Fitness, Computers, Afghan Food and a fantastic day at the lake.

in #life7 years ago

A friend of mine has a fitness shop. It's the same guy I talked crypto with not long ago.

He told me that those machines that measure your body (fat, muscle) are notoriously unreliable and I should only look in the mirror (or at photos) to see if I'm getting the results that I want.

Music to my ears if I'm honest.


1.JPG


I have therefore decided to no longer rely on the machine and just go with what feels right.

In a way, it feels good because I see it as another computer I don't have to rely on.

After running my own IT business for almost 10 years I'm tired of those devices at times.

Especially when they act up in your own home....

Here I am watching the show before the F1 race on a paid stream. Microsoft must have thought that must be an excellent time to force an update on me that I can't cancel.

I didn't want this. I didn't ask for this. I also don't want to find out why it wants this. I want it to work for me.

Luckily the update was small and I was back up and running in 5 minutes.


FullSizeRender 3.jpg


Playing Streetfighter V trying the beat my friend @ezzy has been a fantastic experience so far. Even though I get my ass kicked I get better every time and that feels great.

But I might have played a bit too much with him so I decided to take Bianca out to a film and dinner. She loved the idea. She found a restaurant near the cinema. An Afghan restaurant. Not my first choice but then again I'll try anything once.

It was great.


FullSizeRender.jpg

FullSizeRender 5.jpg


The food was delicious and we were both full (very important for me at least). After dinner, we decided to skip the movie and go home.

Bianca was tired and wanted to relax by herself upstairs.

I called @ezzy, asked if he was up for another game of Streetfighter. I didn't feel bad about it. I tried my best :)

O and the reason why she was tired was because this guy came to visit the day before.

When my friends now say that kids take a lot of energy out of you I'll believe 'em in a heartbeat.


FullSizeRender 2.jpg


It's the last days of summer and the weather is great. We have been working out hard but twice this week we been to the lake to relax in the afternoon (16:00). We took Trevor with us today.

Just a blanket, some food, and a book.

Well a book for her.

I forgot mine so went to the store to buy a magazine. Couldn't find anything I liked so I zoomed in on the one thing I haven't read in years but always made me happy in the past.


FullSizeRender 4.jpg

FullSizeRender 6.jpg


I'm not ashamed.

I think Donald Duck is awesome.


Exyle logo final _ RGB-04.png


Bitcoin SwC Poker, download and use affiliate code: Blazin8888

Sort:  

lol, you can tell your in NL when there's random weed just laying around. xD

best comment :D lol

Great post brother!! It was a fun and eventful read that was relaxing and ended with Donald Duck, you can't go wrong there!! :)

I'm glad your buddy cleared up the issue with body fat machine at the gym. When you posted what it said it flat out didn't tell the same story as your pictures. You're making good progress no matter what that thing says. You could definitely see it.

The Afghan food looked really good. Never had it before, but love to try new things. The next time we're in the city, I'll have to see if there's on around.

Great to see baby Sam! Kids do absolutely zap the energy right out of you. It's a full time job but I love every second of it. The highlight of my day is coming through the door from the office and hearing "Daddy's home" and hear the pitter patter coming down the hall way. Maybe that's the next step for ya man, lol. Time to overcome the fear of poop. :)

Have a great night man and it looks like Steem might have found a new bottom. I'm hoping we can build a little momentum going forward with Dtube and Zappl!

I didn't even know Afghan restaurants existed until Bianca found one. The food was really great. I can see myself going back there one day. You have a good night/morning too!

Basically, ALL the machines out there are unreliable when it comes to measuring body fat. They are not accurate. It's that simple. Dexa scan is the most reliable among these machines and even that gives silly info about the human body. A YouTuber called Jon Venus made a video about it with numerous examples of stupid dexa scan results for various people who have peak level physiques.

The best way is to simply do a fat loss diet whenever your stomach starts to become visibly bigger. Let me give you an example: I am around 186 cm tall and my waist should be around 80-82cms to have a lean physique with completely visible abs. If it's above that number, then I know I have excess body fat(and the higher fat % is absolutely visible).

That's the most accurate body fat measurement you will ever need. :)

Thank you for this info!

I coach weight loss and lost "half my size" as well. I fight with obese Americans all the time about BMI - the body fat measurement commonly used. Everyone hates it including me.

So you are this according to the chart:

  • Below 18 - too skinny
  • 18-25 at goal
  • 25-30 overweight
  • 30-40 obese
  • 40+ Morbidly obese

You can find out your bmi online easily in calculators.

This is a traumatic chart for many as it was for me. Most people don't believe it can be true. So what I tell people is to spot themselves a few points.

So:

  • Below 18 - too skinny (same)
  • 18-28 at goal
  • 28-33 overweight
  • 33-43 obese
  • 43+ morbidly obese

The people I work with are often in the 50's for BMI, so I try to get them not to obsess. I was already obese the first time I heard of this calculation and now I like to hover in the normal section.

According to the BMI index, I'm 28.8. 6"6 // 115KG. It's not too bad and improving. Project Steemfat is going well.

Best title ever! "Project Steemfat"

You are so close - now it's all about you and how you feel.

Since I lost my weight I hover between about
22 - when broke or sick
28 - when celebrating and eating like the obese person I really am

In the 22 range, I look sickly and skinny and try hard to eat more nutrition and get some healthy weight on.

In the 28 range, my clothes get tight and I "feel" fat and uncomfortable and try hard to eat more nutrition, exercise more and get some healthy weight off.

Either of those changes might take me a few weeks or a month to accomplish. So now the BMI numbers are just a guideline for me and not a prison sentence like I used to experience.

My high BMI was 47 and I regularly work with people above 50. This is where the trauma is.

Your number is "low" and it is all yours. It's just about your comfort level now :)

You are welcome!

This definitely is music to your ears. I'd feel ecstatic if I heard that and my mood would instantly be lifted. I guess the best thing to use to see your progress is just by looking at photographs.

I'd like to know how it measures your body content. I remember reading somewhere that it sends an electric pulse through your body and from the resistance it can determine what your body fat is. I don't know how true it is, but I'd understand why they may be unreliable.

I guess the only use for the machine is inaccurately boosting your self-esteem of utterly destroying it as you feel you did so much work for nothing haha

I don't have automatic updates on I think, but that must be the absolute worst when you get cut off when you are watching something interesting. It makes me think of those TV show scenes where someone turns the TV off as soon as a football team scores a goal or something interesting was about to happen.

I've never had Afghani food before, but it looks absolutely delicious. I'll have to try some someday since it seems like I am missing out at the moment.

I was wondering what you could have brought with you to read, but my last guess would have been Donald Duck haha. Looney Tunes made up a huge part of my childhood, and I think it is useful from time to time to embrace your inner child and look back to the past @exyle! :)

I remember Looney Tunes. I remember they also had a fun game on the NES! Man, takes me back.

The Afghanistan food looked delicious and a good portion for two of you. :) And the Donald Duck book did make me laugh, lol.

It was delicious indeed!

The machine at the gym that measures your fat body percentage as well other similar devices is very unreliable since it depends on your body's water content. Your water content in your body can vary greatly depending on whether you just exercise, how much you drank, etc.

There are better but typically more expensive or invasive ways to measure body fat such body fat calipers (devices that measure your fat by pinching it) to something like dual x-ray mass absorption (DEXA) which is highly accurate but somewhat expensive. I do believe it's best to go by how you are feeling and look in the mirror.

I'm really glad you're judging your progress by how you look and feel instead of listening to some machine. how we feel is all that matters. Keep practicing and you'll eventually beat ezzy. repetition makes the master!! :) and btw, donald duck is cool and all, but you have to read some goofy too! :)

Goofy is also great!

Delicious food! Afghani Pulao looks very authentic....

quack .. you read DD?
wil je echt afvallen ?
heb je ooit geprobeerd om alleen smoothie met banaan, kurkuma en gember elke ochtend te eten? of een "banaan diet " te volgen?
Ik ben geen fitness instructuur maar ik had Koreanse studenten die binnen 2 weken 20 kilos kwijt nadat ze die banaan diet gedaan had.
Wat is dat? Alleen banaan eten - ochtend, lunch en avond
en heel veel fluids - warm water geen gesuikered sap totaal geen suiker bom de hele 2 weken ..
veel success en bedankt voor de hahaha

That sounds like hell, LOL!

hahaha i tried it for a week - not really
but if you really can't help but eat then there's one more I tried myself back when I was still in the Ph. I had to loose weight cause i was 64 kilos and my ideal weight was 50 - and my heart was getting fat according to the doctor so I tried another diet my student recommended. I can eat everything but an hour after dinner - I had to finish two Fuji apples just cause they're the biggest in my country back then. It cleanses your tummy and makes you deposit everything you ate the next day. If you could do that in two months time you'd loose weight without getting wrinkles ;) but then again am not a nutritionist or fitness instructor okay.

Ik dacht .. toen ik je reply las.. ik wilde schrijven .. Ik dag je uit! :D

" Even though I get my ass kicked I get better every time and that feels great. " hahahah funniest one and yeah you both look so beautifull @ezzy <3 you beauty <3 princess :) so cute baby ummahhhh :* and afghani pulao <3 Damn you would really enjoyed that @exyle ? :D and yeah dont try to be on that swing :P you would break the kids swing :D

I love the relaxed lifestyle you showed here. Congrats!

@exyle i must telll you if you continued to eat unhealthiest fattest meat - pork you will gain more fatt than muscles. I wish you to be more healthy happy our super hero!

There was no pork there. Beef and chicken. 3 bowls of meat. The rest of the bowls contain vegetables.

Yes, it sounds good! I saw pictures and it looks good and healthy. Good luck!

you still played street fighter seems you are addicted to get your ass kicked! ;)
nice afghan food, seems very exotic and delicious, any recommendation of what you ate and it was good?

Addicted at getting better :)

This is great news if he has told you that the body fat machines aren't 100% reliable. I remember you got a bit of an iffy reading recently and it was disheartening, so great that you can dismiss it and carry on with your healthy journey and stay positive.

My hubby and I had a couple of days recently just relaxing in a park, not really taking to each other (companionable silence rather than awkward and uncomfortable!!) just reading and relaxing in the sun and it was great.

Sometimes it's the little pleasures in life that have the greatest effect.

Sometimes it's the little pleasures in life that have the greatest effect.

YES!

Ducky for the win man. I still remember that you always used to have them at your house when we were young. I told you the machine was off, cause the result of regime is definitely showing in pictures man. Project SteemFat is a success.

Thanks, man! Steemfat is a ongoing success :)

I am myself an afghan and know how delicious the food is.

Damn, that's a loot of food for a couple, looks very yummy! (yeah I still read those Donald Ducks as well, a great read for on the toilet :p)

It looks bigger than it was. lol @ toilet I used to do that a lot.

Dutch and racing with Vettel? That's blasphemy! Lol
The food looked amazing though... Makes me hungry right now...
Keep up the good work with your fitness program!
Greetings from Belgium

Agree! But the racecar in the picture is a red bull :)

i think yes machines are not think the way human thinks, doing things with strength, determination and confidence is what matters the most, you share your past day with us that's great the afghan food looks awesome, going to outing, play a game, reading books all these things really release the stress and really important for a good health.

One of the best ways to reduce stress is outing and i am glad to see you goes for a outing with your family, you also talk about fat measuring machine yes i think if a person feels good about what he is doing then there is no way left to believe on machine just do what you think feels good to you, the afghan food also looks so yummy and delicious and this type of food also have lots of proteins which is useful for health. Thanks for everything.

It's good to take time to relax and unwind. A day at the lake is good anytime. Are you still using Microsoft? I gave up when they introduce the end all, be all of all systems great and small, Windows 10. I switched to Linux and haven't looked back! The Afghan food looks delicious, and a mountain of it too. I haven't tried Afghan food but it does look amazing...

I also use a Macbook from time to time.

@exyle,
Balancing life - specially family life is not very easy thing to do! But it seems like you are doing it great! Great work my friend and definitely you had a great evening there!
Finally I would like to say, that dinner seems to be delicious! Definitely it was (you said it)!
Thanks for sharing such wonderful experience with us! Really appreciate your effort!

(My voting power is still regenerating, therefore please allow me three more days to provide 100% upvotes for your posts)

Cheers~

I love the photo you add to your posts. And ur baby is so cute

whats the deal with this swc poker, exyle? have you some paying costumers? is it a good business?

@exyle - Sire, the way you spend time with your family is really great. Love your work Sire. Therefore, I wish to ReSteem your post Sire.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

Afghan food is amazing

i want some afghan! i had some once in north minneapolis... gotta get back there some day !!

You should not be asheamed, its truth Donald Duck is awsome! :-)

Take a walk outdoors and enjoy the food are one of the things that are worth it

Thanks for following me

Food looks delicious.
Let your Donald Duck flag fly high! Don't be ashamed of it. LOL

amigo #resteemia at your service

'Fitness, Computers, Afghan Food and a fantastic day at the lake.' definitely you had a nice day. nice sharing @exyle

ReSteemia
'UpVote ReSteem Comment'

I love the afghan foods my mouth starts watering now looking the pictures :D

That Food Looks Royal !! indeed :)

what a moment!!!
very nice!!

I really like your photos help me with vote + follow and i really like steemit .. please help me play steemit