Believe in Yourself

in #story8 months ago

Time for another post on my favorite place on the blockchain; Hive. I'd love to be able to post every day, but life gets in the way. Luckily, I don't value my contribution here based on the number of posts or upvotes, but on providing value, inspiration, and hopefully quality writing along the way.

Earlier today I had the opportunity to help shore someone up who was feeling a little down on herself when she shouldn't have. This is an amazing woman, but of the type where she values herself based on what other people think of her. I was able to express to her the importance of believing in herself, and not allowing others to define her.

I see far too many precious women in relationships with controlling men, energy Vampires, draining the positivity and the lifeforce out of them.

I was happy to help her and I'm glad that I did, as she deserves so much better.

Moments like these are not only important in lifting someone else up, but also what I call "Paying the Rent" in order to live in this sometimes complicated, but often wonderful world of ours.

You Have Value

When I was a boy being ostracized for my speech handicap (which I conquered), I saw myself first as a tall tower deep in the woods, and later on as a strong, impregnable lighthouse on a rugged promontory. This fortress pierced the darkness of night, helping to guide ships through treacherous waters, and acting as a beacon pointing the way into a safe harbor.

I loved lighthouses as a kid because they were strong and impregnable, and shined from within.

Throughout all of the challenges in life while growing up, I never saw myself as weak or powerless.

I've always charted my own path in life no matter what people thought of me. I think its because I was blessed with not being a slave to popularity as many others were when I was growing up. This freed me to build my own strong personality, allowing me to weather the storms that have taken out so many others.

You're strong, and you have value inherent in yourself, and not conferred on you by someone else.

YOU. HAVE. VALUE. Believe it and live it.

I really think its vital that you have a solid (but not inflated) sense of self-worth. Say life is like a skyscraper. If you allow others to construct you, they can also tear you down (if you let them). But we're not going to do that, right? Know your self-worth, and you can be a rock for both yourself and your loved ones.

Like a lighthouse, be strong and impregnable, and shine with your own light.

If you found that this post added value or inspired you, you know what to do... :)

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: 1, 2

Sort:  

Reviewed and Approved for an Ecency Boost.

Thank you so much! I tried not to write an 800,000 word post with this one (maybe next time). :)

Dont worry, just keep shining, and illuminate others with your light!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @evernoticethat.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more