Sort:  

nice post.
resteem.!!

Nice post but there is a bit of a quirk in the system that when whales vote too much on one post, the rewards are blown up out disproportionately, staving out many other posts. I disagree that this is a positive for Steem. For that reason, I'm downvoting it but please don't take this as personal criticism or criticism of your post, it isn't that (and as you know I have supported many of your posts in the past and have every expectation of doing so in the future).

That's OK - I won't it is still more than I get normally recently!

Also I already do many times better than the average user even on a bad day so it would be silly to complain.

I think the first time I got flagged a while back I was upset because I felt like it was attacking the quality of the post (I am an irrational human after all!)

Anyway right now this is the least of our problems.

If we can grow the platform and get more money coming into the system this will not be a problem.

We need to make sure we bring in new users and retain those we have. There is no point in having a whole heap of something if it is worthless in the end.

I just wish people would realise that and stop fighting.

All the best and don't stress over it.

Now THIS is how you handle a flag. Bravo!

Seriously, you are an inspiration to many. I admire your persistence and quality, I may have said this before but you truly are the perfect example of the perfect Steemian.

Thanks mate you are too kind - the thing is if it wasn't for @smooth support I would probably not still be around.

I can't count how many times he supported me and upvoted my posts during some tough times sometimes when I was ready to quit.

He is one of the people who has helped to give me the reputation and position that I have - I respect his judgement and I know he his doing it for the right reasons.

We don't always agree but I think we both want what is best from the platform.

He is not perfect (none of us are) but he spends a hell of a lot of time supporting the platform and looking out for other users.

The thing is most people don't see it. If everyone showed the same concern there is no limit to what we could do.

The most important thing is to make Steem more valuable and we do that by spreading the message and promoting it.

What is the point in having 100,000 Steem or a million Steem if it is worthless?

Thank you for the words of support. It means a lot to know my efforts to build the community and improve the platform of the past year are recognized. So again, thanks!

You're always welcome mate people such as yourself have supported me through some tough times. Hopefully all the work and effort will pay off in the long term.

I also recognize that you've been building so much. Could I make one simple request though? Can you refrain from flagging @karenmckersie, since she very rarely even makes it to the trending page? The collateral damage for her was not worth the flag, I think. Sometimes it is good to weigh the consequences before acting. Would you not agree on this?

when I was ready to quit.

I had no idea. Was this in the very beginning? I remember thinking that once your writing began to flourish there would be no stopping you! I saw this happen.....

It was fairly early on where some of my best posts would only get a few cents.

@transisto flagged one of my posts too, and when i found out that my self-portrait "disturbed" him, imagine how I felt? The flag was one thing, but when i found out that he did not want my self-portrait on the trending page, that was a different kind of hurt....But then I just let it go. I really did. I didn't say anything because i realized I will never be able to change anyone's odd opinons. The sooner we get used to this idea, the better off we'll be.

I think anger in that case would be justified but you are also right. If someone acts like an arsehole the problem is theirs not yours.

I remember your first posts were mostly photographs. I also remember thinking that I wanted to read more personal stuff from you since you always wrote such lengthy responses to the secret writers...
You know, it kind of makes the idea of a Steemicide Hotline more of a viable idea.....

Another huge thing I've been thinking about and actively training my mind to do is this:
bond with those who honestly like what I do and think of ways to work within some kind of cooperative group. The idea of forming some kind of work groups appeals to me, as long as it's entirely voluntary and very small. @personz has a really great post about this. Working remotely in a group sounds like a decent idea..

If everyone showed the same concern there is no limit to what we could do.

Yes, I agree.

@thecryptofiend replying on your nested comment

He and a number of other whales (I won't list them because I am sure to leave someone out) - were the ones who supported my work when I was about to give up out of frustration.

This was when a handful of people would get their work upvoted and everybody else would get ignored.

surely there are so many whales and if we just try to look harder they ALL do want the best for the community. I wish I could repost your "The Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide revision post" which you wrote before cause I'm seeing witch-hunting starting again like dejavu ..

unfortunately it doesn't have a repost button check here

perhaps if you ever feel like rewriting it .. please add stop whining when your post is flagged specially when it's been explained why then maybe we could post it again that is one hell of a great post you've ever authored but I guess I'd just include it on every end of my post when I start reposting again.. resting now trying to recuperate but will soon get back at writing.

@thecryptofiend great post as always!

I second the motion on these ..

He is one of the people who has helped to give me the reputation and position that I have - I respect his judgement and I know he his doing it for the right reasons.

We don't always agree but I think we both want what is best from the platform.

He is not perfect (none of us are) but he spends a hell of a lot of time supporting the platform and looking out for other users.

I wanted to write it down on my first comment about it on the other post but I'd rather do it here.. at least you said it first. I don't know him well and we also didn't agree in many ways before but if there's one thing I'm sure of he's doing what he's doing for what he thinks could be good and may work for the community. It may work or not work as he intent to but he intends it to be for the good of the community.

If people think smooth is doing something wrong I suggest that they approach him in the chat or reason out with him because if there's one thing I experienced with that guy he's human, too as long as there's no name calling or bashing nor drama - he's very easy to talk to.

I don't know him well and we also didn't agree in many ways before but if there's one thing I'm sure of he's doing what he's doing for what he thinks could be good and may work for the community.

He and a number of other whales (I won't list them because I am sure to leave someone out) - were the ones who supported my work when I was about to give up out of frustration.

This was when a handful of people would get their work upvoted and everybody else would get ignored.

If people think smooth is doing something wrong I suggest that they approach him in the chat or reason out with him because if there's one thing I experienced with that guy he's human, too as long as there's no name calling or bashing nor drama - he's very easy to talk to.

Exactly and he is very approachable. I don't like the bitching and moaning behind people's backs - I can sympathise with people getting frustrated but talking to people can help resolve these things (not always but quite often it does).

If we all commit to expanding and promoting Steem/Steemit then this issue will become less and less of a problem.

the thing is if it wasn't for @smooth support I would probably not still be around.

I don't think you are the only one that shares that thought.

Users are putting way too much thought into flags, I personally haven't been flagged so I can't say much without being a bit unbiased about it, but it feels a lot like people forget all the good an account does/has done and focus on what they perceive as something negative they are doing now, without even giving a second thought to the accounts actions or past history.

It is human nature I fear - I reacted that way to my first flag from @transisto and gave him a verbal mauling and the main reason was because it hurt my feelings because he initially said that the photos were too similar.

That actually offended me more than the actual flag itself although I was too angry to admit it at the time.

It is funny the things we get angry about!

Woops, accidental tag/mention.

Wow, I'm also very impressed with this conversation! Sometimes we have to take a step back so we can make more forward in the future! @thecryptofiend you made an amazing work and I really liked your response to @smooth. Now I can go to sleep! I'm peaceful that finally, someone understands​ how this works!
Bravo indeed!

He really is! I knew that from the early days when he would provide the best damned answers to people's problems on my Secret Writer posts. He was a jewel back then and is still today.
He's an ambassador. If I was Ned or Dan, I'd make him a VIP badge!

I have not yet built a clear own opinion how to see these kind of flags in case of "over rewarded" articles. From a pure rational point of view they may be justified. On the other hand one should not underestimate the psychological effect on steemians if suddenly they get flagged (or at least feel the "threat" to get flagged). I remember the case of @karenmckersie: she was quite shocked after receiving a flag. Again my personal opinion is that indeed this special article was overrated, but on the other side if one considers it from her point of view to have written many articles which brought only very few money even if she invested much time (we could also say "underrated articles"), then it can be very frustrating if the only well paid article finally gets flagged and most of the reward is lost ...
Therefore I appreciate it even more that you explain so thoroughly why you did flag this article of @thecryptofiend. I think it is much more easy to accept and understand a flag if it is explained in such a nice and friendly way. That helps a lot against the first (and very human) impulse to feel personally attacked.

Well, there is at least one man who has not lost faith in Apple and even bought more and more stakes in 2016, when everyone was saying Apple was on the way down, and this man now stands corrected and his name is: Warren Buffett. https://www.theguardian.com/business/2017/feb/25/warren-buffett-berkshire-hathaway-wall-street-apple-annual-letter

Markets swing up and down so I wouldn't be too concerned with what people like Buffet do. I am looking at what happens long term.

I find Buffet's purchase to be quite interesting. He is in it for the VERY long term, and tends to invest more in the qualitative side of things these days. I've recently written about this:
https://steemit.com/money/@thefinanceguy/warren-buffet-bets-big-on-apple-and-airlines
https://steemit.com/money/@thefinanceguy/shares-of-apple-close-at-all-time-high-price

Good post though, Jobs and his presentations are irreplaceable.

Yes he tends to bet against convention and be right. I think he may well suspect that Apple will go back to their old ways eventually. Thanks for the link will give it a read when I have a moment. Are you on Twitter BTW - can't remember if I'm following you there or not?

I was going to mention this.

The problem I have with apple is the same problem I've had with Apple for the last 15 years at least. Too restrictive and too much money for what you get.

The iPhone is marginally more user friendly than Android but unless you can hack it, you are restricted to what their app store provides. And they don't like emulators or distributed computing or lots of other stuff. And Android offers so much more variety.

Their laptops are certainly nice. Rock solid OS (but you can get that with Linux or even Windows nowadays), decent power, etc. But they are overpriced. You can get an equivalent Dell or other PC brand for less money. Again, arguably the OS X UI is marginally more user friendly than everything else but that and being hung up on the aluminum unibody are about the only reasons to go with Apple. Oh, and since they have started basically epoxying everything in place, even minor repairs or upgrades are difficult or impossible.

This is all even more true with the Mac Pro line. Ok, maybe the cylinders are efficient coolers and take up less space but for me, I'd rather pick my own case and build my own machine and customize it how I want...for a lot less money.

I can't speak for the latest "innovations" (the touchbar and earpod thingies) because i haven't tried them. But even if I tried them and loved them they wouldn't be enough to overcome the reasons i don't like Apple products.

Great points. In fact your points about the Mac Pro are exactly why I wouldn't buy one either - the old Mac Pro was a lot easier to customise.

I never bought into the hype. My Dell is 3 years old and still rocking.

Linux software on Clevo chassis here. :)

...and made out of plastic? :)

Aluminium alloy and carbon fiber, as a matter of fact :)
(XPS 13)

Lol you are immune to it - actually Dells are pretty good these days. I think that is also part of the problem the general standard of everything is more than good enough.

Once upon the time, I had a Dell notebook!

I wasn't responsible for my things, I got high and left the notebook on the roof of my car. So, it has been through a wild ride for few kilometers and fell of the car roof. I noticed it and screamed: "Laptop!", pushed the brakes and picked it up from the asphalt. Not a scratch! Worked fine as before! Unbelievable! And next four years! Still works, but I keep it only because of all great things we've been through together. My wife said that she will make a frame for it, just like it was a piece of art!

Dell rocks!

I don't think so, Apple is as good as they always were - which is they are one of the top technology companies. They had a wonder hit with iPhone - that product truly changed the industry. Apart from that, they are just another technology company, and have their ups and downs. You can't expect every company to produce a revolutionary product every time. I'm sorry to point this out, but this whole "life enhancement company" is just overblown hyperbole the master marketer that was Steve Jobs would have you believe. Sure, their marketing isn't as good anymore - and that's made all the difference for perception. Same applies for AirPods - it's not the first wireless earphone, and still isn't the best. In fact, competitors have had the same capability for months/years but offer far superior sound quality.

Let's also give credit where it's due - Samsung's continuously incredible technological innovation. What was it - 75% components from the original iPhone was manufactured by Samsung's various divisions? Today, Samsung makes the best displays, has the best semiconductor fabrication facilities, the best NAND, etc. etc. LG is a close second. ARM deserves a lot of credit also.

Today, I see Apple having a pretty good product stack. iPhone 7 Plus is one of the best smartphones on the market, the iPads are arguably the best casual-use tablets.

If there's one area Apple has fallen behind, it's in the PC market. The new Macbook Pro is still good but there's just fierce competition and some pretty stunning products today to which Apple has no response. Stuff like the HP Spectre 13, Spectre 360, Dell XPS 13/15, Thinkpad X1 Yoga, Surface Studio, Surface Pro, Razer Blade etc. are all innovative products that make Macbooks and iMacs look utterly antiquated. The Mac Pro is pretty much the butt of all jokes at this point - hasn't been updated in 5 years. Granted, they still work and get the job done very well, and macOS is still very attractive to the developer community, many of whom are here. To me, however, the competition offers much more efficient products that tangibly increase productivity on a daily basis.

There's another area Apple has no answer to is AR (Microsoft HoloLens) or VR (Oculus Rift, HTC Vive, and Windows 10 Holographic which will soon bring headsets from Dell, HP etc). This is a tough one, macOS is still poor for artists, engineering and gaming - there's still no Vulkan support and might never be. It would have to be iOS where they can leverage a broad marketshare to get developers to adopt Metal. However, the iOS GPUs are nowhere as powerful as what's required for VR today, so it'll be some years off.

There's talk of self-driving cars and the like in the future. Let's see where that goes.

Great answers!

I don't think so, Apple is as good as they always were - which is they are one of the top technology companies. They had a wonder hit with iPhone - that product truly changed the industry.

I don't thing we are in disagreement on this. I think it is the perception that has changed and that is due to a shift in emphasis.

I'm sorry to point this out, but this whole "life enhancement company" is just overblown hyperbole the master marketer that was Steve Jobs would have you believe. Sure, their marketing isn't as good anymore - and that's made all the difference for perception.

Possibly but I think they are missing out by not trying to at least replicate some of the things he used to do. The way the Airpods were marketed is a great example of where they are going wrong.

If there's one area Apple has fallen behind, it's in the PC market.

Definitely and also the Pro apps. They killed Aperture for example.

There's another area Apple has no answer to is AR (Microsoft HoloLens) or VR (Oculus Rift,

I suspect they are waiting for the technology to mature right now.

There's talk of self-driving cars and the like in the future. Let's see where that goes.

Yes that will be interesting. There's also the persistent rumour that they are going to go in to movie and tv production (like Netflix).

I was an OS-9 user before DOS. Then came Windows, tinkered with Linux and switched to Apple after I bought an iPad. I bought a Mac Mini. When I wanted a new laptop, I bought a MacBook Air. This was right after Cook took over. Jobs was Apple. They went through this before, and struggled when they disowned him. Apple wasn't just a company or computer to him. I understand that. I've purchased quite a few computers in my life, many of which I've purchased the parts and assembled myself.

Cook is a business person. Apple is just a brand to him. One of the things that really impressed me about the Macs was the fully journalled filesystem. Windows still doesn't have that for the desktop. However, they messed with it, and I'm about to switch back to my wintel box. The task switcher has become bogged down, so they must be having problems with interrupt processing. I get beachballed to death now. I'm no computer neophyte, and I don't see it getting any better for Apple. I tried straightening things out with them over problems I had ordering the laptop. I even got a call back from Cook's office the next day after emailing him. It was a disaster. I still love the laptop, but the whole experience now reminds me of Windows 98.

I don't see the same type of innovation anymore. I think both Apple and Microsoft are going to have some very rough times ahead. I think we're going to see some bottom up growth, once people start realizing that Linux has pretty much matured into a usable OS. Microsoft lost the phone wars. Giving away Windows 10 didn't do what they hoped. I went back to win7. With Linux now getting some games from Steam, as well as the Steam box, there's hope. Android has helped a bit, too. Microsoft has even announced that they are going to implement a bash shell. If it weren't for applications like Ableton Live, which isn't available for Linux, and likely runs horribly in a virtual machine, I'd ditch both OS X and Windows permanently. Once the Chinese take over the computer market, I expect full native drivers to be the standard.

Sadly I think I would agree with much of what you say. The dreaded beachball of death issue plagues me on Mac too!

I don't have similar issues on Windows 10 - I think this indicates perhaps a shift away from the important user experience issues.

I think you have it spot on when you say Cook is a business man whereas Jobs basically was a physical embodiment of Apple.

The things is they can easily reverse it if they just paid attention to the right things but I suppose they don't see what the issue is.

I too am very tempted to go to Linux - once I can get my favourite apps like Photoshop on it then I think I will try moving over.

Stop: 00:05:06.293 A interesting read, You're always making the posts nice and with the most important points, no elaborate winding themes. Interesting topic, how about we use the findings to better the marketing here :) add in some flavor :)

Thanks we are trying to do that:)

downvotes :D

I recently bought a new mac book pro (the one with the in-my-opinion-useless touch bar) and I compared it with the previous one I have bought in 2012. The new computer is slightly more powerful, but at the end, it is hard to me to see anything amazing with it, in particular when you compare and account for the four years of development. I like the mac environment, but this may actually be the last mac I will buy ... Four years and almost nothing new (I don't care at all about the touch bar)...

Thanks for sharing your experience. That is interesting. In line with what you are saying I have also noticed that I now upgrade my computers much less frequently than I used to.

Also as regards the bar I have also heard that some people have had problems with it using too much power.

I can only agree with this. The battery of this new computer lasts as much as ... the one of my four-years-old macbook pro for a similar usage.

If Apple could come up with a new battery technology or at least invest in one that does that could be a major selling point.

I would also be happy if they increase the storage space. For instance, using both SSD (for everyday-life stuff) and HDD (for long-term or data storage) on a single machine would be a great addition. This would prevent me from carrying either a hard drive with me or connecting to distant machines and suffering with communication.

They have done that on the Imacs - I think the storage would be useful for me too.

I have a special relation to Apple - answer is yes! Upvoted from a minnow! Great write-up @thecryptofiend

Thanks so much mate:)

I say thanks for having great people here like you @thecryptofiend

You are too kind:)

The only thing I like about Apple products is their craftsmanship. Other than that, honestly there's not much to get excited about their products. Apple products have become a status symbol now.
What apple does is simply sell refreshed overpriced garbage by making the market think that it is the innovator, while suing any and everyone who tried to compete with them. Apple defines corporate greed!

I think there are a lot of people who will share your point of view:)

Very good article.....this is 10 times more in depth to a piece I did when first jumping on steemit discussing how Apple was losing it's ability to shift/shape social trends.

The airpods release was the catalyst to that - I agree with your statements on the presentation. I also think they approached it poorly by forcing it on buyers of the next gen phone when they should have made it optional on then completely rid the headphone jack on the following gen. as they are a human generation early.

My opinion, but people 50+ like their wired headphones and headphone jack, generations younger will go for the change, especially millenials

Great points.

My opinion, but people 50+ like their wired headphones and headphone jack, generations younger will go for the change, especially millenials

Yes I think you are right. This is classic future thinking in the same way when Apple killed the floppy disk and the optical drive. It is hard for anyone over 25 to get it!

Oh man! I really hope Apple or Tim Cook reads this post :D

You have perfectly laid out some of my own concerns about the company recently. You are right in mentioning that Steve Jobs WAS Apple.

His absence is being greatly felt in everything they are doing now. For me personally, the design is still very good. The one MAJOR thing to change is their product strategy. They are doing too much! Just like before Steve's return to Apple. So many iPads, Macbooks, iMacs, and now it is rumoured that there will be 3 iPhones this year. Remember when it was just ONE iPhone?

I really hope they get their act together. Awesome post man :)

The one MAJOR thing to change is their product strategy. They are doing too much! Just like before Steve's return to Apple. So many iPads, Macbooks, iMacs, and now it is rumoured that there will be 3 iPhones this year. Remember when it was just ONE iPhone?

Very good point and I hadn't considered that! You are right, the simplicity has gone. Again I think this goes back to the shift to being just a regular technology company.

I think Apple lost its way when it decided to operate its digital environment as a walled garden, making it difficult to develop software without jumping through Apple's hoops.

They've always been pretty closed though haven't they?

I think they just got complacent. A little bit of a struggle might be necessary to remind them of what got them to where they are now.

I apologize, I really, really do, but isn't it "its"? :p

Damn you are correct mate! Will see if I can change it I never normally make that mistake:)

Haha.

Anyway, good post. Read the whole thing. And I am inclined to agree. Apple phones are still my favorite phones, I own a 5S and will probably buy a 5SE in the near future, but it's a fact that Apple hasn't been innovating much as of late.

I also dislike the fact that the new flagship models are so damn big. I had the iPhone 6 as my work phone for a month, but I just had to go back to my 5S. The 6 was just so clunky to handle, and iPhones are the phones that I never had that problem with in the past.

True and also when they do innovate there is no Steve Jobs to put it out in the way that only he seemed to do.

Yes the "Attack of the 50 foot Phones" is another problem! It is hard to fit them in small pockets.

Apple commercials used to show smart people living a better life through beautifully designed products.

Then, it started dumbing down its user base.

And now, the products, quality, usability, inventiveness and especially their advertisements have gone down the tube.

Yes. The adverts are still quite artistic but they seem to be focused more on the tech side of things!

These were my favorite mac commercials:

Yes that was a decade ago:)

What? I thought Vista, Microsoft's best OS ever, just came out! :)

Lol yes. Time just moves faster and faster!