Explicitly Yours

in LeoFinance2 years ago

My family were always quite late to the technology party, with our first VHS player bought in the early 90s, and a couple years later, our first CD player. The first album I ever bought was Lethal Injection, by Ice Cube and I was 14 years of age. It came with an "explicit content" warning, but my mother didn't check and if she had, she wouldn't have cared anyway. My ten year old sister got Music Box, by Mariah Carey.

This came to mind as I was uploading this image to Discord, which I use for the occasional post about blockchain, or Hive, or crypto content.

construction_tampere-2 - Copy (8).jpg

Screenshot_20220817_155145_edit_1142426064457448.jpg

Fair enough.

Chains turn me on too.

Does anyone else get the feeling that there is a bit more fear in the markets this week?

Screenshot_20220817_190322.jpg

It is like the last few weeks of up have lost their momentum as people realize that they have things to buy and bills to pay, and this inflation thing isn't going away. Reality of the situation might be sinking in.

Could just be me?

I don't think so though. More and more I hear friends talking about the state of the economy, referencing news and what they have heard from other conversations. And, after being disinterested most of their lives, many seem to be pricking up their ears and putting their brains to work a little - and everyone claims to be an expert. They are also talking more personally about things, more openly, even though they are uncomfortable to do so.

They are scared and looking for support.

"Are you feeling like me?"

The reason that my family were likely always late to the technology table was, may parents were terrible with money. Not just a little, but a lot. Debt was a constant, as was juggling credit cards, paying one off with another. To be fair, it wasn't my father at fault in this for the most part, he was more of the enabler and silent partner, it was my mother. And, it was in this environment of gross mismanagement of home economics that I learned my habits and have spent the better part of my life, trying to forget.

And one of the challenges I face is,

A scarcity mindset.

I wonder how much of human greed is because people just always want more and how much is because they don't want to have not enough? That might seem like much the same thing, but it is about the direction of movement. Running to something, or running away from something.

Am I running to wealth, or away from poverty?

Most of my life I have been running away and getting nowhere. Running away from something is a forced position, meaning that as long as what is chasing is following where you go, you have to keep running. However, running toward something is a decision, choosing what is going to be aimed for and also, having the ability to change direction by choice, not by force.

How much of our time is spent concerned with what we don't want in comparison to working toward what we do? If all the "rage" on social media is anything to go by, there are a lot of people complaining about conditions, but they don't seem to be the kinds of people who are working toward what they actually want. There is definitely a lack of "be the change" in society these days, unless that change feels comfortable and feeds the desire to not change.

I don't believe anyone who says they are content with their lives as is, as I think it is humanely impossible, due to the way we are built. However, we might be content as things are now in this moment, but in the next, we will likely want something different. It is like the joyous feeling of eating an ice cream on a hot day, but after the third, fourth and fifth - a change is desired.

Too much of a good thing?

I guess this all depends on the person, but what I think people need to remember, that despite their best intentions, they always have an opinion and an agenda based on their own experiences. No one is a true objective input, all will carry preferences that they cannot extricate from their decisions. And, because it is also impossible to truly know the conditions of another person, it opens a lot of room for poorly fit advice.

Take it or leave it.

And opinion or not, care or not - your conditions are explicitly yours and mine are mine. You are the only one who can live your life and even if you try to live vicariously through the lives and opinions of others, you are still the one who will experience the journey and face the outcomes along the way. And deny it as I may, I will face mine.

Fear and Greed.

Is there actually a difference between them or rather, isn't greed an outcome of fear? The desire for more born out of the fear of not having enough. I don't know what "enough" looks like, but perhaps no one does until they have it. The problem is, at the point of enough, the body still wants more and then, it enters the territory of "too much".

If there is too much of a good thing, is the thing inherently good?

Hard to say, but I still am unsure if I am running toward where I want to be, or away from where I don't. Perhaps when I get somewhere, I will have the right vantage point to recognize which.

Does this count as explicit content?

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I think inflation is nothing more than price gouging from Governments, and large corporations. The Mom and Pop stores, (owner/operators), are the ones caught in the middle. They are forced to buy at the set price with not much chance of negotiating lower prices with the producers of goods.

In time it leads to over stocked items that people just can not afford to buy, then the big stores have to place the items on sale. During Covid early years in America Hot Air Fryers were a big sales item, everyone wanted one since they had to stay home and cook as all the restaurants were closed. Now those same fryers are sitting on the shelf and not moving even with the price reductions.

We as individuals and as corporations and governments are always chasing our own tails, it is hard to see running from something to running to something for me when all I see is a lot of tail chasing, and lemming style actions.

I think inflation is nothing more than price gouging from Governments, and large corporations.

I read the other day that the largest ever profits were being made in oil, with the largest producer reaping 700 million a day.

And yes, the small stores suffer, making them less attractive and driving customers to the large conglomerates. It is a consolidation, a centralization of wealth generation.

in America Hot Air Fryers were a big sales item, everyone wanted one since they had to stay home and cook as all the restaurants were closed. Now those same fryers are sitting on the shelf and not moving even with the price reductions.

Same here - I am waiting for the bottom before I buy one ;D

it is hard to see running from something to running to something for me when all I see is a lot of tail chasing, and lemming style actions.

And this is the rat race isn't it? It isn't just work, it is the reason we work.

I am also late almost in everything. It's because at the beginning I think it's necessary for me or not. Then I observe it and try to understand what kind of impact it can create. So I focus on those people who use something new.

But in case of Crypto I always try to buy in cheaper price. And I don't hesitate to buy anything in low prices even if the price go more lower. I think in the world of cryptocurrency I don't feel the fear. I don't know why ? May be i am turning into robot 😂..

I think in the world of cryptocurrency I don't feel the fear. I don't know why?

It is crazy, isn't it? I wear clothes with holes in them - but spend far more on crypto :D

Thanks for the reminder that I should indeed order some new sneakers tomorrow ;^)

Someone told me I wear the same clothes, I dont care so long I can buy crypto.

It is crazy, isn't it?

Yes , it's crazyness but i think this kind of craziness is good for me😁 .

Man, I remember in the mid 90s we were sharing a VHS player with my cousins’ family. And everyone started a job and probably sticked to the same company until their retirement. There weren’t a lot of possibilities here in Bulgaria, unless you were a member of the leading political party. My father always wanted to make something different and start his own business, and he managed to achieve that in a way or another, but he seemed to be unable in achieving what was in his dreams. He never stopped trying though…

Now people have the advantage of living in a more “free” society in a lot of different meanings and it seems that a lot of people are still not aware of their own possibilities in doing something different. This is of course the current situation in my own country. Maybe these past months the fear is really present and the uncertainty is the moving factor in people’s decisions. And most importantly, people miss the general knowledge about how to structure their finances.

Your post provokes a lot of thinking. Thank you!

but he seemed to be unable in achieving what was in his dreams. He never stopped trying though…

Perhaps this is a good life. The journey, not the destination. the determination, not the outcome.

A good rolemodel?

And most importantly, people miss the general knowledge about how to structure their finances.

Definitely. If everyone had the knowledge and skills, distribution would be far better. Unfortunately, only a few seem to ever hold enough of both.

I still am unsure if I am running toward where I want to be, or away from where I don't.

Maybe a little of both? As long as you are genuinely building, you are making progress...

Definitely a bit of both. I just wonder, is it possible to be only the run toward kind of person?

Maybe, if you never wanted for anything... But I think if you ever had to struggle, you'll always be a little like the ant and squirrel. Caching away something for emergencies :) As long as you are aware of that, and keep it in check, it's not an entirely bad thing.

Inflation is alive and well and growing in leaps and bounds! Yeah, over the last two or three generation we have turned into a people of greed. And yeah, there is a reaction over time of too much of a good thing and be bad and we create the conditions to be fearful. It is weird but perhaps that is it. We have produced this outcome on our own out of our own selfishness.

We have produced this outcome on our own out of our own selfishness.

And this is the crux of it. Yes, we have been conditioned to a large part, but we are also conditioned through what we consume - which feeds back in on itself. If we aren't the ones to break the cycle, no one else has the incentive to.

I think that's why you're supposed to eat slowly? XD

It seems that no amount will ever be enough, there must always be infinitely more "just in case" (of what I don't know).

I think that's why you're supposed to eat slowly? XD

That's crazy talk!

Have you heard that "chew 32 times" nonsense?

No. And given I never "mindfully eat" to begin with (I'm constantly doing something else whether it's talking to whoever if I have company or doing something on my phone if I don't) I would most definitely lose count after 2 if I tried this.

In my view this content is very explicit. I so much admire how you excellently combined real life examples with the crypto market of the week.

To be fair, it wasn't my father at fault in this for the most part, he was more of the enabler and silent partner, it was my mother.

Only a few of us has this boldness to identify this fact. And understanding what environment you're coming from positions you on the types of decisions beautiful I see one says no to running away from something but a courageous fellow who faces his fear for change to take effect.
This is one of best articles I read today.

The past environment might shape us, but does it always have to direct us?

We live having a great touch of our environment influence on us but always to direct us is a no our choices does. Though our choices are likely the product of our environment but using the sieve of eratosthenes to settle for what ever we want.

I wonder how much of human greed is...

If there was a limit, the world would be a better world for everyone to live, to experience.

There is no limit to human greed it seems - nor fear.

Fear of the unknown leads to greed. The truth is you just have to keep “running” because the moment you stop, whatever is after you gets hold of you. Exactly why the rich gets richer. Uncertainty in life🥲 Fear of the unknown.

Life is always uncertain - coming to terms with the lack of control might be the hard part.

Sadly🥲

This is too much to bear. The rate at which the economy is moving right now is something to be worried about. Truth be told everyone has got his or her own issues but we hope all will be for good in time to come. Greetings friend.

How are you handling it?

I have decided to keep chasing after wealth, yes it might seems difficult sometimes but then I got to ask myself, will I standing waiting to be stranded or will I pursue what I'm aiming at? It says that you wouldn't know if you don't try. So that has been my biggest motivation so far. I keep trying and striving to succeed. Well if I fail I know I have given it a try but the worst failure ever is never to try at all.

I have decided to keep chasing after wealth, yes it might seems difficult sometimes but then I got to ask myself, will I standing waiting to be stranded or will I pursue what I'm aiming at? It says that you wouldn't know if you don't try. So that has been my biggest motivation so far. I keep trying and striving to succeed. Well if I fail I know I have given it a try but the worst failure ever is never to try at all.

I have decided to keep chasing after wealth, yes it might seems difficult sometimes but then I got to ask myself, will I standing waiting to be stranded or will I pursue what I'm aiming at? It says that you wouldn't know if you don't try. So that has been my biggest motivation so far. I keep trying and striving to succeed. Well if I fail I know I have given it a try but the worst failure ever is never to try at all.

I have decided to keep chasing after wealth, yes it might seems difficult sometimes but then I got to ask myself, will I standing waiting to be stranded or will I pursue what I'm aiming at? It says that you wouldn't know if you don't try. So that has been my biggest motivation so far. I keep trying and striving to succeed. Well if I fail I know I have given it a try but the worst failure ever is never to try at all.

Your posts do seem a little low at the moment, a constant undertow of ... impending misery? Sometimes we behave like our resources are finite. Some are, but others are not. Energy is an interesting one: sometimes we feel like we are very tired, then we go for a walk, apparently using more energy, but return refreshed and ready to do something else. We don't run down like a battery, our recharge processes are different.

Sorry, a bit oblique 🙂

Like my grandfather told me head up shoulders back only trust the dollar in your pocket. The inflation wont stop because of greed. Keep running, its a marathon, one cant afford to slow down to ask for direction... our path is our path!