You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 44: See || Hear || Feel - Win HIVE

No touchy-touchy then.

Does that mean I have no tactile senses or am I banned from touching the physical world as a ghost would be? Perception from a distance and communication with others is still too important. Tactile stuff is more egoistic and kind of something I can imagine I would be able to adapt to although that would change my behavior greatly.

In any case, such disabilities make you dependent on others. But living in civilization, I would stick to communicative stuff.

Were it a lone-wolf survival situation, though, I'd rather be manipulating thingies. I'd want my handses out of my pocketses. Manipulating thingies without the sense of touch — same as in computer games which include exploring the environment. Nothing tactile in the virtual world, yet, anyway. And we're kind of more used to it than we know, perhaps.

Tactile means skin, too, not just fingertips. I wouldn't know if I'm cold or hot, sunburned or wet, wind-beaten, etc...until too late and consequences come to the entire body. Sucks...

Banned from touching anything at all, though, then I'd not want that were i on my own more often than not. Hearing would have to go. Same as being in those games with speakers turned off, no? Beasties get you easier from the behinds but still...

Sort:  

A well thought out answer and the survivalist in me like the angle you too with the touch aspect.

I'm really keen to see what answers people come up with and why, their thought process, as with you here.

Great answer!

!ENGAGE 25

I guess I always consider that surviving in the wild thing...a thing. Such scenarios are always present in my head.

Even starting a fire with no matches or lighters is such a challenge...

Anyway, hunters need their sight unless they can echo locate or something. Smell is important to animals but it can't keep you away from rocks and holes, and wires...

I am drifting to another territory such as what would the one thing be if I could have only one item produced by civilization. A blanket? A fishing line? A lighter? A crowbar?

Hmm, now you're raising interesting questions...What one man-made item would you choose in a survival situation? There's so many options...I may do this for a topic!

This would be easier... than what you offering this week, all wrong...

Swiss Army Knife LOL a tool for every job required.... hopefully!

No avoiding the question now! 😉

Wicked! Kick-starting the broomstick....

Yes, @manoldonchev, you were one of the first people that I have interacted with when I first came to Hive. I liked your ideas back then and I still find them interesting.
@galenkp, I'd love to see a topic related to survival.
Hugs to both!

Thanks @regenerette let's see what the future topics hold...Maybe there might be a survival-related one.

I am drifting to another territory such as what would the one thing be if I could have only one item produced by civilization. A blanket? A fishing line? A lighter? A crowbar?

As a technology and sci-fi lover I questioning myself why people tend to chose items invented hundreds of years ago like knife, bow, blanket. I am always thinking - a cybertruck, Water Desalinator and cleaner, high tech body suit aka iron-man suit :D

Affordable, easy-to-find, light and easy to carry, basic-need-taking-care-of, etc.?

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

"Tactile means skin, too, not just fingertips. I wouldn't know if I'm cold or hot, sunburned or wet, wind-beaten, etc...until too late and consequences come to the entire body. Sucks..." - Hmm, I didn't actually think of that. I was thinking only of fingertip touches...

Well, it's both touching and being touch. People can touch each other bottom to bottom, for example. Belly to belly. Cheek to cheek. Elbow to chin. Who am I to judge?

The more I read these hearing choices the more I think I'm in that group. Not being able to touch is terrifying and I don't think losing my sight is quite as scary. I couldn't imagine not being able to touch.

Someone else was just saying they'd choose silence over darkness. Well said.

I guess I am currently attached to my "intellectual" senses and I would play the sentient ghost if others or tech could implement ideas that I have, etc.

I'm also in that group!

That's about as close as I can get to answering the question @regenerette. <-- Killin it on the leaderboards btw. I'm too fearful if I actually answered it I'd jynx myself and wake up tomorrow like 'I knew I shouldn't have answered that question!'

I've been killing it today because I had to stop a guy who's after me for more than 1 week....He almost put me down today, but I am a lioness...and he's paid to say shit around and voted:

https://ecency.com/hive-150329/@lucylin/things-to-look-for-when-you-suspect-that-the-label-is-not-advertising-the-contents#@klye/re-calumam-qrf5p9

Want me to add him to the shitlist then or?

Can effectively begin blockchain warfare if that is what you wish.

I'm not gonna lie. I could've continued the remainder of my blockchain days having not just read an entire blog with a packed comments section that's remarkably similar to a buncha drunk dials.

I didn't get into the history of whatever did or didn't happen and who didn't ask/answer something but I, personally, recognize your engagement and activity around here in less than a month—impressive. Whatever drama ya'all got goin on or him, them, you, whoever.... there's more important things to focus on.

This probably isn't the response you were looking for but I've never involved myself with internet drama, I wouldn't know where to start

Thank you for your words. Just before I go to sleep....it means a lot.
Yes, during this month I tried to do as much as I could. But I know I can do much more here, such as bringing my people from my groups on Quora, Empire Kred, and FB, but also people from minds, that I keep in contact with for a few years. At some point, I want to create a group for my Udemy students as well...I need more force for all...
Have a good night, @dandays, and thank you for being close!

Hearing can be replaced and actually improved upon via technology better than feeling or touch. Modern survival, it is difficult to triangulate where the gunshot emanated from, glasses with HUD and almost instant triangulation. People speaking a language you do not understand and they are looking in your direction thinking you are an easy mark because of your hearing difficulties, no problem instant voice to text translation and you can read what they are saying, any language that is installed.

Out in the woods pretty much the same thing, is it a bear, a cougar or just a rabbit that made that noise? In time would the sound tech be able to determine that? Can people in a city know what made that sound in that woods?

Touch is to important to lose.

It's also quite difficult to imagine. We all know silence and darkness but...the sense after I wake up in a tent with my arm senseless for a while because it has spent hours beneath my body — that's quite weird.

Interesting answer here. I like how it changes from the start to the end. It's definitely dependent on the situation. Survival, all three of these are crucial to have but they also depends on the place you are living in. I think if one doesn't have tactile input then you would come up with a system to know when you need to get out of the sun, water and other things. Would be very challenging and potentially deadly to perfect that type of system though lol

Aye, people are actually adaptive and they have various systems depending on their disabilities. Compensatory mechanisms. Remember Memento? Lol, that is the same as Memento Memento?