Mandawa

in Pinmapplelast year

Mandawa

It is about 3 hours north of Jaipur, about 180 KM, but it can be million miles away from the hustle and bustle of tourist. Mandawa, is perhaps what Rajasthan was before tourists from all over the world started flocking the place. On the surface and especially in the following picture, it may seem like a strange haunted and abandoned place, and yes, there could be some truth to it. However, the fact is that it is a thriving happy and warm little community of wonderfully kind people who choose to live in this 'abondoned' town.

image.png

Back in the day Mandawa was known as a trading hub for ancient caravan routes around western India on the way to China from the Middle East. During the 18th century wealthy Marwari businessmen settled around this little town (it was not so little back then). They all built large decorative mansions around town, known as 'haveli's. Each of these mansions had and still have wonderful frescos both inside and out.

image.png

With time however, everything declines. There are alternative trade routes that became popular in modern times. In addition, after the independence of India in 1947, the trade though this area stopped. Rich dynasties got broken up and people largely moved to big cities, and Mandawa largely remained abandoned.

Today, however, many of these havelis have been restored as hotels, but most remained abandoned. Some are absolutely falling apart....

image.png

image.png

While others are in decent state. There are family members who are trying to take care of the frescos as best they can...

image.png

image.png

The thing that intrigued me a lot about Mandawa are the wide streets, covered with dust. Dust is everywhere there, its thick and gets into everthing. Its Thar desert afterall! I begin to imagine during the glory days of Mandawa, how beautiful this town might look like with upward of 120 havelis all decorated. People living there having fun, going about their daily life. That must have been a spectacular sight.

image.png

Sort:  

Love the cobwebbed door, I hope you disturbed them and went in?

Lol, classic slobs comment.

I did go in. I was actually thinking only about you at the time. All along thinking about your urban exploration. Please put Mandawa on your personal map. Supposedly there are 93 such houses left abandoned there :)

6EB6ECF6-5471-4B65-924F-236FE9546246.jpeg

9C8039F8-8F39-492A-A354-98E6CD4E70BC.jpeg

There was this easier way to go upstairs. When you go upstairs it’s surprisingly clean! No idea how!

13E59DB5-80D8-474E-85E9-3E12D1F90983.jpeg

Holy smacks, is that Ground all sand?

Yep.

There is pavement underneath, but all gets covered real quick

Reminds me of old rail road towns, when the trains stopped coming through the towns populations disappeared.

I like the artwork adorned on the homes, the shapes of the door ways and that tree in the courtyard looks quite old but doing well.

Yes, or mining town in the west. Colorado, California, Utah are full of them

Amazing. Never heard. I've bookmarked Mandawa on my custom map "Where to go in India". Hope to have a trip in India (again) in 2023 or 2024, let's see.

Screenshot 2023-01-29 at 00-26-30 Куда ехать в Индии - Google My Maps.png

You have central India empty, and also fairly non-existent in east and north east India. Excellent coverage in the south, west and the north

Yes, Assam and surrounding are just empty. Mountains - nothing on the map. It's because I marked places that were near I was in India (I had 2 trip, 3 months each) or places I hoped to visit soon and had time to explore them online. The map does not claim to cover all of India.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I just love this kind of house. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @shadonchandra, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @shadonchandra, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

The buildings there are of course still very strong and very good. How are you today friends.I always hope your days are always fun.

Seems calming...
Like the best place to go for a retreat 🙂😍✨

😊How amazing historical heritage👍👍

Beautiful!!!

It's a beautiful place.
Painting cached my attention mostly.

Namaste Ge. We love India 🇮🇳

Planning in the end of the year to go back there. Have a great time.

These old buildings look very nice.

🙏🏽

You can't think that back in the 1800's that was probably a very rich and wealthy area... Yet no it seems desolate...

Desolate as it may be, it carries so much history and that's what makes it even more rich!

Love the photos

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1774.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I'm deciding to bring this up with you again, you've downvoted all my post for a while now and while I didn't complain I do agree that you have the right to disagree on rewards and I'm not arguing that you're wrong. You have the right to adjust rewards and I'm happy you do sometimes. But you have to do it fairly. A 7 paragraph post with 40$ is not overrewarded, even if it is, giving it a minus 20$ is fair and good enough completely wiping of 36$ off it is not fair. I'm not a Plagiarist, I'm not a seller, I'm a bonfide member of this chain. I've agreed on all your downvotes thus far. But DV a 6 paragraph post with 38$ reward to $4 is totally not fair. Even if you deem it to be overrewarded, at least an 18$ to is still okay. All I'm asking is to be fair, spread it reasonably nothing more, I'll take this up with @theycallmedan, again, please be good to DV posts but please do it fairly, everyone deserves fairness.

Personally I think your material is somewhat over rewarded, I mean it's OK but I don't think it should be on trending every day.

There's also the fact that a fair chunk of your payouts comes from a disreputable discordant, and I personally think any reward given by him should be neutralised.

And unfortunately it's a case of those with stake can choose to adjust!

I recommend just sucking it up and keep on producing content you're not doing anything wrong, it's just one of those things!

Thank you, I'll do that, I was just trying to see if I could get a more linient DV percentage, I didn't mean to do otherwise. I accepted the DVs totally. I know it's what it is. I'll take it like you've said. I appreciate this.

You are farming crap out of the chain for long. Please reduce your post frequency otherwise I will continue to adjust rewards. I have talked to multiple individuals and they say your posts are monotonous and before my downvote, we’re massively over rewarded

""monotonous" "multiple individuals" that's what it is when it comes to people like me. That's always the thing. Double standards. You're nuking not adjusting ozuor. spread the adjustment fairly. no one says don't DV spread it fairly ewu.

I have had this discussion with you in past.

I am having this discussion with you again.

You corrected yourself a little bit, at least in terms of frequency. Just becuase you are on some big auto-vote doesn't mean 100 people is reading what you write. I am a stakeholder. I am telling you nothing that you generated is worth $20 on the streets of Lagos. I have said this to you before and you know that is true as a fact.

Take it up to whoever you like, my view will not change.

share the DVs equally at least the people you claim to talk to are there, but no you won't because they're special and your caucus and won't get it, but When it's me, I become a farmer, when it's them they're mechanical engineers. You bring the argument of lagos Everytime as if Nigerians are not humans beings. I've always done right by this chain but no it's me you pick on Every other stuff is okay. No one says change your views, DV responsibly oponu, it only gets justifiable when you only pick on someone you don't fear.

It's alright, up we go then..

The only thing I said, your posts are NOT worth $20 at Lagos.

Please tell me if this statement is false.

Please also tell me how is this statement dehumanizing Nigerians?

You are calling me 'oponu'....trouble is I know what it means. I haven't disrespected you ever, and now you have disrespected me. You will have to own it from this point onwards.

This will be my last word to you.

Oh you did your research? Haha, you should also check the meaning in urhobo language, I didn't say anything abusive, opino is jargon.

By Sayings Nigerians are not worth up to 20$ is as worse as slave trade, you do that every time. Fairness was all I asked, I'm supporting you for DVs, do it, but all I'm asking you to do what's right and just be minimal and fair, but you throw the 20$ analogy all the time. You own that too.

I would suggest you post less, having rancho votes will attact unwanted attention. Fortunately for me, he took a dislike to me some time ago and muted me (even though I have never commented or corresponded with him).

image.png

I get well rewarded as you are probably aware, but have only 2 post pending rewards. Go do something else, and focus less on here. The reward pool then gets spread more and you will get less unwanted attention.

I would suggest you post less, having rancho votes will attact unwanted attention. Fortunately for me, he took a dislike to me some time ago and muted me (even though I have never commented or corresponded with him).

Okay, thank you, I'll mute rancho ASAP as well. Yeah, I guess that was the best thing they did, even when you never knew them. 🤲🤲

Thanks for another Indian history lesson!

You are welcome. I write when I feel like.