You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A list of active Hive/Steem accounts where the corresponding Steem account is voting for sham witnesses running 0.22.8888

in #hive4 years ago

TL;DR if you are on that list apologize and remove your votes.

I am shocked, saddened and worse unsurprised by your list of people voting for those who continue to support unjustice centralization and tyranny on the Steem blockchain.

Some of these people got their Hive airdrops, then turned around amd voting for junk witnesses om Steem. They either deliberately voted for shame witnesses or didn't care to check. Many are familar enough with Steem to know better. Some didn't simply a abandon steem and are still active on Steem, posting and such.

I must say I do not want to be voting for any posts by individuals on your list om either Hive or Steem. I hope they recognize the errors in their ways, remove their votes from supporters of centralization, apologize and ask for forgiveness from the Hive community.

Sort:  

Many people have moved away from Steem, and a lot of witnesses that people were voting for prior to the 0.22.8888 "hostile soft fork" have shamelessly switched over to 0.22.8888 in hopes of getting a vote from daddy Sun.

I don't think an apology is needed from most people on that list who were simply unaware - not unless they're a whale that's been majorly contributing to 0.22.8888 witness ranking.

Affected users should simply check which 0.22.8888 witnesses they're voting for ( log into SteemPeak - https://steempeak.com/me/witnesses - CTRL-F 8888 ), remove the votes, and reply to this post letting people know that the votes have been removed.

That is true of most users. Asides from whales, I would add some more people case by case who probably owe the community an apology. They got their airdrop, so they don't care.

An apology isn't really necessary IMO. I hope any on this list will review how they vote on a blockchain network, even if Hive split from it, and see if it aligns with their values.

You are right in most cases, removing their votes if they can still login is plenty enough. But, there are a few users on there who probably won't restore their reputation on Hive even with an apology.

Not that I'm speaking for everyone on the list... but both Steemhunt and Steemchiller created fantastic platforms that were honestly really helpful and exciting. I maintained my vote for Steemhunt because the 2 or 3 years of inspiring development outweighed them siding with JSun in my eyes. Then I forgot about Steem when I moved to Hive and wasn't aware of this latest code change until this post. It was more an oversight on my behalf than deliberate support.

I get that people forgot or didn't expect it. It's not too late to change.

Steemworld was great, I didn't expect it. Steemhunt was always a crappy way of exploiting the reward pool ~ Reviews of reviews. Not surprised they ended up scamming everyone.

Don't think there's a need to apologise. When witnesses make statements like this when you vote for them:

image.png

You don't then expect them to do a 180 a month later and start freezing accounts and funds!

Some didn't simply a abandon steem and are still active on Steem, posting and such.

You're still posting and being active on Steem though? So where is the line being drawn here?

TL;DR, is it too much to ask for people on the list to clarify what they are doing still voting for a hostile soft fork?

I do agree my request for apologies isn't necessary from most people on the list. To clarify, I mean people who intentionally voted for 22.8888, or people who knew they were voting for it and didn't care. Not those who were just caught completely off guard.

From a fundamental perspective, 22.8888 is a much worse version of the Steem blockchain than 22.5 and if you voted for that you didn't receive a Hive airdrop. Although I guess now that people have it, they don't care about some of our best Hive developers and most loyal supporter whales losing funds.

I still post on Steem. However, I unvoted all witnesses almost immediately after 22.8888 came out. Certainly, I did it weeks ago. I don't think I'm milking it and I'm trying my best not to antagonize anyone. I feel not voting for any witnesses there means I'm staying completely out of governance. My Steem Power enables me to vote.

Some people on the list are unclear on what side they are on. Do they agree that these people should have funds stolen? Do they like their votes being used for the centralization of blockchains? Do they want to further antagonize the situation?

TL;DR, is it too much to ask for people on the list to clarify what they are doing still voting for a hostile soft fork?

I think a lot were caught off guard (myself included) with the sudden, unannounced U-turn from steemchiller on that list so a little unfair to tarnish us all with the same brush in your original comment. For those who are aware then only they can tell you and it's up to you if you believe them.

I've removed all witness votes I had on Steem now after this post - I was only voting 2 other witnesses, one was running v0.0 (?) and the other was disabled so no more pitchforks needed here 😃

they don't care about some of our best Hive developers and most loyal supporter whales losing funds.

I can't comment on others but if people speak out on Steem then they are going to get shut down and I've seen threats of people having their accounts frozen by witnesses and people supported with steemit stake so understandable that no-one is being vocal.

I still post on Steem

I have to disagree with this stance though. If you're still posting on steem then you are indirectly supporting the platform you are insinuating you hate by giving it transactions (posts, replies to comments, comments etc) to use for its marketing purposes. It may not be a lot of posting, sure, but everyone else who is anti-steem is still posting over there and in my opinion, should just focus on posting Hive.

Some people on the list are unclear on what side they are on.

I was one of those when all this happened 2-3 months ago and prefer seeing things objectively for myself to find out what was going on. It's hard to keep on top of things and stay in the loop given that there was a global pandemic and life changing situation happening outside of Steem/Hive (even other offline activities are enough for casual users).

After two months of using both sites and finding out more information, I've just spent the best part of two days pruning my Steem profile (every post is now just a .) and all I'm doing is waiting for powerdown to complete and I'll be done with Steem.

Do they agree that these people should have funds stolen? Do they like their votes being used for the centralization of blockchains? Do they want to further antagonize the situation?

I can't answer for them, you'll have to reach out individually.

I agree with most of what you said here. Trying to provike people to change is my strategy given the fork is over a month old now.

You are right about an individual approach. I suppose a new list should be generated after payout of this one. People on the next list will probably be contacted individually.

I disagree about still using Steem. A lot of people still have a lot of value on Steem. Most of us are only just over half way through our powerdown period. Do we really want to see value evaporate?
I'm sure you and everyone else still cares about the value of Steem while they are selling it. If witness voting drops, no one will care. If user activity (posts votes comments) drops, this could affect the price. Our community stands to lose millions of dollar which could be used to buy Hive or whatever.
We should definitely be civil, but we shouldbcare a out Steem (price) until mid to late June.