You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your only guaranteed returns on Hive are those of your Hive Power APR

in OCD2 years ago

People often say "I don't appreciate a whale downvoting me trying to change the way I post" but no one mentions that autovotes often have the same effect on people.

No one seems to complain when they get abusive upvotes.

While I get that it is all kind of farming for tokens, what I dislike is the maximization of the process, where people think that they are entitled to get something, regardless of what they offer. It is very shortsighted and I have seen a lot of potential high-earners over the years, burn their accounts to the ground due to their maximization behaviors - and I am someone who posts every day and gets relatively well rewarded for it.

I think for many of the higher earners, the downvotes are part and parcel of it, as there is a visibility aspect involved, attracting the attention - good and bad. But, what I would like to see is more engagement from higher earners, at least on their own posts. It is like some people don't care if anyone reads their post at all, they just want the votes. I feel crappy when I don't get enough comments on my posts, and it normally happens on the ones I put the most effort into :D

Steem or Blurt.... It is like a choice between getting fucked by a donkey or a horse.

Sort:  

I'm the same way with comments. The votes are whatever. I gave up trying to figure things out. I have done quick, fun videos that get 0 comments but for some reason a huge amount of upvotes and then something I put a lot of time and effort into gets 8 comments and makes $.35. I just take them both in stride because the post that got $15 wasn't worth $15 and I feel grateful to get anything more than comments.

More engagement would be great but it's not like I am out there being incredibly active and looking for new people to follow so I get what I put in. I am active on the people I already like because that's what I have time for. Sometimes I find a new person I like and then I am active there too but I see some people out there that are commenting on hundreds of posts every week and I wonder how they do it. Those folks deserve a lot more than I do and I hope they get it. I don't see them complaining about not getting enough, they just keep pounding that keyboard and making other people's posts better. Good for them.

I just don't have that kind of focus or time so I accept the few comments I get as they are usually meaningful and that's what I am good with.

Your comment was very interesting and aroused a genuine doubt. I'm very interested in making more comments but I don't speak English (I use the translator) and that limits me a lot.

Is it weird for a content creator to receive a poorly written comment or is it acceptable?

I use the translator to comment on some non-English posts and I usually will post both in whatever language plus English, in case the translator did a bad job, lol.
I appreciate all comments that are more than just "good post" or some such.

That's good to know, I feel more confident commenting using the translator 😁

I'm fine with it but I can't answer for anyone else. If I don't understand, I will try to get clarification. If you used translator for this, it worked very well.

Not weird at all as long as the content creator owns a brain and understands

Yeah tell me about it, I post a manipulation station post and get insane engagement, but longer posts with more importance I may not. Though I understand I'm not the greatest writer and go from place to place often when I freewrite these. Also there's not that much time in a persons life to read everything they'd want to combined with how social media is turning our attention span to the same length as dogs, etc.

If you constantly ignore your socializers though you're not going to have them appear often, even spammers just looking for a quick vote may leave you alone at that point.

Also there's not that much time in a persons life to read everything they'd want to combined with how social media is turning our attention span to the same length as dogs, etc.

Time is a critical factor and attention is hard to hold for sure. I find it hard to get new readers, but once they have read a few, they tend to stick around and read a few more over time.

even spammers just looking for a quick vote may leave you alone at that point.

Lol - reminded me of this and I thought this one was funny.

I gave "them" the benefit of the doubt when I asked if they were the same person a couple months back as they comment within minutes of each other - but I didn't check directly:

https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@menox98/re-tarazkp-rf0t2a

lol people think they get an advantage that way but don't realize they'll lose out long term. it's easy slipping up when dealing with multiple accounts, I used to do it on Blizzard forums back in the day when I played WoW rigirously and even there without an immutable timestamped blockchain it didn't take long for others to figure it out, not to mention money wasn't even involved.

Steem or Blurt.... It is like a choice between getting fucked by a donkey or a horse.

Some people like it very hard, and they choose the horse. :-D