Sort:  

We can't wait to travel again, I've flown once during the pandemic but it was only a two hour flight.

You have such a clear and distinct writer's voice I would've guessed that you did it professionally. It isn't often that I'm not laughing at some point in your posts! They're really good.

Thanks man, that means a lot coming from your esteemed self!

I am aiming to fly in September, have slight jitters about it but its only a 3 hour flight so hoping for the best!

You're welcome. Writing is such a great outlet. I'm finding myself slipping gradually into retirement but I still enjoy writing for pleasure.

Ah, where to? The airlines here in the U.S. had things together when I flew back in January but all of the protocols have been lifted now. I would probably wear an KN95 while on the plane. Hope you're feeling better!

It is a fabulous outlet for the soul!

As time matches on the idea of retirement becomes more and more appealing.

Heading to Ibiza, the family quiet side that is. It would surprise you how many people ask me if I am going on a clubbing holiday when I say Ibiza!

Even semi-retirement takes some getting used to after the "honeymoon period". Having other hobbies/interests to pursue is the key. Also, learning how to decouple your self-worth from your work. We in America are so brainwashed into believing your job is your identity. I'm learning to bake sourdough bread, reading, learning other languages, cycling, and (of course) traveling.

I've been to Portugal but never Spain. Which side is the "quiet side"?

I think that is definitely the best way to do it. Other activities and skills to stay sharp and keep you motivated to get up and do something. I am currently working with some chaps from Boston and Chicago and we have chatted about the approaches to work and work-life balance and I have been quite astonished at the focus on work and the identity it gives a person which is quite apparent in our conversations. Certainly over here and possibly more so in Scotland relative to other parts of the UK work is not generally something that defines us. Although there are exceptions, I am glad I am not one of those!

The north and the east are the quiet parts that I go to, very traditional and rural which is what I like these days especially!

Sorry for the huge delay in replying. I have not been very active and just lying about feeling Covid sorry for myself! Thankfully I have shifted the worst of it now!

The work/life balance is really out of whack here in the States. It's a little better since the pandemic hit but I see things going back to the way they were. My wife had a lot of European accounts (she worked in finance) and she always envied the schedules and attitudes of the people over there. It seems the scales are tipped more towards what's really important. Americans are somewhere between Europe and Japan, in more ways than one. : )

Ahh, thanks for that tip about Iberia. That's on our list of places to visit. No worries about the delay. I haven't been getting on here much the past few days either. So glad to hear you're on the mend! Everyone is getting it over here now.