Community Token Talk - The Cutting Edge of Web 3 - Ep. 15

in Threespeak2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Community Token Talk - CTT - the cutting edge of the new Web 3 world - Episode 15

MAIN SEGMENT

~~~ embed:1465336361351880711 twitter metadata:YnJhbnRseW1pbGxlZ2FufHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL2JyYW50bHltaWxsZWdhbi9zdGF0dXMvMTQ2NTMzNjM2MTM1MTg4MDcxMXw= ~~~

~~~ embed:1466403522619097088 twitter metadata:dGltY2FzdHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS90aW1jYXN0L3N0YXR1cy8xNDY2NDAzNTIyNjE5MDk3MDg4fA== ~~~

https://hive.blog/hive-181335/@adetorrent/vkrqdsqx - @adetorrent

https://hive.blog/hive-167922/@dalz/hive-inflation-and-supply-for-november-2021-or-is-the-supply-increasing-or-decreasing - @dalz

https://hive.blog/hive-167922/@jk6276/ask-leo-what-are-your-plans-for-the-speak-airdrop - @jk6276


GUESTs

Hive Marketing - @lordbutterfly

Hive downvoting, Free speech & Governance - @ura-soul

SHIT WE FOUND

https://hive.blog/hive-167922/@peerplays/peerplays-dex-ui-what-to-expect-with-the-basic-functionality-release - @peerplays
https://hive.blog/hive-139531/@imwatsi/polls-are-coming-to-hive-haf-plug-and-play-development-update-6 - @imwatsi
https://hive.blog/hive/@disregardfiat/multi-signature-is-here

COMMENTS

https://hive.blog/hive-181335/@theycallmedan/svmkpvjf - @theycallmedan
@celestal
@selfhelp4trolls
@samostically
@unorgmilitia
@readthisplease


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Here's a new version of this video but with louder audio... Note: Dan's voice is still louder but the other parts are boosted:


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Really god

Loading...

Thanks again for having us - may the source code be with you! :)

Im so glad to be able to hear your voice man!

Oh thanks, glad to meet you!

glad to finally meet you too!

Thank you guys for having me on. It was really fun trying out something new, getting out of my comfort zone.

Just to correct myself: When I was talking about funnels I meant to say "marketing channels". Funnels are an entirely different thing. Twas a language slipup. 😉

Hey, really want to express my gratitude for you guys taking the time to go through my post and questions and sharing your thoughts. My plans are much clearer now, and I'm very glad that technical skills will not be a barrier to entry. I'll definitely be there with bells on to mine and contribute any way I can.

Many thanks,

JK.

good luck ✨💥

The inflation is really interesting. In my country, inflation rate as of october this year is 4.8
Others think this is a small percentage. So how do the government really measure inflation?

Personal, I think the Philippines inflation rate is higher than this report basing it on our every single receipt I saved for book keeping to track monthly expenses. Gas increased, our electricity, water, condo dues increased this year! I noticed prices at the local market, big supermarket increased.

Lot of people lost their job during the strict lock down, small business had closed down and I really believe that Bitcoin and legit crypto coin will really help with this inflation.

My only concern is this big corporations or big people trying to get into the crypto world and manipulating the crypto market causing a lot of people to loose their earned money and I think this is where Hive blockchain gives a better opportunity to those who wants to invest in a long term financial goal.

Very informative talk show! Thanks for sharing. ❤️

Inflation! Inflation!! Inflation!!!

Following the words of Tucker Carlson, when inflation sucks “the economic energy out of the currency”, “the economy of that nation collapses or becomes less efficient.”

Many countries and government are so “stone-hearted” that they’ve closed up their minds into accepting cryptocurrencies. Countries like Nigeria have even taken further steps to ban all activities related to cryptocurrency and transactions on it. Such that those who are involved in transacting via Cryptocurrencies are now labelled as Criminals and are dealt with by the force agencies like Police.

Instead of these countries and concerned governments to focus on a way to deflate their currencies; instead of them to focus on a way to add “energy” and “oxygen” to their already “exhausted” and “life-drained currency,” they prefer to go after that which is not important.

They prefer to cut off the life support, even when it is obvious that it presents a clear chance for survival.

Why are they so comfortable being backward?
Why can’t all countries and government agencies realize that they can’t kill that which is “immortal”?
Why can’t they accept Cryptocurrencies formally and publicly?

We need more private institutions and platforms to readily accept and incorporate this noble cause. Just like the show of public support we just received from Budweiserusa involving a change of their twitter name to “Beer.eth”.

That’s amazing!!!

Many big brands need to move into the web 3 world because it is the future!!!!
Cryptocurrency is immortal!!!
Web 3 is the future…. NO!
Web 3 is the present and the future!!!

Could only hear your voice Dan throughout, but it was a lovely show. I've been really looking at the aspect of storage as well. Great thing you've addressed it here.
As per SPK it's still a little bit fuzzy, looking at the aspect of keeping it valuable and I think that's one concerning aspect as well.

shucks just realized this. i'll get it fixed by next show. I ran a quick test before and it came out ok so not sure what happened.

I can download and engineer the audio to fix it and give it back to you for reupload if you want?

That would be wonderful, I mean, I probably felt it was my device having issues. Of course Thanks for bringing up Adetorrent's video there, I was not aware of the podcast features to 3speak, I mean.. it was all lovely. Features like this could easily make people use 3speak

That was a beast of an episode but finally got through it!

Downvoting may be a necessary tool but I get why people feel attacked if they get one. It’s one thing to NOT to receive a reward, it’s another to have those rewards erased with the click of a button by one or two whales. It reminds people who can't afford to buy much hive of how powerless they are against large stakeholders and is very reminiscent of the powerlessness people feel in the current system.

The best solutions I can think of are to find a way to de-incentivize too much massive downvoting by whales, perhaps a kind of counter-downvote system, or a something like a complex decaying downvote or even a separate kind of reputation system that can influence downvote power. Until we figure it out, I think we need to encourage a culture on the chain where, as Dan said, whales don’t make a habit of downvoting 100% or even 50% unless it’s obviously spam or abusive content.

Looking forward to tuning into @ura-soul 's segment.

Great discussion, refreshing to hear a nuanced conversation regarding L2's, community tokens, free speech, downvoting, and possible solutions to some of these challenges.

A question about the SPK network, I know 3speak is dedicated to video content and the new system aims to include decentralized IPFS storage within the network, which is awesome, will the SPK network also include blogging/writing or will it remain largely focused on video? Also, how do you envision the integration of other communities into the network or working in parallel?

This kind of stuff can't be digested in just one sitting. It's like me taking a whole 3 hour class, but it's worth it. My second CTT video, but not done yet with the first one. Curious about your content. I am now seeing the format of your sharing. Really good; a good model for learning. Though I intended to reach the discussion on Web 4, I just managed to persevere so far up to 51:40. That's a long talk on SPK; not familiar with it, but I am not used to skipping content. Will continue listening maybe by tomorrow. I really like Michael Saylor's analogy. It might be shocking to many, but I think it's accurate. To "exaggerate" it a little bit, I think that's what the "parasitical class" are really doing; they're either sucking or injecting poisonous element into the blood stream (monetary system) and as a result, freedom, growth, and the economy suffer.

Thanks for a very enlightening discussion! Grace and peace!

I have developed a completely different way of handling curation, that will drastically increase user engagement and retention of the 99% of internet users who do not create content.

I was told to speak to you: @theycallmedan, but I'm not sure how to reach out to you. I'm the founder of the Discord community: Punk Legends, so, you can usually find me there.

I look forward to speaking with you and I really enjoyed this podcast.

easiest way to contact me is to first contact @eddiespino and he will relay to me

Thank you guys for this great opportunity and having me.

This was the push i needed towards something better for me.
🙏😇

PeakD has the option for trending by views and you can sort by most viewed Today, Yesterday, This Week, Current Month, Previous Month.

Wow I did not know this, going to check this out.

it is only most viewed on Peakd, because they can't know what is happening on other frontends. When you go to Explore tab first is all topics and next is Most viewed posts.

still cool, we wanted to do that for 3speak we have a closed source version just need to tidy it up and open source it. But this is the way IMO, a way to unite all views would be cool, prob hard but maybe a frontend opt in

I would like to be able to more easily hear the content. The audio of the host is factors higher than the audio of the others who are at the same audio level. Maybe the host can try to make guest audios match their level? Thanks!

yeah I ran a test before and it sounded ok, but I'll see what I can do next time

Great podcast! Thanks for the shoutout ☀️🙌

Bit of audio levels issue with guests but that’s what the volume button is for I guess :)

I was waiting for next community token talk show and here it is. This helps viewers or newbies to learn more about token. I love and appreciate it. Thanks

Absolutely!
Did you manage to login to 3speak?

nope

when it says this account is taken, below in the same box it says to click there if this is your account. Did you try that yet?
image.png

Sir, I've tried that thousands time and frequently getting same Notification, checked email and spam folder too. This is confusing to me ☹️

Speaking of volume, the guest needs to crank his mic way up.

Very interesting the part in which you speak masterfully about SPK solutions for freedom of expression. Greetings

I got lots of insights from the talk. Thanks for including polls in the show.

could only hear Dan :/

The audio on the guest is quiet, you'll need to turn up your volume for this. I'll find a solution next time

Omg seeing tucker carlson's face as the first thing! haha

image.png
Is this cos I'm in Thailand?? Too much of a luddite to know what the error code means.

dsnt matter where u are unless there is somekind geo-block which I doubt. do any videos play for you? have u tried diff browsers?

Yes, other 3speak videos play just fine. Just watched @taskmaster4450 with no problem. I was using the Brave browser, same as when I watched taskmasters vid.

try openvpn's. I made a blog about the top 5 FREE VPNs here https://ecency.com/hive-106817/@sachingeorge/top-5-free-vpn-s

Upvoted and rehived.

Really cool, my attention span is really short,so I was able to watch what I could, I guess I will continue later.

SAME!! so i gotta do the timestamps in like 3-4 sessions haha

Thank you for supporting the bulgarian community!


~~~ embed:1466938053407043584 twitter metadata:M3NwZWFrb25saW5lfHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tLzNzcGVha29ubGluZS9zdGF0dXMvMTQ2NjkzODA1MzQwNzA0MzU4NHw= ~~~

The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

there are many advantages to reading this because here there are many things that can make me think ahead I am very happy to see all that friends share And I hope friends all in good health who have shared posts that are very useful for me as a newcomer and many things I don't know yet on hive with me seeing and reading the posts of my friends take a lot of new experiences, once again I say thank you profusely, hopefully friends are always in good health, thank you

Here is a summary article about the key topics discussed in this episode of the Community Token Talk Podcast:

High-Level Summary

In this episode, hosts TheyCallMeDan and Starkerz were joined by special guests Lordbutterfly and Ura-Soul. The discussion covered a range of topics related to the Hive blockchain, free speech, content monetization, and the development of decentralized technologies.

Michael Saylor and Bitcoin Advocacy

The hosts discussed a recent appearance by Michael Saylor on Tucker Carlson's show, where Saylor drew parallels between currency, blood, and oxygen - using this to emphasize the risks of inflation and the need for Bitcoin. The hosts agreed this was an important step in bringing Bitcoin further into the mainstream.

Lordbutterfly on Hive Marketing

Lordbutterfly shared his experiences over the past year spearheading marketing efforts for the Hive ecosystem. He discussed the challenges of working with marketing agencies, experimenting with different tactics like influencer videos and paid ads, and ultimately taking a more hands-on approach. Lordbutterfly also announced plans for a documentary film about Hive's history and the "crypto war" with Justin Sun.

Ura-Soul on Censorship and Free Speech

Ura-Soul, a long-time Hive user and free speech advocate, shared his perspective on the challenges of maintaining free speech on the platform. He described being heavily downvoted by certain whales, which he sees as a form of censorship, and discussed potential solutions using layer-two community tokens and customizable curation tools.

The SPK Network and Decentralized Monetization

Dan provided an overview of the SPK Network, an incentivization layer being built to support decentralized video hosting, encoding, and content delivery. He explained how this could help address issues around censorship and monetization, by allowing content creators to earn rewards directly from viewers through Lightning Network micropayments.

The hosts also discussed other developments in the Hive ecosystem, including Peer Place's NFT platform, DisregardFiat's multi-signature capabilities, and the potential for cross-chain integrations between various layer-two solutions.

Overall, the discussion highlighted the ongoing efforts to build censorship-resistant, community-driven platforms on top of Hive, while also addressing challenges around content moderation, rewards distribution, and user adoption.


Notice: This is an AI-generated summary based on a transcript of the video. The summarization of the videos in this channel was requested/approved by the channel owner.