Fatherhood

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I saw this picture today on Reddit and it really moved me. I showed it to my son to see if understood the significance.


Source

As a parent, you give everything to your kids selflessly. It's never-ending, but you do it willingly as you want them to grow up to be a better person than yourself.

Every interaction, every argument, every victory, every defeat, and every "I love you" defines the person he or she will become, far longer than the days they spend with you.

Why you should vote me as witness

Witness & Administrator of four full nodes

X48EJ

themarkymark.png

My recent popular posts

The truth and lies about 25% curation, why what you know is FAKE NEWS
WTF is a hardware wallet, and why should you have one?
GINABOT - The Secret to your Sanity on Steemit
How to calculate post rewards
Use SSH all the time? Time for a big boy SSH Client
How to change your recovery account
How curation rewards work and how to be a kick ass curator
Markdown 101 - How to make kick ass posts on Steemit
Work ON your business, not in your business! - How to succeed as a small business
You are not entitled to an audience, you need to earn it!
How to properly setup SSH Key Authentication - If you are logging into your server with root, you are doing it wrong!
Building a Portable Game Console

Sort:  

This picture made me a little teary....
My dad gave himself up completely to his kids....
Maybe this was what led to his early death.... Sad one...

Shout out to all the fathers out there to give sacrifice so much just to make the children happy and satisfied too...

And a big shout out to you too @themarkymark I can strongly assume you're an amazing father.... 😊

I was actually choking up writing it, I didn't have a childhood or a good upbringing, and I do everything I can to prevent that from happening to my son.

Wooww... Goes to show that despite your upbringing... You still have a heart of gold...

Your children will definitely be proud of you as their dad... I celebrate that....

You keep being awesome, you'll be the proud dad eventually too...

Just wondering how much you know or are involved in @familyprotection on Steemit because there are also many unfortunate stories about families being torn apart... I don't have such experiences but there are some very good people that support and run the page.

What did your son make of this image?

I absolutely understand where you are coming from. My dad was not everything he should have been, to say the least. I swore I would not make those mistakes. I take every opportunity to give to my only child someone who will just be there when she needs me. I choke up in any movie when it shows that kind of relationship. Those kind of movies are my therapy, because I didn't have that relationship when I was growing up. To all the fathers out there who follow this path,,,,,,,,,thanks.

https://steemit.com/@cfs.leaks

I really like the picture...

I am a single dad exposing what happens to group home kids in my city Winnipeg Manitoba Canada

Wow, this got me when I saw it. My wife and I actually just announced today to her parents that we were having twins. I've been thinking a lot about what it is to be a father lately. I feel this describes parenting really well. Thank you for this.

the picture isn't just a picture, it shows philosophy of fatherhood and how much it cost. no father is perfect. what we are today is how we were brought up.

we might don't have good up bringing nor our father had , but every father try to fill the gaps he thought he missed from his father and brought his kid better than him by fulfilling the gaps.

lets praise our father for all his efforts for us and pledge to make a difference of our kids.

The say a picture speaks a thousand wordsand that picture is not an exception. Infact, anybody could clearly understand everything vividly by mere looking at the picture.

It shows how a father gives out everything to make his son grow up to be a better person.

It shows impartation and transfer of ideas, knowledge and beliefs.

It shows a father's love for his son

It shows a father laying the building block for his son.

And finally - not finally in this case. It shows a father who wants his son to be like him and even better than him.


Thanks @themarkymark for this image and post. It's not everytime we come across something so motivational and thoughtful like this.

Happy Steeming

The photo tells a lot. Parents sacrifice a lot to see their children live happy and successful. If only every child would notice this and take responsibility by working much harder to make them proud.

Its a reality about father's life. A great father will give anything to the son without askes anything. Im proud as a father. I have one son and two daughter

wow, meaningful picture.

And what did your lad say?

'Is this why old people have bad backs?'

Thought provoking stuff, and made me think back to when my dad was around. One thing I've tried to avoid for many years is becoming 'like father, like son'.

I'll take my bricks from elsewhere.

It simply tries to magnify the personal and great sacrifices that our parents and we parents make for the comfort of our kids. Parents do this not because they want something in return, but it is a show of responsibility born out of the natural desire and love that they have for their children.
Great post you have here. It further opened up our eyes to certain issues regarding parenting. Thanks for sharing.

kindly follow back and upvote my posts please....

I was touched 😔

Thank you, as a Son in his early 20s, I take this for granted and am not as appreciative to my parents for all they do for me and what they give up themselves in doing so. I only hope I can be a fraction of my parents when I become one myself in the future. Sometimes it is hard for kids to relate to their parents' struggles and they rebel against what their parents want from them. And sometimes parents overstep in their kids' lives and don't understand what their kids want. It is hard but I believe that each generation is a combination or balance between the last one and the one ahead of them, as they are trying to maintain certain values of both past and present. The problem is that each generation lives is born, nurtured and develops in a different world than the one prior. Especially in today's age, where things move very quickly and we have to keep testing our beliefs with a changing environment.

I like your post @themarkymark, but i am not a parent yet.

@themarkymark i am still looking at this picture for min now, still i can dipict the full meaning. a niece write up regarding fatherly and son bonding. however fellow steemians can u guys explain to me the full meaning of that image, so i can explain to my unborn son also. smiles

Very true words my friend.

I plan to share this with my youngest when he gets home. Wondering what he will think since he is 13 and I already see him picking up character traits from his mother and I.

My children are all grown up (27 and 25 years old) and I miss them every day. Sometimes I think about the story from the book entitled, "The Giving Tree." My view is if I am doing parenting right, I give unconditionally just like the tree does with the boy in the story throughout his life. I would do anything for my children, I love them so much.

Since I have a less-than-ideal relationship with my parents, my objective was always to be the parent I never had. (I feel pretty successful in that singular pursuit.)

Instant follow. Also the firefly pics helped.. lol

I wish more fathers were as sacrificial!

This picture came through my Facebook feed yesterday too. It certainly speaks volumes, even through there is little text.

True words and thanks for sharing the picture.

I had to think about my father.