You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Be A Fool, Drop Out Of School! Advice To Young People On How To Live The Good Life

in #life7 years ago

Teach us on here instead. My children are going to skip high school. I wasted four years of my life in high school, and I would have been better off going straight to college. Heck, many of the classes you have to take over anyway.

Sort:  

I showed my students Steemit and the power contained therein. Hopefully some of them have joined.

@nepd A syllabus tells you how to get an "A", a good teacher helps you develops the skills to "kick A"!

I hope they do too! It's a new world. Curiosity and effort are all that is needed to succeed.

I agree with all of you - some teachers still spoon feed and some teachers teach kids to think beyond the books - I have this speech almost every day - you do not only have to do what I tell you to do you can figure out your own research and work. Just a pity we still have parents with the mentality of kids must have a rigid structure and I must talk for 30 min and kids will just study what are in their books bla bla bla - most of the time we have problem parents and inquisitive kids

@finnian I can appreciate your experience, and the thoughts behind what you have shared. I was very involved, from the business club to music. The friendships and experiences I had couldn't have been replicated elsewhere, and I am glad I created those opportunities for myself.

That being said, I should have gone with my buddy to do every other day's school at the local community college, saving the other day for the fun stuff. If you do all the lower level classes for an engineering degree, you will have enough literacy and mathematics to supplement whatever it is you choose to pursue.

The other undervalued education today is vocational school. The economic freedom that is achieved early on my be capped by the lack of an advanced degree, but if you are an enterprising person, you can use what you have learned and your innate skills to be successful. The key is to find your passion(s), and learn everything you can to be successful in that.

I can't go back in time for myself, but I will make my own children aware of the opportunity that exists. That way, hopefully, they can avoid the feeling of "wasted years."

You didn't need to go to school to meet friends and do social things though. My wife is always saying that the kids have to go to government schools to learn "social skills." No, no they don't. That's learning crowd and conformity skills instead. ;-)

I am a teacher at

I agree finnian - social skills can be learned in many places

Thanks! I worry about the other things school teaches way more than what the kids might not learn by missing it.

For example one of my middle son's teachers a year ago told him, "It's not right for one person to be more successful than another."

Bwah?! Don't be teaching that garbage to my child, communist! haha

Whaaaaat? Ok that is just plain weird

But I say again , there are sure some problem parents out there that are not following the open minded approach I am trying to teach my kids - the textbook said this and this and there is no room for we can actually figure out a few things for ourselves and questions can maybe have more than one answer

@finnian it would have been better if cryptocurrency lectures be introduced into the educational system,but instead they keep introducing more scams called subjects....lol

I'd be happy if they just taught economics, but they don't... on purpose of course.

eish then I would be without a job hahahaaha - but I see your point - and yes many subjects I really also do not know what the function is - but on the other hand, nothing is stopping our kids to start thinking for themselves and investigating and throw away the eye patches