Past and Future

This is written in response to Weekend Engagement 82 in the excellent Weekend Community. If nothing else, it's a good chance to do some reflection and peering ahead on this New Year's Weekend.

Typically for me, I'm going to disregard the rules/suggestions and publish what I want. Sue me.

It was exactly two years ago that I first got confirmation that I had actual blood relatives. My niece Miranda was a member at 23 and Me that showed up right away. The journey since then has been amazing-meeting and getting to know my family.

Family portrait sized.jpg
(I'm not sure who took this but I do have permission to use it)
I am the last male on the top right. Between my youngest sister and a niece. This isn't all of them, but a nice representative fraction.

Wonderful, loving creative people. Notice my brother's garden bench which looks suspiciously like a 1916 Mack Truck cab. That sort of creativity is ordinary in this bunch.

What's the point to all this? I'm glad you asked. There really is no point except that the world keeps grinding along whether I approve or not.

Autocar resized.jpg
Another of my brother's trucks, a 1964 Autocar. Photo by me.

So because of this, 2020 AND 2021 weren't the calamity years that they were for most. I'll have fond memories of both years as long as I live.

Not that they were perfect, mind you. By June of 2020 I had 250 pages of notes and the corresponding research that goes with that, pointed at a book project. I still think the idea was really good but it was based on a historical epidemic. How many wanted to read about a historical epidemic when they were living in one? Not too many.

I think that's probably part of the reason I quit writing entirely in 2021. I quit writing everything. The journal I'd kept for several years stopped and I didn't write anything heavier than my grocery list-which I keep on my phone :)

Where do I go from here? I've picked up the journal again, and have actually posted on Hive in the first two days of this year. Does it indicate a trend? No, but the trend line is in the right direction.

I genuinely hope that every single one of you that reads this post has the most magical year ever.

Sort:  

I think it is great you have contact with your family and it is making you happy.

That is a nice-looking truck your brother has. Is he a collector? If so, that must be an expensive hobby that takes up a lot of space.

It will be good to see more of you around. So I do hope you continue to share your adventures and all your knowledge with us over the next year and beyond.

Ohhhh. Is he ever a collector. He's got his Dad's first semi, a wonderful old Federal. He's got 4 that are running and maybe 10 that are in line for restoration...

Always great to see you Joe.

That's great that you got in contact with relatives in the last couple of years you haven't met before.
I wish you a happy new year, and may that trend writing keep on the whole year. Cheers!

Thanks! I do hope I can keep writing. I miss it, honestly.

I’m so glad you’ve been able to post twice this year already!! I always look for your posts 💕💕

Happy you had such a wonderful family gathering, it’s so great xx 💋

Hey hey hey. I have the Princess of Hive commenting on my post! That makes the writing doubly rewarding.

Good to see a post from you again, been awhile although we still chatted throughout the year, yup hope 2022 is good to everyone.

Taking a break from writing is also therapeutically good, just visiting and commenting 😂 keeping contact.

Trust this finds both Sam and you adventuring outdoors together in good company!

!LUV

I think the pause was therapeutically necessary :) I'm not sure why, I couldn't even write with pen and paper.

Sam's a pretty happy dog. It's cold here for me, but he just loves it. He runs and digs like crazy dog. It's fun to see.

Good to see you Joan.

A pause helps sometimes, after all the news you collated then meeting family, putting it all together is overwhelming. My sons have decided to try emigrate, I expect it will affect me as well with both living at home.

Dogs help keep us in balance, good to hear Sam is well and enjoying taking you on walks doing crazy is also healthy.

Great to have you back writing, take care!

Happy New Year's! Things will come as they come, day by day. So great that you started again and from what I know, we all have highs and lows ;).

Hey ya. Things will or will not come but I'm here this day!

Thanks for stopping by. Always good to see you!

First off I tend to view rules often as guidelines and I havent been sued yet LOL

great you are starting to write again, I hope the trend continues and we see more of you :)

Obviously, I've never exactly been a stickler for the rules. Though I have been sued a couple of times, but that's a different story for another time.

Always good to see you Jay.

Nice photos. I am really glad you were able to connect with your family like this. That is pretty funny that you mention a book that takes place during something like what we have been going through. I actually read a book like that. It had a science fiction tilt to it, but it was still pretty unsettling reading some of stuff given what we had been seeing. I hope you are doing well!

One thing I got out of the whole thing was a working knowledge of how a pandemic works BEFORE I had a practical use for it :) I read a couple of pretty dry textbook type tomes on the mathematics involved and another on the vectors of a virus. I'm pretty sure it wasn't worth it...

I AM doing well and hope you are also!

Very interesting! Too bad all of the powers that be didn't take the time to do the research ahead of time as well! I think there were definite missteps at every level from both sides of the aisle! I am doing well thank you! Just hunkering down for one of those Michigan winters!

Wishing you a magical year too! I guess writing will not be enforced, it either happens or it doesn't, I guess the year will show which one of the two it will be!

Exactly. I know which way I HOPE it goes.

Good to see you plint! I hope you have the happiest of New Years.

We all need each other. Even if we do not suspect it. We definitely need you here. You must write.

WoooooHoooo. Really good to see you here. I will try to comply with your wishes.

Dear @bigtom13,

The previous HiveBuzz proposal expired end of December.

Do you mind supporting our proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you. We wish you a Happy New Year!

Congratulations @bigtom13! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 4 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wonderful Family Picture!

And Amazing Truck! Happy new year Tom, hope you are doing good.