Mr. Bonkers for the win

in Weekend Experiences15 days ago

.jpeg

Proud? Yeah I am very proud of my nephew @mrbonkers like any uncle would be. He's put so much work into his BMX racing, and it's been so great watching his progress through videos sent to me and hearing him talk about it on video chats. He's improved exponentially, unsurprisingly effort and dedication has a way of helping people improve, and it's so great to see him getting the results he's looking for...but what exactly are those desired results?



Over the weekend @mrbonkers has been camping with his parents, my brother and his wife, at a really cool spot in the far north of Australia near to where they live although they had to interrupt the camping trip to attend a sizeable BMX racing carnival which my nephew was keen to race in; I love how passionate he is about it and the other activities he does.

I spoke with him the day prior to the event and was asking what his goals were - yep, five and a half years old and he knows the value of goal-setting and laying plans to achieve those goals - and I was so pleased to hear him say the following, in that order:

Fun and also to race at my best

Below is the trophy he won for winning. Cool right?

He didn't win the entire event of course but he won his division, the 6 year old division, which I think is cool because he's only a (small) five and a half year old kid racing against kids between six and seven years old. #prouduncle

.jpg

He was really excited to tell me about the event on a video chat and explained the whole thing to me, the way it worked, who his competition was and how he managed to progress through the elimination races to get to his division final and win it. It was a lot of racing, the poor little guy was worn out at the end, but he was so pleased with his efforts and he had fun!

This nephew of mine is a great little kid, one who reminds me of me and my brothers when we were his age, and I'm really pleased to see how he's picking up on life's lessons little by little and even more proud of how he applies them to his life.

I guess my only disappointment is that I'm not there to see these things take place and support him in person, they live a very long way from where I live and I only get to participate by photos, videos and video chats. It's still enjoyable though and we are bonding together regardless...I love being the person he most wants to talk to about what he's doing, his success and failure, other than his parents of course. He pesters them saying things like, can we do a video for uncle bonkers, and I can't wait to tell uncle bonkers, when he has something to tell me and I think that's quite precious.

Anyway, that's about it, just a quick @mrbonkers BMX success story, and one that makes me very happy. I'm looking forward to seeing more of the same...and to talk through those times when he's not as successful...win or lose I think he's a champion.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[Original and AI free]
Image(s) in this post kindly provided for my use by my sister in-law

Sort:  

A really nice text. It is written with that passion that makes even me, who don't know your nephew, want to hug him. I told you once, I love to see how you link the game and the passion of a child to achieve goals. At that time we talked about temperament. Greetings, Have a great week.

The kid is being raised right, as is my niece @smallsteps, and it's the values they learn as youngsters that will stay with them for life, like it has with me.

It was really cool for him at the event, the race commentators on the loud speaker calling the races started calling him The Magician as he was pulling off some awesome moves. He's not as fast out of the gate as the bigger kids so by mid-race he's behind but from there he starts to pull them back and either takes the lead or second. He doesn't really know how to quit...sounds like someone else (that is actually me) who also doesn't quit.

Thanks for your comments, I appreciate it greatly and I'm sure you'd like me bonkers, he's a very likeable kid.

I like the name The Magician, and I can imagine the joy a child must feel when he hears from the PA system how they call him The Magician. And I am also very happy that you can enjoy these moments, even if it is from far away. Greetings

Zealous attitude, size never matters, got his eye on the goal that is what brings great pride recognizing siblings little people growing up.

Congrats @mrbonkers you achieved after hours of preparation!

He's certainly enthusiastic about it and in general, I think that helps him achieve at higher levels.

Always give praise where praise is due, young ones most definitely need it when prepared to work for what they achieve.

A sport that demands a lot of energy, coordination and skill, the important thing is that he loves and values you because he wants you to know what he is doing and what his performance was. It is effort and joy, it seems the perfect recipe to achieve all his goals.

He loves racing and really is pretty good at it. He's being exposed to many different activities from BMX racing, downhill mountain biking, plays the violin, does great at school, is really sociable and has good manners...I'd say he's got a good head start on life huh?

A very great start, congratulations on his achievement. For sure he will accomplished more soon...

Yeah, he did really well and has worked hard to get to this point;he enjoys it which is the main thing and it's also good to see how he puts in the effort to get better.

I can read how proud you are of him out of your words. And how happy he might have been to videochat with you and share his happiness.
Thanks for sharing.
A biker story is always nice to read 🚲

He's a good little chap, makes me laugh all the time with his antics and always makes me feel proud to be his uncle.

How important it is to combine fun with the theme of achieving goals and effort already as a child, so they will forge a way of being that will help them all their lives, it is very important. He looks like his uncle without a doubt .... well I guess his parents too.

And your pride is legitimate, your love for your nephews and nieces is noticeable and although it is unfortunate that you are not close to them, I am sure they feel you.

They even know you're crazy.... crazy uncle.🤣

Congratulations to your nephew! Well deserved achievement and with a lot of effort, that's worth more than anything.

Oh yeah, they know I'm the crazy uncle but they love me and say so which is what matters. I make them laugh and have fun and I think that's important, and they know that whatever they need that I can provide will be theirs. I'm a pretty proud uncle.

Enjoy as much as you can of them, it is the most valuable thing in life, that time even if it is through a camera. Enjoy it.🤗

Congrats to your nephew! That is really awesome!

Yeah, he's done well, has to work for it, but that's what it's all about right?

For sure!

Wow, the little one did great. Congratulations. Well... I understand that you might feel a bit sad for not being there, but there are many other ways to be present and I'm sure you are there in every detail.

😉

He did well for sure, and enjoyed himself. He's such a good little kid, I'm proud to be his uncle.

Bikes are pure fun and adrenaline. 😅 Good for him.

Each of their success is our success.

Like yours, my brother lives far away from me, and I am proud of every success my nephew achieves (in school, in sports, in competitions, fishing, dancing...).

Your nephew won the beautiful trophy 🙂

Being an uncle occurs no matter the distance I guess, and distance doesn't diminish the emotions.

Separation and distance almost always heighten emotions.
When I see my brother and his family, the emotions bring tears (of joy) to my eyes, even though we are in constant contact via video call 🙂

I was wondering these days how much family was missing, when communication was only through letters, 20, 30 years ago...

One of the (few) advantages in the advance of communication technology is this, the fact I can speak with my family who are all a very long way from me.

Man! Lil Mr. Bonkers is growing up fast. I still remember some of the pictures from last year I guess; back then he was like half the size he is now haha.

And taking up sports like cycling has definitely helped I'd say. I love kids who are active in sports, because they remind me of my younger self.

He's growing up fast for sure. It's amazing to see how he's developing also, how his mannerisms, likes and dislikes are changing. He's a pretty cool kid and works hard at BMX, so gets the results.

He's a pretty cool kid and works hard at BMX, so gets the results.

With such a work ethic at this age, we probably know where he's headed. Hopefully, he is fortunate enough to be working in a space that he admires, and also be able to invest in hobbies that he absolutely loves.

He does many activities, a few different sports,music and academic...and Lego! He's getting a good all round exposure and I assume he'll begin to gravitate towards the things he likes the most. He's fortunate to have parents that take the time to give him a good upbringing and many opportunities.

He's fortunate to have parents that take the time to give him a good upbringing and many opportunities.

This is important! And quite rare too, sadly; especially for my generation. Yet, fortunately, the youngins these days seem to be getting the support they deserve and require from their parents.

I find it extremely inspiring to learn of your nephew's drive and enthusiasm! He obviously have talent, and his excitement for his accomplishments is contagious. Your admiration for him is evident in your remarks, and it's heartwarming to witness your close relationship despite your distance from one another. Remember to treasure such intimate times, for they are indeed priceless!

He tends to get enthusiastic about the things he does, not just BMX racing, and that's good to see because he works harder at those things because of it. Watching him grow up and into the activities he does is nice, seeing the progression and all. It makes me happy.

This post of yours is above all full of love and pride for your nephew, it's amazing how even in the distance there is an undeniable connection between the two of you.

The boy deserves it without a doubt!
Seeing how he strives to be a winner in life from such a young age is impressive and that creates an indissoluble bridge between you ... he admires him and you admire him....

I've been a little bit envious of your family, I only have one niece and she's far away, I can't find how to connect with her since the day I found out she likes reggaeton..🤦

I'm very proud of how my nephew approaches things, not just his BMX racing but all his activities. He sets his focus on the goal and works through the actions and activities to reach it and that's important right? He knows how to have fun also, in fact that's what he counts as the most important. He's a good kid.

Your niece lies reggaeton? She must be the only person to like our, I've only ever heard that it's terrible. Good luck in your endeavours to connect with her, I hope you can.

Very few children at that young age behave with such maturity, especially in my society they tend to be more "dispersed"....

The education of the parents obviously plays its role, your nephew is obviously very supported although his energy is his own.

I will not disown my niece even if we don't share the same musical taste obviously, she is also very loving and kind, and I will try to keep in touch with her however I can.
Happy Sunday evening to you

I like people who pursue things that concern them with such belief and commitment. Your nephew is a great kid. Congratulations for his achievements.

He works hard and knows how to have fun, to enjoy what he's doing, which makes him better at those things.

That's awesome! He's still so young but he already has a head and a heart of a champion. Being competitive but not forgetting about the fun of what he's doing is important. If he continues to pursue this, I hope he becomes successful in the future.

The most important things us that he learns the lessons he'll need later in life like how to work hard, persist, deal with losing (and winning) and act the right way when either occurs. He's doing a great job and is a good little kid who is getting a great headstart in life from an early age.

That's great to hear. It seems your sibling is bringing him up well.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks @steemflow, you're a champ.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024