Nature is a friend

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

Tell us about one of your most favoured, enjoyable, beautiful or idyllic moments spent in nature - Where and when was it, what did you do there. Your garden, the woods, the seaside, tropical paradise or desert, a park in the city or the wide open plains; anywhere counts as long as it was a moment spent with nature.

Hi there! How's your weekend? Hope you're all doing well.
This is the first time I post in the weekend community with one of my favorite topic - Nature.

Wandering in the forest I found the peace within myself.

Reaching the top gave me a great sense of satisfaction and achievement.

Being surrounded by nature is a blessing and the time I always cherish.

During my first four months when I first arrived in New Zealand, I stayed in Hastings, a lovely town in Hawke's Bay on the North Island. I remembered it was Autumn which is also the peak harvest for apples, one of the region's famous produce. During the week, I worked at an apple pack house and spend the weekend exploring the area.

Te Mata Peak is an icon of the area, the peak stands 400 meters above sea level and offers a paranomic view over the winery and the nearby regions.

Nature is a friend.png

Though it is not the most breathtaking summit I reached in New Zealand, it holds a special place in my heart because it is my first summit and I did spend most of my best time here with friends and on my own.

19944675_1227400204036543_7599857475569618065_o.jpg

I was here so many times that I lost count and I didn't even bother to count as it was a different experience every time.

There are many ways you can access the peak, by car, by bike, or hiking. But for me, the best way to really enjoy the landscape is by hiking.

At that time, I did not have a car and only commuted by bike, so you would see I rode across town from downtown Hastings to Havelock North which is about 10 km one way to the car park, locked my bike there, and climbed up.

20170629_152853.jpg

When I learned that there are more than five tracks you could follow to reach the summit, I was thinking to myself, it would be really cool if I did all five of them. And you know what, I made it.

20170506_142748.jpg

My favorite track must be the "Big Red Woods", and as the name suggests, the track would take you through a large area of redwoods, with trees that stand at about 40 meters, it left me in awe every time I was in the woods, felt like a small girl surrounded by the giants. The trunk is huge and usually takes two adults to cover their arms around it. I loved to put my arms around the trunk and smell it, it is wet and humid, I think it smells like fungi.

18700688_1190259444417286_5329393533728964582_o.jpg

Wandering around the woods, listening to the sounds of my feet rustling on the russet forest ground, and taking a deep breath, it felt like I was in a movie set in the Twilight saga series. Sometimes, it sounded a bit spooky when no one was around though.

17991032_1151901234919774_424303803922065671_n.jpg

Leaving the woods and walking through the grassland, I entered a different world as everything was brighter.

It's always rewarding reaching the peak, I often brought some snacks and just enjoyed looking at people coming and leaving.

20170506_161937.jpg

20170415_141152.jpg

20170415_151002.jpg


What is in your mind when you are walking in nature? As for me, I let my mind wander, I think I become more creative during the walk, it's like thousands of ideas crossing my mind. Is it something magical about nature?

18527095_1183006088475955_6375162224518301119_o.jpg

Sometimes, I think walking is another form of meditating. I am present at that moment and enjoy the state of walking itself.

17972005_1152012391575325_2517472317914523224_o.jpg

20170417_082038.jpg

There was time I started hiking in the early morning when everything was covered in fog

17904363_1151901218253109_3017597385899499893_n.jpg

I missed the sunrise though.


Nature is the best medicine, don't you think?


Wish you a great week! Stay safe and take care!

Sort:  

NZ seems to best country for nature lovers, all the places you share about NZ are so beautiful and nature. And we have a friend in common @sunnyvo .

Haha, it's true, but I'm sure we have more than one friend in common 😂

nhìn chị kute thế ạ

hồi đó còn trẻ em ah haha 🤣

wowwww, I don't know that Te Mata Peak could have that fancy view with clouds in the morning times. I should go there earlier :))) why didn't you ask me to go with you when we were there?

Lol, we were up to our neck, and we have to wake up early to see this 😂

đẹp quá chị ơi, em mơ ước đc đi học hoặc sống ở đây chị ạ. Mê ly quá😍

uh, cuộc sống ở NZ thanh bình lắm, môi trường tốt để sống và đi học 😊

em sẽ tham khảo thêm hihi

mấy ni bận không có thời gian đọc bài mọi người luôn. được tận hưởng không khí của thiên nhiên là không gì tuyệt vời bằng em ha

Em cũng bận nên viết bài xong quăng đó luôn haha

Wow the grasslands from the peak look amazing. Walking through the redwood forest would be amazing as well. Looks like a great weekend!

Yeah, it's like an ever-green land 😊
Hope you had a great time as well.

beautiful landscape 😍

Yeah, it's also really peaceful 😊

Congratulations @sunnyvo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Saint-Nicholas challenge for well-behaved girls and boys
Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

đẹp quá c ơi, thiên nhiên nhìn mê quá

Yeah, ở town nhỏ nên gần thiên thiên hơn 🤗

Nhưng chỗ c sống có sầm uất nhộn nhịp không ạ chứ e tưởng c toàn phải đi xa cơ

Gần mà c đạp xe 10 km leo lên đỉnh là tới, cũng có đường khác chạy xe lên là tới 😂

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!