Stop Spamming in the Comments Section; I Won't Check Out Your Profile Just Because You Sucked Up to Me without Reading the Post

in #spam7 years ago (edited)

Steemit has seen an influx of new users lately. No doubt due to the increased price, and more recently HF19 that has increased rewards for smaller users.

Steemit is growing, great.

But growth comes with its negative side effects, unfortunately.

A recent annoying phenomenon is people, usually new users, commenting stuff like "Great post, awesome information, very cool read, you're the best person ever, now please upvote and follow me!"

The money aspect of Steemit is sure to attract people like this, and it's understandable, but I'm taking a stand against this. Not only will I not check out your profile, if I notice someone doing a lot of "advertisement" spamming, I may consider downvoting.

Every comment gives me a notification, and every pointless notification wastes my time, and wasting my time is the easiest way to annoy me. I'm the only one allowed to waste my time - and I do it so damn much, I don't need anyone's help.

When you spam, you just make yourself look like an idiot, and intelligent people - who are the ones whose support you want when growing your page - will look down on you, and the reputation of a moron is a hard one to shake off.

So, it's in your best interests to act more mature.

I'm also not interested to hear positive feedback on my writing from people who didn't read the posts. In fact, I'm more interested in negative feedback on my writing from people who read them. Constructive, negative feedback as a whole is something I think Steemit still kind of lacks. Though it's understandable since a lot of people can't really take criticism. I can, though, so no worries.

I have no interest in someone just blindly sucking up to me.

Also, the lying is so blatant; I kid you not I've had "This was a very 'informative post', check out my blog" on a chapter of my fictional story.

Not only are you a spammer, you're a liar, and why should I pay any attention to a liar? Why should anyone?

Work on your posts, promote them, and make constructive comments, and intelligent people will take notice of you. Every spammer I've seen on my comments section is on my personal blacklist, and will receive nothing from me, unless there's a really good reason.

I think the community as a whole should be a bit more strict towards this kind of behavior.

Thanks.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Wow this is shocking news to me . I have never seen , or heard or did any of the things you suggested above. Commenting on a post without reading it ? Who does that ?

This post received a 2.1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @kingmotan! For more information, click here!

Nice post! Very great content. Also very beautiful picture. Please resteem, upvote, follow, give me money and masturbate my penis for me. Thank you, I love you. Kind regards, your new best friend.

I just had a similar idea for commenting but without the penis section.

It was the penis sextion.. that made the comment so brilliant, clever and dare I say even art deco? Better luck next time. Resteemedupvotedfollowed

Intelligent Humor ™

hahahha give this man the trophy already!

Wow, rarely I find another person who loves spam, it's my favourite food! Upvoted, resteemed and hope you check out my latest post too. Xoxo Fangirl91

Thats the funniest thing I've ever read! PS: please resteem, follow and upvote, I'll add you if you add me. Please make a small donation, I'm dying of acute cancer in my upvote-hemisphere of the brain.

I know you're my fangirl.

I'm just here hoping you don't really like to eat Spam...

Wouldn't that be a tragedy!

@eveuncovered @schattenjaeger yeah he has a very valid point , more users more spam , very good post hope you get lots of good feedbacdk to on ya book

I can't afford the real Spam, we have to settle for the Aldi brand.

It's still pretty good.

Maybe save up so you can enjoy it on a special day, like christmas!

Oh Christmas is Corned Beef Hash! ;-)

Great photo! Please have a look at mine!

But seriously:

Hear hear!

There is also no need for these inane comments: the making of sycophantic comments has evolved into an artform on Steemit.

Find examples under whale postings, adapt those first, and then learn to craft your own. They will look much better, and some people with big wallets may even fall for them.

Or just don't.

Great comment. Truly impressive. You have inspired me with this comment, my dear good old friend. I'm sure my post about my cat will be valuable to you, have a look.

Please follow and resteem and let's enjoy the Steemit experience together!

=D

Grovel on!

Even more magnificent work!

Something something, joke about resteem, follow me, upvote to all my post, something something. Something something joke about how everyone made that joke and now it's old... something.... I followed you because of the woman in space post.

I can beat you there, mate. I've had "Nice story, i really enjoy the pics". What a pile of shite!

Hope your post makes the rounds. Good job, buddy!

spam fritters are pretty good, especially with pickle!

I agree that many people can't take criticism. I'm like you in that I grow as a human being by learning from re-evaluating my misperceptions of reality.

However, I do experience some hesitation when it comes to criticizing religious absurdities. Purveyors of his kind of behavior have been elevated to a protected class in Western Civilization. Imagine, blasphemy laws in Northern Europe?

In the Islamic Civilization, it is a matter of life and death to go against "God's Law" as dispensed gratuitously by your fellow humans. When you don't see it their way, it's simple. They just chop off your head.

There should be a clone of Steemit for thinkers. We have Busy and ChainBB. How about a Think.it?

The only problem there is that everyone thinks they can think. I like the idea. Maybe if the system provided an "idiot" logo below every post so readers could call it what it was, when the idiot reached the critical mass of votes, everything created by him/her would disappear. Sort of a virtual beheading!

There is a definite need for some depth to the voting experience. Steemit votes are upvote, flag or novote. The 0 -100 slider adds an intensity dimension only to the upvote. Steemit could be like 4chan. If the flags reached a critical mass, steemians would go to your home and and protest wearing masks. You'd get blacked out pages on your fax machine and all sorts of weird messages on your phone. Steemit computer talent is quite formidable and with a little organization it would be easy for Steemit to morph into something akin to Anonymous and the "Occupy" global happening.

That's possible, but maybe a bit beyond the scope of my idea. Just a simple destruct button would work for me. I like the "if I can't see you, you don't exist" approach.

Moreover, it's often people who can't who are the ones who think they can. :)

Dunning-Kruger.

Wow, a completely unrelated conversation goes to the topic of Islam in an hour, and I wasn't even the one instigating it, haha.

Can you blame them? They keep getting away with it. You're probably one of the few people to take a stand. There are countless others not doing their part. At the beginning, I remember a guy who would just post "I like your post" on every single post I made. I guess for whatever reason, I just gave him an upvote. After about 20 times, I had to stop giving him an upvote, because like you say, it just began to annoy the shit out of me. Nice post (sincerely). Hopefully it brings some awareness to the issue.

meep

I'm starting to grow on here to the point I'm seeing more promospam in my post's comments. Had one guy laughing like I told a funny joke then asked me to check him out. It was about tutorials for minnows. Pissed me off lol.

This an exciting post it one of my new favorites. I will make sure to come back and check out your work again! Thanks, author!

PS: Pls take a look at my stuff, I'm sure you'll like it as much as I liked this post of yours on this very interesting topic!

/s (just to be safe)

Ah, you beat me to it, fantastic comment though I really mean it, you write like someone who is really good-looking and super-intelligent, you should follow me and I can follow you and make lots of quid-pro-quo upvotes and all that.

/s squared

Oh my goodness, I have noticed the same thing. Later, you see a post about how they have 1000 followers in a week (While they are following like 8000 people). I'm sure this is a by-product of the recent influx of new users.

I don't think I would mind some of the "great post" comments if I had seen users actually giving feedback other places. But when I don't it is very irksome. Oh well, nothing anybody can do other than taking a stand. Eventually, maybe, they will start to leave your post alone!

Exactly! You have pointed out one of my biggest peeves showing lately in Steemit: the people who make posts about their hundreds of followers acquired in a week, which they achieved by systematically following thousands of random users, a portion of which are bound to follow back.

Also, those people who have accumulated hundreds of posts during their first week, and when you check the history of their posts, it's 90% comments like "Great post!" "Thanks, bro, follow me and I follow back". Ugh. I feel like these people are only littering Steemit.

Why anyone would like to build a following conformed of a lot of random people who are not actually interested in your content is beyond me. I guess some people believe in big potential audiences with a weak engagement. I am much more interested in creating content for a more select audience that will appreciate it and participate with discussion.

@irime That is the trend and mentality that's coming from instagram, twitter, so on users. That's how it operates there and that's how many people think it operates here as well (though with the plus of monetizing).

Ha I just saw someone who does the follow back thing. I only follow if I think I'll care. Otherwise, why am I filling my feed up with random stuff?

Thank you @schattenjaeger for great share! Sorry if this sounds off topic but what do you think are requirements in order to be listed in "hot" section?

I actually don't, to be honest. I think it has something to do with the amount of engagement in a post during a certain timeframe? Upvotes and comments. But maybe someone could chime in?

@ats-david do you know?

Full vote because I couldn't have said it any better myself.

"Great post @nonameslefttouse! Just so you know, your posts always inspires me... No wonder I became addicted and followed YOU!"

Some dude tried to bullshit me with that line. He had been saying it to everyone. I was angry when I found out, then I had to waste more time hitting the flag button because I was so damn fed up with this bullshit.

I also wrote a comedy piece one day and was congratulated for my informative article.

It is getting out of hand. It's beyond ridiculous. As for the link spamming. Imagine you're walking down the street and someone starts shoving a pamphlet in your face and asks you to follow them. Does that ever work in real life? NO! That's exactly how you annoy someone!

Dammit!

Alright, I'm not really that angry, but this stuff is beginning to piss me off.

You just gave my thoughts a voice. However, thinking back to the days I began on steemit, I was also shamelessly self promoting my posts in few comments. No one responded to it, possibly because my comments were bordering enthusiasm and not spam.

I think with recent boom in user count, this will happen for a while. To overcome this, we should simply down-vote repeat offenders (we have to spot them across blogs). This will give them a sound message, if they don't heed to initial warnings like your post.

Totally agree! I at least read what I comment on. I think that kind of behavior will just sink to the bottom. As long as others don't reward that kind of behavior.

Yeah I seriously doubt those comments get attention from anyone.

I completely agree with what you are saying, but at the same time this is a social media platform - where people are rewarded based on their content (and some luck).

I've literally said "great post" when it was a great post and I was in a rush to do something else.

Your time is not really wasted. If you are checking your notifications every single time you receive one that is by choice. No one told you to do that. You choose to.

The people who spam nonsense won't be earning upvotes.

At the end of the day, the reward system favors content, popularity and kindness, not junk.

When you completely agree, it means you completely agree. You clearly did not completely agree. ;)

Joking aside, yes, you do make a point. It's a choice to check out notifications. But at the same time, I do consider it rude social media behavior to give pointless notifications. On Facebook, Steemit, everywhere. Maybe it's just me, would like to hear other people's opinions.

What if your fat, unattractive neighbor was flashing and waving his willy at his window 24/7? It's your choice to watch. But it would probably still make you feel at least slightly annoyed and uncomfortable. Is he allowed to do it? I think so, yes, but it's rude. And that's not desirable behavior.

And it's also true that the reward system punishes for junk, which is why this was friendly advice.

What if your fat, unattractive neighbor was flashing and waving his willy at his window 24/7?

I LOL'd .

lol I meant that I completely agree but also understand some of the comments that people make.

If my neighbor did that all the time I would record video of him and create a Steemit account for these videos. All the Steem that was earned would be used to hire someone to shoot him. =)

Yeah but everyone knows that Steemit is all about free money though... Who needs real engagement anyways?!

The saddest thing is that people still upvote & follow those guys.
< long sigh >

< /long sigh >

I know you're kidding, but the funny thing is, quality engagement would make Steemit a better community and would hook people into using it even during times of low rewards and price.

Absolutely, it's nice to feel involved with a genuine community. For what it's worth, I think that it's more valuable than a couple of dollars here & there.

Not that I'm saying no to the dollars though...

None of us are saying no to the dollars. :)

But I feel that the dollars will be worth more if the platform and community overall are of higher quality.

And if people were to like Steemit even during, say, low rewards, it would make Steemit stronger.

You're preaching to the choir! This formed part of my post yesterday.

I agree completely and yours is the second interesting post i've read today concerning some aspects of Steemit that could fester into real problems if there isn't some criticism and dialogue as I commented on @tremendospercy post earlier criticism is a good thing if its constructive and brings about a more positive truthful outcome even if we find it hard to take at first.

My daughter even had somebody stating that she followed her and wants a follow back, when my daughter checked out her follower list the person did not even follow her!! Like you say blatant liar!!

I'd be willing to take this a step further, and say I'm getting tired of seeing people leave near duplicate comments. Steemit has replaced Reddit for me as well as Facebook (and medium). I love seeing insight comments furthering the conversation. But lately a lot of it is Just as you've described or repeated comments.

I just want to comment that I love spam & eggs & rice w/ sriracha.

looks delicious! ;)

We all hate spammers and people looking for handouts. Awful. Takes away the actual point of embracing the system.

Value is the keyword, and we should a strive to get that out from every meaningful post on here. isnt that why its called a community?

You are not the first person I have seen put something like this into writing in the past few days. It pisses me off because I work hard to write insightful, critical feedback and others are giving us minnows a bad name.

This minnow will do her best not to spam up your contents, and she definitely won't lie.

The truth has been spoken.

Do you have names of these spammers @schattenjaeger because there in your post you poured your heart out channeling all your frustrations to writing .This must have really pissed you off.Can you reveal the names of these spammers so that we know them and avoid whenever his/her name pops up.

No need to name names and go on a silly witch hunt. This was advice more than anything.

Yes it was advice and a half ,i am sure steemers especially newbies will take it serious ,because a downvote is not good at all.

I think that you do have a point, but this is something that every forum or social media platform deals with everyday. I like this platform, in fact it is a concept that I was hoping to find for a long time. I am a newbie, literally joined two days ago, and even I have seen what you are talking about on a few of the posts that I have read.

It is something that could be regulated, but will not be eradicated completely, no matter how sophisticated the "search bot" would be to search for these posts and delete them.

This is a platform that pays people to express their opinions, and I have just learned that these posts are worth even more, so you are going to see an uptake of people coming on-board to be paid for their posts, and they may not be able to see the uniqueness of this platform or appreciate it as much as you "oldies".

I say, just ignore the more blatant ones, and encourage people like me who want to participate and see the money factor as a side benefit!

No need to "regulate" it like that. People's voting behavior would regulate it. It's a free market solution, so to speak.

I have noticed this too. On one hand I can see it is difficult being a newbie on Steemit. On the other hand it is spam if that is all they are doing and not contributing intelligently and cultivating themselves and their audience. I think this is so important. And as you say it brings richness to the community and builds reputation. I am really enjoying steemit. I finally have found an outletfor my writing and I can post to my hearts delight. If I can share this delight with others then that is a true gift. 😉

Mannnn, I've been getting tons of those spam comments. It's getting annoying lol

Most of these people will leave after a while . That happened to me when I first started. I did not understood the platform and community seemed fake to me.
It's ok to stand against this, but most of the people that do this are after the quick bucks. They don't want to build a community when they are that desperate

I've started responding to them. Telling them that their behavior is inappropriate and a great way to guarantee them little success on the platform.

John Cleese is a wonderful man :D :D

SPAM SPAM SPAM everywhere :D

You are absolutely right! Working hard for money is not a bad practice but making money should not be the only purpose to be here. Steemit is a great platform where we learn a lot of things, have fun, appreciate each other and make fruitful discussions. Making lame comments without reading is a very bad practice.
This place is unique because of its purity and positive environment. Kindly don't pollute it by making lame comments just to earn money.
I appreciate your work @schattenjaeger.

This reminds me of the good old days where SEOs would spam 'good post good admin' then paste 10 URLs and this would be called 'link building' technique. And it acrually worked

I completely agree except for the part.... Sorry could not stop myself. Yes, I am perfectly capable of wasting more of my time than I have. No help needed! I did read and enjoyed. Thank you and take care.

Earlier today, I got 2 SPAM comments from the same person within 10min of each other. I agree, it's very annoying. I feel like I read a similar article from someone else the other day complaining about spam comments as well. I don't get a lot of comments on my post, as i'm still new, but I bet someone of your ranking is indeed bombarded by hundreds of stupid comments on a daily basis. Best of luck, and thanks for posting how you feel.

Thank you! People always leave generic comments in hopes of getting an upvote without reading one sentence. If anything. it detracts from the community. To any new user, Steemit is a great platform, but only if you don't abuse it. I think they should have people patrolling this type of behavior so it doesn't clutter the feed. With good comes the bad, but if you're going to come on and do that, don't come on at all.

Amen! I've seen so much of this in the past few days.

I too feel the same @schattenjaeger.
Together maybe we can bring some change and make the community better

Very true. Sadly. The best thing we can do is just ignore them. Because if the method isn't effective there is no point doing it right?

I totally agree with everything you said. It stands out a mile that such commenter haven't read your post. It looks bad, is rude and gets a mental black mark from me too. I get it, we are all here to make money, but there are right ways of doing this. Pay your dues, learn from established members, put in the time.

I hear your point for sure but it is still people are commenting, which is positive. This can open dialogue between you and those users if somebody continues to open up the conversation. Good for the community.

I really appreciate the work your doing , I am very much inspired and impressed with your post. If you support me to grow up into this network it will be helpful for me as a beginner. If you resteem one of my post it will help me to grow in to Steemit network
Shaheryar Steemit

Not sure if serious.

Maybe Steemit should have an option to ignore some users.

Now that you made this post im not sure if i still want to comment your posts in case you take it for a spam 😂 but i have to asmit there is a part of truth in your post

Have a good day

Commenting is not spamming. :)

You usually recognize the blatantly obvious spam, though.

If one is to compliment a post, a good way to do it so to explain why. It gives feedback. Simply doing a generic "Awesome post, so informative, I feel inspired, now upvote and follow me!" comment is what I'm speaking of.

With all due respect what else must we do?

Try reading the post, comment if you want but don't do it for upvotes and follows. If you have something smart to say, think carefully how to write it the right way.

Or tell him taxation is theft.

Personally that is what I do, but then follow up the comment with a note to tell people to check my profile. Considering there is a new post every couple of seconds there is no other way to reach out to people to get the ball rolling. You can't assume everyone who does "spam" doesn't read your posts

Telling people to check your profile might have the opposite reaction. People know how ro check your profile if the comment is interesting enough ;)

Great read. I totally agree with you that the sum of all things positive can be achieved with deep meditation and breathing exercises.

I'm just messing - Totally agree, I'm not spamming but follow me for the latest in tech news from around the world. Woop!

There are 2 pages
Pages