You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 59: The invite

There's three people I'd like to invite for three different reasons. Is only one allowed? Hmmmmm.......who to pick (deliberates over who to invite)
I think I have it!
I'd invite a good friend of mine and his family who live in Texas. We've never met in person and most likely won't ever have that opportunity, which is why I'd invite him and his family. He's a solid, authentic friend who has been supportive beyond what someone I've never met in person usually is. He's a chef and I'm a long time foodie who cooks just about anything. We've had many food conversations, among other things and have much in common.

I don't operate with expectations and if I see them pop up, I remove them, since they impede real connection with others, so I'd have no expectations.

What would we eat? Well, that would be a banquet of several things so we could have a taste fest along with eating. Food would include but not be limited to:
Thai Peanut Chicken
Thai Coconut Rice
Thai Green Mango Salad
Curried Channa
Marinated Grilled Salmon
Pan Fried Rainbow Trout rolled in cornmeal and spices
Greek Salad
Cool Spring Rolls
Nachos
Various Dips and Sauces
Kombucha , Ginger Beer (non-alcoholic), Infused Water, Iced Tea, Lemonade
Selection of seasonal fresh fruits
and more.......
What would we talk about?:
Everything under the sun that we already talk about and more. Plus I'd get some tips and practice in with him since he's specialized in a few different martial arts.

Sort:  

Three friends and sauced chicken, I bet you the dinner will rock. All those Thai foods involved in this whole thing is another class. Nicely thought.

I wish you will incline with African foods too. Its oy on tv I watched the Thai meals with a body of condiments.

I love extra spicy too. herbs and condiments make food smell and taste great.

So you also know about our African foods?

He's a solid, authentic friend who has been supportive beyond what someone I've never met in person usually is.

Beautiful choice and for all the very best reasons. I sincerely hope you do get to meet, don't rule it out, life sometimes has a way. I love your take on expectations and agree wholeheartedly.

You won't realise it but I kinda owe you an apology. You are one of many names that exist on a myriad of 'post it' notes on or around my PC desk that I never got to respond to. I loved your piece on over-apologizing. I am sure you are Canadian, but I related to it immensely ((British lol)) I remember the post but I found the numerous apologies, listed in the first section of the post, almost in verse form very powerful.

I just got the immense irony of starting this bit with;

You won't realise it but I kinda owe you an apology.

Genuinely not intentional, but I am having a good laugh about it right now lol. Take good care, may your weekend be a great one 😎

What a great choice! It seems this person means a great deal to you and has provided some valuable support and friendship over the years despite you not having had the chance to get together. Now I just want this dinner to take place in real life!

The menu sounds pretty good amazing! It's a lot of food, but I feel the dinner will be an extended affair as it should be with such a valued friend.

I get the feeling that should this dinner take place there would be great mutual gain and it would create memories that endured.

Overall, an excellent selection I think. G-dog approves. 😬

This person means a lot to him because he has provided him with knowledge in terms of cooking. It seems they are in same field.

I recall you're a great host who designs the menu around the guests needs...Maybe one day I'll experience it first-hand. Let's just work off the premise that I have a standing invite acceptance as far as dinner at your place goes. 😆

It's the company that really counts, I agree. With good company I wouldn't care if the food was a simple toasted cheese sandwich and a glass of water.

Teasing me now! I hope to consume one a couple of those GCS's of yours. :)

This is one long menu, would you be able to even taste everything on the table lol
giphy

What a waste of good food. Sigh

Sounds kind of romantic too me. Let the romance begin. 😍

That sounds like a fun.I am guessing you like children.

This topic is just too simple and so choosing out of your three friends should be more easier.

Practicing with him in a martial art coupled with all these foods is the best choice you have made. The dinner is truly a yummy one which no one would love to miss.