Red cabbage done right! Bianca was out so I made 100% Dutch food :)

in #life6 years ago

In the Netherlands, we have a company that delivers food for a week in a box at your doorstep. (for a price of course).

You never know what you going to eat that week but's all fresh and organic.

But you still have to cook whatever is inside the box. (it's not premade).

I never tried a box before but as luck would have it we won a food box not too long ago.

It was delivered yesterday evening so tonight I decided to make the first of 3 meals that were inside the box.

All the ingredients in the box are 100% organic.

Bianca was out for the night and she is not the biggest fan of red cabbage (that was in the box).

So I decided to make that meal tonight!

Hachée (traditional Dutch stew based on diced meat), with potatoes and red cabbage.

The meat was already mostly prepared but the red cabbage I had to make from scratch.

I followed the recipe and by the end, I had to conclude it was the best red cabbage I ever made and I wanted to share it with you guys.

Let's cook. Red cabbage. It takes about 80 minutes.


Snapseed 6.jpg


These were the ingredients I used tonight: Red cabbage, Apples, Potatoes, Butter, bay leaf, cinnamon sticks, water, sugar, salt and pepper and the prepared meat.


Snapseed 3.jpg


Slice the red cabbage in half and grate it.


Snapseed 2.jpg


Cut the apples into cubes.


Snapseed 4.jpg


Put the red cabbage and the apples in a large pan and add 3 tablespoons of sugar.


Snapseed 7.jpg


Next add 3 bay leaf, 2 cinnamon sticks, 50 gram of butter and 100 ml of water. (The 100 ml of water seems very very little but it turns out it works fine).


Snapseed 8.jpg

Snapseed 9.jpg


Stir everything and put the pan on the lowest fire you can find on your stove. Make sure you put a lid on! Let it slowly simmer for 60-80 minutes.


Snapseed 5.jpg


After 80 minutes I opened the pan and was presented with this! It smelled amazing and tasted even better.


Snapseed 10.jpg


End result: I served the red cabbage with the meat and made a quick mash of potatoes. I was over the moon. This is 100% Dutch food on a plate and I loved it.


Snapseed.jpg




I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

hmmm with some apples its the best you can do. We also did some fructose over it :)

Nice looking dish.
Apple cook with cabbage.
You put quality touch on what are going in your tummy.
Keep on steemit.

Thanks!

delicious food

The food looks really delicious and colorful...Without any doubt this is the best red cabbage dish!!

Although the taste is questionable, the best thing is you still be able to make money by take some photos shot and posting them on steemit :) Later on you can cash out the money and bring Bianca to a nice restaurant for a candle light dinner

@exyle If you have remembered last time we had a talk about the security and changing the master key. Then I changed my master key as you suggested. But told me changing the masterkey will change all of my others keys too. But I don't know whether they had changed or not since i didn't have the record of previous. But I experienced something funny or unusual here, I keep logged in all those accounts which i use frequently,but the unusual thing is they are still logged in there, and I am using it with old password(well not sure). Is there any way steemconnect automatically updates my new pw and logged me there in, I think that's not supposed to happen anyway.I am confused.

Cabbage is something that many people dont give alot of love but this looks delicious and I grew up eating it cabbage alot in a family dish. Pork chops and cabbage. Pork and cabbage marinated together in soy sauce and slow cooked on the stove top to reduce the volume of cabbage greatly. We would serve it on rice.

Mmmmmm mouths watering thinking about it.

That looks amazing!!! My grandma used to make purple picked cabbage which the family would eat with Lamb :) Your post brings back memoried .. as a child, I actually loved it!!! I wish she was still hear to make that for me today .. I also wish I had her recipe :) Delicious looking post Friend .. Enjoy your weekend!!! SUNSHINE247

With Lamb sound delicious! Nice how food (or pictures of food) can bring back memories. Enjoy your weekend!

You are right Friend .. Enjoy yours as well!!! SUNSHINE247

♥♥dear bro @exyle I did resteemed your poat and i miss you all time
So I'm not getting the chance to tell you♥♥
keep it up

Nice job on preparing a good, healthy meal. I've been learning to cook a little and have really enjoyed it. As I get older, I have a better appreciation of the importance of eating healthy, home-cooked meals.

Cooking is a great skill to have.

Thinks so testy, wish to got it in any chance dear @exyle

Wonderful job on cooking. I'll have to try making hachée and the cabbage dish you made. They both look absolutely delicious.

Wow! @exyl, do you know that bianca is a name in one of the tribes in Nigeria and hachee though spelt as achi is a kind of soup peculiar to the calabar natives in Nigeria. And oh the food looks tasty.

No I did not know that :). I told her.

wow excellent recipe indeed, i really like fruits and vegetables and especially red cabbage because they increase the flavor and taste of the dish and vegetables are also full of nutrients and vitamins, i notedown the recipe and i surely give it a try and man the end result of the dish is no doubt awesome and it looks so tasty too, thanks for sharing this recipe with us, Stay blessed.

Dutch food looks incredible amazing from the pics you just shared interesting ingredients added too thanks for sharing the process of how to make it too

Oh, yes, an excellent dish, my friend! The original combination of ingredients in the preparation of cabbage, and the addition of cinnamon makes the taste full. I'm sure that this dish is very tasty! Thank you Mark for a great recipe!

I'm really liking the fact you are putting a lot of vegetables in your dishes lately, I feel inspired to eat more greens :)
Also what you made looks similar, except for the cabbage, to something I used to eat at home.

I'm trying my best :)

How much do they charge for that package? I was looking and Tom Brady has a similar service where you can eat the same food as Tom Brady, I might give it a whirl if the price is not too crazy. He is selling rubber bands for $150.

Dunno it was for free (I won the box).

Well in that case the price was right

End result: I served the red cabbage with the meat and made a quick mash of potatoes. I was over the moon. This is 100% Dutch food on a plate and I loved it.

Now I'm already salivating and yearning to have a taste.
I don't know why I feel this way anytime I see a good meal lol😂
I know you enjoyed the meal.

recipes saved cus I'm so preparing this too

Thanks for sharing this with us

Oh, so let's say when you order a box, you get random food? That sounds great, it's almost like a challenge to you. You get random food and you gotta make something out of it by being creative, haha!

It's not totally random. You get recipes with it.

Ahh, I guess I got the wrong idea hehe...

The US has something similar. The first one that I know of to do it was 'Blue Apron' but Uber has tried it since. I don't know if Uber still does it. It was kind of a regional test to see if they wanted to do it but the meal was very good.

Dang, it does look good but I wish there weren't apples in it! I have a silly aversion to cooked Apple

Just skip the apples :). Problem solved.

Hehe, I like it!

Has Gaston paid you a visit?!

That's the way I make my red cabbage! It is so good. I always have to make a double batch because my sons love it too. And serve it with mashed potatoes too. Sometimes I serve it with fried sausage (sorry, I know ...Steemfat 3). Now that's comfort food.

lol! It's ok. I can see this working with sausage too! I have some left so tomorrow I know what I'll have for lunch!

Mark; Hello this looks Fresh! And even when the ingredients are available, you have to be a cook to make it a dish. This looks tasty, and it seems a Very good combination.
Did you like it ?

Red Cabbage Wow! it is the essential component of my daily Salad routine.So i really did not know that you're that good Cook too, impressed!

I am also inspired by this huge idea of Peace and Love promotion You never know what you going to eat that week but's all fresh and organic.

Lots of Love and Best Wishes for you :)

Thx looking good.. maar ik hou niet van rode kool, i prefer the BBQ ;-)

well a good dish with red cabbage apple and potatos is it like as some wait lose dish or some so delecious food,,,apple and red cabbage cooking combination i am seeing first time and you cook it hope this dish is so tasy and delecious...enjoy it and also your all tasty foods

That cabbage looks delicious Mark, but meat out of a box? Where is ' het draadjesvlees?' You won a box? That is something, have you ever won anything before?

You the lucky man, still able to find fresh food. We haven't eaten any fresh since ages :(

that looks amazing... I wonder if a slowcooker would have the same results? Great idea to do with a pot roast and some garlic mashed potatoes. Good stuff man.

Oh yeah hachee i love it!! Ate it also last week when I was in the Netherlands :) next time zuurkool? :p

Rooie Kool met Appeltjes!

These food boxes are really a good thing to be honest. They take seasonal veggies (which is good environmental wise), and promote eating healthier. Too bad they are still quite expensive, but the concept is really good

I like the concept too. It was my first box.

Finally a man who can cook !! And on top of that you cooked a healthy meal, great work :D

lol! I'm sure many more men can cook in this world :).

The food looks colorful and interesting. I am sure it tastes great too. In India green cabbage is mostly available. I haven't eaten red cabbage ever but now I would like to try. :)

Looks awesome! We mostly eat red cabbage around Christmas here in Norway, so just finished that season. I will remember this recipe for December because I like the idea of adding apples and cinnamon. We also have those food boxes here in Norway, but we have yet to try them. :)Helen

I did not now that about Norway. I eat red cabbage pretty much all year round (sometimes from a jar). The apples and cinnamon really add to the dish.

Maybe I should try it even though it's not christmas because I think it would taste a bit differently than the traditional, and in addition it's pretty healthy (if we look past the sugar). :)

Super delicious and healthy food as always! You don't stop to surprise with new delightful meals. Love your food series, Mark :)

Thanks man!

You are always a step ahead of me. Now this is a real healthy food. I hope you enjoyed it!
I just couldn’t resist by seeing your previous post!

Resteemed!

wow nice @exyle you craze in food is really good and exellent and you like cooking and grilling and eat the tasty and delecious foods always but this red cabage is new dish for me and i dont see it before your post hope it is delecious and i will try to cook it and then test its taste,,
we mostly used it in salad but in cooking is new thing ,,,good to share this new recpie

@exyle,
Wow it's so delicious. It's a home delivery service. Pretty cool service they provide. Nice sharing dude.

Cheers~

ohhh @exyle That's great to see Dutch Food made by you. "Red Gabbage."

You have great skills of Cooking.

That Dutch stew looks yummy.

Hello fresh food! I can always eat fresh red cabbage by my father. I will also learn it myself, because it is not tasty to eat it from a pot.

That looks really good! I tried an American version of that company called Blue Apron. That looks a little more difficult, but also more delicious!!

you fever in nourishment is better than average and exellent and you like cooking and barbecuing and eat the top notch and delecious sustenances always....

yet, this red cabage is new dish for me and I dont see it before your post trust it is delecious and I will attempt to cook it and afterward test its taste...

we for the most part utilized it in plate of mixed greens however in cooking is new thing,good to share this new recpie....

Carry on dear...✌✌😊😊

Looks delicious and very healthy. Cheers!

Being at college this weekend doesn’t allow for me to cook. I’m stuck with “homemade shrimp and noodles with broccoli”. Lol. This food they make here is not “homemade” and its actually not even good. Maybe they should hire you as a chef @exyle

it is a surprise box but it must contains healthy food.

im a food lover!
i loved your post... so soo much.. ☺

There are 3 pages
Pages