Indoor Garden Update - PESTS!!!

Hello Everyone,

Today I discovered a crazy fungus gnat infestation.

I'm not the only one dealing with these disruptive bugs, they seem to be healthy and thriving as ever according to reports from other cannabis growers on-chain and elsewhere.

This sucks but we just have to deal with it..


image.png



image.png


These products will be enough to bring the population down and possibly eradicate it completely. Last year I came close to full eradication but got a little lazy here and there...
This time I'm not playing around because I am working towards perpetual harvests, which means I'll maintain lively plants at all times, so neglecting this infestation in any way could prove disasterous later on.


image.png


The method for application is rather straight forward and simple. The insecticide product is added to a spray bottle to apply to top soil and vegetation. (no veg application needed currently)
The diatomaceous earth is applied to the top soil and doesn't harm the plants.

I have a bunch of plants in the flowering tent during light hours to boost growth, because the flowering tent is packing way more lumens.


image.png



image.png
Sunflower Carmel Hybrid



image.png


These three plants are Bangarang crossed with Slippery Susan.
I'll be growing these one time and am not planning to clone.


image.png
Cayenne Pepper Plant



image.png


These two are Lemon Drip.
I'm super excited about these two because they are 60/40 Sativa dominant and have a well documented lineage:


image.png
https://en.seedfinder.eu/strain-info/Lemon_Drip/Exotic_Genetix/


I had six of these seeds to start with and only two made it. Even the two that made it were in critical condition for an entire month and their fate was not looking good. Now they are flourishing and I have three clippings already taken from them:


image.png


I clipped these two days ago, wrapped the ends in coco coir and paper towel to create a "ball", then used string to keep it contained. The coco was given a nice dose of rooting hormone for each one. I expect this futuremind experiment to go great :)


image.png
Big Mac Superstar Clone


This is the healthiest clone from the Big Mac Superstar. It's growing beautifully.
Its mother plant turned hermaphrodite, so it's no longer with us. The clone will give us another shot at it :)


image.png


These three healthy clones are from the Big Mac Superstar that is currently growing in the flowering tent, the big stout beautiful plant! This is very exciting because the more desired (for me) plant is the one I got the most successful clones off of. Now I have a total of 4 BMS clones. I had to get rid of four of the others, due to them just not taking and also the gnat infestation. It's a good time to downsize where necessary.


image.png
Bag Seed Plants, unknown origin



image.png
Tomato plant, Honeycomb Hybrid



image.png



image.png


That will do it for today.

I'm super excited about the progress and feel I have enough going on now to bring more frequent updates.

What do you all think of the indoor garden?

I would love to read your thoughts in the comment section!

Thanks for stopping by, have a great day! -@futuremind

Sort:  

I'm very happy to see the diversity of lights, to read of your struggles with gnats (although I'm sure you'd rather not be dealing with them!) and to see you're handling them with safer's soap and diatomaceous earth. Overall I find your gardening very exciting for an armchair grower. Brings back memories of my misspent youth LOL.

I've never used LEDs to grow anything, and my interest is growing faster than my garden, which is presently outdoors entirely, except for turmeric which I bring indoors during cool weather, as it does not tolerate temps below 55 fahrenheit (well). I'm happy to see you getting lots of experience growing under a variety of lights, even using desk lamps, so when I make my move I can pick your brain for your assessments of various types and brands.

I confess I was unaware you were growing other plants than cannabis, so when I saw the pic of the sunflower I almost had a stroke. Weirdest looking bud I'd ever seen! 0_o

Thanks!

Hey @valued-customer,
Thank you kindly for the compliment!

LED technology has come a long way, to where 100 watt fixtures will produce results that took 1000 watts in the past. That is quite an improvement in the indoor cultivation arena.

We've chatted before about the negative aspects of this, like:
"What happens if the power goes out..."

Growing indoors is a fun hobby, but one must recognize how quickly everything could change.

I don't want to get on a rant about it because you understand deeply what I am talking about.

Growing outdoors primarily but having some nursery settings for plants that must be brought indoors at times is a great idea in my opinion, because you will not be crippled during power outages.

If I owned my own land I would be growing a giant garden outdoors, but this is easier for city living, even though it may seem more challenging in some ways.

when I saw the pic of the sunflower I almost had a stroke. Weirdest looking bud I'd ever seen! 0_o

Haha yes, it's weird looking and seems intimidating and stoic for a plant.
I bet it's going to be quite a flower.
I've never grown a sunflower before so this is exciting for me :)

Have a good weekend.

Already told you about tobacco juice and that diatomaceous earth isn't going to help however it's not going to hurt.

1 in layer of sand over the top of these plants will definitely cause them all sorts of issues and really limit their ability to infest..

However it's spring and this always happens so you need to remember a grower is judged by his abilities to overcome. So good luck getting over these issues and study up on your enemy and what they don't like.

Thank you for the kind words and advice @ganjafarmer, I appreciate it.

I'm growing on a tight budget, so clever remedies like this are worth their weight in gold.

I think the sand idea is really clever and sound as well.

I'll probably run an experiment with a smaller plant first regarding the tobacco juice, it's a matter of not wanting that horrid smell that comes from cigs in water in the house. I could deal with the smell over losing the plants however.

Thanks always for your wisdom and great advice with growing cannabis!

Very welcome and I hope this helps.

Ironically I never smelled the tobacco juice after drenching the soil. Another reason why you use just the filters. No chunky chunks or bits of tobacco.

Extremely like the sunflower Carmel hybrid shot.

On the other hand, now I can see why we need the training clips. So the leafs doesn't overlap and get maximum amount of lights?

Hey bro,
Thanks for the compliment!

The sunflower is really beautiful so far and I'm excited to see it bloom :)

Yes you got the idea, the leaves will overlap and block out light for undergrowth, by training the branches with clips, it opens the plant up for more even distribution that goes deeper down the branches. Ultimately this will cause more bud growth.

What a bummer you got bugs. My thc-based insecticide worked well, but after a second infestation, I'm now trying neem oil cause I'd rather get high and not kill bugs with the thc drops. Good luck with your eradication solution. 🤞

Thank you for the kind words @litguru!

Yeah as effective as it may be, using a THC product for eradication is probably not very desirable, and probably more costly in the long run. As a quick term solution I think it's brilliant anyway :D

These fungus gnats seem to build up tolerance/immunities to certain things, last year I pretty much gave up trying to get rid of them, but not this time. It's not worth risking crops when I'm using a lot more electricity now.

Have a great day my friend.

Just be careful on breathing in the DE. Dynamicgreentk actually left a great comment on my gnat post yesterday. You should check it out :) plants liking great though man! Good luck

!1UP

I'll check it out bro thank you :)

Yeah I probably breathed some in yesterday, I go full bare hands in this shit and work fast because I don't wanna do it at all... so in working fast I am less careful but I used to smoke crack so breathing in a little D-earth is probably not gonna kill me :D

I think it's incredible!! The BMS tree is spectacular. You do have an awful lot going on in those tents of yours, and it all looks healthy.

My one attempt at growing ganja ended with the fungus gnat infection. I gave the plants away after that.

Next time just ask @futuremind he got a powerful idea to fix this...

Best part about growing is you can always try again! And it only gets better the more experience you get.

Hey @owasco,
Thank you for the kind words!
You have a good eye to notice how big this plant is for an indoor grown cannabis plant ;)

Yeah I have a bit going on and want to grow even more things. It's hard to exercise restraint in this regard.

I remember you saying you had this unfortunate experience growing cannabis. Maybe one day you will give it another try :) You have some friends here who would be very happy to help you in every way possible :)

Have a great day and a great weekend ahead!

I hope you can control the pest with what you have done. I only get them in the spring, when summer comes they disappear. They all look great.

Posted using WeedCash Network

Yes they seem worst in the spring and will linger around all summer if correct measures aren't taken.
Luckily I've not seen a single gnat since taking action, but they lay eggs so I need to remain vigilant.
Thanks for your kind words friend.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@curation-cartel(2/20) tipped @futuremind (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Don-1UP-Cheers-Cartel-250px.png

You have received a 1UP from @canna-curate!

The following @oneup-cartel family members will soon upvote your post:
@weed-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the family on Discord.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people(@futuremind) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @futuremind! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 700 posts.
Your next target is to reach 750 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thanks so much @bhattg and @indiaunited , the curation is very much appreciated! :)