What language do I learn first?

in Programming & Dev2 years ago

kevin-ku-w7ZyuGYNpRQ-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Kevin Ku from Unsplash


For a while now I have been looking
to get into coding, but I had one major barrier: I didn't have a pc. It took a while but I eventually dipped my hand into my accounts (hive and my bank) and forked out enough to get myself a decent PC. I got the PC a couple weeks ago, but I got distracted by all the other things I could do now that I owned a pc. It was at the back of my mind that I needed to start learning coding, but I kept pushing it back a bit. Yesterday however I decided to focus and actually know what I'm about to get into.

RNFetchBlobTmp_n38sr6mwsvcmmpq6v4om6i.jpg

A while back I read a conversation on a discord server between a well known hive dev and someone who wanted to start learning at the time, and he said he learnt coding online without having to pay for any masterclass. I also have a cousin who knows how to code, unfortunately he's not close by, but he told me that If I was serious I could get everything I needed to know online.

RNFetchBlobTmp_n38sr6mwsvcmmpq6v4om6i.jpg

I've watched a couple videos online on the things I need to know before embarking on this journey and I'm quite confident and motivated that I can do it. I signed up on freecodecamp and I think that is the route I'll follow as a lot of the videos I've watched keep recommending the site. I am about to start but I'm faced with the question I'm sure some people in this community were probably faced with:

RNFetchBlobTmp_n38sr6mwsvcmmpq6v4om6i.jpg

WHAT LANGUAGE DO I LEARN FIRST?

Yesterday I was leaning towards starting with Python when I was told It's best to learn HTML and CSS first If I want to learn Javascript. But then today I realized that for frontend development (which is where I want to start) It's Important to make use of JAVASCRIPT. I've asked one or two people who know how to code what they think, and I've gotten various opinions. I remembered I have a whole community of devs here on hive, so I decided I'd ask here tonight. At the moment I'm currently leaning towards Javascript, meaning I'll start with Html, then Css and then Javascript, but it's nice to hear what a community of experienced or even amateur coders think about this.

RNFetchBlobTmp_n38sr6mwsvcmmpq6v4om6i.jpg

I'm a bit nervous and excited as tomorrow I start my journey. I'll probably be visiting this community a lot from now on. I'm wondering how many times I'll be frustrated, or have a headache. I'm also wondering about all the things I'll learn to build with code. I'm hoping I'm strong willed and dedicated enough, wish me luck.

~THANKS FOR READING~

RNFetchBlobTmp_n38sr6mwsvcmmpq6v4om6i.jpg

Sort:  

The one thing that I think is most important in being a developer, is doing something useful, regardless of the language used. Getting encouragement is key to a long and successful developer experience.

With that in mind, your "what to learn first" can lead to analysis paralysis and the only solution becomes just pick the most popular. But does the language matter? Is does, but recognizing the target solution's platform might be a bit more effective a learning strategy.

And by a solution platform, recognize that aspirations to become a game developer may point you towards C++ for raw speed. For a web application, HTML, CSS, Javascript and most importantly, the whole backed including SQL and your choice of Java, Javascript, PHP and too many to list.

Now is the perfect time to try a few different ones. And don't shy away from the obscure languages as typically those provide unique challenges and sense of accomplishment you can't get from what millions of other coders use.

In my case, I code daily and use HTML, CSS, Javascript, Python, GDScript, CFML, SQL, Bash and C++ primarily and tinker with various other languages - it keeps things fresh, interesting.

Good luck and let us know what application or solution you'd like to provide. And I'm not kidding here when I say that "A Massive, Social 3D Decentralized Network" as your goal sounds about right, or something like that. Or "A realtime graphical financial market analysis tool" Always ALWAYS set your goal very high, and your languages nearly pick themselves.

Oh, and most importantly, if you're not having fun coding, swicth things up - your language(s), editor, OS... you can never learn too much.

Oh wow, thank you soo much for all the great advice you've shared here.

The most popular around here happens to be Javascript so I think it's a good entry point as It'll be easier to get assistance

In my case, I code daily and use HTML, CSS, Javascript, Python, GDScript, CFML, SQL, Bash and C++ primarily and tinker with various other languages - it keeps things fresh, interesting.

Wow that's a lot, I wonder how long it took to master all these languages.

.And I'm not kidding here when I say that "A Massive, Social 3D Decentralized Network" as your goal sounds about right, or something like that. Or "A realtime graphical financial market analysis tool"

Hehe, these are quite hefty projects. I think I have to start first before setting my goal, I'll try not to go too low though.

Oh, and most importantly, if you're not having fun coding, swicth things up - your language(s), editor, OS... you can never learn too much.

I'll definitely have this at the back of my mind. Thanks a lot once again

!PIZZA
!LUV

You're very welcome. As for how long it took to master all these languages: I wouldn't consider myself a master of any, just get better each day. I try to refrain from sounding like an old fart, but wrote my first program in COBOL on punch cards on a Burroughs mainframe. Seems the more I know, the more I don't know lol.

Your goal should be big and wonderful, but it's tiny steps that all add up. It's totally fine to start with printing "Hello World" to the console, then say, "Hmmm.. how about if I make it more dynamic and print the time, then format the time into mm/dd/yyyy, then color the text, then wrap it in an HTML tag... next thing you know, it starts to mold into something you want to use in more than one place and you research how to make a function and call it.. and so on. You get the idea. Don't be discouraged if you only get a tiny bit changed or added - it's persistence that starts paying off big time.

As for deciding on a specific Wow goal, it could even be as simple as "Provide a program or service that allows a user to go paperless... effectively" Sounds easy, mundane, almost pedestrian, but it's insanely hard to do once you consider "effectively" can be the mountain to climb. Wouldn't it be nice if one could pull up a program and see the weather, to do list, be able to retrieve any receipt or document, see their finances, photos and messages. Be able to chat, email and review top stories and discussions, all without having to log into a gazillion different services.

Computers haven't even solved the simplest of problems when you really add the "effectively" keyword. Even for business. Yes, computers can store a massive amount of data, but that reveals an even more dire need to program something that's is truly effective... like this:

It's a Single Page Web App (SPA) that features the familiar desktop feel, including the lower taskbar, but all done in a browser window via HTML, CSS, Javascript for display.

wrote my first program in COBOL on punch cards on a Burroughs mainframe.

You're a veteran in the field. Nice to know that. To still be conversant with all the newer languages means you're very consistent with your learning.

Your goal should be big and wonderful, but it's tiny steps that all add up

Most definitely

it's a Single Page Web App (SPA) that features the familiar desktop feel, including the lower taskbar, but all done in a browser window via HTML, CSS, and Javascript for display.

Wow this is remarkable, it has basically everything one needs, all in a relatively familiar setup for easy access. I'll definitely try something similar when the time comes. As of now I better get learning.

I'm currently at the what language do I learn first stage... Looking into learning programming for fun. I don't have any big problem I'm looking forward to solving at the time, just learning something I consider fun.

If it turns out I can solve any problems with it later, that'll definitely be awesome though. Also, if it is interesting enough and I don't give up along the line, I could develop it into a potential side hustle or something of the sort. This post was helpful in my search. Thanks.

Also, if you wouldn't mind me asking, have you started your coding? If you have, what language did you finally settle on and why?

Oops seems I forgot to reply to this. how are you? also, I haven't seen you in the city for a while, hope all is well.

Well, I eventually went with Javascript. I chose it because I had a people around me who knew it and could easily get help if i made mistakes. Also its helpful for designing web applications and I like that. Ive started html and css, but school just resumed all of a sudden and it's seriously hampering my progress. the tab for the video i'm watching has been left there for a couple of days. i'm sure you know how stressful school can be especially after a long strike.

Right now i'm just going with the flow.

Yeah I’m okay man, thanks. I just haven’t had the energy for discord lately. I’ll hop back on today though no worries.

With regards to the programming, freecodecamp recommended I start with HTML and CSS so that’s what I started with. Currently in the vert beginnings. Like you, I mostly have my tutorial tab open for an entire day sometimes.

I do understand how stressful school is, and I’m hoping you find a balance again soon. See you in the city, man.

Javascript and Python are popular, can't go wrong with either and they are both easy to learn. I'm using Go(https://go.dev/) in a few things as well. Rust(https://www.rust-lang.org/0 is something I want to look at when I've got time as well.

I guess you're right. I've heard of go and was also considering, but it's not really popular here and I wanted to start with something I'd be able to find help with easily. Rust is totally new to me however, maybe whenever I'm comfortable with what I've learnt I'll look into Rust.

For me I preferred to learn Python.

I guess it depends. If you want to do web development, starting from Javascript and frontend is a good, then you can adapt Python or another backend language.

But if you want to learn about data science & machine learning then you don't really need Javascript, HTML, CSS in your journey.

Or if you want to develop iOs apps, then you need to learn SwiftUI not HTML.

So my answer is "depends". Find a path for yourself first, then choose the suitable language for this path. :)

Thanks for your guidance.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below

Hello @emrebeyler
This is my own !BEER
Have fun with it!:)

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@b0s(1/5) tipped @nthtv (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Congratulations @b0s! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 4500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 5000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2022