How your profile picture should look like?

in #socialmedia5 years ago

We are seeing dozens of profile pictures on social media, resumes, messaging apps etc everyday. Some are new people and some have changed their old ones. So we used to see these pics, but they are still catching your attention!

When you see someone’s profile picture for the first time, even if you have met the person, you may consider if they are trustworthy, smart, honest etc. So we may judge them from a simple image. I don’t want to challenge if this is right or wrong, I want to warn ourselves, “they are important!”

So if you have one (or many on different sites and apps), you should be concerned how you have taken, chosen and put one.

1_0HARAaoi3eJdf35HfB_Mxg.jpeg

Who are you?

If you are a singer or you are CEO of a firm with 1200 employees, you are not meant to consider same guidelines for your profile picture.
Even a rock star and a pop star may not use same rules for their profile image, though they are both singers.

my focus in this article is on business people or people who are concerned about their professional business relations.

Who else should be in your profile picture?

No one! forget about having your child, nephew, partner or parents in your profile picture! You should be alone, and do I need to say, there should be youin your profile image, not your beloved one or people who influence you?

No Nature pics, No quotes

Have you recently heard of a great quote from Steve Jobs or Nelson Mandela which inspired you? well, it shouldn’t go in to your profile picture! maybe a tweet, or your social media status would be a more proper place to spread the word.

No Selfie

Selfies are cute and trendy. Many can be very attractive, but business-wise, they are not very suitable. It would be better if you ask someone to take a picture for you, preferably a professional person with a quality camera. But a simple photo with proper quality using a mobile phone is still good.

Backgrounds

What is seen behind you is sometime as important as yourself. Since it represent where you have been and your taste. It even may share some of your personal information. So be cautious about the backgrounds.

Not too close, not too far

Also not too loud laugh, not no-smile. Smiling in your profile picture can project your ability to communicate properly.

Body language is also very important. Linked hands, head up or down, placing hands in different positions etc. I am not going to discuss them here, but you should be aware of their importance.

Same photo everywhere?

Why not? it will deliver more integrity for you, as a personal brand.

Frequent changing?

Noway! While it is good to have many pictures of yourself, it is not a good idea to post them all on your profile picture. Instagram or Facebook posts are more proper to do so.

This post has originally published on my Medium account.
image source

Sort:  

Hello @honarparvar I hope everything is ok for you..!!

I read your publication and it seems to me very interesting..!!

Many people use a lot of different photos in social media. Many of them just publish photos just for fun. Nothing interesting to see in many profiles picture..!!!

I think everyone decide what kind of picture should be in their profile if that profile don’t show anything interesting..!!

But if people are building a strong profile like a business, the picture could be more professional. It is better when the pic looks more clear and nothing more in it..

Just the professional person in the photo.

Selfies for me are not professional, people take selfies always for fun to show them on instagram for daily life or Facebook, but Facebook show very dangerous obsession when people show their profile pictures and nobody gives them a “like”.

When people show the same photo everywhere, it is more easy to remember the person in the pic..

Thanks for your sharing the info..!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks buddy, good to see you liked the post

To be honest I seldom look at a tiny pic like an avatar. I agree it isthebest thing to use the same picture, especially if you are in.business, but a suit does not make a person more trustworthy to me.

I have some people change their profile picture into that and I can tell you I would never goin.businesses with them.

Times have changed and people have to change too.
Better use good grammar on your site/in letters, easy language (without bragging) and behave normal.

The guy in the suit is like the salesman who is a scam.
You remember that anecdote about the car salesman who refuses to sell a car to the guy who is, to his opinionand based on what he wears, a wanderer?

Year after year the same picture also not something I recommend. If I expect to meet a 35 year old well dressed I do not like to go in businesses with a 50 year old, with a beer belly smoking cigars.

Better know your customers first, be flexible before you start.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @honarparvar

Yet another interesting publication. Upvoted already.

Your profile picture is quite right on spot. Easy to memorize and it's not messy at all. Based on my former experience (as professional instagram social media marketer) I would suggest bright blue background. It does attract more attention and this colour build some sort of "trust" right away.

Who else should be in your profile picture?
No one!

You nailed it. Profile picture is super small and it should be as simple as possible.

ps. Would you like me to share this post with some of my friends? I could help you get some extra traffic (I just hope that you would engage back to received comments).
Let me know. I will be more than happy to help.

Cheers,
Piotr

thanks buddy, you've been always of great support.
ofcourse I appreciate your kind help on promoting my post.

Lovely. I set up small bounty and will send memo to several friends :)

well, I learnt about bounty and I enjoyed it! I'd like to compensate that favour 😏 let me know how

@crypto.piotr it is indeed an interesting subject!
@honarparvar I completely agree from your views as one should put a decent professional photo for business purposes.

thank you for coming over 👍🏼🙏🏼

Wow! Well said and spotted. I think you just pointed out the facts or ways to keep up a reputable or business profile. I'm a troll and would careless about the impression my profile picture gives of me but in all honesty this post made a lot of sense to me. Thanks to @crypto.piotr for inviting me here.

Have a great day @honarparvar

thanks for stopping by and comment :)

Wow this was really interesting never thought about the massive politics behind just your profile picture thanks this is going to work great on LinkedIn too. Thanks again @crypto.piotr for memoing me here

Posted using Partiko Android

In this world of social networks your profile image will represent the first impression that others will receive from you. Then we can intuit that it is very important.

This should reflect a lot of who you are (or what you appear to be).

This is the problem, we can not define a person by his profile image. This can say a lot, but in reality it does not represent anything. It's just a farce. Unfortunately, that's the way it is.

As my friend @wakeupkitty said, to make me a concept of someone, I prefer to read their work. So I can have an idea of who this person is and his way of thinking.

A profile is more as an avatar. No one will study the picture first before reading the words written. Too much words is killing interest too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @honarparvar,

We're excited to support your informative blogging work. Here is 1000 Hobo tokens!

Don't know about the HoboDAO and its token? Learn more here:

HBO: Utility Token & Store of Value?

I really can't stand photos of myself, I'm literally anti selfie! I performed for many years and had cameras and video's in my face and despised it, that's why you will most likely see me in sunglasses. I also feel pictures grab a piece of my soul so I avoid camera's at all costs! and whatever with if I'm trustworthy or not... I AM PURE CONSCIOUSNESS AND LOVE NOT MY SELFIE!!! Also, content is way more worth my upvote than what the person looks like, photos are very deceiving.

first of all, thanks for sharing your feelings here. thank for reading and your comment.

please keep in mind, these tips were for a small group of people, mostly those who their business is affected by their profle picture.

i see you have a strong feeling about faces. maybe you have heard of Modigliani, the painter, who used to avoiding drawing eyes of ppl in his arts, commenting "When I know your soul, I will paint your eyes"

That's awesome and I loved your post by the way, great tips, I have such a bizarre thang about cameras LOL!

I currently have all media turned off due to poor wifi. So I do not see photos at all. I get a lot more work done this way with less distractions.

I agree that simple consistency is the best plan. Set it and forget it.

Hello @honarparvar

I really don't like putting my picture on social networks. They could steal my spirit! I'm Joking!

Obviously, in my resume, it is necessary to place a presentable and well-dressed photo and your advice are very good for a good profile picture. But normally I don't put photos in my profile because I'm an introverted person.😜

Thanks for sharing

you are great and you are too right! after all it's a matter of personal priorities and preferences. cheers

@Crypto.piort thanks for bringing me here. I find it interesting publication, a sage called for those who tend to use photographs of others in their profiles. Many think that the image is not important, but as one said, a picture is worth a thousand words. Thanks for the recommendation. Greetings

The choice of the profile picture in our social networks says a lot about us, because it is the first impression that users are going to have and we can open many doors to us as well as to close them, so pay attention to those details and more if you have plans of business.

I have always seen profile pictures as the "first impression" tool in the online world. I try to keep it simple and presentable. Everybody has their own style but it is important to realize importance of a digital picture and what impact it has on the visitor. The same goes with the content and information on the profile.

Very well said @blind-spot

And I must admit, that your profile picture does give me impression of someone professional with whatever you do :)

Cheers
Piotr

we share same mindset 😉 not necessarily means others are wrong

A good Segway to this is how identity in the digital world is getting more attention and first impression than in real life. Imagine you telling me 20 years ago how important a picture of me on the internet would be today I would have ignored you... dang how technology can evolve. Thanks.

thanks for sharing is very valuable information because the first impression is the one that counts and the photos project much of our personality

thanks for reading 🙏🏼

gracias a ti amigo..

Hey @honarparvar, thank you for your comment/blog post. Came here via @crypto.piotr.
One thing I did not get is, is your guideline for all social media channels? Because I believe that you are absolutely right for LinkedIn, Xing and all other professional platforms out there. For Instagram and Facebook, I believe that you can post pictures with your friends or even a fancy landscape. Those platforms are more social and private.
But no misconception here, if you are looking for a job you shouldn't use a profile picture on FB showing you binch drinking with your buddies. But it can be more casual :)

Great piece of content sir,
and thanks Piotr for the memo.

absolutely right, and as I said in the beginning:

my focus in this article is on business people or people who are concerned about their professional business relations.

thanks for stopping by

Nice one. Agree on the smiling part. A smiling profile picture is so much more inviting to be honest. So, that makes sense. Having said that, I have to still upload my photo on Steemit.

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks for reading 😀 and for the kind comment

Interesting🤔 I just love when people use my hand drawings of them as profile pics!😊

Posted using Partiko Android

well, that's great appreciation for art 👍🏼

Hi @honarparvar greetings from me, I know this post from @crypto.piort quite interesting the contents of this post, about profile photos if I think the profile picture should be our own photo not someone else because it introduces us to outside audiences and if the background I think where there is a good place does not matter if for me, and about your profile photo I think you are a very simple and honest person😄

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you Anita
for reading my post and for your kind comment

You are welcome😄

Posted using Partiko Android

It's a nice article! Profile picture tells much about ourselves and it is the first thing that people see online. So, it becomes important to select a suitable profile picture, especially for business purpose.

i do agree 👍🏼 and thank you for stopping by

@honarparvar, In my opinion, Profile Pictures are like mirror and it's just not a saying inturn many try to analyse through Profile Pictures. Keep up the good work and stay blessed.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

thanks buddy, i appreciate your comment

Welcome and thank you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @honorparvar,

@crypto.piotr asked me to check out your post.

And this is all I have to say:

You are right. Profile pictures says a lot about a person. But I think most people do not really get the "idea" that when they are posting their pictures in professional sites like LINKEDIN that indeed, this would be considered.

I believe that our on line life says a lot about a person and though most people these days "fake" their posts- especially their profile pictures to feel/look good, at the end of the day, its what you deliver that makes the difference.

I don't know about others but, I personally judge someone as a "cheater" or a "liar" when I see their glamorous profile picture on line and meet them in person and discover that its not so........

you are not alone Anne! I don't like lies and cheats 😏
anyway, thanks for your precious time and comment

@honarparvar. I got a memo from @crypto.piotr with a link to this article. This is an interesting content and a good topic youve written about. And every point you hv listed and explained above is correct. Professional profiles should only look professional and nothing more.

thanks buddy, for your time and kind comment

Hello @honarparvar you bring forth an interesting and very important discussion via your post.
A picture is worth a thousand words and when you put it as a profile pic it says so much more about you.

So yes certainly people need to be more selective when it comes to putting the right picture as there profile pic.
With the advent of digital cameras and mobile cameras which has turned everyone into a digital photographer with no physical cost of printing involved.

Thus there is a deluge of photos that we all have and it is gives the users more choice in terms of what photo to put and where.

At the same time one needs to find the appropriate picture for the profile pic. Agree 100% with this idea.

As always thanks @crypto.piotr for letting me know about this post :)

Good luck to you @honarparvar for your future research and publications :)

thanks for your time buddy 🙏🏼

@honarparvar you write about people who want to be seen as themselves on the net- a bit optimistic.
I for one like the control I have on my pictures right now- as much or as less, it is.
There is a huge amount of people out there who are not professionally encumbered if people do not know their faces, so a profile picture is an individual choice entirely- be it a rose or a tiger or a caricature of Charlie Chaplin.
@crypto.piotr I hope this comment does not disappoint your invitation.

Keep Steemin my friend!!

as i have said:

my focus in this article is on business people or people who are concerned about their professional business relations.

thanks fo reading

I like my profile picture with some blurry black and white, since i dont everybody to see my true colors.

Posted using Partiko iOS

you definitely have the right 👍🏼

What are your true colors @guruvaj? :)

Thanks for the info @honarparvar... Following your footsteps prior to this time.
Your ideas are brilliant because its the little things that counts most!

Regards to @crypto.piotr likewise for the prompt.

thanks buddy. for stopping by and for the kind comment ⚘

@crypto.piotr has set 1.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties let you earn rewards without the need for Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

  • @edgarare1 has earned 0.909 STEEM. 0.891 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.018 STEEM from the community!
    Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

My profile picture is a pigeon because it represents peace

My avatar is of my namesake (pseudonamesake?). On Facebook, due to political concerns, my avatar is one of my favorite philosophers. The latter is indicative of the age in which we live. 😢

Posted using Partiko Android

I use about the same 3 photos for.almost all the sites I'm on. Unfortunately, they are all selfies

Hi @honarparvar,

first of all, let me thank @crypto.piotr for sending me memo and link of this invaluable publication.

Very interesting publication. Learnt a lot from this blog publication.

To be more appropriate, a great list of Do's and Don'ts that has to be followed.

So, PROfILE pics must be strictly PROfESSIONAL, not less, not more.

Really a great publication indeed. Many Venerable STEEMians like me have learnt very useful info from this publication.

please accept my heartfelt thanks for the same.

Thanks & Regards,
Srinivasan.T

I just use my blob dude. Everyone else in this thread seems to have a headshot lol.

you're just fine buddy 😃👍🏼 it's not written in bible! just suggestions for a specific type of people. cheers

Nicely presented. I have soemthing to come back to.. if I manage to find the time.