy un usuario frecuente, saludos

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

 2 years ago  

Wonderful ^^ I would like to join together with you guys ^^ Please tag my name on these next month too ^^ Thank you @minismallholding .

 2 years ago  

I look forward to your contribution.

 2 years ago  

Hahaha.. I will share mine also! hahahha

 2 years ago  

Looking forward to it. That will be a virtual trip to UAE for me. 😁

 2 years ago  

^^ Good evening all ^^
I just remember the deadline of challenge, luckily I did not miss it.
Here is my entry: https://peakd.com/hive-140635/@tuocchu/my-april-garden-journal-growing-passion-fruit

 2 years ago  

Here is it! Not the most anticipated post but due to shortage of time I had to improvise :)

Please include my name to be alerted every month. Thank you!

 2 years ago  

I can't believe I forgot to put my comment here!!! Just realized...

Here is my garden journal with love and a lot of spring vibes!
https://peakd.com/hive-140635/@traisto/spring-love-gardenjournal

Could you please also tag me to that list? Thank you :)

 2 years ago  

Here's mine, about one thing one should NOT plant, unless you want nothing else in your flower garden.

https://peakd.com/hive-140635/@owasco/oh-the-horror

Hello! Here is my garden journal entry for this month. Thank you very much!

https://peakd.com/hive-140635/@coquicoin/my-little-harvest-of-tomatoes

 2 years ago  

Here is a second entry I had no idea I'd be posting this month, but such are the whims of nature and shipping. (I see a notice that the contest has expired, but in the body of the announcement it says the contest has three more days.)

https://peakd.com/hive-140635/@owasco/blueberry-bushes-galore

 2 years ago  

Yes, I had a brain fart in my calculations. I'll add "closed" to the title when I'm ready to wrap up.

It's amazing to see farmers smart and very much the way they preserve crops.

Here's My Contribution to this Month of April

https://hive.blog/hive-140635/@uhighboy/how-to-plant-pandan-trees-in-polybags-easily-or-or-by-uhighboy

I'm gearing up to get my garden set out - maybe even this weekend. I'd love to be tagged in future posts.