My Spotty Participation

in #life5 years ago (edited)

IMG-0453.JPG

Yesterday when I looked on Steemit for the first time in a few weeks I realized that the landscape here has really changed. My feed is populated most prominently with different names and there has been such a huge turnover of users - diehards from the early Steemit days are no longer active, many witnesses have deactivated and meanwhile there are very active newer users who are doing lots to keep this platform alive and growing.

I suppose this is a new era of Steemit and it’s great to see new energy even if it’s consolidated into a small group of dedicated users. Let’s hope all of the truly perplexing moves from Steemit Inc don’t cause too much more harm (@cryptogee writes well about this in a post today)

Since summer 2016 I’ve been super committed to Steemit; a dedicated participant and curator. But my presence here has been spotty at best for the past 6 months so I feel compelled to clarify that my less than hearty engagement has nothing to do with what’s going on with the platform nor a response to low crypto values, but rather just my own personal state of affairs.

IMG-0586.JPG

@donnadavisart reached out to me a few days ago to say hello (thank you!) and in responding to her I realized that I want to share those words here on Steemit also:

“Things are going reasonably well for me. I'm busy with a small amount of work which is nearly finished so I need to get some more, but my ceramic work is indeed different with a smaller and more limited facility. Much different! Firstly, I can only make one project at a time and have the tiniest kiln ever so it takes a lot longer to finish each project. But this feels better to me, I really felt done with all the responsibility of multiple projects, renting out spaces, having employees and the many expenses and office work that accompanies that. I am relieved to have a really simple operation while I chart my course in my new life.

IMG-0582.JPG
getting used to the cold, or at least trying to!

This move has been a lot more for me than the physical location shift which seems small in comparison to what's felt so consuming ——> I’m ruthlessly editing my life of what doesn't work, clearing the slate of the stuff I once liked but has felt draining. For a few years I have been extremely burned out and not very happy with my life but felt like I couldn't really make changes because I was too busy, too stretched financially and not really sure what I wanted. I became so creatively tapped out from producing commission work at a breakneck speed that I've been in a sort of recovery needing lots of time with very simple things like cooking, walking and lots of journal writing.

IMG-0562.JPG

It wasn't until last week that I actually felt my creative spark returning! I felt those creative juices churning and it felt so so so wonderful. Guess I've had to refill my sponge before I start squeezing it out again.

So while I am creating a life that actually IS life-giving I’m in a kind of chrysalis and not at my most productive.

IMG-0515.JPG
Lucy, my best companion in this and everything

All of this might help explain why I've had a hard time showing up on Steemit - I just haven't had much life force to give and very little capacity to put my experiences into meaningful words. The good news though is that I'm finding my feet again and can feel the glimmers of creativity returning.

A big thank you to all of you such as @donnadavisart, @ericvancewalton, @paolobeneforti, @sndbox, @cryptogee, @world-travel-pro, @soyrosa, @yahialababidi, @reddust, @rebeccaryan, @scrawly, @creativecrypto, @opheliafu, @mintvilla and so many more who are consistently posting quality content and keeping the flame burning bright here! All of you are exactly the reason I’m pushing myself to return here.

photos are all from my walks in the woods near my home

divider.jpg

()

aka Ruth Frances Greenberg, I am a ceramic artist who makes mosaics, tile and all things clay from my home studio in rural Connecticut. I’m here on Steemit to offer my support and friendship to creatives, individuals and projects that I value and want to see more of in the world. The decentralized economy and blockchain technology are promising and I am very pleased to be a part of this exciting new revolution.
Your support means the world to me and enables me to pursue my life and creativity with more freedom and opportunity, thank you! You can learn more about me and my work at www.ruthfrancesgreenberg.com

Sort:  

It really has been very quiet on here, engagement is low, but like you have said their are those who have been consistent. Last year seems to have been a huge one for many of us. I am glad to hear that your creative flow is returning, I look forward to seeing some new creations from you in the future welcome back xxxx

thanks @trucklife-family, glad to get the juices flowing and will jump over to your blog now since it's been too long!

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

thank you, I got the name wrong, thank you!

just edited :-))

Hi @checky I think you got this one wrong, I bet the Donna in question is @donnadavisart :)

I changed it so it's correct now :-)

Congratulations @natureofbeing! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

whoohooo!!! thank you :-))))

Hey Ruth awesome to see you! I missed this post, but I can still vote your comment :)

Isn't it funny how sometimes we'll type a long comment to a friend on here and then think, 'Well, heavens, that could be a post!' I have done this myself as well.

I surely feel you in regards to hoping we can continue to have our wonderful Steemit. It really gave me a Hope for the online world that I needed at a time I was almost considering unplugging completely.

As you now, I am now back to the USA two months earlier than planned, but it couldn't be helped as my father is quite ill and had to rush back. However I am trying to find the silver lining and in my quick return it means when I come back to Toad Hall (have to go to MI for a couple weeks at least) I will get my OWN schedule back and can focus on how I want to adjust to my new studio and part time life in the UK so sometimes change is good to readjust our lives.

I'll write/im you later. I have to get things organized for my family stuff first but then when I'm back here I can really get down to work again.

I'm really sorry to hear about your father Donna, that's really a bummer. Wishing you well in your time with him and family in MI.

Silver linings are great, good job finding yours already :-)
Let's keep in touch and after you've had a chance to settle in, let's set up a rendezvous!

I am glad everytime I hear from you, Ruth :).
                   
I also understand your artistic struggles very well. There are many years that I feel unmotivated artistically and on such times, it is hard for me to maintain my online presence.      
                     
It is good that your muse might be returning and I hope to see more beauty coming from you, but if it doesn't, I wish that you would put no pressure on yourself.      
                     
Thank you for showing us the beautiful photos, and send my hug to your furry companion ^_^.

you're really so sweet @scrawly, I've thought it many times before also. Thanks for your kindness and support!

Walks in the woods are a great way to go to help recharge those creativity batteries.

Hi @opheliafu!!! oh my goodness, I can't believe I didn't remember to mention you as an amazing content contributor and so so consistent, you're the best! You've been keeping up the best work here, such an inspiration.

This was such a lovely share. Sometimes it's good to step back, but that doesn't mean you have to stop showing up entirely. As for Steem, to me this community helps me stay creative, but you have to be in the right frame of mind for that, of course. Retreat is sometimes the best action. Glad you're finding a glimmer of creative drive. I hope it continues to grow brighter. Take care of you! ;)

How incredibly kind @katrina-ariel, thank you so much for your thoughtful support! And I have to say that I always always avoid mentioning a list of bloggers in a post since I inevitably forget so many. Well I didn't head my own caution this time and sure enough I forgot to mention you who have been doing such great work here!! So sorry ;-+!

No worries at all. I think that's what happens to everyone when we start tagging. ;) ((hugs))

Nice to see you again! Yes, there are new energy here, even if some steemian seems to be in pause. I hope to see some of new ceramic works here soon ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes ceramics soon :-))


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Welcome back Ruth. Let's see us a bit of your creative handy work, please.

:-) yes will do, thanks for asking for it!

It's always good to see a post from you @natureofbeing! I'm glad you're in tune with your creative spirit and know when to retreat.

Wonderful post, as always!

thanks so much @ericvancewalton, your support and friendship means so much!!!

I think low crypto values were part of why I went away for a while but yeah mostly just busy doing others stuff. welcome back,good to see you are keeping the stress levels low with your smalle kiln.

hopefully we'll get back on the steemit horse and make the best of things as they are, there are still a lot of good content creators going strong old and new.

akan terus ikuti semua postingan terbaru
I salute you for your creatures, and I will continue to follow all the latest posts

So nice to see you are happy getting back to the roots of your creativity. And small-ening down seems to be the key for you. Great that has worked out so well. I think we often get so involved in the grind, and 'success' measured by money and how much we accomplish, versus what got us there in the first place--that creative journey of wonder. The 'thing' that we actually wanted to do in the first place. And then that world seems to grow so BIG, and then pounds us down to little dustspecks of what the original purpose was. If that makes any sense. But it is so nice you found your creative wings again, so to speak, and I wish you all the best in that.

It is true the site has changed a lot, which is sad, but I suppose like so much of life, things move and change and continue on, whether we want them to or not. So many of my original 'peeps' have gone away. Which is sad, as I've always considered them friends from afar. But we do the best that we can with what is going on today. I've not been on here as much myself. I think some of it is from spending an inordinate amount of time and energy for two years or so on Steemit, and then when it has dropped down, it is a bit of a disappointment.

Not as much from the monetary aspect, as I was never very high in that regard, but more from an interaction-based mode. The interpersonal aspect of the site has always been such a huge part of the draw. Suppose I just need to spend more time finding many of the new people out there. I just wish many would comment and write, more than just vote. That is how we get to know one another on here.

Well, I've written a DD tome here. Sorry for that. I'm glad your move has been such a huge success. I can imagine that would be a scary step in life, and as such, a very gutsy thing to do. And sounds like it has been very successful. Good luck in all future endeavors of the clay, and all the life-stuff that sticks to it. Cheers, DD