🥑THE AVO-CALYPSE! The Fatty Green Monster Takes Over Lunch Time! (Vegan/Gluten Free)🥑

in #ocd4 years ago

The other day tragedy hit when I realized that my beloved was ... Gone, no longer, nonexistent.


pasta5.jpg


All of a sudden... out of nowhere... the bowl was EMPTY you guys.

I panicked as I realized the harrowing news... avocado season was coming to a close.

So... I did what everyone does in such a situation. I BOUGHT AS MANY AS I COULD! (Safely, I promise!)

Which ended up being about 4kg and they all happened to get perfect at the same time (of course by the law of avocado.)

So what to do? I mean, I made nice-cream sandwiches (which I will share with you soon) and lots of guac and dip but this sauce, simple as it was is probably my favorite recipe of the great avo- calypse!

It's easy, delicious and soooo filling! Yum!

The Avo-calypse!


pasta1.jpg


pasta2.jpg


pasta3.jpg


What You Need:


Pasta:

  • Chickpea fusilli (or gf pasta of your choice)

Sauce:

  • 2 ripe avocados smashed
  • ½ tsp pink Himalayan sea salt
  • ½ tsp chipotle spice
  • ½ tsp onion powder

Mixings:

  • 1 large head of broccoli
  • 1 ½ cup shitake mushrooms
  • 4-5 shallots
  • 3-4 garlic cloves
  • ½ red bell pepper
  • ½ yellow bell pepper
  • 1 handful of chives
  • 1 tsp cajun spice
  • ½ tsp pink Himalayan sea salt

Toppings:

  • Chopped chives
  • Tofu bakon

What To Do:


  1. Boil the pasta according to instructions (it's all different so just follow what it says on your box)
  2. Mince the garlic and shallots and add them to a skillet on medium heat with a bit of coconut oil.
  3. Slice up the broccoli, bell pepper and mushrooms and add them in with the salt and cajun spice (keep out the chives until later) cover and lower the heat.
  4. Smash up the avocado with the spices and set aside.
  5. Keep an eye on your skillet, stirring occasionally over about 10 mins. Add the chives in about half way through. When the broccoli is tender, you can remove from heat and add in the pasta.
  6. Stir in the sauce and top with your chives and tofu bakon (I tell you how to make this all of the time but I'll keep it simple-- Bragg's, salt, smoked paprika, liquid smoke baked together until crispy!)

pasta4.jpg



I wish you yummy in your tummy!
Love and Light ✨
Cece 😘🧙
This post is original content by Cece Heart
upvote.gif
ceceheart.jpg

What did you miss from me? Here's what I've been up to lately
(and there is plenty more where that came from!)

Why Rejection is a Reflection
Deep Dippin' Cheap & Easy
Make Your Leftovers Great Again
📺Vlog: Introvert Crawls Out Of Cave
Veggie Patties
📺Vlog: Your Food Tinder Date
Close Your Eyes: Poem
Easy Bowl Life Is Where It's At
📺Vlog: Intuition In A Time of Uncertainty
The WRap Star
Hot Bowl You Can Eat All Day!
📺Vlog: Hacks to Make Quarantine Work for You!
Intro to Hive
The Tale of the Wild Wild Cookie
Must Share Thoughts on Quarantine
4 Delicious Quarantine Snacks
To Quiche or Not to Quiche
Gluten Free Crust
Fysh Curry
Coffee Talk
Guiltless Brownies
Green Protein Fiend
Balinese Rendang
Loaded Jicama Fries
Cookies and Cream
CocoNutty Dream Cream Curry
Spinach and Quinoa Bathing in Tahini
Deliciously Unsuspecting Cabbage Fry
Pesto Impresso

Sort:  

That looks delicious.
Cheers to avocados.

Yes avocados have been playing a profound part in my life this season! :)