Sunday run: Longer, slower, plus fitness apps

in #running6 years ago

I was talking to a colleague who does triathlons this week. He was saying there are benefits to doing slow runs. Mind you, his slow running is like me going fast. I seem to find it hard to run much slower than my regular pace, but I set off this morning with the intent to try it. My pace was partly forced by my activity this week.

You can see my average pace was 6:24/km when I might normally do under six minutes. Ignore the max pace as that's rarely accurate. I ran up to where the parkrun happens via a longer route and then extended the run in a few other places to get up to 13km. I've not run that far in a while and it wasn't too bad.

Run
Stats from Endomondo that I've used for years.

I saw lots of other runners out today. That's probably partly due to the Standalone 10k that I'm doing in three weeks. It's a good morning for running. 14C and dry.

By the way, I just saw that Kipchoge just broke the marathon record by over a minute! I think someone will break two hours eventually.

I was thinking about the various fitness apps I have on my phone. The latest is @actifit that will pay us SMTs eventually. According to their site over 20,000 people have qualified for tokens, but only recorded half as many activities. I have done a couple of posts with it, but the limitations are a little frustrating. It only logs steps with the option to enter some of your vital statistics. You cannot upload photos yet, but the developers are working on various features. @slobberchops posted some thoughts about this 'dapp'. I think it could be good for people who just want an easy way to log their activity and earn something to encourage them to keep it up, but we're in danger of getting our feeds flooded with such posts. I think Steemit or the other sites need to introduce filters to help deal with this.

This is the Actifit user interface as it stands. When you post you have to enter your posting key. It should really be using Steemconnect.

Actifit

I also have Google Fit. This recently got a makeover and I'm still getting used to it. It tries to automatically log what activities you've done, but sometimes gets it wrong. It may think I was cycling when I was actually on the train. Previously you could delete invalid activities, but I can't see how to do that now. You can set your own targets. I see these apps as a way to 'gameify' your activity. I do like stats, but I don't take them too seriously.

Google Fit

Then I have Mii Fit that pairs with my Xiami Mii Band 2. I bought this as I needed a new watch. It counts steps and can take pulse readings, but only when you ask it to and you need to be standing still. There's a newer model, but I don't know if it's any better. The main thing I look at in the app is how much deep sleep I got. I don't know how accurate this is, but it usually says I didn't get enough. I'm tempted by the Xiaomi Amazfit watch to get more heart rate data from my running.

Mii Band

Note that all these apps recorded different numbers of steps so far today. They ought to be able to use a common source for that data really. Google Fit does take data from Endomondo and Mii Fit, but they can't all seem to sync up on what weight I entered and I can't be bothered to do it for each of them.

I know some people use the social features of fitness apps to compare themselves to friends, but I don't know a lot of people who run and so that doesn't matter too much to me. I only really care about my own stats.

It's been a very active weekend for me. I also had a swim last night, but only for a few minutes as our pool was a bit cold. I've also done some gardening, but that's a never-ending job.

I hope you've having/had a great weekend whatever you have been doing.

Live is for living. Run free and support the runners of #RunningProject.


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

Sort:  

Wow! That’s a good bunch of activity apps you use!
Your friend is right.... running slowly or at fully aerobical zone during a long run have major benefits, mainly at the beginning of the season, when you have to adapt your tendons and muscles for a harder efforts. Also is good in order to “fire” the fat of the body, because at fully aerobical zone the main combustible used by your body while running is the fat.
Good run dude!

I was looking at @bingbabe's phone minutes ago. I put Actifit on it a couple of days back and its recording these ridiculous length runs shes done. 23k steps today.

I said to her, I will create some text and snaps from the run and then do an Actifit post. Its a quick on the draw thing really to get the content in place before anyone reads it.

We will see how it goes, but the 2nd post ever will go out soon.

Your lucky to have some weather that's good. Heavy rain here today for the 2nd day running. Over 8hrs sleep seems good, but your deep sleep its very long.

I'm not so sure about the factual data on these sleep things. 13k is going some, well for me it is.. the other one.. that's a different story!

I'll give her a vote when she posts. All she has to say is what running she has done. It's lovely out now. I was just doing the chickens and the sun was nice and warm

Yo! I'm working on a new Steem running app / interface that you might be interested in. Looking for some testers currently. Pop over @runburgundy, check out some of the recent posts, and maybe pop into the discord and chat with @mstafford.

We've been earning rewards as a group and dishing them out based on how far each user has run on a weekly basis since about April / May. Some cool changes are coming soon!

0 SBD to share out? I guess it's early days. I'm not too worried about getting paid for my runs, but good luck with this.

0 SBD to share out?

Not sure what you mean by the above...? Definitely early days, for sure.

Thanks for giving it a look and showing a bit of support!

I looked at this post and it said there was zero to share.

Much as I'd like to support all these apps my time is limited. I have a relationship with the #RunningProject people that I want to carry on. I may not even use Actifit much as I don't want to flood my feed.

Ahhh gotcha gotcha! Yeah that's the post from yesterday.. It's kinda wonky, since it's from Monday.. The groups reward pool gets bigger as the week goes on. Payout on the previous week was about 0.8 STEEM.

I totally get not wanting to flood your feed. I think it's an issue that's going to crop up significantly as STEEM develops more and more dApps (which I think you also mentioned in the main post here). Having some sort of filter is going to be important (like how Steepshot operates).

Thanks for the chat! I'll see you around, I reckon! Cheers!

That is pretty funny because if I were to take a run, slow is about all it would be :) I have actually thought about doing yoga just to keep myself limber, but that is just a thought right now. My exercise comes each week when I push mow my lawn. :P

I hope there will be a lots of support for @actifit by dev available here. It already have got good number of public coverage. You have done a lot of exercise today. At the end this is important things and have a good day.

All in all it was a good run despite the average time. I know you would be fit and ready in 3 weeks time for a decent performance

The time is irrelevant really. It's about building endurance, not speed.

I was hoping to get out this morning but instead ended up staying in bed. To be honest I think it was a good trade as Sunday is the only day I get to sleep in beyond 06:30.

Of course there are other opportunities throughout the day but instead I've been doing some batch cooking for the week ahead whilst enjoying a few beers. I don't fancy a timed stagger later as it's bound to end up horribly. I think Lola and I may go for a bit of a walk instead.

My Fitbit watch is pretty good at measuring what is an activity and what isn't. I hope Actifit will integrate with Fitbit one day as it will them be a viable option for me.

I get a bit of a lay-in at the weekend anyway. I don't do late nights.

No need to be a masochist to run well... but a bit of pain could make you stronger. ;)
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

Your post has been hand-picked by an Actifit moderator for additional reward as having great content.
Well done! You've been accordingly rewarded 200 Actifit tokens, as well as an Actifit upvote!
rulersig2.jpg
Actifit..Rewarding Fitness Activity
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Running is a good exercise to keep us healthy. It is not very hard to do, I think. You have a valuable article to keep us healthy. Thanks for sharing.

HAVE a nice Weekend. ... from SEOUL.

Good job my friend.

When I discover app actifit life was changed. I didnt know I walk so many steps :D