Around the Hood with ATS-David

in #photography7 years ago

ATH_w_ats-david.jpg

Welcome to my new series, Around the 'Hood!


It's time to travel my neighborhood and share what I see with you, the loyal reader and voyeur! I know you like to look at stuff, especially when it offers some insight into the world of a fellow internet user, so this is the perfect series to quench your thirst for exploration and photography!

I'll try to let the photos do as much of the "talking" as possible because I know that we're all pressed for that valuable thing called time. So here we go...the inaugural post for Around the 'Hood.

Enjoy!



These beauties can be found almost right outside the door. When in bloom, it's a great way to start off an evening walk.


IMG_2132-1.jpg


This is some crappy crab grass. That's what we used to call it in a different part of the country and we would pull it from the lawn. But 'round these parts, it's just called "grass" and everyone seems to love it.

It's not soft on your toes.


IMG_2136-1.jpg


An unripe pine cone. Someone left it in a parking lot. I don't think a tree will grow there.


IMG_2139-1.jpg


The barking photography trend continues!


IMG_2140-1.jpg


Dangling moss.


IMG_2148-1.jpg


All the little critters come out to see me. It is my 'hood, after all.


IMG_2152-1.jpg


Same flowers, different color, different tree. I think they should both grow together on the same tree. Segregation is so last century.


IMG_2160-1.jpg


It's a faucet of some sort. I tried to get some crypto tokens out of it, but I failed.


IMG_2165-1.jpg


Maybe I needed to open this valve first?


IMG_2166-1.jpg


I don't know what these are. Probably weeds.


IMG_2170-1.jpg


This little lady in red was having a good time! She didn't dance with me, even though there was nobody there. Just her and me.


IMG_2175-1.jpg


Rocks! They're breathtaking!


IMG_2179-1.jpg


IMG_2186-1.jpg


IMG_2187-1.jpg


I started tracking something. It looked like it might be big.


IMG_2190-1.jpg


Then I lost it. It almost looked as though they were trying to not be discovered. It's all a little too neat, if you ask me. Looked cool though, so here it is.


IMG_2192-1.jpg


The moon peeked out, as it was getting late.


IMG_2205-1.jpg


IMG_2207-1.jpg


Then I started seeing some signs that it may be time to end my adventure.


IMG_2218-1.jpg


IMG_2232-1.jpg


IMG_2233-1.jpg


A guy with a camera creeping around in the dark? Yeah...that was me. I didn't want the neighbors watching me, so I packed it up and went home.



I hope you liked the little journey through my neighborhood. We'll have to do it again soon!



ats_content_slayer8f72e.md.jpg

Image courtesy of @mynameisbrian

Follow me: @ats-david

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

I was secretly hoping for some thugs on the front porch, some pictures of the liquor store, and people walking pit bulls with gold collars...I guess this will have to do.🐐💨

That's a 'hood a few communities away. Maybe I'll take a stroll through there in a future post.

Better not take the good camera on that adventure 😉
For the record I was born in the hood👊🏼👀 Thanks for the reply

Wherever I go, a pistol or two always goes with me. I'll be OK.

Sometimes we need a little adventure anyway. Whatever it takes to get the good shots!

lydon and two others caught your humour, but I see it as satire, a deliberate poking fun at photo essays and travelogues by seeing the grandiose (?) in pine cones, ants and weeds. And for a grand finale, the five man electrical band ...signs, signs, everywhere a sign. Uh, You're not one of those long hair freaky people are you?

I shave my own head. So, no. I don't shave it bald though. I use a 1-guard on it with my clippers.

I don't mean for this to be satire...but if that works, I'll go with it! There may be some people out there who might take their blogging a little more seriously. I just like to have fun with it, otherwise I'd probably stop doing this altogether.

ha ha, good to hear you're not long-haired in music or blogging. BTW, some of those close-up shots were really good :)

they were majestic, the shot of the flowers and inspirational words about segregation were nothing short of genius....... I could feel my Chakras align while staring at the moon picture and visualizing a huge space shuttle of steem aiming directly at it

The moss and crab grass reminds me of FL, but I may be biased too.

A crypto faucet, Lowes would make a killing on those, haha.

Your humorous commentary is just as enjoyable as the photography.

NO, STOP! the photos have great colours, what lens is that?

It's just a standard zoom. Canon 24-105mm. Hooked up to my 6D, so that helps.

mmm 24-105mm sexy universal lens
Good job :)

I wish I could get pics like that! I had a buddy show up at my apt in Boston with a U-Haul full of Dangling Moss (air plants he called it) wanting to store it at my place. I asked what he planned to do: "Sell it," he told me. He probably still has it!

Yeah. "Air plants" are a big thing around here. It's mostly just moss and other weeds. You can't even give that stuff away...unless a tourist comes rolling through. Then you make the big bucks!

Most of what he had was Spanish Moss from GA. It doesn't grow in Boston so he thought he could sell it. No takers!

Thank you for filling my humble request. I really did miss these posts of yours! Your descriptions with the photos are very entertaining.

No problem! I should have more this week. I have a couple thousand pictures to sort through, but I'll get them up eventually. Although I can't guarantee that there will be as many entertaining comments. I'm just not that clever, really.

looks like you've been busy with your new toy...love that ladybug shot

Busy...you have no idea! I have about 75 GB of photos to go through from just two recent trips. And now it's football season! And fishing is about to pick up around here as well! I don't know how I'll find the time.

I know the feeling, I have plenty of folders of photos that I have yet to go through

My guess is that you are in Florida and that the grass is St. Augustine Grass and not crab grass. Those weedy spiky things after the of the valve looks like sedge - a prolific weed around my garden!! Thanks for the tour. I enjoyed it!

I'm going to stick with crab grass. If it's not soft on your feet, it's garbage!

Sedge...that sounds accurate. Thanks for the weed lesson!

Hehe! St. Augustine Grass takes a lot of getting used to, but nothing else grows well except on golf courses where they can afford to spend a fortune on maintenance!

That was an awesome stroll through your hood, @ats-david. I injoyed the views as well as your humor. Thank you.

Perhaps whomever left the pine cone just really believes in the power of pine? haha :)

Much Love & Bright Blessings.

The hood looks very natural...with some interference of this technology thing called radio tower

I cropped all of the nuclear plants, coal mines, and landfills out of the other photos.

Did you notice the bird and its nest in that tower shot?

LOL nature and technology, married forever :)

bird: wow indeed, didn't notice it but WTF...he sits right in the big beam of the antenna! Should have tried to sit right underneath it, not radiation there.

great job, and I can only imagine what you can do with a great close up (macro) lens. You have a great eye, my friend

Thanks! I forgot to mention that these were straight out of the camera - no editing. So I can't take all the credit. The camera did most of the work...although I do shoot in manual mode, so I'll take a lot of it!

You know I like flowers ..... but the photos I prefer are those of the tap and ladybug ! Bellissime..

Thanks! I'll work more flowers into my next few photography posts.

Finally! Been ages since you post your photo journeys. Glad you're back doing it again. Those weeds look similar to what we have in the meadows. That bark, looks like a mahogany tree, is classic :)

I like this story. It isn't breathtaking :) , but it was fun to read. Enjoyed. :) @ats-david

It isn't breathtaking???

Blasphemy!

ㅜ.ㅜ
I didn't mean to hurt you. I really really really like the story with the pictures. :) @ats-david

Ah yes we all have to post a tree bark or two lol! I have one that actually looks a little naughty. Its totally natural and untouched, but I don't know what to do with it lol. To post or not to post, that is the question lol.
Yeah anyone with a camera is suspicious. A few weeks back I pulled off the road and was bent down taking a pic of wheat in the field. I got blowed at by a lady going by...I think she thought I was peeing lol.

Post your tree bark photos! We need to get this barking trend off the ground!

Ok one barking post coming up tomorrow!!!

Ok so my post that is all Bark and no bite is up for your viewing pleasure lol. I mentioned you, hope that's cool. If not Ill remove it.
https://steemit.com/humor/@old-guy-photos/this-post-is-all-bark-and-no-bite

Very nice pictures, ats-david... What camera did you use ?

Today, I take more pictures and videos and panoramas with my iPhone than I ever did with my Olympus OM-2. Since I always carry it around with me, and I hardly ever carried my Olympus OM-2 with me, I have more opportunities to take photos.

Ahh! The "Old Days"... I actually had a Beseler 23-C (I think it was) amplifier and a whole well equipped dark room. Who needs a darkroom today?

I use a Canon 6D. This series was unedited jpeg photos.

I have an entire collection of photos on here from my iPhone 6 that I used for "photo blogs" since last fall. It takes great photos. I just switched to the 6D in June for a lot of my posts. I took a few trips and wanted to get some good ones for print, so I figured I'd get a full-frame and see what happened. I think it's working out well so far.

iPhone 6 vs. Canon 6 D is that you probably are close to your iphone 6 all day long. But you are not so close most of the day to your Canon 6D . You carry your iPhone the whole day. And if it rains, or it pours, and you have a fairly decent camera with you. It can do things that I never could have done with the Olympus OM-2.

Good luck with your camera. Take good pictures.

I signed to follow you. and I upvoted your post. Stay well.

Looking forward to More of these. I'm big on taking a moment to appreciate the little things all around us, each and every day. 🌎

Lovely details. You and your new cam make a really good job.
Full 100% and resteemed :-)

thx for sharing

My type of hood! 😍🌷

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @nicoleemadelyn. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ats-david to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

pengambilan foto yang menarik @ats-david

Is that last image like a neighborhood watch or something?

Yeah. I'm suprised I'm not part of it. I have the qualifications.

  1. I live in the neighborhood.
  2. I watch stuff.

Thanks for following me

I'm not following you. Thanks for the spam though!

Very beautiful! Enjoy my vote

Awesome photos! Great journey around the hood ! :) Each photo tells its own story

that awesome, you have nice pictures. thank you for sharing @ats-david

Very Helpfull Content!

A wonderful walk through your neighborhood!
Thanks dear @ats-david, I liked it!

Your photos seem talking to use. All of them are so nice.

Congratulations @ats-david!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 10 with $ 262,27

Hahhahaha

Seems you've got skills and creativity thumbs up for the photos . Great

I really like your new initiative! Hope to be an exciting series!

You are very talented... amazing shots.. I am definitely looking for our next pictures :) Followed you :)

There are 2 pages
Pages