I'll Take Anniversaries for $1000, Alex

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This legendary writer, artist and sometimes funny man signed up on this day,
two years ago.

Who is @NoNamesLeftToUse?

Correct!

Applause.jpeg

Thank you.

Thank you.

It's so nice I'll have to say it thrice.

Thank you.

Normally I'll try my best to hide on "special" days.  I've trained most people in my life to not worry about making a fuss over me and they do a fine job of it.  I'm sure once the day comes where my life decides to leave my body, those closest to me will simply cover me with a thin layer of plastic wrap and throw me in the nearest hole they can find.  "He would have wanted it this way," they'll say.

Cheap bastards.

How did I find this place?

I didn't.  It found me.

I wasn't looking for anything other than a lighter as I stepped outside to enjoy a breath of fresh air to ruin with a cigarette.

Inside, Youtube was chugging along, spitting out what they think I'd like to see next with their autoplay feature.

Once back indoors, feeling not so refreshed, I could hear talking.  A random vlog hosted by someone I hadn't heard of.  Two guys in a car, talking about stuff I didn't care about.  Then one mentioned Steemit, briefly described the basics to his friend who seemed somewhat interested.  I heard the words, "Link in the description," then clicked before they could finish rambling on about whatever else they had to say that day.

Hitting the signup button was easy.

After that, I had no clue what I was doing.

And I've been winging it ever since!

The only writing I'd ever been paid for were the schedules and business bullshit letters I had perfected as a professional manager of things in a previous life.

I had a quick look around the place, noticed people introduce themselves, so I quickly wrote up one hell of a failure of an unformatted introductory offer into my life.

I started out writing boring essays.  That lasted about a week, nobody gave a shit, which was fair because I wasn't being myself nor was I having fun; I was trying to fit in.

Posting daily for twenty days or so, I probably earned about eighteen cents.

Good times!

Were on the horizon.

I switched over to being a goof and stuck to the arts and entertainment aspects of blogging ever since.  That's where I was finding success, it felt natural, I was having fun, so that's where I stayed.

These days, people can see my posts from a mile away.  They know who's coming.  Those images I produce stand out and there are hundreds of them.  Most of the pride and joy I've accumulated since 9/20/2016 stems from the art I produce and share here for your viewing pleasure.

Back in 2014 when people were laughing at this dreamer known as me saying, "I'm going to make some money as an independent digital artist," there weren't many avenues for someone like me to explore.  Every outlet I looked into was a hassle and there wasn't much money to be made taking those routes.

It didn't take me long to realize Steemit's potential and I started to see it a little bit differently than many others.  Some saw a basic forum where people could get paid to write; I saw a massive digital park full of buskers where everyone got their hustle on and placed a virtual hat on the ground to collect digital coins.  That's when I realized this place was revolutionary; genius.

Today, an artist revealed his latest offering to the world, free of charge.  A patron of the arts was given a token of appreciation for the appreciation.  The artist has done the exact opposite of selling out.
A busker sits on the street and strums his guitar while throwing change in everyone's hat.  He goes home with a full stomach.
This changes everything.  We've revolutionized the arts and entertainment industry.

A bit of street smarts and some business sense.

The winning combination.

I do feel like a winner and I will toot my own horn when the time is right, especially when it can benefit others.  One cannot build confidence if they refuse to believe in themselves first and if I can do this, I firmly believe anyone can.

You damn right I'm one of the first successful fully digitized artist/entertainers on this planet.

From digital art to digital currency.  Even these words were simple ones and zeros at some point between here and there and a few times over.  People come and go, someone bigger and better will come along and that's all good.  I'll still forever be damn proud of what I've accomplished here and remain loyal to the place that helped make it all a thing, no matter what happens.  I couldn't have done this, whatever it is, anywhere else; it wouldn't have been the same.  If I could go back to two years ago to see myself signing up to this experiment, I'd simply pat myself on the back and say, "You got this, bud."

So with that,

thanks again.

I've been saying that a lot lately; I mean it.

Without all of those virtual seats you all park your asses in on a regular basis, there would be no stage for me to perform on, so thanks for coming; then and now.

Have a nice day.

linebreak1
Credits:
All art and images seen here were produced digitally, by me.
NoNamesLeftToUse Outro.png
TL;DR = I'm two years old today so I wrote a corny victory speech!"

© 2018 @NoNamesLeftToUse.  All rights reserved.

Sort:  

My 2 year anniversary is next month. I haven't done quite as well as you have, but I definitely know the trials and tribulations of trying to make a name for yourself.

It's good to see you posting again.

Building a brand always takes time. Look at Tesla. Nothing but struggles, even to this day, but still seen as a success story.

I did take a break that lasted a little longer than I had initially planned but looking back, I needed that, terribly. It's nice to see you again!

Shit! I was hoping I'd see this post right when it came out, damn it, I lost track of the day! Hectic doesn't even describe my household right now, but things are settling down in their area of NC so it looks like they'll be heading out on Sunday.

Two years- crazy! Two months from now will mark the first time I saw this man lying down in a psychedelic array of green and orange flames. I was a super excited newbie and it drew me like a gnat to a bugzapper...err, maybe that's not the best analogy haha! I never stopped looking forward to seeing your distinctive art in my feed and I can safely say after this long that I never will. You rock man, love ya!

Thanks a lot for everything you've done for me, @dreemit. You've always been there to help lift my spirits when I need that kind of thing and that's just fucking awesome.

I should try that This Man stuff again, twas fun!

:0)

You definitely should! I'm sure I'm not the only one who'd love to see the return of that series (and that guy too;)

You've made this place fun, especially your post titles. Happy anniversary man, do find yourself a cold beer.

I make this fun? You know what? I've heard that somewhere before! I'm just having my own fun though and I'm glad people enjoy it, and those titles.

Thanks! Maybe I will have a beer, but I doubt it, because this coffee is tasting fine.

Congratulations my friend. I've truly enjoyed following you for the time I've known you. You have a unique style of writing that I appreciate and remember your kindness to me when I was scammed. Go out and celebrate as it is well earned. Blessings and best wishes

You weren't the first I helped and won't be the last. I tend to do those things quietly though, on a whim. It's more fun that way, feels better. It was my pleasure. Thanks for everything and enjoying what I do here.

Congratulations and keep them coming. Had my 2nd year in july.. its gone so fast :)

Thanks! Fast and slow for me. I have no clue how I managed to create so much in such a short period of time, yet I know damn well how many individual hours I put into this madness.

Your doing great whereas in fading into the back ground. Nothing new there lol :)

That trying to fit in when you first join, its cringey to look at but we all did it! My first month or two were terrible! I am quite proud now though as indeed we should all be!

I was the same to0, just trying to fit in, and I still don't. I am like a bad smell though that never goes away. It has been a great journey since I stopped been so serious.
Nice post great comment :D

Hehe, carry on doing your thing and talking to people is absolutely the best way

cheers mr @meesterboom :D your a legend

I'm just a man with an exceptionally thick penis :OD

I thought that was a banana.

Dammit, it is. Well that's me royally goosed then!

It's like we all start out running before we even learn how to walk. And you're right; anyone who has anything to show for this effort took a few steps back, recalibrated, then made a nice slow and steady progression to where they are today.

Aw thats a very poetic way of putting it. Yes indeedy! Its the stepping back and recalibrating that makes you.

I always wanted to write and had tried a little here and there but it took a blogging platform for me to realise that I could and I was perplexed as to why I hadnt!. How mad is that?

The basics of what I do now actually started when I was about fifteen years old, while visiting and attempting to entertain people within various chat rooms around the internet. If it wasn't for those experiences, I wouldn't even know how to type as fast as I do. Had to be quick with those little one liners and that was impossible if I was busy hunting for keys. Getting older, online games... I'd get shot, die, have to wait until the next round; so I'd sit and try to get a few laughs in chat... or argue with people and make them feel dumb with some quick wit I used to carry around with me everywhere I went. Damn, I miss having that.

Yeah, I got to be quite quick-fingered from the old chat room days to keep up!

Thank you for this thank-ful post, sir! And happy 2nd steemversary!
I'd like to make a toast

There, I made it!

Your style is really unique and that's what I like about you. Keep doing what you know best!


P.S. It's good to have you back!!
I know it's a little delayed, but it doesn't mean I don't drop by ;)

Thank you!

I thought I could smell toast. Was worried it was my brain. I'm glad that's over.

I'm looking forward to seeing what I come up with next because I honestly don't now where I'm going with this but it sure is fun.

It feels really good to be back. Being away and trying to come back is much like jumping in a lake. You know the water is cold, want to hesitate, overthink things... but then whatever, just jump in, get used to it, relax, feels good, start having fun.

It's good to see you again!

I started out writing boring essays. That lasted about a week, nobody gave a shit, which was fair because I wasn't being myself nor was I having fun; I was trying to fit in.

Bad idea. Terrible idea. Come on, us weirdos can never fit in, we can either make our own way or laugh maniacally as we slaughter all those foolish peons doing it the normal way.

Besides, we all prefer you as the goof that you are. (That was a compliment... I think... maybe?)

I'll take it as a compliment, sure! By the way, I'm not ignoring you! I saw your comments, I read them all but I get backlogged and can't always respond. I used to spend hours upon hours responding almost instantly but was neglecting too much in life at the same time. Since I came back, I've been attempting to balance things a little better and I should find my groove again eventually.

k, sounds good. Whenever you're up to replying. Would be appreciated. Why am I back to the one clause responses? I have to stop. This isn't working. Please, somebody get help!

I started out writing boring essays. That lasted about a week,

reposts coming for the next week?

I've thought about writing a long-ass post of only the first week or so, showing off how much I can suck at this; but I embarrass myself enough as it is!

I unfollowed and had given up on you in great annoyance. I didn’t know you’ve returned until the upvote....I missed your odd-ball ways. I skimmed what you wrote and my head just went blah, blah, my brain hurts. I will read properly when I haven’t been up all night trying to solve a software issue...

I saw the unfollow, but I certainly wasn't going to bother you about it. I take breaks from blogging though, and that won't change. I get tired, so I rest. Glad to have you back!

Aww..lookatchu!! You're TWO! A hearty congrats to you! You are certainly one of the more colorful characters on the platform and what a dash of spice you add...I look forward to seeing what year three brings LOL

Thank you! I have absolutely no idea what this third year will bring. No clue... but I'm sure it'll be fun.

"so I quickly wrote up one hell of a failure of an unformatted introductory offer into my life."

Hahaha Same. My introduction post was awful. It took me about three months to come into my own a little bit.

"I saw a massive digital park full of buskers where everyone got their hustle on and placed a virtual hat on the ground to collect digital coins."

I never thought of it that way but I like that analogy.

Congrats on your two year anniversary, I'm going on 8 months and I haven't made much but I do like the platform so I'll continue posting anyway.

Congratulations my friend . Happy 2nd ainniversary .

Congrats on your avinursery.

I hope your success will continue or restart or whatever you prefer. If we ever see righteous and proper curation here again, you should be able to live off the proceeds like a king, and well-deserved it would be.

Helloooo! I've been somewhat MIA myself lately, so only just noticed you're back. My 2 year anniversary came and went without any fanfare. Not so much taking a break as busy as fuck with other things. Maybe I'll post about them now... Welcome back, anyway!

Hey @kiwideb, I noticed you were gone. It's nice to see you again. Welcome back, yourself!

Well, congratulations on two years. That's impressive! And congratulations on keeping it real, and weird. That's cool, too. On the sporadic occasions I have come across your posts, I have been entertained. At times, I have even guffawed.

And the art. Because ART MATTERS!

Bright Blessings!

Thank you! And it's good to be reminded from time to time folks out there are enjoying this stuff I'm doing. Sometimes it can get a little quiet and confusing and I'm left wondering if I've done something wrong... but I just keep going. Thanks again.