Asian veggie bowl

DSC_3294.jpg

Last week we spent each day visiting Marc's father in the hospital. He had his appendix taken out. He had complications, due to his already poor health. He's 80 and on dialysis for many years. It was very boring sitting in the room for 2 hours each day. We finally got him out.

The hospital is withing walking distance from our home. To get home we passed through Chinatown. We had some nice weather so many folks were out. (It's now cold again).

We could smell the aroma of all the food being cooked in the restaurants. We were really wanting some of it. There was no way we could spend money in a restaurant.

Chinese food used to be a reasonable price. Now if you go to a Chinese restaurant, you have to make sure your bank account is loaded. It isn't worth it for us. Fortunately there are Asian grocery stores there. I have been wanting some Asian greens for a while now. There are some things that I have no idea what they are. I stick with the ones I've had before.

Is this bok choy below? I don't know for sure but it has a similar look to the one that I know to be bok choy. The signs in the Chinese grocer, are not always clear. Sometimes they are only in Chinese, and sometimes they are in French and Chinese, and sometimes they are in English and Chinese. I guess they don't always know the name in English.

DSC_3138.jpg

I recognize the Chinese broccoli. I just love this vegetable. I wish we could get this in regular stores.

DSC_3143.jpg

When I went to the store, I was on a main mission to get my all time favourite Asian green, which are mustard greens. Below is what I suspect to be some kind of mustard green. It's not the kind I was searching for but it's all they had. I could be wrong. It was marked Chinese broccoli, but it's clearly not the same. It tasted like mustard greens.

DSC_3150.jpg

I was also wanting some cabbage so I picked up a small savoy cabbage.

DSC_3152.jpg

With the cabbage I would make a stir fry with the ends of the green vegetables and carrots. The leafy part of the greens would be lightly blanched in shallow water.

DSC_3215.jpg

Instead of cooking the vegetables with the sauces and seasonings, I decided to make a sauce to pour over top.

DSC_3257.jpg

The cabbage, carrot, and greens stems, were sauteed with minced garlic in a pan and hot oil. For the leafy greens, I have just blanched them for around 60 seconds in shallow hot water.

DSC_3272.jpg

I find that king oyster mushrooms are less watery then the common button mushroom.

DSC_3155.jpg

They added a scallop like texture. I used to love scallops. King oysters are a great substitute for me.

DSC_3193.jpg

I used a firm tofu as the protein.

DSC_3167.jpg

I cubed the tofu and decided to fry them.

DSC_3172.jpg

The cubes were coated with around two tablespoons of cornstarch, salt and pepper.

DSC_3222.jpg

They were browned on all sides in a shallow oiled pan.

DSC_3224.jpg

For the mushrooms, I sauteed in oil and added minced garlic salt and pepper.

DSC_3227.jpg

DSC_3158.jpg

Sauce
100g soy sauce
35g fermented black bean sauce
50g rice wine
20g rice vinegar
15g sesame oil
30g cane sugar
40g cornstarch
400g vegetable broth or water
50g chili
175g onion
20g garlic
15g ginger

DSC_3191.jpg

This was the first time I have ever used fermented black bean paste, that I recall. It really added a flavour boost and umami.

DSC_3229.jpg

I minced the garlic, chopped the onion and chili. They were browned then had the rest of the ingredients, except for the cornstarch, added to the pan.

DSC_3241.jpg

A cup of the water was saved, and the cornstarch mixed in.

DSC_3251.jpg

I decided to blend everything to make it smooth.

DSC_3253.jpg

The sauce was reheated and drizzled on top of the veggies and tofu.

DSC_3298.jpg

I have a lot of Jasmine rice so that was the starch and I added turmeric to it.

DSC_3299.jpg

While I was in the Chinese grocer, I picked up a hot sauce that I've never had before. It had a nice flavour like sriracha but better.

DSC_3303.jpg

Asian Veggie bowl
600g mustard greens
500g Chinese broccli
400g bok choy ( I think it's bok choy)
200g savoy cabbage
60g carrot
350g king oyster mushrooms
450g firm tofu

DSC_3311.jpg

I don't know if I can call this Chinese food exactly. It was my own version of an Asian vegan medley. It was much less costly then going to the restaurant. It also came with the leftovers, which often come after dinner in a Chinese restaurant.

DSC_3308.jpg

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Photos taken with a Nikon D7500 by me except for the ones of me, taken by my other half

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/@crypptogalz/re-leothreads-2git6tm1a
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( crypptogalz ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Hello dear friend @carolynstahl good afternoon
I am very sorry to hear about the health of her husband's father, I hope that he is better now, the good thing is that he is no longer hospitalized.
I loved this recipe and its preparation, I appreciate that you have shared this experience with all of us
Have a beautiful afternoon

Hello my friend. I am happy about not going to the hospital to visit. It's not a nice atmosphere.

I appreciate your nice words and support. Good wishes to you.😊

I really like mother's food especially there are broccoli vegetables because it is good for health also for the brain, I often consume broccoli at home even the stock is always in the refrigerator

Thank you mom for sharing I hope you are doing well there and can always share with us a wonderful recipe 🥰

Yummy! These veggies look very good! The rice is colourful.

Hope the weather stays warmer.

It's cold again. 😞 That's Canada. Thank you.

the food you share looks very delicious and I look very eager to try it myself

Thank you for that nice compliment!

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you very much.

I would love to eat your whole bowl, it looks really yummy. I'll probably try this recipe myself, but I'll have to adjust the ingredients a bit, as we don't have all these vegetables here. Thanks for sharing!

I am lucky to get certain things at the Asian store. We have a very multicultural city so the demand is there. Thank you so much.😊

It is bok choy. I guess this is a great idea if one is looking for l weight loss meal ideas.

Thank you for the information. I wish I could lose weight with this but it does help haha.😊

You don't have much to lose lol, you seem trim and fit. Have a lovely day.

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you very much.



Creative Cuisine(1).gif


You have been curated by @edwing357 and the Creative Cuisine project.

We invite you to join the flavor community.


All delegations are welcome, join our curation train and be part of the flavor. . @creativecuisine


This preparation looks delicious, I love how it turned out.

I appreciate that very much thank you!

🤗🤗🤗

Hello dear friend, this recipe looks so exquisite, besides being a dish with a beautiful color, it is a direct invitation to enjoy the palate, where I would be the first to attend haha
Thanks for sharing, I wish you happy dreams, hugs and blessings! @carolynstahl

Your comment is so kind and also poetic. Much appreciated. Hugs and good wishes. Thank you so much.

I'm so happy your father in law got better; I didn't know his health was so compromised. He's lucky to have a family to look after him and a hospital to be properly taken care of. You must be relieved now after those tiring and emotionally challenging days; I hope you're all well soon.

Chinese food has a similar story here in Venezuela. Twenty years ago, Chinese was cheaper than hot dogs. But that changed radically. On the other hand, it's totally understandable you don't want to spend money if you can help it. I hope you find a solution soon 🙏

Now, I have to tell you I'm not as brave as you are when it comes to choosing vegetables in the store. Well, you have wide experience and knowledge in this matter as to take your chances but it's still amazing. And I must say what you do with food in your kitchen is close to magic; you turn ingredients into something beautiful and provocative, even the most simple and common ones. Your dishes are my favorite.

May happier days come sooner than expected, my friend 💚

You know that old man is a pain in the behind. I have known him for 20 years and he has been in poor health since then. Marc gave him a kidney 17 years ago and it lasted for 2 years then it failed. Since then he has been on dialysis. What makes us lose respect is that he refuses to clean up his diet. He has two sandwiches every morning with fried egg and bacon. After the week in the hospital for his appendix he was on liquids and the first food he ate was a fried egg and bacon sandwich on buttered low quality white bread. The only vegetable he eats is white lettuce and tomato on his sandwiches. His wife fries everything in one inch of oil until it falls apart. This is his steady diet. He only eats pork and thinks that chicken is dirty. The pork is always fried in oil. The other meats he eats are ham. He also eats the garbage cheese every single day. His wife had heart surgery 5 years ago and eats the same food. We spent 3 months going back and forth from work to the hospital.

I am not judgmental of people's diets, unless their health inconveniences my life.

Anyway thanks for the nice wishes and your way too nice compliment. I admire your genius in the kitchen and the care you put into your cooking. Sorry for venting.

Thank you so much my friend.😊

I’m not surprised. All people are stubborn in their own way, but you said it, when it affects us, they give us a say, at the very least. Older people are the most stubborn, I think. The older we get, the more rigid our beliefs become and the stronger our attachment to habits—terrible when it comes to bad habits. Please, allow me to say it, I think it's very sad that he’s thrown his son's kidney out the window just like that. Too sad.

My best wishes are with you, my friend 🙏

Yes I agree and think about that all the time.

Another wonderful dish, looks so good. I stir fry quite often, most times I just pull out what I have in the fridge. I am able to get bok chow, which we enjoy,I always have broccoli and carrots on hand but I will be looking out for those beautiful king oyster mushrooms, not sure if I will find them but I am going to give your dish a try.
As always @carolynstahl, your food inspires me to try new recipes.
Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful day

It seems that bok choy is becoming more main stream in supermarkets. When I was growing up we didn't see that stuff unless there was an Asian store. King oysters are also becoming more available but they are quite expensive around here. I'm sure you could easily grow mushrooms at your property.

Thanks for your kind comment. I really appreciate that. Have a great day!

You are most welcome my friend.

@carolynstahl This bowl looks very delicious, great recipe, congratulations.
I hope Marc's father is better happy day infinite blessings🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷

Yes Marc's father is okay now but he is 80 and never really great haha. I really appreciate your comment and nice wishes. Thank you so much!!!

Wao 80years old to reach that age is a blessing God protect you. 🤗🤗❤️❤️❤️🌹🌹🤗❤️

Hello, @carolynstahl

I am a tofu lover. I include it in my breakfasts, dinners and some desserts. But, now I will include tofu in my lunches by making your Asian Veggie Bowl that looks delicious and very distinguished.

No need to go to Chinese restaurants when you bring us such wonderful recipes like this one.👍🏻🥰

I hope your father-in-law gets well soon.🙏🏻

Thanks for your post!🤗

Regards!

Aww how nice. I don't meet many people that like tofu haha. I appreciate you wonderful comment. Thank you so much.😊

This looks incredibly delicious and easy to create a variety of dishes from / different ingredients to keep things fresh and interesting.

Beautifully presented as well.

And so you are you :) Stunning woman. You're very photogenic!

Sorry to hear of the ill health in the family. They are lucky, though, to have you to cook for them! That's sure to make a big difference for them.

Glad I found you and your recipes. I'll be back!

First of all thank you for the flattering comment. I never have been described as stunning and never thought I would hear it at 60. Gosh I think I'm blushing.

The family are two 78 and 80 year olds that wouldn't touch my cooking. They don't live with us. They eat nothing but garbage and have continual health problems.

If their neighbour gives them a bunch of fresh items from the garden, they throw it away. They think it's dirty. Plus they don't eat vegetables except for canned peas.

My partner gave his father a kidney and after two years it stopped working. We no longer eat animal products because of that (and other reasons).

I appreciate your comment and it lifts me up for the day. Thank you @nickydee!

Wow. My privilege after that amazing share. Thank you.

Yes. You are very beautiful indeed :) No matter what age the numbers say you are!

Well... I tell my son he should treat his body like a vehicle and you shouldn't go throwing sugar into a car petrol tank so...

I hear you on the plant based diet. I've been vegetarian most of my life, since I saw a Bridget Bardot documentary on the abattoirs at the age of nineteen. I stopped eating meat immediately.

I've gone on and off it for years though. I'm always anemic and I'm lazy with food prep as I mostly live alone. And food is expensive in South Africa. Most of the vegetables and fruit. Nuts are out of my affordability completely, for example. Avocados a rare treat.

I was Vegan for some months, lost around 14kg in 2 months and began to struggle with my health.

Now I do my best and keep meat to an absolute minimum and will only eat cows and chicken and I thank them as I eat them still find it quite horrific, quite frankly. I still feel kinda nauseous when I think about what I'm eating tbh.

But I dream of having a Vegan cafe one day with a meditation and conscious dance area :D I'll get there!

A plant based diet is the best way forward both ethically, environmentally and health wise now. For sure. That's a "no-brainer". Especially now!

Looking forward to more from you.

I think it's amazing that you lost so much weight from a vegan diet. My experience is that I have trouble keeping the weight down. I have kicked asthma through this and feel stronger than the younger people around me. Variety is the key, regardless of meat or not. I hope you get your vegan cafe. I'll be there.

Hi! I've just started using Engage and now I'm glad I did!

I totally missed this comment. My apologies :( On the go here and we also have a thing called "loadshedding" so the power goes down for around 6-8 hours a day now.

Yeah? Wow. I don't know how that's possible, but I guess different people respond differently to different diets.

I hear you. I've heard it does wonders for recovery from cancer as well. I think a low PH diet actually is the key to good health and longevity.

My variety isn't good at all. But one day I will have an oven and the time to cook again. I'll send you an invite to the Vegan cafe when it's up and running :D

No need for apologies. It's funny that you mention the power. I am in my apartment and the power is out. I happen to have a small power station that I'm using. All the best!

That is second on my wish list of things to get. I'm into minimalism so am super cautious about buying stuff.

But yeah! Power is after a new laptop that actually works properly! :D

You too. Have a beautiful day. I'll follow along for more awesomeness

Hi! I've just started using Engage and now I'm glad I did!

I totally missed this comment. My apologies :( On the go here and we also have a thing called "loadshedding" so the power goes down for around 6-8 hours a day now.

Yeah? Wow. I don't know how that's possible, but I guess different people respond differently to different diets.

I hear you. I've heard it does wonders for recovery from cancer as well. I think a low PH diet actually is the key to good health and longevity.

My variety isn't good at all. But one day I will have an oven and the time to cook again. I'll send you an invite to the Vegan cafe when it's up and running :D

Your recipe is very delicious and the green veggies look very fresh You always chose the right ingredients for the right recipe. I admire your dedication to making food dear friend @carolynstahl. A hug💓😊

You are too kind my friend. Thank you so much I wish you all the best @hindavi .😊❤️