Why can't I seem to gain more than $0.5 upvote from anyone for my posts?!

in #steemit7 years ago

Please help me work this out before I lose my inspiration!

sad man.jpeg

I've been on Steemit for two weeks and have written 10 posts. I invested $4,000 of my own money, my own vote gives me about $1.2.

Nine of my posts have only got just over $1 - one of them got lucky and got $100 early on - but now I just keep posting and can't seem to get any traction or any upvotes. I can't believe it is just the content as I am doing differnt types of content and putting time and energy into them.

Can anyone help me and tell me how or why I can't seem to make any headway into my Steemit career? Soon it just won't feel worth the time I am spending on it ;-(

With thanks

Will

Sort:  

Welcome Will, here's a post I wrote which you might find helpful: https://steemit.com/steemit/@wilx/how-to-grow-on-steemit-find-your-community

Thank you, I will check it out ;-)

Welcome here @willstephens !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

i'm trying to figure the system to, I think it has to do with not just posting, but actually engaging in other posts and other peoples work. i think it requires actual connection, vs mindless likes and reblogs

Yes - amazing system in that way isn't it!

Bro this is not a get rich quick thingy. You just got to keep at it. I myself also make very little from my post.I dont let that deter me because I know its going to take time.

I saw post a post, that I cant find at the moment, where this guy showed that it took 10 months before his payments started to really take off. He showed that his situation as not the exception and that it applied to many others on STEEMIT.

Just stay in the game continue to put out quality and you will get some traction.

Good luck!

I totally agree with you, actually i dont do much with my post, but its because i dont find inspiration and good things to share, im looking to find my subject. Its taking time thats why im not affraid, and im looking to quality poster, to know what can give succeed. stay in the game put quality and take time is a good advice.

I love posting about crypto because its my main passion. My crypto related post dont do very well I belive because there are better qualified people posting great content in this subject matter.

What does better for me is when i just share about my life experiences going out flying a drone or spending time with family.

Yes, noticed that personal stuff seems more valuable to people - good observation - thanks ;-)

Thank you ;-)

Research content that people on here might actually take the time to look at and read. You've only been here for two weeks so don't worry too much. It takes longer than that to be established here.

Nice - thanks - I will look more into what the key interests are - as you say it takes a while to get the 'insight'!

Hi Will. I've been on Steemit about six weeks. My first article got $15. My second article got $1750 at peak, but it's been getting diluted, so maybe by payday it will be $1000 or so.

From my study of this platform, I believe there are two ways to develop high-earning posts.

a) build a large network of minnows who follow you and like what you write.

b) write things that impress the whales.

Option "b" requires studying the whales.

One way to do that is to look at the whale list and follow them all.

I like the way you put things together in your posts but maybe some fine tuning alias mark down would help with your posts layout and track more attention. Get some eye catcher in with This and that.

Hey - thanks for looking at my posts to give some advice - very much appreciated. I don't know how to do bold etc while still being able to put images in - i.e. if I select markdown at the beginning of the post then it takes away the insert images option? any help or guidance much appreciated ;-)

I'm new too and didn't have a follower base prior to publishing posts here. All of this takes time, as others have said. I think the best thing is to focus on reading, writing, and learning about what you are most enthusiastic about. If it's a little bit of everything then do that.

It's important to go to the posts of appropriate people (a combination of minnows, dolphins, and whales) and write relevant comments that do not consist of "I upvoted/followed you, please do the same for me." Try to make your rounds with comments shortly after you publish one of your own posts because that increases the liklihood of one of those people clicking on your post and upvoting it.

Nice advice, many thanks! I didn't ask you to upvote me and follow me - just thought you'd be interested in my posts given similar theme ;-) I think your point re comments is very helpful, have a beautiful day ;-) ! Will

Isn't something we can do?? All little minnows like us? create a community or something and help each other?

See my post above, and look up the @minnowsupport community..

Why do you invest 4,000 dollar without testing it properly...? I invested nothing and i see growth and stuff. Just be patient man and put some content out there, enjoy what you do..this here is NOT about the money, i mean, yes..you can earn money..but if you do it because you WANT money..the other guys will see trough this.

ANd then..yeah..probably you will have a hard time getting something out of it.

Nice - thanks for your time responding ;-) The money is invested in Steemit and Steem itself as I believe in the platform. I am just not so sure that it is worth my time writing posts.

It's not that I do it for money but I need to do stuff to earn a living and if I spend an hour or two a day doing posts and don't earn anything from them then I'd need to use that time for other stuff which does earn money - I have three kids to feed ;-)

Take care dude and thanks for your feedback ;-)

Mh yeah, i understand the problem. I think in the end you should try to find a good middle between everything.. you cant force the people and sometimes its tied to luck. My posts get barely 1 dollar sometimes.

nice one - thanks for caring ;-)

Bro I get it and you are correct you have to do what's right for you and your fam. To make this a regular gig that you can pay bills with you have to be able to invest a huge amount time.

I'm looking at it from the perspective that I m going through a career change and im getting on the job training.

Nice - it is great to be writing - for sure - your feedback has been great - thanks so much for your time. And also to mention I have been touched by the great community on steemit - there is good heart here for sure ;-) That's a value much greater than $ !

Thats great. Im glad you are experiencing the intangible benefits of being here.

Steem on!

Patience, persistence, and work hard @willstephens-