I'm Not Sure What I'm Doing But I Guess I'll Learn

in #introduceyourself2 years ago

img_0.17097494535248348.jpg

Hi everyone, my name is Paul and I live in the UK . The photo is a picture of me and my grandsons on holiday in Spain. I'm 62 years old, 63 in a couple of months time, so I guess I'm one of the older members of Ecency.

I have been online since the mid '90s, so I'm quite Internet savvy. However there are quite a few things online that I don't have a clue about, including block chain and cryptocurrency. I once downloaded a desktop app that was supposed to 'mine' cryptocurrency. I didn't understand it so I fairly quickly uninstalled it.

I hadn't even heard of Ecency or Hive until yesterday and that was really by mistake. I happened to click on a link to an article on here, that was posted on a Discord channel I'm a member of, and found myself here. So I signed up.

I wasn't sure what I was doing after I signed up. I knew the app rewards people for writing posts and voting and commenting on other people's posts. So that's what I did, only to find I suddenly couldn't do anything on here because I no longer had any resource credits! I had no idea that it costs credits to interact. Thankfully someone on the Ecency Discord channel helped me out.

I have belonged to similar sites to this in the past, but they had nothing to do with blockchain. I am quite keen on producing A.I music and art. There are a few apps I use for artwork and one in particular for creating music. Here is a picture I created on Night Cafe using the text prompt 'I'm not sure what I am doing '

img_0.5698375602458859.jpg

I have no idea how Night Cafe came up with this image or what it is, but I think it's quite cool.

So that's a bit about me and how I arrived in the wonderful world of Ecency. I'm really unsure about how all this works at the moment, but hopefully I'll Learn.

Sort:  

Ecency is one of the ways to access the Hive blockchain and the learning curve about this blockchain can be steep sometimes. As whta Acid commented on earlier, the fastest way to learn about the social side and the technical side of Hive is talking to people.

I'm likely to spend quite a long time on here every day. I've been looking for somewhere, away from Facebook or Twitter, where I can share my random thoughts. I think understanding blockchain and the technical side of Hive may take a bit of time. My old brain takes a bit of time to pick things up! But there are many things I use, including the laptop that i'm using, that I don't completely understand but still use. I once had no understanding about computers, but over the years of using them my understanding has increased, although not to the level of a program writer or computer engineer.

It is great to have you here! And great to see you asking questions in the Ecency Discord. I hope you have fun and make lots of friends... And I think you will find that there are many of us in the +60 age group!

Welcome!!! I have been around this blockchain since 2017 and I probably have less of a clue than you do. I don't even try because I get frustrated too easily. It's just a good outlet for creativity and expression. It's been especially great for me to learn about different cultures, lifestyles and people around the world. I use PeakD only. It's fine for me.

Enjoy!!!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steevc(1/5) tipped @kaazoom (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Hello @kaazoom! This is @chillwithshanna from @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) team. Congratulations on making your first post on Hive and welcome to this amazing community!

We have a lot of Communities you can subscribe to which are all categorized based on interest or topics. Share your blogs there to have a wider range of audience or you can check out the Communities Incubation Program.

If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: Newbie guide. If you have questions, you can hop into Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Also, letting you know since content on the Hive platform is monetized, using other people’s ideas or images could be considered as an offense and which is also viewed in a serious light on the blockchain. Here is a useful collection of resources about how plagiarism and abuse is viewed and handled on Hive.
Happy Blogging!

Thank you for the welcome and pointing me towards some useful information. I will take some time reading through it and try to get a handle on how things are done around here.

Congratulations @kaazoom! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 6th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hey! Welcome to Hive, nice to hear how you found out about it and that someone helped you out with RC which will become less of an issue in a future update soon!

What I can recommend is to check out communities you may be interested in and subscribe to them, then you'll find posts you may like in your community feed and authors you can interact with and follow who may be interested in you over time as well and check out your posts. Anyway, throwing you a follow to check out what else you'll post about, AI is quite fascinating and we're still in its early days, much like blockchain and Hive. :)

Thank you for the welcome, advice and follow. I have joined a few communities on here that i may be interested in. I need to get a feel for the type of things people post about. I've also followed you back and look forward to reading your posts.

Welcome, Paul!
Ecency is just one of the apps and tribe front-ends you can use to access and interact with Hive content. I use Peakd for general stuff (like reading and upvoting this post) and then tribe sites like CINETV, FOODIES BEE HIVE and LEOFINANCE to focus on certain niches and earn different tokens.

There is a lot to learn if you want to, but I'm sure each user has a unique approach that works for them... there is no wrong way to #Hive. Just have fun, be yourself and engage. Best of luck to you! 👍

!HBIT

Thank you for the welcome. That all sounds very complicated! I noticed that people use different apps, it all seems very confusing. Someone has replied with a load of links to get me started. It looks like I've got a day of some serious learning ahead of me 🤔

Don't stress... the newbie guide they link to should be helpful. If you spend even a few hours learning the basics, you'll be just fine. Don't try to do everything or you'll quickly feel overwhelmed... find what's right for you. :)

This is my newer merch business account, but you can also give my alter-go (@thatcryptodave) a ring. I still feel like a newbie though, so speak very slowly and keep the questions simple. 🙄 !LOL

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | community | <>< daily

⚠ HBIT will soon require that no other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

Welcome to Hive. It can be bewildering to start with, but I did a post that may help. Just have fun and don't worry about the rewards too much to start with. You may not always make as much as this on a post.

I maintain the #BritList of people in the UK, so I will add you for the next one, which will be out on Saturday.

!PIZZA

Thank you, I'll check out the BritList.

Welcome to hive. Have fun !!!

Ola @kaazoom, Welcome to Hive!

Excellent introduction.

Here you will find a very healthy network.
Where you have freedom of speech and receive a lot of support for your effortin creating content.
I hope to see you flying through the communities and staying forever in Hive!
Nice to meet you!

Boelter hugs straight from Brasil!

I invite everyone to participate in the communities: HiveBR, MusicHive and SkateHive.
In addition to being a content creator, I am a Moderator and Curator in these communities.
Let's exchange ideas and evolve together.

TESTE1.gif

Hello and welcome, great to see you found Discord and Team with Silver Bloggers.

Let the fun begin, a learning curve in the beginning!