First night in new place: how many times have you moved in your life?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Hivean friends and followers!

I took this shot last night, which was another first night in a new place for us here on the Azores Islands.


IMG_20200514_200317.jpg


In fact, it has already been the fifth "first night in a new place" for us on this island where we have been living since last November.

Just out of curiosity, I did some retrospective calculations and I figured I have moved to a new place approximately 30 times during the past 10 years. I know it sounds crazy but for someone with a nomadic lifestyle, I think it´s actually not that extreme :)

With that being said, I decided to try out the Ask the Hive community for the first time and ask you guys, my fellow Hivers, how many times you have moved in your life :)

I am looking forward to checking out your replies and I hope there will also be some folks who move even more often than I do so that I don´t feel like the biggest weirdo here :D




This post was created by me for the Hive blockchain exclusively. All rights reserved.



7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmivwA3A1QLkipSxWEChTncCX3jvtMRvcYq1rkYyx9mzv36Uegna899gd6PWdp.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about Nature, Animals, Ecology, Crypto, Traveling, Photography and discovering secrets and beauties of the World, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on hiving! :)

Sort:  

Including my come back to the small home town that waited for me patiently I moved for five times. Firts it was to Timisoara, Romania, for college, afterwards it was Bucharest, where I worked for about three years, then Germany(near Stuttgart) where I spent a year and two months, and after the German experience I moved to Norway and from Norway back home. Who knows what's next?...
Maybe Austria, I'll see that in the not so far future.

Thanks for your contribution, sounds interesting :) What makes you move to foreign countries? Do you have any kind of online job that makes you location independent or you always look for a job in the place where you move?

I no longer move, and no, I haven't had an online job. I worked in every country I've been to and always found the job before leaving mine.

Ah, ok, cool :) That way, you certainly get to know the people and culture of the particular country better than us, the digital nomads, who usually just rent an apartment where we work and sleep :D

What a great question! I just calculated, and found out I moved 12 times in my life (birthing center isn't counted, lol).

I.must confess I hate it. Although, it is a good oplortunity to get rid of garbage and unused stuff. But I believe there is another way 😁

P. S. Your new place is terrific!

Thanks for your feedback :) I think 12 is definitely above average :D But yeah, you are right, the more often you move, the less stuff you end up having :D I have been living a very minimalistic life for years already :)

Thats such a lovely view and a lot of moves, I have not moved as much as you but probably over muy life and working career till now i have probably moved fairly close to 30 times

Thanks for your feedback! I am really glad that it only took two replies to get one with a similar number of moves :D

Btw I am now thinking about hosting a photo challenge where people would share the best view they have had in places where they have lived :) (it wouldn´t be this one for me but it´s certainly one of the better ones) and I will love to have you participating in this challenge.

That is a cool idea for a challenge, sadly I only have photo of the last two or three places I have lived, a lot of the other places where when I was in field missions and didn't have a camera for a long while and prior to cell phones LOL

Haha I have exactly the same problem with many interesting places that I visited long years ago :D

👍🙂👍

I believe I once counted sleeping in 28 beds in about two months or so :D

Enjoy your new place - although I hope you'll be able to head home at some point in the future too! Cheers to the great views!

28 beds in 2 months? Wow, that must have been some massive travel bug :D

Thanks Rosa, I hope they will open the flights soon, it feels really weird to be literally cut off from the mainland for such a long time...

Have a great weekend :)

3 times if you count school. as i lived in 2 different towns. If you don't count it i kinda did not move at all. from one street to another, but i was so little that i don't remember that.

Well I would count school (if you mean something like dormitory, a place that is practically your actual home for some time).

I have moved quite a few times, though I have never counted it will be above 20 which includes moving with a family, college, new job, new city, paying guest, rented flat, and then own flat.

Nice! I am actually surprised to see so many moves in the feedbacks here :) I have been literally living out of a backpack for years so moving is very easy for me but I cannot imagine the "regular type of moving" with all those trucks of stuff etc. repeating like 20 times... Sounds really crazy!

It looks crazy, but we are fine now. Even if I have to move every 3 years now, I am fine now.

If I think only about the big moves of my life, then there are 3, but if I consider my journeys then there should be maybe more than one hundred since most of the time we move to a new place every day and try to not stay in a single place more than 1 or 2 days because we want to explore lots of things! :D

Haha I know you are always on the move Gabriela! :D Thanks for your contribution to the debate :)

The pleasure is mine 😊

I moved, like changing the place where I live aka "home" around 5 times. I think changing the place of residence can be exhausting. For one time you just want to have your own home and that's it. Because there is no place like home Exploring new places as part of travelling is much more pleasant than exploring new homes.

I know what you mean and I agree ;) They say home is where your heart is and that´s usually just one place in the world, no matter how many other places we have lived in... I have such place too and my desire to settle down over there has been constantly growing. Thanks for your nice contribution to the debate :)

Now I live in the same house, where I grew up from my childhood. I had left it for some periods of my live. From ninetreen to twenty-two I was I was living at school dormitory, but I arrived almost every weekend back. At 22 I was for a few months in US for a temporary job. At 25 I moved again, when I started to live with my wife. For more than one year I worked in Belgium, and there I rotated at several places as my employer needed. And a few years ago I moved back to the parents house.

No teda, vidím, že taky zrovna neposedíš na jednom místě :) Díky za příspěvek k tématu a že sis dal i tu práci s angličtinou, to ani nebylo třeba ;)

Oh my god, does Housesitting count? 😂

Back home I was living in about 5 different flats but while traveling I changed places to often to remember it. If I would include all the Housesits we did and all the rooms on Bali, Thailand, Malaysia and so on it must be almost 100 😜

Hope you guys are enjoying the Azores. Does that mean you will stay there for a while?

Woow so we have just found "the moving champions" :D Congratulation guys :D

Actually, no, we just had to find a new apartment (again). We are pretty much just waiting for the flights to Europe to be reopen... But at least, we can finally go outside now...

haha probably, we´ve done about 35 Housesits, + all the backpacking trips.

What are your plans as soon as borders open up again? We´ve no idea at the moment, but options are, portugal, mexico, bali, thailand or germany.

Well, since you are already used to the tropical heat, I can totally recommend Mexico for you ;) The heat (and then the homesickness but that´s something I get everywhere after some time) was pretty much the only thing that made me want to leave, yet with a heavy heart... As for our future plans, we don´t know but I have had a growing desire to settle down in my Czech hometown after all those years of wandering... If you decide to spend some time in Germany, it would be cool to meet up with you guys :)

Is it that hot over there? I like it hot but not to much all the time. Thats why I love Australia so much. Perfect climate.

Europe is big and we haven´t seen much of it. haha yeah after all these years we´re also looking for something long term but can´t decide where. Meeting in germany or czech would be great. lets see what happens next.

Well, the Yucatan was just too hot for me. It was actually hotter than any other places we visited in Central America, even those much closer to the equator. I don´t know why :D It´s usually bearable on the coast but if you go inland, like for example Merida, it´s ridiculously hot. We once visited Merida on Christmas and it was about 40 C there during the day.

Alright, we will keep in touch ;)

If I count vacation homes even more time than you. Joke aside, I think we are weirdoes not living at Azores ;-) enjoy!

Hahaha, thanks :)) Always a pleasure to meet another moving weirdo :D

Jen sedm krát jsem měnil trvalé bydliště a to vše v rámci tří míst :-).

Jako že ses několikrát vracel zpět na stejnou adresu? Nebo máš na mysli stěhování na jiná místa v rámci jednoho města?

Pendlovali jsme mezi Ostravou a Lipovou a pak jsme třikrát měnili adresu v Č.B. :-)

Tak to jo ;) Další takový "neposeda" :D

Dvakrát :-)

To bude takový český průměr, řekl bych, takže jsi v normě :D

dvakrát... ale čas od času jsme byl na víc jak pár měsíců pryč na nějakém místě

Jo to si pamatuju, že jsme se o tom kdysi pod nějakým článkem bavili :) I tyhle střednědobé pobyty na nových místech jsou fajn, rozšiřuje to obzory :)

Mimochodem, rád uvidím tvůj (téměř profesionální :D) tip v mé speciální Bitcoinové tipovačce ;)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!