What Kind Of Dpolls Do You Like?

in #dpoll5 years ago

What Kind Of Dpolls Do You Like?


One of the reasons I like dpoll is because of the engagement that happens on my posts. In many cases, a dpoll will far exceed in engagement that of most any other type of post I might publish.

I think that's mostly because it's easy to engage with ready made choices, but I also think the idea behind the dpoll is to get what people are thinking, anyway, rather than telling them what you think like in a blog (though I tend to get my two cents in with a dpoll, too).

(feedback-3709752_1280.jpg

I'm aware, though, that not everyone likes dpolls. I suppose the length of the post may have something to do with, but I believe the type of dpoll and its tone have something to do with it, too. There have been attempts to gauge what people think about important STEEM matters that have been either ignored or downplayed as not serious enough because of the possible options.

I do have to say that in some cases, it would be nice to have different options, but the beauty of dpoll is, the creator is the one who decides what the choices will be. The reader can choose to participate or not based on the responses available.

I think it would be more than appropriate for Steemit Inc., or a witness, or some prominent community leader to use dpoll to see what the rest of us think. I know it's been done in the past. I would hope it would be something that could be ongoing.

So, what say you? What kind of dpolls do you most often like to participate in? Please choose as many as you actually like, and feel free to comment on your choice(s).


  • Serious dpolls about STEEM related topics

  • Humorous dpolls about STEEM related topics

  • Anything non-STEEM related, serious or not

  • I like all kinds of dpolls, but I want them serious and scientific

  • I like all kinds of dpolls, but I don't really care about their tone

  • Humorous dpolls are my favorites

  • I like vague dpolls. The more ambiguous, the better

  • Gaming or game related dpolls

  • Philosophical dpolls

  • I like dpolls that refer to things we all deal with in everyday life

  • Sports dpolls

  • I like dpoll contests. Show me the money!

  • Dpolls about dpoll

  • Other (please elaborate)

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • Serious dpolls about STEEM related topics
  • I like dpoll contests. Show me the money!

Hey, @jeffjagoe.

Serious STEEM related dpolls seem to be surging here. :) I'll know in a few minutes if it catches up to all dpolls regardless of tone, though. I've been going through the replies so I don't know the results so far. Kind of fun to look at it comment by comment.

I've noticed there's been a lot of dpoll contests in the recent past. I haven't noticed as many, but there seems to be a general downturn in the number of dpolls happening now, too.

Voted for

  • Other (please elaborate)

I like every type of dpoll. I like variety in life and so in the Steem blockchain.

Hey, @akdx.

I think a lot of people have gone that way, and probably for the same reason you cite. Variety, healthy discussions, the ability to have a safe haven to offer up opinions and ideas. All good, for life and the chain.

Yes. This is the beauty of this platform.

Voted for

  • I like all kinds of dpolls, but I don't really care about their tone
  • I like dpoll contests. Show me the money!

Hey, @diverse.

re: all kinds of dpolls, regardless of tone

Yeah, I think that's becoming the consensus here, and I think it's for the best. As long as most of us are getting the types of dpolls and accompanying tone we desire, I think that's good. We don't all like the same things, so there really needs to be various kinds of dpolls to choose from.

And dpoll contests seem to be popular, too. :)

Voted for

  • I like all kinds of dpolls, but I don't really care about their tone

I think dpoll is fantastic. I try to vote lots of different polls to help with the numbers. We use dpoll for our contest @phctop3 and it gets us some excellent results. I think it would be great to push the awareness of dpoll to more steemians because they do a great job and it is reliable. Thanks for the post.

Gaz

Hey, @phctop3.

I'm glad you've been able to find a use case beyond the normal dpoll. Contests are one of the best ways, when done right, so good on you for that.

Do you think it's just awareness? I mean, people should know it exists. Maybe it's coming up with the topic and the answers? I find all of that fun, but it might not be that way for others, I guess. I think it makes it easier for people to engage with if things are pretty ready made, and the choices are actually on topic and covering the bases. I always need other as an option, though. :)

Agreed. Some people are looking for things to be organised for them and straightforward, others don't mind so much. That's definitely one of the challenges with our contest. It's fairly complex and were trying to make it as simple as possible. That's definitely a bonus of using the dpoll. So easy and clear.

Gaz

Voted for

  • Serious dpolls about STEEM related topics
  • Humorous dpolls about STEEM related topics
  • Anything non-STEEM related, serious or not
  • I like dpolls that refer to things we all deal with in everyday life
  • I like dpoll contests. Show me the money!

I post dPolls 4-6 times a week. They are easy to do, get great engagement, have fairly good rewards and give me interesting answers and help when I need an answer for a question.

Polling is very popular on Social Media in general and I am glad we have it on STEEM. It's a good place for newcomers to start. All thumbs up for dPoll :)

Hey, @bxlphabet.

I agree with you on all points. I'd do more dpolls myself, but I'd probably have to sit down and come up with topics ahead of time. As it is, though, I'm not going to touch 4-6 a week. Maybe before I went back to work.

I really liked Musing. I guess it's still around but anyway, dpoll seems to have more going for it now so I like checking it out at least a couple of times a week and participating in as many as I can, which is probably not as much as I would like. I've noticed a downturn in the number of them since the hardfork, though. Hopefully, they will revive and I won't go through a week's worth of dpolls in the same amount of time it used to take to go through a day or two.

Voted for

  • I like all kinds of dpolls, but I want them serious and scientific
  • I like vague dpolls. The more ambiguous, the better

Hey, @erica005.

Now, there's a combination I haven't seen a lot of yet—serious, scientific and ambiguous. :) My guess is, those work both sides of the brain—the analytical and the creative. I like it. :)

Voted for

  • Serious dpolls about STEEM related topics
  • Anything non-STEEM related, serious or not
  • Gaming or game related dpolls
  • Philosophical dpolls
  • I like dpoll contests. Show me the money!
  • Dpolls about dpoll

Hey, @d-zero.

Okay. I get the feeling you like all kinds of dpolls. :)

Which is good, since there does tend to be a variety of them.

Any kind of dpoll you might like to see more of?

Voted for

  • Serious dpolls about STEEM related topics
  • Humorous dpolls about STEEM related topics
  • I like dpolls that refer to things we all deal with in everyday life
  • Dpolls about dpoll

Hey, @emrebeyler.

STEEM, life and dpoll. Sounds about right. :)

It is good to be able to laugh about what goes on here, as well as take the time to get serious. You kind of need both to really get anywhere. I don't think any of us what to be casual when it comes to safeguarding our stakes, or how to improve the platform, but there's certainly enough material for humor to last for at least months, I would think, if people choose to do them. :)

Voted for

  • Serious dpolls about STEEM related topics
  • I like all kinds of dpolls, but I want them serious and scientific
  • Gaming or game related dpolls
  • Philosophical dpolls
  • I like dpoll contests. Show me the money!
  • Dpolls about dpoll

Hey, @vimukthi.

Another one for dpolls about dpolls! Yes, I totally skipped over the others. :)

So, your the second one that likes their dpolls serious and scientific, as opposed to humorous, lighthearted, or even shabbily thought out. I guess I'm not so much for the ones that really don't make so much sense to me, or don't seem to get their own point. There needs to be some thought put into it for sure.

As for serious STEEM related dpolls, there's at least two of you so far. :)

Voted for

  • I like dpolls that refer to things we all deal with in everyday life
  • Dpolls about dpoll

Hey, @literalypotato.

Aha! Someone who actually likes this dpoll about dpoll! Woohoo!

The dpolls that refer to everyday life are certainly among the easiest to participate in, I think, and show the common ground and perhaps diversity there is to be had here. It's good to have communal experiences like that.

Voted for

  • I like all kinds of dpolls, but I want them serious and scientific

Hey, @fredkese.

I think you're the first to say you want serious and scientific dpolls, regardless of what they're about. Interesting. Would you say dpolls should be used for data gathering, consensus building, etc., only, or what would be the reason for serious and scientific?

So the data can be used for something beneficial, and would also make dpoll appealing to serious minded institutions

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • Serious dpolls about STEEM related topics
  • Humorous dpolls are my favorites
  • Philosophical dpolls
  • I like dpolls that refer to things we all deal with in everyday life

Hey, @quotes-haven.

I'm kind of surprised I haven't seen more people liking humorous dpolls, but I'm not quite half way through yet. I think you're the first person to outright say you like serious STEEM related dpolls, though. :)

I kind of think you need to have it all, though, including STEEM, just to have an honest discussion about the topics making their way around the blockchain.

Hi Glen,

I didn't pick humorous dpolls because I wasn't quite sure what they are. 😊 I feel that if it is going to be a dpoll, then it should be beneficial or of use to the platform, or at least something worth my spending time on, something that interests me.

Anyhow, that is just my myopic take on it. 😊

Voted for

  • I like all kinds of dpolls, but I don't really care about their tone

I prefer pools that are not Steem related.

Hey, @thomasthewolf.

I think the answer you chose seems to be where people are going with this, and I think that's good. Non-Steem related dpolls have also been mentioned, too, so very interesting, considering the few dpolls I've done so, many have been STEEM related. :)

Voted for

  • I like all kinds of dpolls, but I don't really care about their tone

Hey, @gamemods.

I think that could become the consensus here, which I believe to be about the healthiest way to go about it.

Voted for

  • Anything non-STEEM related, serious or not
  • I like all kinds of dpolls, but I don't really care about their tone
  • Philosophical dpolls
  • I like dpolls that refer to things we all deal with in everyday life
  • I like dpoll contests. Show me the money!

Hey, @abbak7.

See, I think a lot of people don't really care if their serious or not. It's okay to have fun with polls, too, right?

I think the main idea is, the dpoll should entice us to participate in it. However, it manages to do that, I think is pretty much fair game. There may be some topics and ways of conducting a dpoll that might not sit well or be in good taste, but then people still have the choice to participate in them or not.

Voted for

  • Serious dpolls about STEEM related topics
  • Anything non-STEEM related, serious or not
  • Philosophical dpolls
  • I like dpolls that refer to things we all deal with in everyday life

Hey, @bluerobo.

So, STEEM related, but serious, otherwise, any topic, any tone.

Now, just from the comments I've seen you leave around STEEM, I would think you wouldn't mind some non-serious STEEM dpolls, too. :) Or am I missing the mark with that assessment?

You are welcome to do a funny post. I would like to see more of them.
We had a few silly polls but the format has not been suitable to funny stuff as of now.
Feel free to prove me wrong :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, formatting as a whole could improve, just like most of the dApps on STEEM. It would be nice to more easily incorporate the markdown we use on Steemit, along with an easier way to get images working.

Funny is pretty subjective. The humor has to hit a broad spectrum of tastes, and that's hard to do. I suppose niche humor polls could work. :)

I know I don't laugh at 75% of the stuff other people do, but then I will find something rip snorting hilarious that others cringe about, or don't want to be around me when I do. :)

Voted for

  • I like all kinds of dpolls, but I don't really care about their tone
  • Gaming or game related dpolls
  • I like dpoll contests. Show me the money!

Hey, @maxer27.

All kinds of dpolls seems to be pulling away. First mention of gaming or game related dpolls I've seen (still working through the answers, though), but you're not the only one who likes contests! I would expect that to move up a bit, too.

Voted for

  • I like all kinds of dpolls, but I don't really care about their tone

Hey, @xplosive.

Seems to be the prevailing thought. I don't know if being serious all the time is a good thing, either, so some variety at least in tone is good.

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Hey, @dpoll.curation.

Thank you for the upvote. Very much appreciated.

Voted for

  • I like all kinds of dpolls, but I don't really care about their tone
  • Humorous dpolls are my favorites
  • Philosophical dpolls
  • I like dpolls that refer to things we all deal with in everyday life
  • Dpolls about dpoll

Hey, @hatoto.

Thanks for the response.

Looks like you just put all kinds of dpolls regardless of tone into the lead. :) I wasn't expecting their to be a four way tie (until you voted) at the top, but I'm not surprised, since it just tends to prove the diversity of thought that exists here.