Keep At It

in #life9 months ago

I'm happy to report that I've been able to create more content for Hive recently during the little windows in time that open up.

As readers of this blog know, I've repeatedly bounced back multiple times in restoring my account due to family responsibilities. I've several times had to liquidate in order to deal with things here, and then begin the rebuilding process over again.

I think at my height, I was nearing 4K HP, I'd grown my $LEO to almost 2K, and had cracked the top 50 in $DHEDGE. Not to mention the LEO miners I'd picked up in the early days of Hive, and the other dividend tokens and Splinterlands assets that were trickling in new tokens on a daily basis.

I was growing on LeoFinance, and looking forward to moving up to the next level when all Hell broke loose here. Of course like the man that I am, I didn't shirk my responsibilities, but stepped up to help right the ship. When the call comes in to help the helpless, someone has to answer, and I'm glad that I did.

But I got a little taste of the benefits that having a growing Hive blog can bring.

So I know what to do...

I just need a stable situation here outside of Hive with the ill elderly relative I'm both taking care of and shielding from the grifters in the family, trying to take every dollar they can from her. Things are slowly stablizing, but the message I want to share in this post is...

That I keep coming back.

That implies that there's something to come back to, and there is with Hive.

Since my last post Teenyboppers vs Deadheads, Which Audience Would You Rather Have On Hive? was a huge 1500+ words monster, I plan to make this one a shortie in response (a "short" post to me is one that's less than 1000 words). :) I'm posting more, and it feels so good to be able to share again as a Hive content creator.

If I can keep coming back over and over again, it points to the fact that tere's real value in this community. We have so many people with expertise in so many different areas, and I've learned so much over the years. Winston Churchill once said "If you're going through Hell, keep going." So stay focused and keep at it.

The best of us push on, and if you do that in a smart way, over time you end up turning that corner. I can see the first rays of light at the far end of a long, dark tunnel. Better days are ahead, and if you know me, I'll never give up until I step into the light.

If you found that this post added value or inspired you, you know what to do... :)

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: 1, 2

Sort:  

I admire your flexibility. You are like a high quality elastic band that never breaks. Keep being and doing you and be kind to yourself too :<)

Thanks. Noted. And you're right. Often people like us spend so much time assisting others, that we fail to be kind to ourselves.

You have a really good perspective on this topic, and I admire how you keep pushing forward despite things happening that set you back with your Hive goals.
I've had to liquidate for emergencies and it's always a bummer because I like crypto more than fiat currency.

Thanks as well. I figured as long as I've been here (lurked for a year in spring 2016 before joining Steemit in July 2017), if I hadn't had to liquidate, I'd be a whale right now. However, it was seeing that crypto compound and grow day after day, which informed me on the possibilities inherent in staying the course.

Everytime I'd have things running smoothly on Hive, something would happen with my relative. I'd be forced to sell assets even when the price was low. I can still remember having to sell my entire dCity collection that I'd built up over years. Someone in Discord asked me why I was doing it, and to avoid having to tell him everything about helping her, I just told him it was too addictive.

I'm guessing I'd be at 100K staked $HIVE right now, and possibly an equal amount of $LEO if everything with her had been normal.

But things are better now, and I have great hope for the future. :)

I do hope your matriarch is doing well and you are too. What you did for her is an inspiration. I am glad you are fiinding the time to post more. I missed your last post and will have to make a note to head over later and check it out. It sounds like you put some time into it, so I want to make sure I give it the appropriate amount of attention. Keep hammering friend.

Thanks, man. Yes, she's doing much better, and for now we're keeping the drug addicts in my family out of her purse, but it takes constant vigilance.

I told her to contact me if they show up, and had to rush over there as one of them wanted to mow the grass in her backyard for the princely sum of $200. Nah bro, I told him, "Take a hike" I do that for her for free.

These people are absolute parasites. Addiction makes them desparate. They know her mental abilities are diminishing and try to take advantage of her when I'm not around. They wouldn't have dared to try this stuff in her younger days! :)

That is good to hear she is doing better. Sorry you have to keep dealing with that BS with the addicts. They will get theirs eventually.