A terrible beginning, flashback. Imagine your kids hawking to survive.

in #life4 years ago

IMG_20200828_120709.jpg
Today at my window I saw these little children hawking garden eggs on a trail and I quickly took at my phone to take a pics but something else happened I had a flashback that made me break down in tears, it reminded me of how I hawked vegetables to survive few years ago, we couldn't afford a meal per day and our dad was far and didn't send any support to help us for a very long time and mobile phones were not common as we have it now and we couldn't communicate him for months we couldn't see him, it was difficult and horrible.
Our mother had to give us vegetables to carry on our heads and go to the market which was very far from home and trekking to that place alone you needed extra food to eat before you could reach the destination successfully and we carried no food because we had nothing.

Worst of it we had not engaged in farming like we are now and we could farm just vegetables and corn but to make matters worst we didn't farm corn that year because our farm lands were taken by fulani herdmen and we couldn't go near because you would die a horrible death.

Unfortunately for me I had no cash on me to buy some of those garden eggs so as to reduce little of the burden from them. I am not saying hawking is bad but if you look at the situation where they sell this you will pity them. The distancce, the amount this is sold for and the efforts trying to sell this is terrible.

Have you ever imagined your your children in this situation, because you can't feed them you give them vegetables to go and sell so that you all will eat. As a kid I dreaded this and said my kids will never go through this kind of thing even if it means selling my last shirt to feed them I will. We were exposed to danger and kidnappers who could easily disappear with us to any location they wanted and do whatever they wanted with us.

IMG_20200828_120719.jpg
When they saw a flashlight from the window they stopped and the little one said "someone is snapping us look brother!" 😊 so they made sure I took another one and later came to see the pictures, unfortunately I didn't buy from them which I felt bad because I had nothing on me.

1. Be happy with what you have

2. Share the little you have

3. Be grateful

4. Be friendly even if you are unable to help.

Sort:  

Congratulations @melissaofficial! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 43000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 44000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
Feedback from the Hive Meetup Vienna