Your personal space speaks volumes about you

in The MINIMALIST2 months ago

Since I started clearing out my mother’s home I’ve been thinking a lot about the benefits of minimalism. Seeing the dangers of hoarding every object that could be even remotely useful in a non-specified future, I’ve subjected my own home to a critical examination and various bags of crap were promptly disposed of. Only yesterday I was almost reduced to tears when I discovered a set of odd-looking glasses I didn’t know I had, nor do I know what you could drink out of them. Given my experiences of late, I’d be tempted to say minimalist living is the only decent kind of living. And yet…

image.png
A souvenir from Sicily which reflects my current obsession with butterflies as a symbol of transformation

To answer The Minimalist community’s prompt - Do you feel there is such a thing as being too minimalist? - I’d say, yes. And here is why.

The kind of house you live in reflects your personality. Especially when it comes to little things that have meaning for you. I don’t believe in buying things I don’t need, but I do believe in buying things that I like. Things that serve no purpose, other than to define my personal space.
Strictly speaking, one could very well live with one bed, a small table with a chair, and a change of clothes. Prisoners or nuns are all minimalists, aren’t they? Yet, in both cases the point of denying them the luxury of personal belongings is to strip people of their personality.

image.png

When I speak about buying things that I like, I don’t mean expensive stuff. While doing a bit of redecorating last year I went mostly for cheap Ikea-style furniture, picking a couple of pieces I happened to like. The biggest single expense was a rocking chair, something like $300. I didn’t really need it as I have an old couch with very comfy armchairs, but I fell in love with it the moment I saw it. And it proved just as great as I imagined it would. (I also didn’t need the little guys that made the chair their home when I don’t use them, but I got a bit carried away with Christmas decorations last year and now I don’t have the heart to stuff them in a closet.)
One could live without a rocking chair, Christmas decorations, another stupid ashtray or bracelet, but when you start denying yourself even small things I guess you don’t have a very good relationship with yourself. I don’t trust people whose homes look like a hotel room, devoid of personal stuff, even if the furniture is expensive and the TV is as smart as can be. Such homes lack a personality and I don’t like what it says about their owners.

In an age of mindless consumerism, choosing a minimalist lifestyle is sort of making a stand. People with a shopping compulsion are usually trying to fill a huge gap in their life. Instead, minimalism is said to allow people to focus more on personal development, but I don’t know if that’s always the case. To my mind, a house stripped of any superfluous objects could easily be the sign of an equally barren interior life. I can understand the benefits of not being attached to material possessions, but not being attached to anything that may carry a sentimental value or provide a bit of color in your life may be the sign of some serious psychological problem.

image.png
The moon-shaped thingy is a perfect example of impulse-buy. I have no idea what to do with it, but isn't it gorgeous?

Another way one could go too minimalist is refusing oneself experiences - shows, concerts, trips, etc. If there’s a band I like, I’ll see them every time they’re in town, because it’s a pleasurable experience. And it lasts for more than a couple of hours if you factor in the waiting period and the energy you get after the show. (The next concert is in exactly two weeks and I can hardly wait.)
One could argue you don’t need to go to London for no particular reason, but of all the cities I’ve visited London speaks to me the most and just being there feels great. (Unfortunately, it’s also expensive so I’m still looking for a decent excuse to go there this year.)
Why would you refuse yourself this sort of little pleasures? Life is too short to be an extreme minimalist.

Also, none of us is capable of a complete detachment of all things. We’re not living Buddhas and by constantly denying yourself “unnecessary” purchases or experiences one can easily become envious and resentful of those that don’t.

ladyrebecca.png

Sort:  

I feel like this, too, I don't wish to be labelled a minimalist ... or anything else 😍. I like everything clean and tidy and without clutter, I find that pleasing, and I have time and space for what I want to do, which is generally some knitting related activity or reading, both of which have their paraphernalia 😁. I like to be able to find things quickly, and I am an absolute minimalist about cleaning 😂. I'm not sure I agree with you about people whose homes are more spartan (or more maximalist) than mine. I'm guessing they have their reasons, not necessarily negative ones, and they've made their choices.

Don't tell me about clutter... For the past few years we've been throwing things out and it's still not enough. Even books, though I'm a passionate reader. Yet, the things that interest me have changed, so I cannot keep all the books I bought 20 years ago. We put them in bags in front of the building and I'm glad to say I saw people looking through the bags :)

Aside from enormous chocolate cakes, I deny myself nothing, as you say, life's too short. Yet, apart from my health machine collection, I have no ornaments or knock-knacks of any kind. You may have heard me say before because I love to repeat myself, that the previous owner of my house left everything behind. Four years later, I've changed nothing and added not a trinket. I always travel light, not because I am an aspiring minimalist but because the moment I arrive I'm planning my escape:)

I was going to write that I do understand people who can stuff all their possessions in a backpack and collect experiences rather than ... all sorts of crap :)) At present, I'm only considering short trips. I love to travel, but I also love coming home, no matter how nice the place may be. I'm getting old and I miss the comfort of my own bed, but I also miss my stuff, my armchair where I watch TV, the comfy socks that didn't make it into my bag, that sort of stuff.
Also, in my travels, I've come across accommodations that were wonderful precisely because there were all sorts of things left around. Those felt like a home and were far more pleasant than bare rooms you find in most places.

Aside from enormous chocolate cakes

How about mid-size chocolate cakes? You good with that? There's this place in town that sells huge pieces of cake, more like a big chunk of chocolate cream. They're divine, although it takes a very determined person to finish a piece in one go... someone like me, I mean:)

Your post is on point! 🙌👏

To my mind, a house stripped of any superfluous objects could easily be the sign of an equally barren interior life.

Not being attached to anything that may carry a sentimental value or provide a bit of colour in your life may be a sign of some serious psychological problem.

devoid of personal stuff, even if the furniture is expensive and the TV is as smart as can be. Such homes lack a personality

I agree. It's hard to be comfortable around people like those because you can't help but feel like you're surrounded by superficial people and that's not a nice feeling.

I agree about London; It's a complete city and one that I always enjoy visiting. Go for it, and have a great time:)

small KISS Gif.gif
Thanks for your #KISS
I enjoyed it 😉


lips sealed

speaking lips

you can't help but feel like you're surrounded by superficial people and that's not a nice feeling.

Exactly. I've had this feeling while visiting a friend. Her house is nice, quite expensive stuff in it, but no personal objects. The only decorations to be seen were those I bought her as a house-warming gift a few years ago. Obviously, she's not a very happy person and she cannot truly love or accept herself as she is.

 2 months ago  

Minimalist Cover Gif-7.jpg

i also like to travel lightly without any belongings