If everyone is doing it

in LeoFinance3 years ago

There are now a couple days ahead where I don't have product deliveries, but I have set up deliveries for my own business, which I have put on hold the last few weeks due to the volume of work in general. It will be good to not have to plan too much for these sessions though, as they are more "off the cuff" - kind of like a freewriting session.

image.png

When I got home from work tonight however, I went straight over to the neighbor's place to help him take a load of garden waste to the dump. He had taken his son and son's friend on a camping trip over the weekend and slipped and unfortunately fractured his ankle, so for the next four or five weeks, he is largely out of commission for the most part. Luckily he can still drive and we actually ended up taking another load of renovation rubbish from our place too, which is handy.

I don't have a tow-ball on my car and I have never driven with a trailer before, but with the needs of the house and garden, I am going to have to eventually have a bar fitted, buy a trailer and start practicing. There are most likely YouTube videos I can use to learn from, showing how to be manly with a trailer.

Of course, I am not the only one who is feeling over-worked at the moment, as one of our builders who has been helping us some afternoons said that after he does tomorrow, he can't do any more because he is just getting too tired. I completely understand, so now I am going to have to find the space to do the rest of the work he won't be able to finish - which isn't ideal, but not much ever is. So, work with what you've got.

Work is such a dirty word for some people these days. It's as if there is this expectation that high return should be provided, regardless of effort in. I would like to say that it is only the young that act like this, but more and more I am observing the behavior reach up the generational ladder, with older people believing they are entitled to something, no matter how they behave. I think that for the most part, they are in for a nasty shock.

While we were driving tonight, we were talking about housing prices and how a lot of people are living as renters in Helsinki "for the lifestyle", yet are still struggling to make ends meet. What they don't seem to realize is that as bad as they think things are now, they are going to be many times worse worse when they are of retirement age in an aging population with no assets to their name to cover their further living expenses. Many believe that the state will look after them, but I don't think it is going to be possible given the magnitude of the situation.

So many people seem to be taking the have now, worry about paying the bills later attitude to life and the more who do it, the more who will. It has become a kind of social norm to buy on credit and it is at least partly driven through the social-proofing of it. If everyone is doing it, it must be okay - right?

This is how culture tends to go though, until something comes along that forces a change in the paradigm - often something that is very painful, like economic collapse to the point of war, which seems closer and closer by the day. We seem to think that it is the top of the heap that make the decisions for war, but it isn't only them - we play a role in proceedings too and when we own nothing, we are at the mercy of those who do.

You can't own something of value if everything you get keeps getting sold for what is worthless.

It all comes down to what we value, doesn't it?

Some people value the "lifestyle" of living in Helsinki or being "close to the action", even though they struggle daily. Some value the myriad gadgets, cars and consumer goods that make them feel important, even though a few minutes after purchase, the feeling dissipates to nothing and they look for the next thing to buy. Some value the money, others the competition, some experience, some relationships, some a mix of it all.

"Value" is subjective. But, circumstances can change the subject.

"I would never eat at that restaurant!" is not a sentence heard from the empty mouths of the starving.

What we value can change heavily through our lives, but unfortunately, the decisions we make each day are going to impact on what is possible in our future. Are we acting to have increased opportunity or is what we are doing now reducing it? Will we be able to look after ourselves, or will we be reliant on others and need handouts and charity? It is all well and good to want the lifestyle now, but everything has a future cost of some kind involved and often, fulfilling the socially-proofed norms of society will leave us stuck in the norm.

Tell me, what is the average person's financial and life experience in your local cultural norms? Are they enjoying life, happy, content with what they have, able to pick and choose opportunity, have enough to do a lot of what they enjoy - or are they struggling to make ends meet, stressed over debt, having to work at jobs they do not like in order to maintain the lifestyle they have chosen to live? How about yourself in comparison to those around you - are you living a better life than the average, or do you consider yourself in a worse position?

We are often influenced by our peer groups and those in our environment, yet as children we were asked, "if your friend jumps off a cliff, do you follow?" I think it is safe to say that in the current conditions of the world, the people who do not have ownership that brings them opportunity, those who are in debt and are having to work unwanted jobs, are likely not having a great experience in life - the social proof is there. Many people have jumped off economic cliffs - yet many more keep following on their heels.

Well, if everyone is doing it....

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Just find a big empty parking lot and take the trailer there to practice turning and backing in and stuff like that. I have been doing it for several years now and I still don't get it right 100% of the time. Be sure that you are able to laugh at yourself and forgive yourself, that will be huge. I went from a 18 foot travel trailer to a 26 foot now and it is quite a different beast to be sure! If you are towing with a car and your trailer only has a single axel you are going to be looking at a fairly short wheelbase so little movements will have a big effect on what the trailer does.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The parking lot is the plan for when I get it all organized. It will be a single axel for now, because we don't need to take that much stuff normally, but I am guessing it will still need to fit sheets of gyprock into it without getting them wet :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sounds like you have a good plan in place! It can be intimidating at first, but it gets easier, I promise! Then again, you might end up being a natural at it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I always thought that if all people do a thing... Then it is the best NOT to follow the crowds. Usually they never go on a good road...

how to be manly with a trailer.

Well this sounds like the perfect title for a future post😂

If we think that society is unhealthy, we best not follow the average.

When I start, I will have to take some videos to show how bad I am with it :D

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's going to be cool watching you, I think you'll do just fine, there is a super skill gene in your DNA as you can handle so many things at a time

I might be able to learn trailer stunts!

Is that a ratsnake?

Work's been a dirty word for a while. When I was in school it was conflated with unpleasantness (mostly jobs and schoolwork/homework) and it never got applied to anything that was found pleasurable (even back then I did a lot of writing and drawing, and a lot of it was really hard work, but it was never acknowledged as such because they're not skills that will ever lead to "real" jobs and are therefore worthless).

With my kids and their friends (doesn't seem to make a difference whether they are at school or not), it doesn't seem to be that "work" is a dirty word (some of them will work pretty damn hard on stuff, it's just that the adults in their lives don't see it as relevant or important and lack the imagination to realise how the skills are transferable), it's more that they just don't see why and in fact deeply resent being forced to do things that they don't enjoy and don't see the point of.

That was really cool of you to help the neighbour out :) And yay for getting rid of a trailer load of stuff! Now let them help you with some of the renos xP

Is that a ratsnake?

It is a mouse. It was a bookmark originally, but Smallsteps loved it so much, that it ended up getting "fleshed out" into having a full body. It is with her nearly everywhere she goes at home and when she wakes up in the middle of the night to pee, she is still carrying it, no matter how tired she is :D

Perhaps reframing "work" would work. In my opinion, play is work, it is like the preparation tasks necessary to improve. I reckon that part of the problem might be that people see work as an individual task, rather than a progression over time.

I play word and number games with Smallsteps a lot - it makes her work for solutions -she has a ball playing, but it develops basic skills and logic that could perhaps later be applied to generate value. The early work has to be done, but it can also be fun. :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ahhhh soooooo cuuuuuuuuuuuute xD

It's easier to make things fun at that age. Then you get to a point where you pretty much just have to remember that this thing that you absolutely loathe makes it possible to do the thing that you love. Like me and rigging. I hate rigging and retopo. But need rigged half-decent model to animate x_x

Life is hard and teaching kids is even harder when you return tired after work

But, once a parent, tired or not, children need support.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

So true

Great social insight and points to be discussed.

Following the flock has never been my thing also.

Welcome back!

It is good to know where the flock is going and then look the other way for opportunity :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

yes, observers are the best.
Have you Jerome K Jerome's Three Men in a Boat (1st ed, 1889)?

Never heard of it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

A short story after a real life happening, with 3 men trying to survive in a boat. The one that manages to do that is that guy who had almost no skills...just because he watched and learn.

@tipu curate :)

Thank you :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Much truth in this post here. However, on other hand, in relation with "Thoughts of Immortality" I suspect there are still too many out there who are more in communion with the also indisputable wisdom enclosed in this phrase below too. };)

I think the buddhists believe in reincarnation, don't they? So I guess, they get an infinite number of lives to live, so wasting some might not matter.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yep! ...unless they reach Nirvana first. :D

Buddah

!LUV

Nirvana: Smells like teen bullshit

I find most religions in regard to afterlife pretty immature. If there is a God and that is what it came up with for after death - it isn't very imaginative, nor clever.

Sorry, you're out of LUV tokens to be sent today. Try tomorrow. (Having at least 5 LUV in your wallet allows you to freely give 3 per day.)

This is one of my favourite quotes from him. A very wise man.

I agree. Something to think about with more attention in these times that are running. :)

Trailers are a piece'0 cake dude. The smaller they are the harder to control but they all push like a wheelbarrow. You'll be fine. I gotta go help my neighbor now. See ya!

I will have to get some practice in before I have to do anything serious with it :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I kind of feel sorry for the children of those that are living at home with their parents. I can see a future where their parents end up living in their home after they leave the nest and try to build their own.

There are so many adults with kids living at home with their parents. If it was by choice this would be a good thing, however most of it seems to be because of the gimme crowd, those that have no sense of self respect, those that just want to take from their parents, then they will take from their children, all because they did not want to take the needed action to form some self respect, and that is what I see as being part of the issue today, there are many and this is just one small part of it.

I see myself as on the outskirts of average, primarily with my choice of retirement location, and resources available. I want no part of a retirement community at all, I have always valued independence, and do understand the consequences of that independence, and there are many.

One thing I do not think I will ever be is a lemming running to the sea.

self-respect is an interesting introduction into this conversation - it also isn't spoken about that much anymore. It is like while so many people focus on the reflection in the mirror, they have forgotten that they should build that reflection to be someone they can respect. It seems that people are so embedded into their personal branding, that they can live the illusion that they are someone worthwhile.

I was considering getting a picture from the old Lemmings game for this, but as you know, I don't often use anything but my own :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The world is changing, yeah. But sometimes, I just feel like the world is moving in circles. Based on the condition of the times, people just act accordingly.

I think it is cyclical because we don't really learn much, we have to keep being taught the same lessons over and over and over. One day perhaps, we will break the cycle and move on from the ridiculousness we have created.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

if you want help with a big remolque visit our great homesteading here
@papapeppers here se have a man who live in the forest literaly and building their house with their own hand
and of course the homesteading and foraging are their lifestyle
well sorry for your neigbor, it is sad to suffer an accident.
hope do not suffer one, specially when i climb the trees for collect fruits and wild vegetables.
a lot of people here, live without their lifestile own, because gets debs for been better lifestyle aparently.
for feel better in a societe that invite us to the comsumption mass.
well we need to live in slow of posibilities, save money in every down posibilities.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I don't think I could do the homesteading life - at east at the moment - Though I think it would be easier if i was somewhere a little warmer :)

If everyone is doing it, it must be okay - right?

No it's not OK. I am trying to teach my daughter this.. if she would only listen. This kind of sprung into my mind if it's OK.

If it's any consolation, there's probably a number of us around the place trying to teach our kids that :)

Do you remember being that age though, when the advice of your parents was completely irrelevant because they were old and lived in a past world and couldn't possibly know anything worthwhile about the world you were growing up in, and all your friends agreed with you so you lot simply had to have the right of it there?

Maybe it was just me and my friends that were that dumb.

Anyway she may not be listening now but when she's older she'll probably be like aargh how dumb was I XD

I'm hoping for this result with my lot x_x

I got these ideals from my parents, though it went over my head when I was younger. I am hoping they sink in post 30 after the material stage has passed her by.

See if you can get her to start writing about her life experiences and the struggles she has and is currently facing and discuss possible solutions. Works wonders.

Sounds statistically likely that it will be alright :)

It seems like she's not listening but these will be the lessons she will always have with her in life. Maybe she is too young or an adolescent now. But I am your advice will stay with her.

Great movie.

The world is changing and we as parents will increasingly not keep up with the tech and the culture - but some things never change.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Debt is one thing I loathe. It's all gone now, cars paid for, house paid for, 2 years pre-orders of blow paid for.., oops.. not supposed to reveal that last bit 😀

2 years pre-orders of blow paid for.., oops..

I try to buy in bulk in the dips

...as children we were asked, "if your friend jumps off a cliff, do you follow?"

Made me think of what my father used to say to me way to often...

"If Joe shits his pants, are you gonna shit yours too.?"

Me and my best friend Joe...

Joe K & Randy 1980.jpg

A very long time ago.