Cleaning my top and bottom

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

I've not spoken all weekend. Hmm, let me clarify, I've not spoken to others, I talk to myself all the time. It probably means I'm crazy but I'm ok with that. (Insert maniacal giggle here.) It's been a very quiet weekend and I've chosen to spend it in my space.

I love my space; it's not large, but it's comfortable, feels cosy and I feel safe surrounded by my things: Flowers, photos, soft cushions and blankets, my bed, the scent of vanilla, coffee and my perfume, Incanto Charms by Salvatore Ferragamo, ornaments and trinkets I've collected, some bought, some found, and the most important things...My cats and books. It's a place I drop the mask I mostly wear.

One thing I love about my space is that it's clean, usually. I'm fastidious about it and I set today aside for the mundane activity of cleaning my space.

20220416_144931.jpg

If you look carefully in this picture you can see me in the photo frame

I listen to lots of good music when cleaning, played way to loud of course. I have a system also, a specific order in which I do things going room to room (there's not many rooms) doing things in the same way every time, that way nothing gets missed.

I also have a clean-up weekend uniform of old yoga crop top and short boxer shorts that have seen better days; they're loose in places where they shouldn't be, but it's just me so who cares, yes? I add in a haphazardly tied hair scrunchie to hold up my hair back and I'm ready to start...after a sleep in, long breakfast, two coffees and cuddle with my cats and...oh my, it's almost lunch time! 🙃

I love cleanliness, a fact you'd understand if you knew the inordinate amount of time I spend in the bath. I like that feeling of being clean and that extends to my home. There's no dust.

That's a lie...there's a little, but so little that there's hardly any to clean up on clean-up weekends like this one. I clean a little each day mostly, every day, so on major clean-up weekends it's that bit easier to do the top to bottom clean and get that dust that escapes my daily cleans.

I've spent last night and today cleaning skirting boards, cornices, the top of doors and window frames, the light shades (and globes), ceiling fan, windows inside and out, the little water trays beneath my potted plants, the bath (I did this whilst resisting the urge to fill it up and have a bath!), under my bed, (changed the sheets and flipped the mattress too), cleaned the track in the sliding door to my balcony, and about a million other things besides. Don't judge me but...I even cleaned my house keys...The grooves in keys get so grubby.

I listened to music the whole time and sang. I have a reasonable singing voice, but probably not nearly as good as I think it is. There's no one here to torture with it though, so I sang and imagined it sounded really good.

What definitely was good was the feeling of having a splendidly clean place and as I peeled my cleaning outfit off, which didn't take long as there wasn't much of it, and stepped into the bath I felt happy with my efforts.

I laid back, eyes half-lidded, watching steam rise off the water allowing the lavender bath oil to lull me to the point of deep relaxation along with the sounds of Michael Bublé coming from my Bluetooth speaker. I sipped a cup of chamomile tea now and then and, when I could be bothered, raised my hand to watch water droplets fall back into the bath water. I was tired, but relaxed and deeply satisfied. Not even the fact my toe nails needed repainting could cause me concern when I felt like this.

I'm looking forward to nothing.

I mean, I'm looking forward to being in my space, my amazingly neat, tidy and clean space, and doing nothing but reading, cuddling cats, listening to music and making my signature dish, spaghetti bolognaise for decadent dinner for one. That's the plan for Sunday.

I love my space and don't mind that I'm alone within it; I like it that way. I get lonely sometimes, but my interactions with people usually make me want to retreat anyway; when did people become so rude, selfish, demanding and arrogant? My space nurtures me and within it I feel happier, safer and more content than I do when outside. I think it's partly because I don't allow others to come here, I don't allow that intrusion, nor trust it. I'm not sure what that says about me, or about the outside world and other people, but it works.

Becca 💗



Sort:  

Hi Becca

I'm glad to read you are doing well. I'm absolutely pathetic at dusting stuff to be honest, so I'm making a concerted effort at teaching my daughter how to do it - you know, breaking generational cycles is all the rage these days.

It's a lovely feeling to enjoy your space and be surrounded by your treasures and trinkets, I remember it fondly.

Not sure if it's just my worsening eyesight, but I can't really see you in the picture lol.

Have a good weekend

You have a dusting oompa loompa? How fortunate!

I don't mind the housework really. I turn it into an event. Music, singing, skimpy barely-there cleaning outfit. (It probably doesn't look as good in real life as it does in my imagination though).

Hmm, it's a blurry image, I know. That's me in the frame though, smiling. Maybe one day I'll share that image a little more clearly, not just yet though, I'm too shy and there's so many weird people. I think you understand.

Becca 💗

Tee hee hee. Yes, a very cute oompa loompa who wanted to make me breakfast in bed today.

She's such a sweetheart. I didn't let her because the aftermath almost never justifies the activity (in terms of cleanup I mean, not food)

I generally don't mind housework these days either, I just don't like the time that it takes. Although I can't complain too much now, for 9 months I was handwashing clothing in the bath which I don't have to do anymore. Score!

Lol no pressure, I get the inclination to stay at least partially anonymous on Hive and I respect that. As for weirdos - yup, plenty of those potting around, avoidance is the best course of action in that regard.

Have a lovely weekendend Becca

Cheers
Andy

Breakfast in bed is lovely, not that I've experienced many other than those I've provided for myself. Crumbs in bed are not lovely though, they're almost as bad as having to hand wash clothing...OK, let's say they're equally bad.

Exactly, I am totally with you on crumbs in the bed - or on the breadboard! I'm so glad that crumbs annoy other people too, it makes me feel a tad less odd.

Breakfast made for yourself by yourself is pretty darn rad - you certainly are gonna end up eating exactly what you wanted, so that's a bonus 😉

I've been known to find crumbs down my top, cookies mainly, but I'd never admit to it. Just pretend I never said it. 🙃

There's really nothing better than sitting back with your feet up at the end of the day, particularly one that has been incredibly successful.

You sound to have a really cozy space, one that you're comfortable in and can leave the worries of the world outside. My space is a little different, but still mine; it's small, full of vintage phonographs (the old wind up Victrola kind from the 1920's), antique cameras and, in complete juxtaposition, a couple of computers and a 3d printer. I'm a man of many sides.

There's satisfaction in a job well done yes?

Oh your space sounds lovely, a reflection of the man you are. I love old things, antiques and all. Mine has a shabby-chic feel, I'm a girl you know, and it makes me feel nice to have an eclectic gathering of things, most of which don't match, as I feel like they all tell a story. My place has a soothing effect on me a result of all the muted pastels I suppose. It's nice, smells like vanilla, and me, and is quiet. Could I ask for more?

Becca 💗

First off-I am horrible at cleaning. That's especially horrible since I once owned half a cleaning service :) There's always a motorcycle that needs attention or a book that needs read now or something to distract me from it. It doesn't take much.

I don't let many people in my house. Not that I don't like people, I do. Used to be 3 or 4 guys here for coffee every morning. I make good coffee and they liked drinking it and swapping lies. But they've gotten old and mostly dead so now there's really only 2 and they have both given up on caffeine and getting up early...

So. I admire people that keep their spaces neat as a pin and can appreciate your obvious pride in your space.

Oh, so sad about your coffee ritual although people get old and things change yes? I'd have coffee with you, although it might be out int he garage with the motorbike.

I'm the same with not wanting people in my space; I don't even like the electrician or plumber turning up to do work as it feels like an invasion. I like to have a clean space though and I put some effort in each day, just a little, usually, mostly, sometimes.

I love my space, it's where I feel safe and that matters yes? Thank you so much for engaging with me.

Becca 💗

Congratulations @becca-mac! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 100 replies.
Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

You found yourself a NICE little Curangel!
Very cool post.

I think I got lucky, compared to all the posts I see mine is pretty average. I'm grateful though.

Get yourself a magic sponge. You won't look back. 😀😀. I'm the same as you. Like my own space and love when I have a day with nothing. It relaxes me.

I like the sound of a magic sponge...must investigate. 💗

https://www.vikingdirect.ie/en/p/3050511?customerType=consumer&?utm_source=google&utm_medium=organic&utm_campaign=surface_google&cm_mmc=Google--PLA_GEN_GOOGLE-SHOPPING_cleaning_and_catering_GOSC--cleaning_and_catering-_-3050511&gclid=Cj0KCQjw1N2TBhCOARIsAGVHQc4WByI3uYTuGufH9idkttc1qsl15TDROjaTBp4gciioprBU0KW4g3MaAmENEALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds