Chocolate Chili Avocado Truffles - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

DSC_5958.jpg

Another week starts and I think that calls for some chocolate……

DSC_5915.jpg

How was your weekend? Mine was pretty good. I took my two younger brothers and my cousin with me to see A Quiet Place at the theater and it was really good. If you like suspenseful movies I’d definitely recommend it. The movie literally has about 6 actors in the entire thing but the acting was incredible, especially from the kids.

DSC_5898.jpg

That was Saturday, then I spent Sunday almost entirely in the kitchen working on recipes and cooking, oh and mountains and mountains of dishes to wash (bet you guys don’t think about all the dishes behind a food blog). Seriously you guys, I don’t know how I manage to dirty basically every dish in the kitchen on a heavy cooking day like this, but it happens and I have this condition that makes it nearly impossible to walk away from a stack of dirty dishes. It’s an OCD really.

DSC_5916.jpg

So I’ve also got this thing for spicy chocolate, do you think that’s strange? Hey, I’m not the first one to fall in love with the combination, in fact my mom’s favorite Lindt chocolate bar is the chocolate chili one. Clearly someone likes it for them to manufacture that flavor. There’s just something really pleasant about a little bite of spiciness behind some creamy chocolate.

DSC_5905.jpg

For these truffles I also added spices other than just chilies, like ginger, cloves, and cinnamon. All the flavors together give so much delicious depth to the final truffles, oh and yes, I did add avocados, uh huh. Even if you could taste the avocado in the first place, which I don’t think you could, you’d have a pretty hard time detecting any hint of it once all the flavors of spices come together.

DSC_5932.jpg

One of the main highlights of these little treats are that they are very quick and easy to make and they don’t need any baking or cooking. Just mix it up, chill for a little while, then roll them into delicious little balls. Oh, and I’d definitely recommend rolling them in chopped nuts too. I didn’t include in it the pictures, but I tried it on one of the trials for this recipe and it’s fire!

DSC_5973.jpg

Chocolate Chili Avocado Truffles


Prep Time: 20 minutes
Total Time: 1 hour, 20 minutes
Yield: about 15 truffles

These sweet and spicy truffles may be bringing the heat but they don't need any to make them. They're quick, easy, and pretty healthy too.

Ingredients

1 large (ripe) avocado, pitted
1 1/4 cups (200g) semi-sweet dark chocolate, melted (use dairy-free if needed)
1 1/2 tablespoons maple syrup (or honey)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon cloves
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon paprika, plus more for sprinkling on truffles
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 cup cocoa powder, for coating

Instructions

Combine the avocado, melted chocolate, and honey in a food processor or blender and pulse until smooth. Add the spices and blend until completely mixed. Scrape the mixture into a bowl or container, then cover and chill for about an hour (or freeze for 30 minutes).
Use a tablespoon to scoop into truffles and then roll them in cocoa powder and sprinkle with paprika. Store in refrigerator until ready to serve. Serve them cold.

DSC_6005.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas and inspiration, please do not forget to look at my other recent posts

  1. Roasted Red Pepper+Chicken Orzo Pasta Skillet
  2. Thank You So Much!: Gringalicious Hits 75 Rep Score
  3. No-Bake Raw Vegan Snickers Bar Copycat
  4. Carne Asada Breakfast Burritos
  5. Goji Berry Banana Chia Breakfast Jars
  6. Chocolate Fudge Brownies with a Secret
  7. Dark Chocolate Covered Espresso Bean Mini Loaves
  8. Homemade Sushi with Salmon
  9. Jamaican Jerk Chicken Plates + Mango Salsa
  10. Chocolate Chunk Cookie Dough Protein Bars

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Design Logo.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

DSC_5974.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

I love chocolate, I haveto try that recipe

YOU JUST GOT BUSTED

Congratulations,
you just got busted by @roomservice with a -20.00% downvote from @punkbuster!

Wanna downvote something yourself?
Just send at least 0.100 SDB or STEEM to punkbuster with the post url as memo.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

gnummy

I like it

mmmm...

Looks good .. creativity
A wonderful recipe from you, well done
Thanks for sharing

i love chocolates... need to try out

I do hope you give it a try

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

You have received a @GrumpyCat flag because you or someone else sent money to buy votes from an irresponsible non-GrumpyCompliant service.

Some bots are acting irresponsibly by selling votes on posts very close to final payout. These votes are sneaky, not promotion and are most of the time placed on low value content.

Sending money to these bots is also financially supporting for-profit only posters (spammers).

To know what voting bot to use, refer to https://steembottracker.com/ and use those that have 3.5 day or less in the "Max Age" column.

@sneaky-ninja (by @michaeldavid) is reporting 6 day but is actually selling votes up until 6.4 days.

Important warning, since @sneaky-ninja has made no effort to comply in more than 3 months, it's vote will still be countered even should he improve his Max Age setting.

Learn more, learn even more...

Interesting post good work keep it up

Looks yummy!

thanks so much for commenting

Hello my dear how are you today? I am curious to know what's next chocolate chili avocado sounds delicious

I'm on fire just had one deliicus need some water plz

giphy.gif

You are not helping my diet! :/

This is temptation leading to confusion. Hahahahah Wow the look on the pan makes it looks like a game or something. This is beautiful. Thanks for making me salivate. Lol

You didnt show is your two younger brothers and cousin. Or you're scared people like me will snatch him away? Hahahahah

yummy and tasty,hot and spicy!!

Thanks for sharing this photography is very nice food

There is nothing more beautiful than having a good time with family and more if it is a good work of Tatro, truffles are very tempting.
thank you very much for the recipe and the step by step dear friend @gringalicious

My dear this looks so yummy ♥ thanks for the recipe

I'm so glad you think so. Thanks @denissemata!

Hi@gringalicious, It's good post on food photography! I enjoy your content and i appreciate for photo. Keep up the good work.
It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit

Thanks @shohagrana! I'm really glad you like it.

saya suka sekali sama resep kamu, itu buat sendiri resep kuwenya ya.kalu ya boleh tahu fb kamu?@gringalicios

Oh my god! those food look delicious 😃your each and every blog are awesome <3

Oh, you flatter me too much @deusx!

Thanks 😂

I love your recipe, it has its own recipe kuwenya ya.kalu ya may know fb you?@gringalicious

Thanks @azmi01!

if you have a face book I may ask me to like your recipe@gringalicious

I'm amazed, you're a great chef and photographer. Your photos are really good done, and your recipes are deliciuos.

Looks you have had a wonderful weekend with family.
You always come up with delicacies and that's the wonderful part of your blogs.
Thank you @gringalicious

That's very sweet @wandress! Thanks!

It is remarkable to see that there are really to eat looks to be very tasty.

The photographs are exceptional. May I ask what camera you are using?

Forgive me, I see it now at the bottom. Great pics and the food looks wonderful.

Oh, no worries @gabrielbrangers, I'm always glad to answer questions. Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment.

Hi gringalicious,

Looking tasty and sweet with pepper powders would be a sweet and spicy going on in my mouth....yum..
I would cut in there a fresh Jalapeno peppers.

I love your recipe, it has its own recipe. if you can know your fb?@gringalicious

Chocolate, ginger, clove, cinnamon! You are speaking my flavours! I really love the spiciness of ginger, it's one of those ingredients I can't help but add help but add a little extra when I use it. Carrot ginger soup... extra ginger! Asian stir fry... extra ginger! Have you ever had the gin-gin candies? I bought a pack that said they were made with extra ginger and it still wasn't enough for me. Anyway, truffles and ginger? I am totally on board with that flavour combo!

I'm not sure in you recall, but a couple months ago I asked you about adding protein to your sunflower seed oatmeal banana energy bars. You'd suggested I give it a try and write a post about it. Well, it took a little while for me to finally get into the kitchen but I did it!

While I had respect for your hard work crafting recipes and taking photos before, after trying to do the same myself I have even more admiration for the work you put into your posts. I just wanted to drop by and share my adventure in the kitchen with you and to also say thanks for encouraging me to give this a try. It didn't quite go as smoothly as I expected it would, but I at least got a funny story out of it.

As always, I really enjoyed your post! Cheers, Aimee

Wow, well I'm thrilled to know you were inspired to get in the kitchen and thanks for sharing your post with me. Thanks @canadianrenegade!

I love your recipes because you do this to me? You come to me when you put me to prepare some things @gringalicious

thanks so much for commenting

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 20.68% upvote!
I was summoned by @gringalicious. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Everything that has chocolate must be exquisite, I want to try them.

That's very sweet @lorennys!

amazing food photography as always and congrats again on the 75, major accomplishment

I'm flattered @noboxes. Thanks.

your ideas are always so unique, thanks so much for the inspiration

Nice! Thank you for sharing this... I need this in my life ;)

Always glad to hear from you @splendorhub. Thanks!

Wow these look so delicious! Thanks for sharing. 👍😎

I'm so glad you like it @journeyfreedom!

I need these in my life right now, like seriously right now!!

Very interesting flavor combination! Thanks for sharing!

Always pleased to share @thefinanceguy!

a very great post ... I really like your picture, you are great ... thanks for sharing ... you are very extraordinary

You got a 16.48% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @gringalicious!

me gusta mucho tus fotografias de este post.. la combinacion de colores rojo picante con el chocolate me parece que se ve genial, ahora la combinacion del chocolate con picante y aguacate jamas lo habia visto suena interesante. Hay paladares de todo tipo, te felicito por el atrevimiento a esas conversaciones. @gringalicious

ive never heard of these but OH MY GOD do they look amazing O.O

You got a 3.61% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @gringalicious!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 8.49 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @gringalicious.

I will also try this at home. This is a good idea for summer especially in Philippines.

I am so glad you liked it, thanks so for commenting @kaiza

ummm que rico, como no estar tentada a comer chocolate, si es fabuloso con cualquier cominación

muchas gracias

There are 2 pages
Pages