MY INTRODUCTION ON HIVE

in #introduction2 years ago

Hi Hivers!

My name is Olurunmaiye Oluwakemi but you can just call me Kemi. My name makes alot of people think I'm Yoruba (one of the most popular ethnic groups in Nigeria, West Africa) but nope, I'm not 🤗. I'm from Kogi State, Nigeria.

212545531_333270928359195_1657423023957306701_n.jpg

Make-up by me ✌

I'm a Make-up artist amongst other things. I love to read, write, explore and try out new things. I love looking good and I love making others feel great about themselves.

I love science but I sure love money more. 😅
I'm a final year student of The University Of Port Harcourt, studying Petroleum Engineering. Yes! I'm a beauty with brains.🥰
The University of Port Harcourt is located in Rivers, a state in Nigeria.

I try to be humble, because pride is one of the things I dislike the most. Dishonesty is another. I love music and I love watching movies.

210492704_4144163755674883_6853165965023405764_n.jpg

MY JOURNEY AS A MAKE-UP ARTIST

It all started when I was about 9 years old, it was my sisters wedding. I saw how beautiful she looked when she had her make-up done and I found her looks and the whole make-up process intruging. She was beautiful already, but the makeup made her even more stunning and I found that really exciting.

So I started making up myself, it was light make-up in the beginning as I was still in secondary school. I would use just lipgloss and powder.

My other older sister then went on to learn how to make-up when she got into the university. This increased my interest in make-up and I was ready to learn and do full and professional make-ups but at I was scared, I was scared of being laughed at. I had seen a lot of people mess up the brow lines and made fun of and I didn't want that.

But I wasn't going to let a simple brow line hold me down. I started taking lessons on YouTube, Instagram while practicing with my face. And I sure wasted alot of my sister's make up. 😅 But it was worth it.

I went on to do my first proper make-up and I got alot of compliments and that built my confidence. The brows I drew that day remains my favourite till this day and I just can't seem to get that exact replica.

Funny how sometimes, somethings we don't expect to turn out good turns out to be great.
Quite unfortunate I don't have a picture of it but here are some pictures of make-ups I have done ever since then.

ALL photos of me for the sake of client's privacy

IMG-20211121-WA0004.jpg

IMG-20220206-WA0040.jpg

2021_01_18_03_01_53c.jpg

Fast forward to when I got into the university I started taking make-up alittle more seriously. I would do make ups for friends, clients on their birthday or for an event.
I went on to create my brand : LOLA'S GLAM. Where I offer all sort of make-up services.

Looking back, I see how much I have developed as a person and as a makeup artist and I'm really grateful for it. I am not perfect but I keep learning and working myself and my skills by the day.

You can contact me on Instagram @the_real_maiye

65916123_377946236193743_6877242899830934029_n.jpg

HIVE JOURNEY BEGINS

I see Hive as a place where I can share my thoughts and my work, my art. I see it as a place where I can network with a lot of people while learning about new things because I believe in continuous learning.

I want to say thank you to @samostically for introducing me to this great platform. I've moved around alittle bit and I must confess this is a great place to be for every creative.

I hope to have a nice experience here and I'm looking forward to exploring the community more.

I hope I will be able to inspire people with my art and be able to contribute greatly to this great community!

IMG-20210607-WA0029.jpg

Happy child

Thank you for reading!❤

Sort:  

Aww... Welcome to hive.. it's nice to have you here. I hope you enjoy your stay and learn more about the hive ecology

Thank you very much! Really appreciate the warm welcome.

A warm welcome to you. I'm sure you'll love it here.

Thanks alot dear 😘

@kemi123 you're welcome to hive. I hope that you'll have a nice time here.

Thank you very much dear 😘

Lol youtube is the home for a lot of beginners in different skills because you can find tutorials on literally ANYTHING. I’m happy to see how far you’ve taken your passion for makeup and how good you’ve become.

@samostically seems to be the most active onboarder at the time as I’ve seen people mention him introducing them in their intro posts the past few days. Good job man.

I’m sure he’s showed you everything you need to know already about the Hive community and what it expects from you. You’re going to have a lot of fun here I’m sure. And reach out to samostically if you have further questions. He knows the ins and outs of things here.

Someone from the OCD team will be with you shortly to leave you some links that will help you identify communities you might be interested in. Have a great time!

Yess! YouTube is a free University, it sure has helped me alot, not just in make-up.

Thank you very much for the warm welcome. Not completely confident with my way around yet though but yes. He has explained alot to me and I'm sure with time I'll get a full grasp of everything.

Thank you!

Don’t worry. That’s what being a newbie anywhere feels like. It’ll take time to know your way around, but as long as you explore(which I have a feeling you’ll do a lot of) you’ll be familiar with things in no time.

And I agree with you on Youtube being a free University. I’m a Biochemistry final year student myself and Youtube has more than taught me lol.

Have a great day and have fun!

Hello @kemi123! This is @traciyork from the @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) curation team. We noticed you shared your first post here on Hive and introduced yourself to the community - congratulations and welcome!

Speaking of community, we have many different ones here on the blockchain, devoted to all kinds of interests. Here's a link so you can check them all out - Hive Communities. Based on what you've shared, I think you'll enjoy these to start off with -

MakeUp Power

STEMGeeks

Hive Naija

Also, as Hive can sometimes be quite confusing, the newly launched Newbies Guide is a growing repository of useful and easy to understand posts about how the Hive ecosystem works.

Please be aware that Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog, so it is important not to include content that you don't own without sources (and it shouldn't exceed 50% of the post). For more information, check this post - Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise by hivewatchers.

I'm sure @samostically will continue to help you as you begin your Hive journey, but if you have any questions, feel free to hop into the OCD Discord server and we'll do our best to answer them, and again welcome to Hive!

Oh, actually one last thing - when you have a moment, could you add the word "Hive" to your Instagram bio (or other established social media, if you prefer), and tag me in a comment when it's there? Since you have such awesome IG content, I want to make sure your profile is verified, so future curators can easily determine this is really you. Thanks!

Thank you very much for the warm welcome and for the tips.

I'll do well to check the communities out and improve my awareness of the Hive community.

As for my Instagram handle, I have included Hive to it to verify it fully belongs to me. @lovesniper @traciyork

Awesomeness, @kemi123! I'll submit your profile for verification, and please feel free to shout out to me if you have any questions. 😊

Thank you! I appreciate it

Welcome kemi123!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Shameless

Excuse me?!

How about not linking proposal votes and delegation links in the form of automated spam to brand new accounts? Are you guys in your right mind?

It's one thing to ask them to use your front-end but the rest just feels shameless to me as stated.

Ok, so ask that! Since you asked so nicely, we have disabled commenting on introduction posts now. Thanks for feedback!

!ALIVE

@kemi123! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @vocup. (2/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Welcome to hive @kemi123 I love makeup btw, you can do a makeup tutorial and there is a community best fit for that. Have fun and enjoy this platform ❤️🤗👏

Would surely love that. Thank you very much ❤

You're very much welcome beautiful. 💙

Welcome onboard @kemi123
Your stay here will open you to different opportunities, keep on exploring different communities of interest.
Start having fun.

Thank you very much ❤

That's great artistry!!! Make-up! I've always admired people who do it. Welcome to Hive!! An honor to meet you

Awwn. Thanks alot dear. The honor is all mine

Welcome to hive loved reading your blog a bit wish you the best

Thanks alot!

No problem 👍 ❤️

Congratulations @kemi123! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

You're most welcome to hive Kemi, Awon ara ile Nko?

According to history, a part of Kogi state precisely the Okun tribe is linked to the Yoruba kingdom and they speak Yoruba like people from Ile Ife which happens to be their real origin.

It's just like people from the French speaking country Benin Republic 🇧🇯 who speak Yoruba, but you dare not tell a Beninois that he is a Yoruba from Nigeria, else you'll get into a fierce debate

Won waa paa...Lol. I am from the Okun part. Omo Kabba.

Thanks for enlightening me 🤗

Heeeee, you see naaa, omo Yoruba ni eee ooo lol 😆

All the same, you're welcome 😊 I pray you achieve your goals here

Welcome to Hive Kemi! I hope to see some great posts and tutorials from you here. If you have any questions about Hive please feel free to reach out! I'm happy to help and everyone here can be very supportive!

Yeaahh. Been thinking about that. Would sure love to do some tutorials.
I sure will reach out. Thank you very much

Welcome Kemi, I hope you have fun and enjoy Hive. Please do check my blog every Friday for an engagement post. It is a way of meeting Nigerians and also having fun.

Welcome!

Thank you samo! Will check it out

You are welcome

Thank you very much!

You are welcome gorgeous

Your welcome to hive dear, am sure you would love it here do well to Explore this amazing Ecosystem ✨✨

Thank you

Welcome to the hive. Makeup skills are highly employable these days. Here too many women are learning makeup skills. Every woman is interested in makeup since childhood haha. Good luck Kemi!

Lol. Not really everyone ooo..I have friends who don't like make up.
Thanks alot.

Welcome to hive community, you are looking pretty

Thank you

Sometimes people have some talents and this is a gift that they were granted by their birth. Seeing your photos I am sure that you were born with the talent of seeing the beauty of women and the way how to show this beauty. The photos are awesome!

Welcome on board enjoy and explore hive.

You are welcome ma'am

Thank you very much

You are welcome kemi

Welcome to Hive damsel. Hive is indeed a great community to meet amazing soul and a place to confidently express yourself with your own words.

Thank you for the warm welcome.

Welcome onbord pretty

Thank you.

Welcome on board Beautiful Kemi ❣️.
Feel free to connect and make new friends and explore your Art. With #Hive, the sky is just the beginning ✨✨✨

Thanks a lot, dear! I appreciate it