The Weekly Turni- Issue 39

in BDCommunity3 years ago

10/05/2021
২৭শে বৈশাখ ১৪২৮

𝕿𝖍𝖊 𝖂𝖊𝖊𝖐𝖑𝖞 𝕿𝖚𝖗𝖓𝖎


𝕰𝖉𝖎𝖙𝖔𝖗𝖎𝖆𝖑


"I drive through life
And create my own future
I make roads
Where there are no roads"

I find the quotes above quite inspiring, and I do not need to drive a Lamborghini to get the meaning of it. It is not that I like bikes, or fast cars or massive adventure or adrenaline in life, I feel I am well past my prime for most of that. However, what I like is the find inspiration from random places. That quote above is from a Go Pro Hero 4 video from 2014

It talks about the Bōsōzoku sub-culture in Japan. If you do a little research about that and understand what it is, you will know, it is a philosophy and it is not about good or bad, rather it is a life statement. It is sort of a fellow-feeling or comraderies. It is not about fast and expensive car or bike, or about extravagant spoilers, or neon-lights; it is not even about speed all the time. It is about try and be yourself. It is about being a leader even if you are a girl in a men-dominated society – hobby or whatever it is that is patriarchal in life. It is about ‘not changing your batting-grip’. I know many of you may not understand the last reference, but I won’t explain 😊 Because here in BDC we believe:

“If you can't understand it without an explanation, you can't understand it with an explanation.” ~ Haruki Murakami, 1Q84.

I get asked many questions about my online presence. Why I am not on facebook, not on LinkedIn, not on Instagram. I get asked in hive, why I am still here on Hive 😊. See the irony? It is like between a rock and a hard place. I try to answer both crowds, in a language that they can understand. I try to be polite and try to explain, but mostly fail. I fail to explain the non-hive crowd, why I am active on a social network of 5000 people. I fail to explain the hive crowd, why I am in this network, which is not very ‘profitable’ for me.

I didn’t try and use the quote above yet. Likely, I won’t. Because I suspect none will understand. But the five people who reads this magazine….can you?

Because, if you can, that is my reward. That is my reach.

This is a slightly different type of editorial. So, this is a direct question to you, and you write the answer in the comments…and please don’t write ‘nice post’! 😊

-Editor



Mahaze


I was supposed to write about Shibuya today for this week's turni. About the Times Square of Japan when I realized, I don't actually know as much as I thought about the culture of Japan, their civilization, except for the things I've learned about the country from a few documentaries, shows and loads of animes I've watched. But visual entertainment rarely represents a country's true culture. If someone were to judge bengali culture based on the shitty movies and shows we have, wed be compared to cavemans. Not the woke ones who painted on the walls and stuff, the cannibal ones who only knew how to communicate through growls and groans. And so I know not enough about Japan and so can not dare to write about Shibuya.

But, my inability to write about shibuya is not coming from a lack of knowledge. A few clicks and searches could take care of that. More so, it's because my mind and my thoughts now are extremely congested and backlogged. By now, almost everyone in the world knows that the covid situation in India is not pretty, and it looks even uglier when you live in a neighboring country with a similar demographic. That old dying woman you see in the news whose face looks too similar to your mom or that bearded guy who's trying so hard to find oxygen for his father, whose face is almost what you see when you look in the mirror is none too pathetic than one can ever experience.

News reports tell us that in India, even though the newly mutated strain is much more vicious in comparison to its predecessor, the situation worsened because the government thought it was important and would be a big boost in morale to celebrate the statistical low of covid stats by throwing political victory rallies. And that same situation is repeating in my own country. As it's the prelude of Eid, a holiday much like Christmas, the working class people who spend much of their time working in the cities away from their families now must go to them. And along they are taking gift wrapped covid viruses to their parents, siblings, wife and childrens.

But they are not to blame. My recent voluntary works took me to a few places where the situation was quite unsavory. Hard Working lower class people having a tough time finding ways to earn, the only thing they have looked up to in the last few years is the Eid, a chance to be in peace among death, starvation and chaos. Even though doing that, going home would be moronic, it's hard to oppose and blame them when the government in an act of ignorance has kept the transportation open.

A few days ago I met with this owner of a local restaurant. Quite a reputable person with a solid respectable stand in the community. The restaurant closed down last year and since then he had been eating away his savings. I met him on a collection run, where we go door to door and ask for charity to help feed poor kids. I found out that he has now picked up sanitary work. From food to feces. Even then with head held high, he donated much. With a firm belief that as this is Ramadan, month of blessing, repentance and kindness, God will give him back kindly with even more.

When I see this duality among the human psyche, capable of both idiocracy and greatness at the same time. I become more confused. Even though I can't sort through these two sides of the coin, I understand at least this, this duality is what makes humanity what it is. And if this ever ends, we will come out stronger on the other side. Perhaps, for me it would be a trip to Japan on a distant spring or autumn , sipping on a glass of sake with lemon on top of it and catching Mahaze, Yellowfin goby with a rod made by a local master of the craft artisan.

-Head Clerk


𝕮𝖔𝖓𝖙𝖊𝖓𝖙𝖊𝖉 𝖈𝖔𝖓𝖘𝖚𝖒𝖕𝖙𝖎𝖔𝖓


There are intimate things in life such as making love and going to the loo — we do not feel comfortable sharing these (perverts excluded). However, some acts like bathing are also intimate, yet some feel comfortable doing such acts in public, others do not. There's a common ground in all of these scenarios, nudity.

However, there is another activity that doesn't have any connection to nudity, yet we feel quite uncomfortable when people stare at us while we eat. Eating can be quite intimate for some people and they refuse to eat while others are present in their vicinity. Even the most average of us will feel confused and flabbergasted if we are under observation while gulping down the food—especially when the observer is not committing the same act. Why are they staring at me? Are they hungry? Do I give them food? Would be polite to ask them now I'm already halfway done? And what if they refuse the food, what then?

I hate these feelings, yet, I've always liked being the observer! I find comfort in watching contented consumptions. No fancy food, no fancy restaurants, no jaw-dropping food items with pointless decorations, no, not those — rather everyday food items, homemade or bought from the street vendor, being eaten nonchalantly, without deliberation — yet with so much content!

Take this scene from Honeyland (2019), when Muratova's neighbor kid sits beside her and she cuts down a piece of honeycomb and hands it to him. The boy puts it into his mouth, Muratova watches him with a motherly affection!

And this one is from Mon Oncle(1958). The boys are planning to prank the street people, and they are already with some pastry bought from a street vendor. With anticipation, they bite on their precious pieces of jelly-breads.

Another one from Le Trou (1960). The inmates are all set on the plan. Today, however, they'll eat. Despite being robbed of their freedom, some food from their friends and family do come passing all the bars. They share the food with one another. Common canned foods, yet they exuberate happiness!

No, I don't feel the glutton rising inside me seeing these scenes. Rather the idea of it, consumption, being one of the primal processes of life — brings me closer to nature, feeling one with it again.

The gifs are extracted from the films by me for commentary.


𝕯𝖎𝖘𝖈𝖔𝖓𝖓𝖊𝖈𝖙


Phew! It's been a long time since I have written anything and seems like I have forgotten how to write. Let's find out if writing too is like riding a bike.....you know, once you learn it... and all that!

When I am starting to write something, there are two things that happens always. Almost always!

I either know exactly what I want to write and how to maneuver the post in whatever direction, or I have zero clue where a post is headed towards and I just go with the flow. But today I sort of know what I want to write, but I have no idea how I am going to maneuver the words. But it's okay. Even if I know the ending, it's the journey towards that ending that is more important, sometimes.

I've been away for nearly a month....months are like eternities in blockchain terms and things have been pretty stormy while I was away. Sakib constantly reminded me how I was missing out on the banana and apeswap boat, but we gotta do what we gotta do. I've been inches away from being burnt out, every night.

Given how we've wrapped our lives inside the spiderweb called internet and the electronic gateways to the world of virtual reality, we often lose sight of what's right in front of us....who's right in front of us...around us. So I can't help but admit this was indeed a welcome break from....well everything. And although I was nose deep into heavy textbooks, I still somehow was spending a lot more time with my parents than I have in probably the last few months. Incredible, huh!?

This reminds me of the '90s, or the early 20th century....when powercuts meant families gathering around glowing ambers of a candle, or a kerosene hariken lamp. The horror stories that used to spawn out from the elders in the quietness of the yellow flickering candles, and the disrupting silence of the ghastly wind that could somehow only be heard where there were coconut trees.....those stories would take any modern day horror films to the corner "mudir dokan" and barter it three times inside out without blinking an eye!

hurricane-lamp-3790758_1280.jpg

Source

I guess what I'm trying to say is, despite it being always all about "staying connected" these days, maybe once in a while it's necessary to disconnect to create something extraordinary. Does that make sense?

So, did I reach the destination I was aiming for at the beginning of this post? If you enjoyed the journey, the destination hardly matters :)

-Doc


Deflect


বর্তমান সময়টা হঠাৎ করেই থমকে আছে।বিধাতা কিছুটা ইচ্ছা করেই প্রবল গতিতে ছুটে চলা আমাদেরকে থামিয়ে দিয়েছে।যেখানে নিজের ইচ্ছে মতো চলার স্বাধীনতাটাই নেই। শেষ করে যে খোলা আকাশের নিচে চড়ই পাখির মতো ছুটে বেড়িয়েছি? নাহ্ মনে পরছে না!করোনার মধ্যে মাঝে কিছুটা গতি পেলেও আবার এখন কিছুটা বন্দি জীবন কাটছে।খুব প্রয়োজন ছাড়া বাইরে বের হচ্ছি না।বাসায় শুয়ে বসে সময় কাটে। মাঝে মাঝে গল্পের বইয়ের পৃষ্ঠা নাড়াচাড়া করি নাহলে অনলাইনে দাবা খেলি।দাবা খেলার প্রতি ছোট বেলা থেকেই একটা আগ্রহ ছিলো। আর এই আগ্রহটা তৈরী করেছিলো আব্বু -আম্মু!

একটা কথা আমরা প্রায়ই শুনি, স্মৃতি সততই সুখের।ছোটোবেলার স্মৃতি ভাবতে যেমন ভালো লাগে, তেমনি মাঝে মাঝেই স্মৃতিগুলো ছুয়ে দেখতেও মন চায়। অনেক চরিত্র, হরেকরকম ঘটনা।
ছোটবেলার হাজারো স্মৃতির মধ্যে আমার একটা প্রিয় একটা স্মৃতি হলো,আব্বু আমাদের দুইবোনকে দুইপাশে বসিয়ে দাবা কোর্ট সাজাতেন।প্রতিপক্ষ আম্মু!প্রতিপক্ষ হিসেবে আম্মু যথেষ্টই শক্তিশালীই ছিলেন আর আমরা দুইবোন দর্শক! আপু কিছুক্ষণ পর কেন জানি চলে যেত! কিন্তু আমি বসে বসে দেখতাম।কেন জানি এভাবেই ৬৪ ঘরের ছকটা বেশ টানতো আমাকে।সুযোগ পেলেই আম্মুকে শিখানোর জন্য বায়না করতাম। এভাবেই আস্তে আস্তে দাবার সব ঘুটির চাল শিখে ফেললাম।কিন্তু রাজা কিভাবে মাত করে তা তো পারি না।প্রতিদিন আম্মুর কাছে হারতাম,যতই হারতাম ততই আরো চেষ্টা করতে লাগলাম।ছন্দপতন হয়! কোন এক সাময়িক পরীক্ষায় ফলাফল ভালো না হওয়ার কারনে দাবা খেলা কিছুদিনের জন্য ছাড়তে হলো।এখনকার পরিবেশের সাথে কিন্তু আমাদের ছোটোবেলার পরিবেশের অনেকটাই পার্থক্য ছিল। আমাদের তখন না ছিল কোন প্রাচুর্য্য, না ছিল ছোটোদের পূর্ণ স্বাধীনতা। আজ যখন পিছনে ফিরে তাকাই তখন এই বর্তমান জগতের একজন শিশুর সাথে আমাদের নিজেদের অমিলগুলো খুব সহজেই চোখে পরে। অনাবিল সরলতা তখন একমাত্র বৈশিষ্ট্য ছিলো। সামান্য উপহারেই খুশি হতাম আমরা, কারণ আমাদের চাহিদাটাও ছিলো খুব সামান্যই!

অবশেষে বিরাট একটি সুযোগ পেয়ে যাই, খেলা শেখার জন্য।এস,এস,সি পরীক্ষা পর প্রায় তিন মাস সময় পেয়ে যাই দাবা খেলার জন্য।দেখা যেত নিজেই নিজেই সারাদিন ভাবছি আম্মুকে কিভাবে হারানো যায়।আসলে নিজ আগ্রহে কোন কাজে সময় দিতে কেন জানি অন্যরকম ভালো লাগে।এভাবে একদিন আমি আম্মুকে সত্যি সত্যি হারিয়ে দিলাম।তারপর থেকেই দাবার প্রতি আলাদা এক টান কাজ করতো এবং আম্মু প্রায় হারতে শুরু করল!




কোন এক ছুটির দিনে আব্বু বসে বসে চা চুমুক দিচ্ছেন আর পত্রিকায় পড়ছেন। আম্মু হঠাৎ ই আব্বুকে বললেন যে আমি খুব ভালো দাবা খেলছি।পরে শুনে আমাকে ডাক দিলেন আর কোর্ট টা নিয়ে আসতে বললেন।আমি কিছুটা খুশি মনে নিয়ে আসলাম।খেলার এক পর্যায়ে বাবা কি জানি চিন্তা করতে লাগলেন। এবং এক সময় আমি হেরে গেলাম 😔মা এসে জিজ্ঞেস করলেন যে আমি কেমন খেলি? বাবা তার উত্তরে তেমন কিছু বললেন না কিন্তু যা করলেন,তা হলো আমার জন্য ঝকঝকে মলাটের একটি বাংলায় লেখা দাবার বই এনে দিলেন। বইটা রানী হামিদের লেখা এবং তিনি বাংলাদেশের সেরা মহিলা দাবাড়ু। দাবা সম্পর্কে তখন কোন ধারণাই ছিলো না তখন।কিন্তু আস্তে আস্তে বইটি আমার খুব প্রিয় হয়ে গেল!
যারা প্রথম দাবা সম্পর্কে কিছুটা ধারণা পেতে চান তাদের জন্য এই বইটি খুব উপকারী হবে।
বিশেষ করে দাবার বিভিন্ন নিয়ম কানুন বা চালগুলোর বাংলা নাম জানার জন্য!তাছাড়া এখানে সহজ ও সাবলীল ভাষায় দাবা খেলার নিয়ম বা আইনগুলো তুলে ধরা হয়েছে। যারা দাবা খেলার প্রতি আগ্রহী এবং প্রথম প্রথম খেলা শুরু করেছেন, তাদের জন্য আমি এই বইটি সাজেস্ট করব। দাবার উপর পুরো পৃথিবীতে বিভিন্ন ভাষায় প্রচুর বই লেখা হলেও বাংলা ভাষায় তা একদমই হাতেগোনা। যেটা আমার কাছে খুবই দুঃখজনক মনে হয়েছে।




আমি নিয়মিত অনলাইনে দাবা খেলি। তবুও বইটিতে মাঝে মাঝে চোখ বুলাই!এক রাজাকে কিস্তিমাত করতে সেকি কৌশল!!শুধু যে কৌশল তা না,এ যেন রনকৌশল। ঘোড়া, নৌকা, হাতি, সৈন্য সব শেষে মন্ত্রী সবাইকে নিয়ে এক মহাযুদ্ধ। খেলার প্রত্যেক মুহূর্তেই টান টান উত্তেজনা কাজ করে।

"মজার খেলা দাবা ও দাবা খেলার আইন কানুন "– রানী হামিদের এই বইটি যেকোন বইয়ের দোকান থেকে সংগ্রহ করা যাবে।তাছাড়া বাসায় বসে সংগ্রহ করতে চাইলে অনলাইন সাইট রকমারি তে অর্ডার করা যাবে।অনলাইনে বই অর্ডারে রকমারি সবসময়ই আমার প্রথম পছন্দ।

অনেককেই দেখি যে তারা ক্যাসলিং বোঝেন না।আবার দাবার সাংকেতিক চিহ্ন ব্যবহার করা হয় তা জানে কিন্তু এই ক্যাসলিং কিনবা সাংকেতিক চিহ্ন দাবাতে খুব গুরুত্বপূর্ণ! আবার ঘড়ির ও ব্যবহার আছে।একটি চাল দিয়ে ঘড়ি চাপতে হয় যেটা বড় টুর্নামেন্টে ব্যবহার করে।তাছাড়া চাল শুরু করার জন্য বেশ কিছু নিয়ম বা টেকনিক দেয়া আছে যা আমার খুবই ভালো লেগেছে বিগেনার হিসেবে।আর বাচ্চাদের জন্য নিজের বুদ্ধিমত্তা যাচাইয়ের এই দাবা খেলাকে আমি বেষ্ট বলে মনে করি।সবাই নিরাপদে থাকবেন।সবাই অগ্রীম ঈদুল ফিতরের শুভেচ্ছা ♥️​


𝕰𝖓𝖉 𝕹𝖔𝖙𝖊𝖘

Do not forget to join our next weekly hangout on at Friday 10 pm GMT +6

Sort:  

If someone were to judge bengali culture based on the shitty movies and shows we have, wed be compared to cavemans.

This reminds me of the famous Caveman commercial from Geico, the insurance company :)

Lighten up @zayedsakib

সবাই যখন কাঁদে বিদূষক তখন হাসে .... দাদাঠাকুর

Yesterday I heard an amazing story yesterday, I like you to listen to it..

....one day in the life of a hustler named Joe, who wakes up every morning broke, hustles as much as $10,000 during the day and then loses most of it by the time he goes to bed

https://www.thisamericanlife.org/233/starting-from-scratch/act-two-19

I dont have much of an appetite:333

শুধু যদি বিদূষকের কাছে চিরঞ্জীবি অমৃত থাকতো, তবে হয়তো ওসব পরিবারের মুখেও হাসি লেগে থাকতো।

I edited and added the next bit. I always have many positive stories that circulate on my frontal lobe...

Canadian's have a very skewed representation as well. :)

@rodmila Thank you for writing, I have read you before, I think you should write more

When we were kids Gary Kasparov was a big name; well still is a big name :)

Thank you Dada!!! The Queen's Gambit! This television series was really enjoyable for me. Gary Kasparov is still a big name; I've been watching his games since I first started playing chess. I'll make an effort to write more often.

and @notacinephile of course you know about this iconic image from 1932

image.png

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lunch_atop_a_Skyscraper

Oh yeah I've seen this many times!

I enjoy the video as well, its very well done!

 3 years ago (edited) 

Why are you still here?
Around the time when Turni was publishing, I was writing my own shitpost about social media... more accurately the apps that I use and the ones I have muted or didn't download... I somewhat agree with what sayee said... this is perhaps a home for you... then again people is referred to as home... I believe hive and a few individuals that are here are very dear to you, so you stay in a social network of 5000 people... I may not be on point

Head Clerk you remember our PM had declared Bangali Corona ke voy kore na? Of course you do. We're about to see how brave we are in 5 days when people move back to the cities

Amor sometimes I'm conscious or say uncomfortable while I eat in public and sometimes I could just care less about what the world thinks.... I have an elder sister (my bestie's elder sister) she has a theory that if I can't eat however or whatever I want, we're not going to be buddies
So you see?

Doc oohh daktar... it's good to see you back... I distinctly remember your last post was about the bloodbath... guess what doc... you're always around during bloodbath... why doc why? Welcome back though 😉

A warm welcome to Rodmila
While I was reading your post, I remember playing cards with my parents and elder sister since I was 7 or 8 I think... yes, you were talking about chess but it sort of triggered a childhood memory... again a warm welcome to you

A few of us have missed this week's edition and we'll be back again in no time... and when we do, we'll bring out all the big guns and bombs loaded

I'm not perturbed about eating habits or what others think about it, I'm fascinated about the act itself.

It is always enjoyable Spending time with family or playing indoor games. I am lucky to have my mother who always supported & encouraged me. These memories are unforgettable.

Yes, this is my home and you guys are my family

About humans, I believe this duality is what eventually makes us up. If we all wake up and begin to notice a sort of perfection about ourselves we would eventually know that something is wrong because there's nothing perfect about humanity. We have diverse belief about what we find interesting, disgusting, intimate or even shameful, this diversity in perception is what creates a uniqueness to us. In reality I believe we're diverse despite being the same in many aspects. It would be interesting to view humanity where every human bad no diversity to things like personality and character and sometimes what we're capable of even surprises us.

@rodmila well written. Yes it is true. The whole world seems to be at a standstill. As a child, I used to do a lot of shopping before Eid. But children of that age have been confined at home for almost 1 year now.

Childhood is a colorful chapter in our life. All of us have a strong desire to get back the days of childhood. But that is not possible, but we can reminisce, we can get absolute happiness by gently touching the days left behind. The world can be multifaceted. Human life can be colorful. To a man has nothing more beautiful than his childhood. The real success of life lies in keeping in mind the pure memory of that indescribable simplicity of childhood.

Childhood has always been and will remain to be precious to all of us. I know that everyone has a lot of childhood memories, and I have some as well; these memories still make me happy when I think about them. Thanks for your appreciation :)

That was an exciting video to watch. Thank you!

The editor feels more at home on Hive and the personal connection with people you never meet in real life is much more 'real' perhaps. That's what I usually feel. Amor has a point, no one would like to be stared at while eating but as a mother, I can tell you, it is a joy to feed others especially children and this reminded me of my school days when we classmates used to share fruits in the school. Each one took a bite and passed on and we never thought of whether it was hygienic or not, lol.
We miss you Doc and hope you achieve your dreams.
Head Clerk's observations touched my heart. I really wish the situation improves and that the virus is wiped out. Poverty was considered unwelcome always and money the only goal to achieve in order to gain happiness but the pandemic has taught a lesson or two to humanity as a whole. It is time we reconsider our priorities and work together removing all differences and borders, for the welfare of the planet.

আহা! বাবার কথা মনে পরে গেলো। আমিও আমার বাবার কাছে দাবা খেলা শিখেছি। বাবা ছিল উপজেলায় দাবার চ্যাম্পিয়ন। প্রথম প্রথম বাবা ছাড় দিয়ে খেলা শিখিয়েছিল। বাবা যতোই ছাড় দিত কিন্তু কোন ভাবেই হাড়াতে পারতাম না। অনেক দিন খেলার পর ধীরে ধীরে বাবাকে হারানো শুরু করেছিলাম। তাও হয়তো বাবা ছাড় না দিলে হত না। বাবার সাথে অনেক খেলেছি। বাবা নিজের হাতেই কাঠ দিয়ে সম্পূর্ণ দাবার সেট বানিয়েছিল। ঐ সেট দিয়েই খেলতাম।

আজ বাবা নেই। খুব বেশি করে মনে পরলো বাবার কথা। @rodmila

Mahaze

I think there is a lot of discrepancies when portraying reality in the media. A lot of cuts and editing; a lot of projection. It is sometimes not intentional but we create false narratives.

About the covid situation. I have read and commented on a couple of related posts. Sometimes I am afraid for my country, Nigeria. Given that we are a large country. If what is currently happening in India occurs here only God knows what will happen.

I keep praying for my friends in India and Bangladesh. May God give you all the fortitude to carry on during these dark times

why I am still here on Hive

I think one of the reasons would be because it is like a safe place for you, you get to interact with like minded people and feel at home.

𝕮𝖔𝖓𝖙𝖊𝖓𝖙𝖊𝖉 𝖈𝖔𝖓𝖘𝖚𝖒𝖕𝖙𝖎𝖔𝖓

It is indeed uncomfortable when someone watches you while you eat. I find that I am not able to consume the food well when being watch. However, there's this pleasure or joy that comes with watching the ones you love eat or just watching people consume food with so much contentment.

𝕯𝖎𝖘𝖈𝖔𝖓𝖓𝖊𝖈𝖙

I agree with you on this, once in a while it is good to disconnect, take a break and enjoy the things around you, spend more time with the ones you love.