In The Kitchen With Kat

in #ocd4 years ago

Quick Pickled Onions


IMG_9187 (2).JPG

The other day my friend had me over for some tacos. It was a lovely spread that consisted of homemade corn tortillas, shredded beef brisket, a big bowl of crumbly cotija cheese, and a whole plate full of limes. I love limes!

However, there was one component that made my whole taco-filled afternoon, some pickled red onions. As much as I love pickled onions, I hadn't made any in quite a while, so the other day I set about remedying that sad lack of pickled onion situation.

IMG_9181.JPG

There was half a red onion languishing in my refrigerator, a morbid state of leftover onion affairs resulting from a previous night's hamburger dinner event. I plucked that lonely little sulfurous item from the fridge and set it on my cutting board.

IMG_9182 (2).JPG

Next, I proceeded to thinly slice the onion. A mandolin would work nice when it comes to slicing things for pickling, you know, for slice uniformity, but I don't have one and I don't know if I ever will. Even though I find kitchen gadgetry fascinating, a lot of the time I will just use my trusty chef's knife or other tools that I utilize every day rather than digging out a specialized gadget. It's probably because I am lazy and usually have a ton of other things to do.

IMG_9183 (2).JPG

After I got the onions nicely sliced (for me anyway), I stuffed them in a pint canning jar. It was then time to construct the pickling liquid.

IMG_9184.JPG


IMG_9185 (2).JPG

A bit of salt, sugar, vinegars, and water later, I had a pickling solution brought to a boil and poured it over my jarred, sliced onions. You want the liquid to completely cover your onions.

IMG_9186 (2).JPG

I then slapped a lid on the soon to be tasty topping and plunked it into my fridge. I usually let my onions pickle at least over night, if not a couple of days, but let's face it, when I know they are there they are so going to get eaten sooner rather than later.

And that's all there is to it! You'll have to pardon me, but I have to flee and gleefully eat pickled onions now, with tears of un-adulterated, because my food is flavor-enhanced, joy!

Quick Pickled Onions

1/2 onion-sliced
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup white vinegar
1 cup hot water
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon sugar

Slice onion and pack in a pint canning jar. You want your slices to be fairly thin and uniform.

Place vinegars, water, salt, and sugar into a small saucepan and bring to a boil.

Pour pickling liquid over the onions and let them sit for at least twelve hours or so in the refrigerator. They are then ready to eat and should keep well for at least a couple of weeks, if they last that long!


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's doesn't leak tears when onions are sliced in its vicinity iPhone.


Sort:  

HOLLY WOW! You made onion sugar!

image.png
0

Yep, it's adds lovely notes of caramelized sulfur to everything I bake....strange though, no one wants to eat it🤷‍♀

🤣

LOL, I always wanted to know how that was made! :)

Just kidding, I'd probably never use this as I'm the only one eating onions, my boyfriend loves them but always gets issues with his stomach. I do to sometimes but I have to give in to the craving sometimes :) haha Some things just need onions on top of them :)

Oh wow, seems simpler than I thought. One of my wife's connections makes pickled onions too. We meet regularly at markets, and those pickled onions always fly out. Hmmm, I've never been a big fan of pickled stuff, but I'm slowly evolving, haha. Thanks for the info 😊

It's a super simple thing to whip up, and something I've found about pickled anything, is the crunch and flavor elevates anything you eat, I love them lol!

Thank you so much for stopping by!

Pickled onions can be used with so many things. I love them on hamburgers. Thanks for sharing on ListNerds.

Oh yes, they elevate hamburgers to tasty heights for sure! Thanks @rcaine!

Ah, thank you -- another way to enjoy one of my favorite veggies!

Aww, glad you enjoyed! Thank you so much for stopping by!!😊

I love pickles; onion not so much. Gives me gas for days. Bloating and cramps. Garlic does too. Pity because I do love the taste of them and red onion looks so pretty in everything.

Hope you are doing well, Kat:)

Ack! I am so sorry to hear that onions and garlic cause you distress!

Things are going fantastic round here, I hope all is well for you up North:)

It is so lovely up here:)