You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Powerful Magic of Words and How to Harness it for Steemit

in #writing7 years ago

LOL! If I got 0.50 an article I would be thrilled! Any advice for people who just can't do the chatrooms? I have tried, it is too overwhelming for me, and I keep seeing the advice that I HAVE to network in the chat rooms to grow. I mean, literally, it made me cry to just sit and try to figure out what was going on, I have a very low tolerance to excessive data input and all the stuff onscreen even when no one is talking is almost as bad as a mall at Christmas... which I have not done in over a decade now...
I am enjoying my time here, but I do not seem to be doing very well. I have over 2000 posts, nearly all original, and I think I have 3 that made over $1. The ones where I really open up about who I am and the "issues" I face get no attention, and that is making it harder and harder for me to open up. If I am not helping anyone, why air MY dirty laundry?
Sorry, this is becoming a ramble... Thanks for the insights!

Sort:  

Input overload! I get you! I think you have to just keep at it. Stay active in the comments. (I've seen your comments a quite a bit)

It does seem hard when you write and no one sees and then it gets harder to write. But he did the same thing just on other platforms. At least here you can get active in comments. If you can get on chats it comes faster I suppose, but if you can get in a lot of comments it will still come. And if you can't get on steemit very often but keep getting in the comments when you do, it can still come. It's all just a matter of time, if you don't quit.

THANK YOU for the encouragement! If I had a "strategy" comments and contests would be it... I finally caught my "vision" for the potential here, I really want to try to manifest that so I try to be persistent. A few kind words makes it easier, thanks!

You're welcome. Trying to encourage myself in the process lol. I can't get on steemit often enough to make things go any faster for myself, and I have the input overload too on discord so i feel ya. I happen to be off today, otherwise we wouldn't even be having this conversation right now, and I may have missed your comment altogether.

:) And of course we meet on a day I am swearing off voting. I have not had a 100% vote in... maybe since I joined. It is a silly goal, but I am trying to teach myself "voting control" but here is a tip! that is worth twice my full vote anyway! A pleasure to meet you, I will try to watch for you in the future. I am a stay at home wife, I often get all day to play on here... maybe not a good thing...? lol!

You can distribute a lot more rewards around if you don't keep your voting rate so high. You don't get the satisfaction of seeing a large amount drop on one person, but you can distribute a lot in total. You only lose 2% of your remaining voting power with every vote. So the curve flattens out pretty quick and you can fling votes and rewards all over the place.

Thank you! I just got my slider, still learning how to run it. A little drunk with steem power perhaps...? lol!

Enjoy your slider! At least the hangover from using steem power doesn't feel bad! ; )

Thanks for the tip, kind of you :)

The voting thing is not like FB likes for sure. I think that's where the slider comes in to play, in the future. You have to be aware of your voting power if you want to give any value to someone.

I think that's were the long game comes in to play. When you have built up enough steem power to have the slider, AND have enough to where a smaller percentage of your vote actually gives someone value, then you can spread more around. But alas, it's hurry up and wait! If you can get on any time, that's and advantage for you if you plan for it. You got this.

I love moments when people chatting here. Comments are keep coming. Does steem migrate to chat? It's hard for me to find someone who not only copy paste something or make generic comments.

I don't spend much time in the chat rooms either @fishyculture. And while I appreciate the advice given by others, I think ultimately we have to find our own way on Steemit. I am still learning, of course, and really don't give much advice since I too don't make that many SBD's.

For me, it's genuine interactions. I love seeing photos of places across the globe. I love hearing about other cultures through food, stories, etc. I tried to post once a day, but alas I cannot. I want my posts to have some substance because that is what I want from others.

Take care......and know that you aren't alone.

Thank you very much! I am excited about what COULD be done here, I just have to figure out how to do it... trying to get there, but meanwhile all encouraging words are taken STRAIGHT to heart!

The important thing is you are still here and still trying. I can't guarantee you'll one day be a superstar on Steemit, but since you started in August and are still working at it, you are doing at least one thing correct. I can't comment on "success through chat rooms", I avoid them like the plague myself, but if I could offer one suggestion as a small step toward success, it would be to find a community you like and join. I belong to a couple that provide support and an increased opportunity for rewards. Please check out the @qurator and @make-a-whale communities. I think you'll be glad you did.

Thank you, I will check those out. I have tried to join a couple, "Peace, Abundance, Liberty" sounded right up my alley, but I have never "hung in there" long enough to actually have a conversation. I thought about holding a contest, give a SD to anyone who could spot me in a chat room long enough to actually speak to me... lol!

I have never been in the chats either, I thought this was a blogging platform! I am following you @fishyculture Its good to find someone here with similar thoughts. Hope you have a good day!

P.S. You don't HAVE to do anything here this is steemit not the TSA for crying out loud, don't listen the people saying this. Chat is for developers and people looking to conspire to get more for their vests. If you believe you writing is more valuable than the time it takes to do this then it is, we are the deciders of value here after all ;)