Sort:  

😂 Alien thing, just the right description. I photographed alien eyes today too....that could work (thanks for the idea). If it's in the ground, landscaping fabric will block it, but it still sends shoots out into the air to smell out where it can move next, so probably not.

I admit, all leafy things, trees, shrubs, plants are one on the list of favourite thingies. That said, no one wants to see my slippers, nor speak of them, they were never meant to be slippers, nor be foot altered in weird ways...shhhhhhh....

I am horribly intrugued by these slippers that were not meant to be. lol.

I do like anything that grows myself. I think Spring has finally sprung here and everything is starting to go growing crazy. Time to get my sunflowers on!

LMAO! Okay, since you're intrigued, I'll tell you the details, minus photo, since you'd be having slipper nightmares at the sight. They are some kind of medium brown shoe with thin flat soles, elastic across the top, that an African friend gave me. She'd planned to wear them on a trip back to Africa but didn't go and gave me her new shoes for some reason I can't recall since this was in 2014. I started wearing them with the back of the shoe under my heel and melded it to the inside sole (totally flat now), elastics lost their thing, so they are knotted to death, shoes are literally falling apart for a while now, sole peeling away from shoe all along the edges, and whatever they are made from is flaking off the rest. I should throw them out since I have other slippers, but it's a situation of something being worn so much it fits like a second skin, if that makes sense. Ever have an piece of clothing that you wore to death, despite it starting to fall apart? It's like that, LOL.

Sunflowers, so do you grow the ones you can eat the seeds? I started with the garden already but it's been so bloody cold here that it's a very slow start to the season. Usually, by mid April, it used to be hot and humid here, but that's all changed several years ago. What else do you grow beside bamboo (I wish) and sunflowers?

Hahaha, I have had many items that I have worn to death and then mourned when they finally fall apart too much to continue!

I grow loads in the garden but I am not a gardener if you get me. I sometimes see things and then get obsessed with the idea of growing them from seed. I have lots of weird flowers and shrubs but bamboo is my favourite because its so hard to germinate. At least here it is. I have had moderate success.

I do like growing herbs though, If you can eat it, I will try and grow it. I currently have a small bay tree, thyme, oregano, basil,, fennel and parsley on the go.

Whihc reminds me! My other true growing love is hot chillis! Scotch bonnets and habaneros to be exact as they are pretty similar. Iam a chilli madman :OD

LOL! I figured you did. I've known several people who do.

I grow loads in the garden but I am not a gardener if you get me.

I do, but I have to wonder, what about those lovely flowery garden gloves with the pink frilly ruffles? They might be your kind of thing. Much more fashionable than the t-shirts you were checking out. Btw, never would call myself a gardener; the visions that word inspires are the kind I run from.

Ha! Sounds like you enjoy the challenge of growing all kinds of things. Bamboo from seed, that is so impressive. I'm intrigued. I'll have to read up on that. I'm kind of wondering what the weirdest flower and shrub you have growing. You don't happen to have one of these flowers?

You're so outfitted with herbs. I wouldn't mind a bay tree. Chillis too! Now you're talking one of my favourite things. I've grown chocolate habaneros, scotch bonnet, red Thai, and Trinidad Scorpion peppers. I find peppers easier to grow than tomatoes, any kind of pepper.

Not sure if you have a goji berry shrub, but that might do well in your climate also. I have a red one and a black one.

Chocolate habaneros!! I meant to try them last year but it went clean out of my mind! Thanks for reminding me. I will get some seeds! I love growing chillies asthey are so eminently useable. I make my own chilli pastes and sauces, although with time permitting, or not I mostly just make a couple of different chilli pastes every couple of weeks, chipotle is one and Scotch Bonnet/Habanero is another. Yum yum. Chilli makes me happy.

I tried goji berries but I don't know if it was the constant damp it didn't do well, it remained a poor looking thing till I eventually got out the blades and did for it.

The bay tree is magic, I am starting on a new one as my big old one died last year because I left it out too long before taking it in for the winter. Bloody cold.

I wish I could say I had weird or crazy exotic things growing but apart from the above I don't really. I just flit from mad thing to mad thing. Although I am attempting to grow a palm tree! Apparently they are quite hardy!

Lol, @corpse flower! Actually, that would be a good username!

it has been a challenging week for me.

😂Totally love the enthusiasm. You're a chilli freak, a total hot pepper gone wild roaming the moors. There's no going wrong with hot peppers, I think I have close to twenty different kinds. You make some cool stuff, total YUM. I think I want your chipotle recipe. I'll trade for one of mine with scotch bonnet, to be fair. I use peppers for so many things, beside eating. Medicinal and also as a natural pesticide.

I'd say you're right about the constant damp being an issue for goji berries. They don't like it when the humidity gets high here in the summer. I get yellowing leaves and leaf drop, even if not yellow. They prefer a mountain kind of environment I think. I've managed to keep mine alive for five years, leaving them outside all year. The cold doesn't seem to be an issue and I don't water them during winter.

The bay tree, I would have been so sad. Such a lovely tree. I should have tried that here in a pot, a small one. A palm tree in Scotland? Okay, that's wild. I guess you bring it in during winter, or would. You've got quite a bit on the go there and flitting from mad thing to mad thing sounds like a fine way to go, LOL. Learning is the spice of life, or at least one of them.

I'll throw this one out there, Okahijiki. There's an Italian variety, plus a couple others. Weirdest seed I ever sprouted and one of the most difficult. I froze the seeds, then put them in what I grow sprouts in. When germinated, they are in a spiral, very serpentine like, all coiled in that form. Fascinating. Easy to grow once you get it germinated.

LOL, you're right @ corpseflower would be a very cool username.