Hello!

in #silvergoldstackers4 years ago (edited)

BBDDAA5D-9288-4823-AA59-35D5D66A21E2.jpeg

Hello strangers! 👋🏻

It has been months since I posted. MONTHS. And... this is my first time using Hive. Do I even know how mark down works anymore? What are the tags these days? 🤷🏻‍♀️

The past few months have been a 💩 storm.

Last time I was here, was not actually here. It was on Steem pre-fork. Corona virus had just been found in my home state of Washington. Last post Life was starting to feel uncertain.

So what has been happening since?

Where to even begin?.... 🤔
You may remember my mom needed to have surgery for a mysterious growth in her pancreas. Doctors discovered it New Year’s Eve after mom was rushed to the ER via ambulance in a tremendous amount of pain.

Her surgery happened February 25. It was extensive and brutal. Things initially went OK but then quickly deteriorated.

Mom suffered all the complications including:

  • Surgical site infections
  • Inhaling vomit
  • Blood clots
  • Pulmonary embolism
  • Post surgical diabetes
  • Delirium

She ended up in the ICU three times. (Once just last week). It is the worst thing I have ever seen, seeing my mom so sick and frail. Overnight she went from being a relatively vibrant 70+ year old to being completely helpless.

Mom was initially hospitalized for fifty days. FIFTY!!! Most people spend two weeks in patient post the procedure. After her hospitalization, mom was transferred to an assisted living rehab place. Because of covid restrictions we didn’t see mom for over TWO MONTHS. The day I showed up at the hospital (March 10) and was told I couldn’t come in... to say I was absolutely devastated would be an understatement.

Since that day in March I have only been allowed to see mom three times. She has also been readmitted to the hospital three times. As I mentioned earlier, she is in the hospital again right now. My family never thought in February that mom would still be struggling so hard come August.

At the moment mom has very little strength and a lot of difficulty eating. Her procedure back in February, a Whipple removes a huge portion of the digestive system in an attempt to prevent or cure pancreatic cancer. The aftermath makes eating and absorbing nutrients very hard. As a result, mom has lost 75lbs and her energy is depleted. She struggles to stand let alone walk and can’t tend to some of her own basic needs. Until she can progress she will continue on between the hospital and rehab.

So that is the mom update.

The rest of the year hasn’t been much better. Aside from the pandemic, I feel like 2020 has really been piling on with one hard thing after the next. But... there has been some happy days.

  • I am still employed and happily working from home until at least January 1.
  • We are getting furloughed for two weeks soon, but I am actually grateful for the upcoming time off.
  • I grew potatoes and lettuce for the first time! 😄
  • My pup Jasper is mostly recovered from a massive surgery he also had in February.
  • I have been playing a ton of this video game called Animal Crossing New Horizons on the Nintendo Switch. I got it the day before covid shutdowns started in my state. It is the perfect mindless fun for pandemic and sheltering at home.
  • My husband and I were able to get out of town for a few days despite the pandemic. We stayed at the cutest AirBNB with our pups, and everything felt normal for the first time all year.
  • @raybrockman sold me an awesome, 8.45oz, hand poured, silver sugar skull he made himself at spot for STEEM when silver spot was less than $19/oz! 💥 #winning.
  • I also celebrated my birthday at the end of July and was sent the loveliest card from @silversaver888 and two awesome coins from @summertooth. It was really great to feel the love from friends near and far on the day.

9F7C1120-F3D6-4598-AF92-FEE8F0A8CCB0.jpeg

The smallest and largest of my home grown potatoes. They were tasty!

98DD72B6-74A4-4FFA-8EE6-D4077C2D0301.jpeg

Little Jasper on the mend.

E643A9BF-0731-4C1D-80C7-76B70660FDBF.jpeg

Scenes from Animal Crossing New Horizons.

E6AC1092-3B71-4741-97D2-8380E50B7986.jpeg

A few snippets from our July Adventure to Whidbey Island. Whidbey is a short drive and ferry ride away from our home. We stayed at a darling AirBnB, saw tons of wildlife, walked on beaches, shopped in small towns and ate a restaurant for the first time since February!

08666238-AB84-4B44-B4B0-D82EB751EEA3.jpeg

Birthday celebrations! Here we have two bouquets of flowers I received from friends, the cake, me enjoying a zoo outing on the day and the awesome coins I was gifted from @summertooth. Both were minted in 1974, my birth year. One is a gem proof quarter, the other a Dominican Republic silver peso!

016D31EC-8FF6-478D-B11C-8C7FB5F872F1.jpeg

Look at this awesome skull made by @raybrockman! The best thing I have purchased with steem!


I hope you all are mostly doing well. I try to check in some both on the blockchain and on discord. But a lot of the time when I am around I don’t comment or chime in. I have been so preoccupied with life at home, it is hard to participate in all the goings on.

Take care everyone.

💕💕💕💕💕

B03E5F86-26F9-4D1B-BB63-898077FFBE14.gif

Sort:  

Who are you ???? 🤣🤣🤣 Yep it hasn’t been any better on this coast either. Sorry your mom still isn’t doing well. Hopefully it will.
Take care Dfinn.👍

😄

In my browsing hive or steem maybe over the weekend I saw like a month ago people were downvoting you again. It must have been steem. But one of the down voters is a member of ssg/sgs. Fricking annoying. (Of course one of those members that joins and no one hears from again.) I am ready to burn the whole membership list and rebuild it from scratch.

I’m totally powered down in Steem so i don’t really care. But that’s interesting that it was an SSG member. Who? That list needs to be flushed, if you don’t post about metal at least 50% of the time you’re out. Period

Then I would be out! 🤣😂🤣

You don’t post 🤣🤣🤣

So sorry about Mum - I am glad you still got/get to spend time with her - hugs

Your potatoes look real healthy
And that skull - ooh la la - gorgeous

Hello!!!

Thank you. It has been a stressful year on the mom front. I know everyone goes through this with their parents eventually, but it is definitely rough.

How are you? I see your daughter is off to uni and you invested in a Durian tree! Two productive and happy things in a crazy year. 😊

Hugs, it is tough, even when you know.

She did and I did 😂
I'm doing good, as good as can be. One day at a time - if anything this pandemic has taught me that.

Stay safe @dfinney❤️

Hey there stranger! Good to see you back and really sorry to hear about your mum. Are you able to see her more now?

Take care!!

Hello!!!! How are you? I see you are back in the UK. When did you go back? This year has been crazy so I suspect your move was more complicated than normal.

I have a seen mom maybe 3 times since March. Rules and restrictions have really been in flux with the whole covid thing. No visitors allowed at the rehab home. When she has been readmitted to the hospital I get to see her sometimes but then other times only one visitor has been allowed... so dad ends up being the visitor. It is a weird stressful situation.

How are things back in the UK?

I came back in February and can't get back to Taiwan now as they've closed the border to tourists. I reckon I'll be here till next year, so sort of a forced stay back home which isn't as bad as it sounds because I'm taking the opportunity to see more of my own country - you don't appreciate it until you're away.

It must be really tough for you and your mum, sound's like the visiting rules changes all the time? Can you do video calls with her when your dad visits? I know it's not the same as being there yourself, but at least you can see each other. Hopefully she recovers soon and can go home. Take care

Staem on! ⬆️

Staeck on?

So sorry hearing the news about your mother, and I am praying for total recovery.
Maybe you don't recognize me, but I was @ronaldoavelino on steemit.
I am happy to see you back, my friend!

Of course I recognize you. 😊

Thank you for praying for my mama. She definitely needs it.

I hope you are doing well. I hope you can get back to Canada again soon. It is so hard to be away from family and not know when you can be together again.

A terrible experience for your Mom with so many complications with hardly any relief in sight, it is hard for you knowing she's in pain or discomfort and away from family.
I still can't see my Mom in person except at the Dining room window and by the Nurse's phone. At least she still recognizes me, had a few minor falls reported but and I can see she's well cared for.

I'm glad you made a post to get us up to speed what's been happening with you, I can't make most of the Saturday hive chats. Nice little haul, love the Dominican Rep Peso and the Sugar skull.
My regards @dfinney

It is definitely hard not knowing how she is doing everyday. And it is hard to advocate for her wellbeing without being with her.

I am so sorry you can’t be with your mom too. Are there any signs that they might loosen restrictions near you?

The policy is still in force until further notice unless absolutely necessary.

OMGosh ! Your poor mother.... and you not being able to see her. How terrible !

It's nice you got a way for a little while and what wonderful birthday surprises.

I'm working at home too and LOVING it. I hope I never have to go back.

Hope things get better soon !

Hello!

Yeah, the mom stuff sucks. I keep hoping she is going to get better, but I don’t know if it’s gonna happen.

How are you?

The working from home is pretty good. I miss the social aspect but not the commute or late dinners or having to wear a bra! 🤣😂🤣😂

I think we are never going back. We are definitely home until Jan 1, but my work has asked everyone to continue working from home even after that. So my boss declared to our “space task force” that we would commit to 90% of time working from home going forward. So crazy.

My Mom is 86 and has been in great health, but my step-dad who is the same age is WAY down the rabbit hole with dementia now and with "covid" .....there is very little help to be had. I'm afraid the stress will pull her down much faster than she should go. I don't have a solution, but I haven't given up on trying to figure something.

I'm doing well as anyone I think, being isolated and all. I'm good at being thankful for the things that are still good. 🙂

I would have missed the social aspect of work if it had not been over shadowed by a commute I didn't choose when our company moved a few years back. Many folks would think it was nothing, but I never wanted to add "getting there" and "getting home" into the hours I was gone for work in a day. I detested it so much, that not having to do it makes me so happy I would not considered trading back voluntarily.

Oh girl ! We must be kin ! I have never been so happy to have to wear a bra so little time now. Yes.... I still put it on to go out in the name of public decency, but then, I don't go out a lot now, so it helps for the "positive things" list....LOL I hate those things !

Hey! Welcome back, babe! Sorry about your mum, wishing her well.

Thats the tiniest potato ever hahaha mini potatoes are yummo tho, i prefer 😀

Hiiiiii! How have you been? Are you still a witness on Hive? How’s the kids and cooking and life?

bucket.jpeg

Who dat? I remember an @dfinney from years gone by. Why you kids won't remember, but back then silver was just $18.00 an ounce.

$18/oz!!! Oof maybe even less!!

What a delight to read an article from you once again, dear @dfinney!

I think that I can relate and understand how it is when unusual events in life seem to consume everything... our body, spirit, time, emotions. I love your bullet-point way of providing us a summary and update of all that has occurred in your life at home and work. Looking at it now, it makes one grateful that despite the challenges you went (and may still be going through), you are blessed with many joyful and happy days as well. I truly admire you for your resiliency.

I never stopped praying for your Mom and will continue to do so.

What a beautiful birthday you had. Indeed, it is really great to feel the love from friends on your special day.

And WOW, what beautiful silver gifts from @summertoth, and a awesome snag from Toxic Bullion! You and I have the same silver Sugar Skull from Toxic... and I am thrilled that we now truly have two special silver pieces (the other one being the Ship Silver Bar) that we share in common.

I hope that you will continue to do well, as well. Thank you for this special article. You are always dear to us, and we are always here. So when you can, do keep us posted. We always enjoy hearing from you.

Have a lovely week, my sweet stacking sis @dfinney, take care 🥰🌺🤙!

#ladiesofsgs4eva</h1
!tip

Hello,

Thank you for your lovely message as always. I feel like I am coming out of my fog a little. Post on hive, organizing some bigger house projects, it is getting a bit easier to focus on things beyond all of the messed up stuff.

How is your delightful pool going? I hope your summer at home has still been fun.

It has been so hot lately, and I can only stay 20 minutes in the pool and only in the mornings... but I am enjoying summer at home.
So I am using engage... and I see that I have not responded to this, just in case you are wondering... sorry for the late reply.
I hope that soon everything will be back to normal, but that has been my hope for several months, and we are not getting there. Did you hear today about that wedding in Maine?. A small reception of 65, and then... 24 got contracted Covid!
Be safe and take care, my dear sis @dfinney 🥰🌺🤙

I didn’t hear about the wedding in Maine, but it seems like every time more than a few people meet up similar stuff happens. The brother of my high school prom date just died from covid and their mom has it too. They are in Texas. I am so tired of people not taking it all seriously.

I have been invited to a wedding reception in San Francisco in January. The way things are going I really don’t think it is going to happen. I miss travel and seeing friends.

You were smart to get the pool. Even if it is too hot to swim. A little pool time sounds so nice. 😍

🎁 Hi @dfinney! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @silversaver888!

@silversaver888 wrote lately about: My Five For #Thriveonhive - @Silversaver888 Feel free to follow @silversaver888 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

It's so good to see you here @dfinney! It has been a very trying year for all, but you've had more than a fair share of it. Keep your chin up; this too shall pass and things will eventually look brighter all the way around! You have your community behind and beside you always!🤗🤗🤗💕😘🌻

Thank you! It has been really nice having weekend calls with you and the rest of the gang most weekends. I love hearing about you and @silvertop’s adventures. ❤️

I enjoy them as well. Maybe some day we can have a West Coast gathering; that would be so cool. Take care!💕

Awesome post @dfinney so nice...Jasper looks to be doing very well!!
I am so glad you two got to get away, what a beautiful place!!!
Take care my friend!!!🤗

Ahhh thanks @silvertop. You and @elizabethbit should have a little wander by the water or over to the San Juans before the weather turns. It was so lovely.

I think change is in the air @dfinney...I don't think I am ready for a Nor'easter!!
Can I have a do over LOL!!😇😀

Sucks that your mom isn't healthy anymore

Yeah. It is weird and sad. I don’t know if I really realized how important my mom is to my own sense of security in a crazy world. I miss having her as my rock through stressful stuff, and seeing her look like a grandma is really unnerving.

Hope you and your fam are doing OK in this nutty year.


Hey @dfinney, here is a little bit of BEER from @teenagecrypto for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

We also enjoyed a break in France and normally you take it for granted but this year we felt really lucky we could go. Chin up! Greetings Ron.

The break felt amazing didn’t it? Some people don’t really travel, but even in a good year it is what refreshes my whole being. I am so glad you two were able to have a little getaway too.

God bless and I am still praying for you and yours.

Thank you. I am also so sorry to hear your year has been rough too. If you can keep to your routine sometimes I say that is a win. I really appreciate your prayers and kind words. Being in this Uber weird self focused bubble of mom plus pandemic makes kindness from folks outside the bubble even more heart warming. ❤️