Everyday Is Comment Day

in #hive2 years ago (edited)


hive-comments-blog-comment-writing-blogging-community-engagement @EverNoticeThat.jpg

With classes starting up again this week I've been writing and "banking" post ideas so I'll have something to work with when the semester gets busy again. And while I think it's important to write daily, writing every day doesn't necessarily mean publishing every day. The point is to keep your blogging skills sharp as the more you write, the better you get.

So I started with no intention to post, but instead leaving some comments, but since I love to tinker and add things, I keep going back in and adjusting stuff. What I tend to do is to lay down the skeleton of a post first, then add the flesh as even more thoughts come to me. Inevitably, this means there are spelling and other such errors which make it past my spellchecker which have to be fixed.

I'm very particular and sometimes my comments turn into miniature posts themselves when I have something to say. It has to be just right before I walk away from it unless I'm short on time. I know I'm not the only one like this and that there are others like me out there. Just yesterday I found an error in a post from two months ago and corrected it.

The reason for doing so is that our Hive posts are indexed by Google and other search engines (Bing and Yahoo still exist). I want those readers to be exposed to the best of Hive and to have a good experience when consuming our content. But I'm so persnickety, that my attempt at a comment day turned into a post itself.

Getting it write right

The good thing is that this might just help someone new to blogging develop a system for stamping out those grammar and spelling errors so that it becomes almost second nature. I think that spending the extra time on cleaning up and properly formatting your text is a win for everyone and can only be of help to Hive over time.

While I may not leave as many comments as I'd like due to time constraints, I'd like the ones I do manage to leave to be meaningful and add to the discussion. Which is why if you look in your notifications, you'll see me return again and again in order to tweak things. If your writing isn't going to be the best that it can be, why bother? Quality over quantity and all that jazz is the rule of the day.

I suppose it's a legacy of being raised and taught attention to detail. Sort of like a musician who records a track for his friends to listen to but hears that one mistake that others don't recognize. Back into the studio he goes in order to clean things up and release it in the way he hears it in his mind. That's a little bit of me when I'm posting and commenting.

The need to get it right is ever-present, but so is the ability to walk away when time demands it. We have so many good content creators here on Hive and they inspire me to up my game and become a better blogger. After a full day I'm ready to take a well-deserved rest while waking up rested and refreshed to nurture that germ of an idea into my next Hive post or comment.

If you found value in this post, please upvote and reblog

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: [1] @EverNoticeThat Created with Canva


Sort:  

writing every day doesn't necessarily mean publishing every day

And that is the secret to it all!

Right? Posts such as this used to take quite awhile to get down but by being consistant, I've managed to trim some of the time and it gets better every day.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.